If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Brian Cowen unwell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Dirkziggler

Reading this thread as someone who highly disliked Brian as a politician, I cant help but be disgusted reading some of this here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,160 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It’s testament to how ppl/society actively looks for a scapegoat that he is getting such criticism

He played a role in the Celtic tiger yes.

So did hundreds of thousands of other ppl

But for whatever reason some want to scapegoat this one person for the crash

Not that simple folks.

I don’t even understand how this thread is open ??

It’s ridiculous to say that we are entitled to a platform to discuss Brian Cowen and his years as a politician , good bad or indifferent. Why?
    It’s 8 years since he was active in politics . Why did none of you who are so critical of his policies in this thread not open a thread ANYTIME in the last 8 years? You’ve had 8 years to voice your opinions , why pick now ? He did not cause the recession singlehandedly, it was global. Most of us had to get over it, move on, reinvent ourselves. That’s part of life ..... Good times, bad times.

But NO wait man is possibly on his death bed to vent a cowardly anonymous tirade against him? It’s utterly tasteless and sickening. How would any of us feel if this was our brother, our father, our uncle? We will all be dying some day and would we like to know there was an online forum discussion our past performance at work or otherwise?

Our job and our title at work is just that , a small part of who we are, the public front of who we are. There is so much more to every single one of us that is private, the real person, the person who has a family and kids and relatives.

This thread should be closed. What purpose is it serving? It’s ghoulish and voyeristic and the more i read it the more disillusioned I get about our so called “right to express ourselves” on everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

The snowflakery is strong in this place. Grow a pair people

This thread should be closed. What purpose is it serving? It’s ghoulish and voyeristic and the more i read it the more disillusioned I get about our so called “right to express ourselves” on everything.

Who is forcing you to read it?

Calling something or someone “snowflake” is the laziest form of debate and deflection and does not address the point I was making.

As John Cleese recently said “sociopaths used the term snowflake to discredit the notion of empathy “.

In this case I have empathy for Brian Cowan’s family. I didn’t like him as a politician but know nothing about him as a person and I doubt many people here do.
    So if I am a snowflake for saying this thread is unnecessary and many of the comments are distasteful then I’m happy to be a snowflake. At least I can argue a point and give you a reason why.

Would you like your father or brother or son to have people who never knew him and never met him tearing him to shreds online while he was hooked up to life support?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 58 ✭✭Cyclical Apocalypse

Edgware wrote: »
    Unfortunately, it appears that the best his family can wish for now is for him to have a swift and painless death. Sometimes it's better that than to linger on in suffering.
    Thank for that expert opinion. Its great to have someone available with such precise knowledge. Was it Yale you went to? They make very good keys

Do I sound like a f****** yank to you? If you must know, I graduated from Oxford, not some third rate third level institution.

Would you like your father or brother or son to have people who never knew him and never met him tearing him to shreds online while he was hooked up to life support?

I wouldnt care in the slightest, go ahead, feel free.

If my father was someone deserving of criticism or was a controversial figure in some way, then I would understand why people would have varied opinions and wouldn't allow myself to become upset by others. I agree it's terrible to show no empathy, but sometimes too much compassion can also be a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,086 ✭✭✭gifted

Brian Cowen and his ilk weren't slow in lapping up all the praise when things were going good...they were responsible for making sure that the good times were controlled, they failed miserably.....I wish a speedy recovery for Mr.Cowen but there are hundreds of families out there who suffered a lot worse and still suffering today because of him.

“Feel free” to abuse your father online ?? :confused:

Eh I don’t know your father , why would I ? Kinda strange response and nothing to do with this thread :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

gifted wrote: »
    Brian Cowen and his ilk weren't slow in lapping up all the praise when things were going good...they were responsible for making sure that the good times were controlled, they failed miserably.....I wish a speedy recovery for Mr.Cowen but there are hundreds of families out there who suffered a lot worse and still suffering today because of him.

Not really if a lot of these people who you say are suffering counted their egges before they hatched, they wouldn't be running around like headless chickens.

Buying houses which they couldn't afford, not researching how trends come and go...

Buying 7 for all mankind jeans when French connection and Hugo boss looked much better and far superior...

