Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the pub during the day - magical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

I'm doing it right now and highly recommend it!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Porklife wrote: »

If you're sitting by yourself, on boards to pass the time, it doesn't sound like a load of craic...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

To be honest, if you’re not feeling the “buzz” on your third pint you’re not drinking quick enough.

The first four pints are crucial for any session. They should be downed in quick succession. That’s when you get the “buzz” or the “lip” for more. The fourth should be poured when you’re halfway through the third.

If you’re someone who likes to “nurse” pints, taking over an hour to finish one then a day drinking “sessions” isn’t for you.

I agree Spice, however there are the usual exceptions, in particular.

There is a given dispensation when the drinker is having a cure or the literal hair of the dog. In my experience the first pint of the day in such an instance can involve mild convulsing, along with shivering, which can directly affect consumption speeds.

Should these symptoms not abate after the first pint is drowned, the drinker should definitely contemplate further options such as a Bloody Mary etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

jr86 wrote: »
    Anyone else heading straight to the high stool after work? :pac:

came in deliberately early to get out early. Have my shower done at work, change of clothes good to go. The thoughts of that imminent first beautiful sip are keeping me going throughout the day!

I'll finish here about 4:15 and head home, I'll probably just pretty much drop the laptop and head down the street for a few cold ones. I've a nice bit of fillet steak for later. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Living in England the pub scene is nowhere near the same craic as it is in Ireland.

If you are in a pub during the day over here you are genuinely risking life and limb in most city pubs. Some proper hardcore losers loitering about the place. Deadbeats and rejects.

Lazy pints of Bulmers or Guinness in McDaids with your Brown Thomas bag at your feet it certainly aint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭dubstepper

Day drinking should only be done on sunny long summer days.

False.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Living in England the pub scene is nowhere near the same craic as it is in Ireland.

If you are in a pub during the day over here you are genuinely risking life and limb in most city pubs. Some proper hardcore losers loitering about the place. Deadbeats and rejects.

Lazy pints of Bulmers or Guinness in McDaids it certainly aint.

The English are a different breed when it comes to suppin' porter.

They even call it bitter. Sums them up really.

If you're sitting by yourself, on boards to pass the time, it doesn't sound like a load of craic...

Finishing work early and having a beer in the sunshine whilst waiting on my friends to join is alot of craic to me. I love reading boards over a pint. I also enjoy my own company and don't consider it 'passing the time'.
    I'm enjoying every minute :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I used to enjoy it but I find these days they have to be shorter sessions because the hangover is coming for me like a fcuking terminator and it can be tricky timing getting the pints in at the right rate to stay ahead of it but also stay upright and coherent.

It's like when you're watching a video and the Wi-Fi isn't great, you're watching that little grey buffered bar stay juuuuust ahead of that red played bar.

Also I find that even when I've every intention of being home in bed by ten, when I've a good buzz on in the early evening I can tend to make decisions which can tend to involve cocaine and basically I go out for a couple of pints at lunchtime one day and get home the next evening.

Lazy pints of Bulmers or Guinness in McDaids it certainly aint.

That's just uncivilised. Compared to a lazy Friday in Cork, meandering out along Barracka biy, towards the evening session in Flannery's of Glasheen, sampling the Beamish in Moks listening to the oul' fellas giving out and slagging each other. Daycint! :cool:

Lazy pints of Bulmers or Guinness in McDaids with your Brown Thomas bag at your feet it certainly aint.

Couldn't agree more. Try 'relaxing' in a pub in Streatham in Brixton and you might as well sign your life over.

I honestly don't know how people can live like wild animals in some of those places. :eek:

I used to enjoy it but I find these days they have to be shorter sessions because the hangover is coming for me like a fcuking terminator and it can be tricky timing getting the pints in at the right rate to stay ahead of it but also stay upright and coherent.

It's like when you're watching a video and the Wi-Fi isn't great, you're watching that little grey buffered bar stay juuuuust ahead of that red played bar.

Also I find that even when I've every intention of being home in bed by ten, when I've a good buzz on in the early evening I can tend to make decisions which can tend to involve cocaine and basically I go out for a couple of pints at lunchtime one day and get home the next evening.

