Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the pub during the day - magical.

• 20-08-2019 2:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭

Is there much better than heading to the pub during the day? Now I don't mean every day, but rather those unplanned occasions where you end up going on the lash in early/mid afternoon. Meeting a few friends, and swearing you'll only have one or two, but deep down knowing that this will be a mini-session.

Day drinking is vastly underrated and unfairly scorned. Sinking a load of pints in a dark pub, and then walking out half-pissed a few hours later and getting blinded by sunlight as it's only 6 in the evening. Some people like to combine day drinking with regular visits to the bookies next door. I like it, but I know others who think it spoils the magic of daytime drinking.

My own ideal scenario is meeting around half 2. Put down 3 or 4 pints first to quench the thirst, then head up to the carvery for soakage - bacon and cabbage or roast lamb would be my preference. Then another 6-10 pints for dessert. Maybe do a Yankee or Lucky 15 in the bookies. Smoke a few cigarettes as well with the pints. Then out the door at around 7, and home for the tea and an early night.

Anyone else a fan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

That sounds very unhealthy and symptomatic of alcoholism to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Get after it early Jon.

Get the fry into ya first, and you could easily have 6 or 7 before hitting for the carvery. Them salty rashers assist greatly in thirst building

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Duane Dibbley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Cloudio9

Woke Hogan wrote: »

He said "not every day". Read before posting FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Rather than going on the piss, I think he's taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I do like that sort of lazy day the odd Sunday, especially when one of the big racing festivals is on. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Portsalon

Is there much better than heading to the pub during the day? Now I don't mean every day, but rather those unplanned occasions where you end up going on the lash in early/mid afternoon. Meeting a few friends, and swearing you'll only have one or two, but deep down knowing that this will be a mini-session.

Day drinking is vastly underrated and unfairly scorned. Sinking a load of pints in a dark pub, and then walking out half-pissed a few hours later and getting blinded by sunlight as it's only 6 in the evening. Some people like to combine day drinking with regular visits to the bookies next door. I like it, but I know others who think it spoils the magic of daytime drinking.

My own ideal scenario is meeting around half 2. Put down 3 or 4 pints first to quench the thirst, then head up to the carvery for soakage - bacon and cabbage or roast lamb would be my preference. Then another 6-10 pints for dessert. Maybe do a Yankee or Lucky 15 in the bookies. Smoke a few cigarettes as well with the pints. Then out the door at around 7, and home for the tea and an early night.

Anyone else a fan?

It was even more fun when you'd have the lock-in at 2.30 as well! That added the pleasure of illicit drinking to the whole experience!

Bring back the "holy hour"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Was it the carvery that did it?:pac:

Quite so. It's a wonderful, guilty pleasure. The tradition of having a few saucepans at dinnertime on Sunday is very much alive and well among grown men of substance and repute where I live, thanks be to God. :cool::cool::D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

It's no wonder you're dropping nuclear missiles in toilets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭waxmelts2000

It's been awhile but I love going to the pubs in the afternoon especially "Super Sundays"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Love an early one on a Sunday in the winter months when its wet and grim, get a bit of football in, maybe a bit of carvery depending if the other half has nothing in the oven. Home early and up fresh in the morning for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭brownbinman

milling a chipper at 6 o clock after a rake of pints, then having your hangover at 9 o clock and the fear at 11 then awake the rest of the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭LandoCalrissian

That's why the day pints on the Friday of a stag weekend are the best

Your simply not supposed to be in the Pub on Friday during the day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭brownbinman

That's why the day pints on the Friday of a stag weekend are the best

Your simply not supposed to be in the Pub on Friday during the day :D

second day also class, sitting in some dungeon of a pub, sculling pints having the craic with the lads as ye put his kids through college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Have it... apart from the cigarettes, carvery more a beef or turkey fan, a toastie a good sub.

The glare of the sunlight in evening and the flutters or drunkenness knowing a long lie in could be done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

I love day pints, a real treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Bassfish

I love it but to feel really special, it has to be a weekday. Myself and a buddy who works at sea meet up once a year when he's home, I take a day (usually a Friday) off work. We grab some lunch about one and head straight for a dark old man's pub in Cork City. It's usually full of 'characters' during weekdays and you can have a great catch up. Emerge from the pub then about six, grab some food and go again if you can manage it. Always love doing it and we make the most of it knowing it'll be a year before doing it again.
    The next day the wife would be asking, so how was (friend). He was Grand! Any news with him? Nah. How's his job going? Dunno. So ye were drinking and chatting for eight straight hours and you don't know if he has any news or how thing are going? Guess so. So what were ye talking about? Couldn't tell ya, but it was good craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I love it on the rare occasion too. I think it is because there is a forbidden element to it - it makes it more of a novelty or more exciting than just a Saturday when lots of people are out. However, coming out into daylight is the only part I don't like - I kind of panic as I don't know what to do next! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Anyone else a fan?

Used to love it, that slight sway from side to side walking home, drivers looking at ye thinking "lucky fcuk"

Word of caution, make sure you have a few cans for when you get home to avoid the hangover kicking in by 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭satguy

Day drinking is the best,, sometimes my wife picks me up from work on a Thursday at 3:30, and I don't work Friday's so My weekend starts then.

Over the summer on more than one occasion she drove straight to our local instead of home after picking me up. We would have a good few pints, have dinner sitting at the bar, back a horse, and just chill out.

My only job is to make the 3 minute walk next morning and collect our car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Er... yeah, maybe in my college days.

Kinda always found it a tad depressing though, being locked at 6 in the evening means the rest of the evening is basically a write off and a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭petros1980

Take a hike Bore Hogan.

