Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the pub during the day - magical.

I would disagree with the people who stay away from food I have to say. Food at the right times is vital in seeing through a marathon season. Good feed before starting (or after a pint or two if the cure is needed before eating), the a good feed around 8 pints or so in. If nothing else it slows the pace of drinking a bit. And then back at it again until the end.

Lads who don’t eat around half way through either end up absolutely destroyed drunk, have to go home early or usually both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

It’s great but I end up in the pub until closing time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I would definitely advocate getting some nosh either prior to, during or after drinking. Anyone subscribing to the mantra of " eating is cheating" is really just a foooking amateur, probably showing off.

There is nothing worse than getting the 6 pint dizzies and hiccups at half four on a Wednesday afternoon... because you were basically too lazy to have some lunch. It is unforgiveable.

Apart from all that, the mancky acid reflux you get from afternoon burping on an empty stomach can be extremely difficult to reverse. Once you have popped your initial burp it is impossible to return. Necking spoonfulls of baking soda or tablets of Rennie on top of the hiccups is treacherous behaviour. Rotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Only way you should be stopping at 10 or something is because you physically can't go any longer. Heading home to have ****ing dinner and head to bed. What's the point! If it's a Friday/Sat session you better be out until at least 12 but more likely 1 or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭petros1980

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I would definitely advocate getting some nosh either prior to, during or after drinking. Anyone subscribing to the mantra of " eating is cheating" is really just a foooking amateur, probably showing off..

Ach nobody has really been saying the eating is cheating nonsense. More a case of it being better to have a feed before starting rather than stopping for a full dinner mid session. If I stopped for a carvery during the pints I'd be out of action for an hour or two 😅

A feed before, and then something light like a burger or hot dog after around the 10 pint mark if intending to carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

The full fry up/ grill pre 10am is the cornerstone to any sesh.

That's the foundations laid the right way.

Going on the tear with no fodder laid out is a road to ruination.
    Many a good man fell by the wayside before 3 o clock due to lack of preparation.

Get the grub in early lads !

It's every man for himself after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I would disagree with the people who stay away from food I have to say. Food at the right times is vital in seeing through a marathon season. Good feed before starting (or after a pint or two if the cure is needed before eating), the a good feed around 8 pints or so in. If nothing else it slows the pace of drinking a bit. And then back at it again until the end.

Lads who don’t eat around half way through either end up absolutely destroyed drunk, have to go home early or usually both.

That’s a losers attitude. I’m 37 now and would rarely eat from lunchtime Friday until my hangover feed on a Sunday evening that you do be starving for, but finish after one slice of pizza/bite of a burger. Your body will do what it’s used to. And I can’t remember the last time I was fall over drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,722 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

That’s a losers attitude. I’m 37 now and would rarely eat from lunchtime Friday until my hangover feed on a Sunday evening that you do be starving for, but finish after one slice of pizza/bite of a burger. Your body will do what it’s used to. And I can’t remember the last time I was fall over drunk.

What a slice of pizza or a burger.
    You need a proper dinner with gravy!

Every drinker has his own medicine figured out.
    It's a fine art,not known to too many.

Each to their own I say,just keep the porter flowin'.

Roll on Saturday. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Decided I’d finish early today and hit the boozer for a few pints with the cousin. Mulligans of Poolbeg Street. Pig ignorant bar staff and a very average pint of Guinness. Guinness Advisor gave the pint a 6/10, and that’s generous. Headed up the street to Chaplins and had far better porter.

Chaplins is a fine Tipperary bar staff run pub, who take pride in their stout. The Palace bar on Fleet Street was a great place for porter also. You could ate them all day long in there, creamy smooth stout.

Off home then to pull the cock off yourself or poke the wife in the thigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Also-

It just cannot be stated enough how you need to choose your day drinking buddies wisely!

Nothing worse than being with someone who has the propensity to head off after 3 pints on a whim leaving you completely high and dry

Met a good friend earlier in the year, who after 2 bloody pints announces he has to head off back home to the missus. Now the ‘session’ had been planned a few weeks at that point, and naturally I was buzzing for it. Do it properly or not at all ffs! This is a fella who gets out feck all too (his own fault) and could have really done with the day out! Anyhow, He will be politely removed from any session-related correspondences in future  You live and learn!

Luckily, after he had left, I sent a quick Whatsapp to a trusty comrade, who was back to me in an instant – he was across town in another establishment in flying form in the midst of a session! Over I went and we had an absolutely savage day and evening! Always have an emergency contact on hand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Uncharted wrote: »
    The full fry up/ grill pre 10am is the cornerstone to any sesh.

very true!

However things can get tricky if you had a very heavy one the night before and wake up in bad need of a cure. For me anyway, eating just isn't an option until I get about three early ice cold ciders down me

However if I'm fresh on the day and haven't been out the night before I'll tear into the fry up beforehand absolutely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Yep its awesome, havent done it in ages but day sessions are amazing

Pubs are way better when there not packed ala fri/sat night and there's usually no riddiculosly loud music meaning the banter is mighty as everyone can hear everyone else

When there's decent pub grub its a big bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

jr86 wrote: »
    ...I sent a quick Whatsapp to a trusty comrade, who was back to me in an instant – he was across town in another establishment in flying form in the midst of a session! Over I went and we had an absolutely savage day and evening! Always have an emergency contact on hand!

"...And we both said a prayer for a big marine named Camouflage!" :cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Uncharted wrote: »
    Very few worse things in life than a bad barman.
    :(

I hope you demanded their badge to be handed in by close of business.

j.j. Grainger "cough cough"

jr86 wrote: »
    For me anyway, eating just isn't an option until I get about three early ice cold ciders down me

Can happen to the best of us.

