Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the pub during the day - magical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Going to the pub during the day is tremendous fun, brilliant. But the hangover the following day is particularly dark in my experience.
    People overrate the drinking because they forget about the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Uncharted wrote: »
    This thread has restored my faith in humanity.

There is a glimmer of hope for this country yet.

Last night,I called up 3 good solid drinking buddies.

Sesh is on for this Saturday.
    Can't wait.

Fry up at 9 bells.
    10.30am start lowering pints.

Few games of pool,maybe back a few horses early in play.

Well tanked up for the rugby and steaming for the Liverpool game.

Top shelf celebrations after the hammering Arsenal and Engerland will recieve respectively and in the horrors by 9 o clock.

Epic.

Thanks lads.

Ara feck off with ya, I've a family event Saturday and a match to go to Sunday :(

Not jealous at all ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

Jesus, this thread is making me thirsty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

I’m going for a pint this evening **** this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I'm gaspin for a pint of Guinness now ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭TheBlock

Out of here at 3.00 now...cheap pints before 5.30 in the local makes it all the more tempting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Biggest session I was ever on was not planned and never repeated. 2002 World Cup. 7,30am kick off. Ireland v Cameroon. My local at the time was unofficially open once you bought a breakie roll ticket in advance. My plan was to have a few early pints and head home for a sleep after the game. But....

Stayed on after the game as the pub opened at 10.30am anyway. Kept on drinking steadily. When the carvery started I decided I'd have one last pint, grub and home. Nope. Someone got the bright idea of hopping on a train to Carlow to see the Dubs play Wexford in the first round of the championship. A few cans in the off license attached to the pub. More pints in Carlow. Train back, into my local and the place was empty. A couple of quick ones, Chinese takeaway, home.

Buckled, but standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Biggest session I was ever on was not planned and never repeated. 2002 World Cup. 7,30am kick off. Ireland v Cameroon. My local at the time was unofficially open once you bought a breakie roll ticket in advance. My plan was to have a few early pints and head home for a sleep after the game. But....

Stayed on after the game as the pub opened at 10.30am anyway. Kept on drinking steadily. When the carvery started I decided I'd have one last pint, grub and home. Nope. Someone got the bright idea of hopping on a train to Carlow to see the Dubs play Wexford in the first round of the championship. A few cans in the off license attached to the pub. More pints in Carlow. Train back, into my local and the place was empty. A couple of quick ones, Chinese takeaway, home.

Buckled, but standing.

A good days work.

There's not many of our breed left.
    Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Biggest session I was ever on...

...Buckled, but standing.

At the going down of the sun and in the morning
    We will remember them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Is there much better than heading to the pub during the day? Now I don't mean every day, but rather those unplanned occasions where you end up going on the lash in early/mid afternoon. Meeting a few friends, and swearing you'll only have one or two, but deep down knowing that this will be a mini-session.

Day drinking is vastly underrated and unfairly scorned. Sinking a load of pints in a dark pub, and then walking out half-pissed a few hours later and getting blinded by sunlight as it's only 6 in the evening. Some people like to combine day drinking with regular visits to the bookies next door. I like it, but I know others who think it spoils the magic of daytime drinking.

My own ideal scenario is meeting around half 2. Put down 3 or 4 pints first to quench the thirst, then head up to the carvery for soakage - bacon and cabbage or roast lamb would be my preference. Then another 6-10 pints for dessert. Maybe do a Yankee or Lucky 15 in the bookies. Smoke a few cigarettes as well with the pints. Then out the door at around 7, and home for the tea and an early night.

Anyone else a fan?
    Definitely a fan . Its It's almost up there with the old good Friday session or a few on Christmas day. Living on the border had its advantages.

No sign of AvB yet, oddly enough. I wonder how he does the all-day session - Courvoisier with a Murphy's head and lobster thermidor, I suppose. :pac::pac::pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    No sign of AvB yet, oddly enough. I wonder how he does the all-day session - Courvoisier with a Murphy's head and lobster thermidor, I suppose. :pac::pac::pac:

This thread is no place for dreamers or posers jim. Leave AvB where he is.

We'll handle this one ourselves.

This is a thread for hard-core, spit in the sawdust, up early to get the best corner of the bar, kinda drinkers.

#comrades

Uncharted wrote: »
    This thread is no place for dreamers or posers jim. Leave AvB where he is.

We'll handle this one ourselves.

This is a thread for hard-core, spit in the sawdust, up early to get the best corner of the bar, kinda drinkers.

#comrades

We in the land of Pig-Meat and Porter wholeheartedly concur. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

I too would be a fan of this.

The unexpected day drinking is really where all the crack happens.

I recall one unexpected session back home in Monaghan on a Super Sunday where I was out in the local at around 12 and having a few pints with the lads, back then I was fit for the Heineken and was in my drinking prime at 26 years old.

I was rudely interrupted by the mother around 3pm informing me of the dinner being ready. She was swiftly told to bring the dinner down to me in the pub on a plate of which she obliged. So I sat munching away at the dinner.

Being from a small border towns affords a certain level of expected lock-ins as the man who ran the pub was part of our group of lads also.

I recall, vaguely, that very same day we drank pints till around 6am the following morning and as I was stumbling home the bread vans were out delivering to the local Super Valu and as I was making my way up the church hill with the jacket sleeve getting ripped from having to use the wall to keep myself upright who passes by me but none other than the mother on her way to work.. I tell ye that's a look I'll never forget; I should have started calling her Medusa after that stare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Breakfast early morning and then have at it.
    I could or use to anyway, go for the day while drinking and not even think about food and I like my food but the very minute I am influenced by nair do wells to eat something my batteries run down like a cheap toy from poundland and its bedtime.
    Some people have to eat though and my abstinence probably doubles down on my hangover when the fun stops.