Wisdom and the ability to think like an actuary has far more power than being a waster than ostentatious leanings.

What a lot of people could afford in spades they indulged in diamonds....

I could have bought the bmw 5 series and had the fab pad, but I researched how booms come and go....

So it was the corolla and house down the boreen for myself...

Blaming people for your own decisions is a cop out...

I hope things are going OK for you now, but never get duped into thinking all that glitters is gold....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    This is not true.

I'm unfollowing this thread now because I'm finding it difficult not to challenge the nonsense posted about Brian on many posts. He played a roll in the leadup to the world banking crash We left ourselves wide open. I find it amazing that Brian has grown into a bigger monster year on year in some peoples minds over the last 10 years or so. People should forget about what they think they remember & go back & read up on the whole saga.

TBF Cowen was finance minister from 2004 to 2008 before he was Taoiseach. He played a major role in how 'we' left ourselves open due to laxed regulation and sweet 'pay me when you can' deals.
    Cowen's third budget in 2007, in anticipation of the 2007 general election, was regarded as one of the biggest spending sprees in the history of the state. The €3.7 billion package included increases in pension and social welfare allowances, a marked green agenda, as well as a reduction in the top rate of income tax from 42% to 41%.

.....The meeting, over a seven-hour period, took place over a round of golf and a subsequent dinner with Fitzpatrick and two other directors of Anglo Irish Bank.

During a heated Leader's Question session in Dáil Éireann, which ran over the allotted time considerably, Cowen denied that Anglo Irish Bank had been discussed
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Cowen

And ended up with a nice job off Dinny.
    Denis O'Brien owned Topaz appoints Brian Cowen as director
    https://www.thejournal.ie/topaz-brian-cowen-1445910-May2014/

So I think he gets his fair dues.

I wish ill health on no man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

People taking out loans they couldn't afford and being financially irresponsible is their own fault. People always looking to blame others for their own mistakes. Yes the banks behaved badly but so did a lot of people, the banks didn't put a gun to people's heads to take out loans you know. Should Cowen and FF behaved more responsible, yes of course but people are deluded if they think FG, SF or any other political party in the country would have behaved any different. It would have taken a very strong leader to resist the calls that where being made for more spending on welfare, health etc. At least Cowen stuck around to try and fix things, he didn't just pack it in when the going got tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

People taking out loans they couldn't afford and being financially irresponsible is their own fault. People always looking to blame others for their own mistakes. Yes the banks behaved badly but so did a lot of people, the banks didn't put a gun to people's heads to take out loans you know. Should Cowen and FF behaved more responsible, yes of course but people are deluded if they think FG, SF or any other political party in the country would have behaved any different. It would have taken a very strong leader to resist the calls that where being made for more spending on welfare, health etc. At least Cowen stuck around to try and fix things, he didn't just pack it in when the going got tough.

Sounds like a lot of excuses.
    You've summed up every Fine Gael, Fianna Fail election campaign.

“Feel free” to abuse your father online ?? :confused:

Eh I don’t know your father , why would I ? Kinda strange response and nothing to do with this thread :confused:

You dont know Brian Cowan either so why are you taking offense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

I always liked brian cowan thought he was a decent man who unfortunately was sold the worst hand ever as taoiseach.

No politican would have done worse or better than cowan given the circumstances. Irelands economy sadly flows with the tide...

Had he (or bertie) spent less they'd have lost office to FG who incidentally berated FF for not spending enough....ha ha

If he is an ill as the rumours its a strange thing that him and brian lenihan (the two driving the bank guarantee) were taken well before there time.

People who want to dance on his grave have their own issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Get help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

Thread unfollowed. I've read enough

splinter65 wrote: »

Get help.

What should he get help for, Is it for the fact that they wouldn't get upset by the comments of strangers on the internet perhaps the person feels secure enough not to be bothered by some random comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

What should he get help for, Is it for the fact that they wouldn't get upset by the comments of strangers on the internet perhaps the person feels secure enough not to be bothered by some random comment.

Get help for a mentality that doesn’t recognize that there’s nothing courageous about anonymous posters tearing apart the character of a public figure on their deathbed. Kidchameleon has accused posters who decline to join in the tearing apart as having no “balls”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Who is forcing you to read it?