I love your posts, they're always so curtly descriptive and yet set the scene. The above post made me smile alot :)

Uncharted wrote: »
    The English are a different breed when it comes to suppin' porter.

They even call it bitter. Sums them up really.

Jesus tell me about it.

I know this might sound bizarre but pubs are just seen as a means to get trashed. Testosterone fueled 'blokes' with the same haircuts and clothes always about 5 seconds away from kicking off. Sticky carpet some ****e techno blaring and God only knows what the bitter will be like. Don't even consider striking up a conversation with a stranger..they will look at you like you have just crapped on the floor.

The English do not do spontaneity. Even one fecking drink needs 6 weeks military planning in advance.

First thing I do when flying back to Dublin or Cork- straight to a reputable old time boozer for a Guinness or Murphy's.

I give anything to have the option of settling into McDaids or Mulligans now with some creamy pints and maybe talk **** to some gullible tourist with the hope of a cheeky ride...:(

jimgoose wrote: »
    I honestly don't know how people can live like wild animals in some of those places. :eek:

I remember being in a weatherspoons in Streatham with my horrible ex boyfriend. It was frightening. They were serving wine on tap. There was a spray hose type dealie and they were serving pints of wine. I found it really upsetting.
    There was an old woman passed out on the bar with two men talking over her, they were practically using her as a beermat. It was shocking. Absolutely tragic.

That's just uncivilised. Compared to a lazy Friday in Cork, meandering out along Barracka biy, towards the evening session in Flannery's of Glasheen, sampling the Beamish in Moks listening to the oul' fellas giving out and slagging each other. Daycint! :cool:

Ah stop. Will start crying.

I havent been to MOKs in years. Was always a good starting point for a few quiet ones before maybe Tom Barry's on the way into town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Andreas77

After close of office hours today you will find me in snug, drinking a pint of Beamish, having a bit of banter with the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,047 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

You should cut down on you Porklife mate, get some exercise.

I'll get my coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I love your posts, they're always so curtly descriptive and yet set the scene. The above post made me smile alot :)

Aw thanks!

Jesus tell me about it.

I know this might sound bizarre but pubs are just seen as a means to get trashed. Testosterone fueled 'blokes' with the same haircuts and clothes always about 5 seconds away from kicking off. Sticky carpet some ****e techno blaring and God only knows what the bitter will be like. Don't even consider striking up a conversation with a stranger..they will look at you like you have just crapped on the floor....

You call me a cant, you fackin' cant!!

Do you know what...I've been within earshot of that exact type of conversation many times. That is not even comedy...it's my reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

I remember being in a weatherspoons in Streatham with my horrible ex boyfriend. It was frightening. They were serving wine on tap. There was a spray hose type dealie and they were serving pints of wine. I found it really upsetting.
    There was an old woman passed out on the bar with two men talking over her, they were practically using her as a beermat. It was shocking. Absolutely tragic.

That place should be nuked from orbit.

Uncharted wrote: »
    That place should be nuked from orbit.

I must head into the Wetherspoons in Paul St. here some evening. I shall address the denizens in their own language: "Pint of bitter annat innit, you fackin' fackin' cant cant!!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The Spoons model of cheap pints and shït pubs isn’t one I’d like to see become widespread in Ireland. That isn’t the type of day drinking I’d be in favour of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Great no planning no 12 pubs just an ould fashioned tear. A day on the bear and eat the dinner out of the bin when you get home. I miss those days,

endacl wrote: »
    If you’re 25 or whatever, you don’t have ‘the days’.

What is 'the days'? :confused:

The Spoons model of cheap pints and shït pubs isn’t one I’d like to see become widespread in Ireland. That isn’t the type of day drinking I’d be in favour of.

That is the only saving grace for the high price of beer in Irish pubs. It keeps a lot of the scumbags out on the street.

You can buy pints here for £1.40 so you'll find even the roughest troglodyte polluting the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,196 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Are they the Luke Kelly "days" or the Kirsty McColl "days"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,878 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Stark wrote: »
    Are they the Luke Kelly "days" or the Kirsty McColl "days"?

Neither, The Kinks.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭kerryjack

What is 'the days'? :confused:
    The days with out face book and Snapchat and all that bull shore when you could go mad and there was little evidence left behind only a sore head and an empty wallet.