Some days a man can't eat on an empty stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,280 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I’m an absolute lush but most of the stories on this thread are depressing me. Personally I hate having a drink in the day because it usually means I won’t stop till I’m ready for bed and then I’m hungover for 2 days. So the later the better for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Enjoyable as day time drinking is, doing it on a normal weekend is grim. Especially if you team it with a rollover on Sunday. You find yourself on the last bus home at 11:00 on a sunday evening wondering why your weekend felt like 5 hours in total.

Daytime drinking with a BBQ in summer, followed by the pub, followed by an after hours house session would be my preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

14 pints flippin hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,104 ✭✭✭This is it

Always better on a week day, Friday being the best, you still have the whole weekend to recover. I love day pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

Can't be dealing with this ole shi'te of a few drinks then go home... either you're on it or you don't go out at all. Just as bad is the pintman Hudini who after about 6-7 pints ends up schteamin, and you'd happen to notice the door flapping thinking it's a gust when it's the Hudini making a runner.

Back in the good old days I was able to put away about 16 pints on a proper sesh then when I was full I'd hit the gins and tonics to top up the tank. Nowadays I'd struggle for 10 pints on most days.

I recall the man who got me on the Smitchwhicks god rest him, before he got stomach cancer he was sinking 20+ Smitchwicks on a sesh frequently and he wasn't a large frame either. I've never seen drinking like it, I asked him one time what the most a day he put away and he said just under the 30 mark and he'd be on a few gins after that.

True story but on his death bed he wasn't able to eat or drink for the most part, but the daughter had one of those sponge things they use to wet the lips, she got the idea to dip it into a bottle of Bud, he ended up taking a bite out of the damn thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,938 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I am a big fan of good, spontaneous day drinking, like in the old days at Uni when you could go for one pint at midday on the way home from class, then 6 hours later you are still sitting there having a great laugh with your friends, fixing the worlds problems one pint at a time. I don't get to do it these days, too many responsibilities, but I'd give a lot to be able to just go for a random pint and just see where the day takes me. Its the early part of the day that is best though, before night falls and clocks start ticking.

I will say though, spontaneous day drinking is great, but I have little but contempt for those sad fucks sitting on a barstool from Friday evening till Monday morning, patting themselves on the back about how much craic they are having with all the dirty old mencharacters in some shithole bar. What the hell is spontaneous about that? Thats not day drinking as I know it, thats just boring little bar flies doing the same thing they do every weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭robbiezero

dirtyden wrote: »
    Chaplins is a fine Tipperary bar staff run pub, who take pride in their stout. The Palace bar on Fleet Street was a great place for porter also. You could ate them all day long in there, creamy smooth stout.

Yep. Gave Monday in both of them after the victory on Sunday. Great day. Fine stout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I do like day scoops, breakfast scoops even - but i will not under any circumstances have a lovely day ruined by going to a fúcking bookies every half hour!

Paddy power app on the phone solves that, mighty job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Down the country there are a couple of things to keep in mind while on an impromptu day session
    Never pick the most prominent pub in the town all ways pick one a little off the main street
    All ways sit to the back of the bar possibly with a pillar or suchlike blocking views from the front door
    In olden days pre mobile phones the bar staff were under strict instructions to say they hadn't seen you all morning
    Change pubs regularly in order to keep the posse off the scent
    Iv known one lad who didn't observe these rules to have been escorted by the ear from the pub by his mother
    These rules are pure old school and most probably no longer apply

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Many of the best days I had in the pub were a Monday! Half day from work as was too sick from the Sunday and then end up in being just as bad on the Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,104 ✭✭✭This is it

Keano wrote: »
    Many of the best days I had in the pub were a Monday! Half day from work as was too sick from the Sunday and then end up in being just as bad on the Tuesday.

The Monday Club. Many a day spent in the local on a Monday after working the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I remember these days in Dublin, that pre-noon Saturday whatapp from the lads, "Pints in town". Various replies, "will be in round 7", "after tea", "just going for a run" but there was always the true champions "ready now", "on my way" closely followed by suggestions of starting points some unusual and some fond favourites.

On go the "nice" jeans and dressy T-Shirt. You kiss the girlfriend goodbye, her silence is deafening. You bask in the sunlight at the bus stop, unlike the weekday commute you cant wait for your yellow and blue carriage to arrive. When it does you realise how quiet it is as most people are still at home, not heading to the pub like you, ya legend.

As the bus glides into town, the phone beeps with the alert of your buddy in the first pub. Closely followed by a picture of postcard perfect pint settling on the wooden bar. You hop off the bus like a soldier on a mission. Tourists asking for directions are ignored, chuggers avoided, you jaywalk where you can, you nod at people you may recognise but keep moving. Eventually you reach the pub.

The door squeaks open as you push in. Sunlight spills into the bar, its lunchtime so its quiet, bar flies tilt their heads to see who it is, the barman is reading the paper, most of the tables are empty, cleaned and waiting for someone to claim them. There's a small twinge of doubt "maybe its a joke", "maybe I'm in the wrong bar", but your frantic scanning of the pub is rewarded as you see that small selection of mates in the corner, a band of brothers, pints resting on the table as they catch up on conversation. They are all happy to see you, they all smile. You shake hands, the normal formalities and the charade of offering them a drink knowing with 4/5 full pints they are ok.

That first pint on the day sesh is always intimate, the barman is with you straight away, his undivided attention. You know this is a big call, a day on the stout maybe? a lager is good for a sesh? craft beer will make me seem cultured but i'll be broke and paraletic after 6 of them? You make the call and wait, smiling to yourself "oh wait a beautiful day, what adventure will it bring". I also ways take that first sip before heading back to the table, that first hit, the first quench of the dryness of the voyage to get there, that longing that's existing since you saw the initial whatsapp.

You can't bate it.