If you weren't taught manners as a child well....

Grow a pair indeed. Back to your games kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

I always liked brian cowan thought he was a decent man who unfortunately was sold the worst hand ever as taoiseach.

You like him so much you can't spell his name right? Do you mean he was dealt a bad hand? He was Minister for Finance FFS, before he was Taoiseach!If he was dealt a bad hand he dealt it to himself.
    He was playing golf with Sean Fitzpatrick months before the bubble burst and claimed nothing was discussed about the state of Anglo Irish Bank.
    He poured fuel on a fire and was incompetent at best. I'm not sure we will ever find out the true extent of what Fianna Faíl knew; but they were up to their necks in it and far too cosy with developers. Plus the luvvy useless media in this country gave Brian Cowen avery easy ride. Regaling us with stories of what great craic he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,172 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

splinter65 wrote: »
    Get help for a mentality that doesn’t recognize that there’s nothing courageous about anonymous posters tearing apart the character of a public figure on their deathbed. Kidchameleon has accused posters who decline to join in the tearing apart as having no “balls”.

Why does it have to be courageous? I wasn't aware that was a condition of commenting on an online forum, or why anonymity matters a damn.
    If the post is genuine, what matters is its truth \ reflection of the poster's opinion.
    Anything I have said about Brian Cowen's poor performance in high office I would repeat in the staff canteen if the topic came up.

If you are going to hold high office, you'd have to have your head in the clouds if you think people aren't going to reflect on your time in office at times like this.

I seriously doubt politicians themselves observe such a moratorium in their comments behind closed doors about former colleagues \ opponents \ both.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Thread unfollowed. I've read enough

Me too , I’m out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

You like him so much you can't spell his name right? Do you mean he was dealt a bad hand? He was Minister for Finance FFS, before he was Taoiseach!If he was dealt a bad hand he dealt it to himself.
    He was playing golf with Sean Fitzpatrick months before the bubble burst and claimed nothing was discussed about the state of Anglo Irish Bank.
    He poured fuel on a fire and was incompetent at best. I'm not sure we will ever find out the true extent of what Fianna Faíl knew; but they were up to their necks in it and far too cosy with developers. Plus the luvvy useless media in this country gave Brian Cowen avery easy ride. Regaling us with stories of what great craic he was.

please forgive my spelling . I was on the bus.on my phone...but fire away from your high horse .
    If thats all you got its a ****ty argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

please forgive my spelling . I was on the bus.on my phone...but fire away from your high horse .
    If thats all you got its a ****ty argument

You are implying he was unlucky.He was the Minister for Finance for 4 Years before he became Taoiseach! He was playing golf with the Chairman of Anglo Irish Bank a mere matter of months before the taxpayer bailed the bank out to the tune of billions. Remember it was a non pillar bank. However it was a bank to many of Fianna Faíl's developer friends and donors.
    That's my 'argument'
    What is yours exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

Brian Cowen certainly inherited a poison chalice. One it could be argued he help create. I think it was merciful for Cowen that his tenure as Taoiseach was short. He seemed to be floundering and blustering and not one who would inspire his country to rise out of recession. He is relatively speaking a young man so a brain hem is a devastating situation for him and his family. However it is at this point that I truly get angry.
    He will be the recipient of the best health care the country can offer. You can bet your dollar that he won't be on a trolley on a hospital corridor. Yet Mary on social from Killinarden will probably experience the complete opposite to the care Cowen is afforded. Why because he is rich and a famous politician? It's sickening. For the record no one should have to be left on a hospital trolley on a corridor. Everyone should be entitled to the best health care possibility the country can offer it's citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭LillySV

Me too , I’m out .

Same here. Heard enough from lots of stupid millennial retards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,148 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I am not going to make any comment on BC's time as Taoiseach. Plenty of time for historians to do that.

But at this stage, and hopefully for his family and friends, there must be hope for some recovery now. If there wasn't (and I know this personally), he would probably have been on life support and then it would be cut off within a day or two.

I wish him and family well, it is not an easy path with a devastating illness like that.

I was never a FF fan, but would not wish anything bad on anyone, and I am no saint either.

His legacy will be picked over when the time is right.