Its like Las Vegas,you keep going doing all the bars in different hotels without stepping outside but you mistakenly hit on an exit door and see that daylight your body says get to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I love a daytime drink in Dublin , even better on a weekday , you just meet a better class of person imbibing in a decent wateringhole at 4pm on a Wednesday .

I do this once a year with 3 friends , we meet around 12 , go somewhere decent for lunch nice bottle(s) of wine and then on to a good Dublin pub like mcdaids and hammer into the pints . Home in bed by 10 pm.
    Its one of my favourite days of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Back in the day (a decade or so) when I was new to Ireland, a group of us would head to the Woolshed Bar to watch the All Blacks matches at 8:30am on a Saturday. It wasn't officially open, the shutters were down and the door was locked but they were serving. After the match wed pub crawl through the city. Those were some messy Saturdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭petros1980

My kind of people in this thread! It's inspired me to head for midweek pints this evening :P

Haven't had a good all day session starting early in ages, must get on it organising one soon! Good call whoever mentioned Rugby WC.

Working here in London at the moment. It's nuts how prevalent lunchtime pints are among workers - and I don't mean 1, can often be 3-4. Don't like it myself as can do nothing for the afternoon in work and feel rubbish.

I do like the tradition of everyone desk drinking cans from 3/4pm onwards on a Friday (and occasional Thursday) [Civil service job by the way - Brexit is in safe hands :P:P]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭petros1980

Nah outside drinking is only day drinking ya should be doing.

Away of of that. Knacker drinking is great as well obviously. As is a day in the pub. Is there not room for both of these pleasures?? :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

petros1980 wrote: »

Working here in London at the moment. It's nuts how prevalent lunchtime pints are among workers - and I don't mean 1, can often be 3-4. Don't like it myself as can do nothing for the afternoon in work and feel rubbish.

]

That is a real London thing and has been for years. I have seen guys have a bottle of wine at lunch and then head back to work! I would get nothing done - or else not want to leave the pub :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Dovies wrote: »
    That is a real London thing and has been for years. I have seen guys have a bottle of wine at lunch and then head back to work! I would get nothing done - or else not want to leave the pub :)

You see it “up north” here, as well. Not the 3 or 4 but, certainly, 1 or 2.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Decided I’d finish early today and hit the boozer for a few pints with the cousin. Mulligans of Poolbeg Street. Pig ignorant bar staff and a very average pint of Guinness. Guinness Advisor gave the pint a 6/10, and that’s generous. Headed up the street to Chaplins and had far better porter.

Very few worse things in life than a bad barman.
    :(

I hope you demanded their badge to be handed in by close of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

From Dublin, but not in Dublin. I keep promising myself a day long piss up back in the homestead. I haven't had a daytime session there since Summer 2013. That was my last lunchtime start until closing time session.

jimgoose wrote: »

I’d say Aongus could be persuaded to go on the rattle. You can take the man from Galway, but you can’t take Galway from the man and all that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭Dog Man Star

I worked in Dublin for a company that still gave a Christmas half-day. Our routine was summon up 8 or so drinkers, head out at 12pm for lunch, usually a chinese, then hit Baggot St. for a full afternoon/evening/night drinking.

Best crack ever. Playing with the band in O'Donoghues in the afternoon, flirting with ladies in the Duke in the evening, full on night after 9pm. Best laugh ever. One of the highlights of the year in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I’d say Aongus could be persuaded to go on the rattle. You can take the man from Galway, but you can’t take Galway from the man and all that.

Sounds like you’re looking to give this man a “rattle” yourself, J.

Put a, small, bit of “Galway” into him, perhaps?

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Sounds like you’re looking to give this man a “rattle” yourself, J.

Put a, small, bit of “Galway” into him, perhaps?

What are you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

I too would be a fan of this.

The unexpected day drinking is really where all the crack happens.

I recall one unexpected session back home in Monaghan on a Super Sunday where I was out in the local at around 12 and having a few pints with the lads, back then I was fit for the Heineken and was in my drinking prime at 26 years old.

I was rudely interrupted by the mother around 3pm informing me of the dinner being ready. She was swiftly told to bring the dinner down to me in the pub on a plate of which she obliged. So I sat munching away at the dinner.

Being from a small border towns affords a certain level of expected lock-ins as the man who ran the pub was part of our group of lads also.

I recall, vaguely, that very same day we drank pints till around 6am the following morning and as I was stumbling home the bread vans were out delivering to the local Super Valu and as I was making my way up the church hill with the jacket sleeve getting ripped from having to use the wall to keep myself upright who passes by me but none other than the mother on her way to work.. I tell ye that's a look I'll never forget; I should have started calling her Medusa after that stare.

Did you at least bring her plate with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    That sounds very unhealthy and symptomatic of alcoholism to be honest.

It's crazy to see how many people are up for it, and very few demonising it. Change alcohol to cannabis and this thread wouldn't have got beyond the first page without people telling the OP, and those who agree, how much of a drug problem they'd have, compared to the 1 who multiple people then called out. Just an observation on the acceptance of one of the biggest killer drugs in Ireland/worldwide.

Oh fucck offfffffffffffffffffffffff!