Spot on OP. I love days like this when I get a chance. I have a good lunch before starting rather than stopping for a carvery mid-session though - that would take the wind out of my sails completely :pac:

Will grab something to eat somewhere around 6/7. And if it's a Saturday then continue on for round 2 if permitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Kinda always found it a tad depressing though, being locked at 6 in the evening means the rest of the evening is basically a write off and a waste.

Just carry on drinking like the rest of us :)

Shouldn't you be in church? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Friday off work and someone asks 'Pints?' at 4pm on the Thursday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

jimgoose wrote: »
    Shouldn't you be in church? :D

Who says I'm not? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Now I want pints!!

:D:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I Love it earlier the better

A fry goes down very well with a pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Who wants a boards pints afternoon?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Who wants a boards pints afternoon?

Weirdo

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm not a fan of it, never was. Like I've part-taken manys a time. But it didn't give me the same buzz as others got.

F*ck it, not really even a fan of drinking anymore or going to the pub. Probably spent too much time in various establishments in my younger days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Unplanned random sessions have always been and will always be the best sessions available. Especially if it is a school night and you know you really shouldn't be at it.

My only complaint is when you come around out of the back of the "lost hours" and realise that your missing about 3 of them. You might have assumed it was around 7pm when it is actually touching half nine and you need to start making a decision about getting the fúck out of there soon, except you have no notion of doing so. You then have to condemn yourself to climbing into bed after closing time, hammered drunk. This fear is compounded when you wake at 3am dying for a slash and realise you have to be in work in 5 hours. The pain.

Weirdo

Takes one to know one

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of it, never was. Like I've part-taken manys a time. But it didn't give me the same buzz as others got.

F*ck it, not really even a fan of drinking anymore or going to the pub. Probably spent too much time in various establishments in my younger days.

Here is the barman of the local in Pallasgrean trying to get me out of the pub at half-past Holy Hour during the 1984 All-Ireland Heavyweight Kick-Pinting Cham-peen-ship, at my competition weight of 47 stone. Note that I'd had (IIRC) three carvery dinners at that point:

8581885491_e55fe5e8ca_z.jpg

It’s one of life’s great pleasures there is nothing, absolutely nothing to beat an all day session regardless of what day of the week it is. My no1 favorite thing to do.

Give me half a chance and I’ll go at it. One of my favorites is when on a major session the Friday night after work, the as closing time approaches the early house starts getting mentioned next thing it’s planned...home around 2am and back up and meet outside the door of the pub for around 8am breakfast roll in hand.

In you go get a pint and try to get a seat before scanning around to see which characters are around. Get the first pint into you to try cure last night a bit and then even though you know it’s ok, ask the Barman if he minds you eating the roll. Wash that down with another pint and another.... 6 or 7 pints in head out for lunch and onto the next place of choice for the afternoon and stay at it as long as you can.

Sometimes it’s 2am again other you might pack it in around 8 or 9pm as the tiredness more than the drink catches up with you. Absolute heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,516 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The best nights/days out I had in a pub were generally just afternoon pints which turned into evening pints.
    Work/college generally finished early and we headed off often the weather had just got good also.
    No big fuss about planning/getting dressed up was involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

The best nights/days out I had in a pub were generally just afternoon pints which turned into evening pints.
    Work/college generally finished early and we headed off often the weather had just got good also.
    No big fuss about planning/getting dressed up was involved.

ya, some of the greatest days of my life have begun with impromptu day drinking that morphed into something.. as the OP said.. magical..

i think its need to be proper boozers though. part time drinkers can make a bit of a mess of it.

I find pubs very depressing on a sunny day. Always think it's a bit sad (but each to their own, etc) when you're down the town soaking up the sun, and there's some old man standing in the dark of the door, like Patrick Maguire in his iron house, and a big dirty pint of Guinness in his hand, and the sun splitting the stones outside.

Day drinking itself isn't the issue, its the idea of getting pissed with strangers in a dark lounge in the height of summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

major bill wrote: »
    Love an early one on a Sunday in the winter months when its wet and grim, get a bit of football in, maybe a bit of carvery depending if the other half has nothing in the oven. Home early and up fresh in the morning for work.

and if she was pregnant what would happen :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

and if she was pregnant what would happen :confused:

Well then I could kiss goodbye to day drinking!!!! :)

I find pubs very depressing on a sunny day. Always think it's a bit sad (but each to their own, etc) when you're down the town soaking up the sun, and there's some old man standing in the dark of the door, like Patrick Maguire in his iron house, and a big dirty pint of Guinness in his hand, and the sun splitting the stones outside.

Day drinking itself isn't the issue, its the idea of getting pissed with strangers in a dark lounge in the height of summer.

Beer garden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,473 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,138 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Anyone else a fan?

Jasus, I hope Maureen has the fry on for you after all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I’ve always disliked daytime drinking, even in college. I find it disorienting and messy. The exception is weddings because it’s low level of drinking during the early part of the day so nobody is more than just a bit tipsy.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Beer garden?
    Ah yeah, beer garden or any al freco imbibing is a different matter altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Fee Fi Fo Fum
    I smell the noise of the
    Vintners federation Internet division

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

You would depress the dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Having said that, I like having an alcoholic drink with breakfast on holidays, even if it’s 8am. It’s probably the only drink I’ll have all day but it’s because I can. Usually prosecco or buck’s fizz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Can’t beat day time pints. Myself and the lads that lived together in college try to meet up once a year for this. This Friday we’re off on a stag together and will be on the beer at 1:30pm, like you op there’ll probably be a few horses backed. One of life’s little pleasures. Sunday afternoon pints are very nice when home by about 7 but you can’t beat a Friday day session. What is rare is wonderful.