Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

A bit late to the party but I finished Chernobyl tonight. A fantastic mini-series and the accompanying post episode podcast is a must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

A bit late to the party but I finished Chernobyl tonight. A fantastic mini-series and the accompanying post episode podcast is a must.

I was reading about a guy who lived near there when it happened. He watched the series and said in the first 10 minute's he counted 17 inaccuracies on 1 hand alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

awec wrote: »
    I took a notion! :D

There are no decent kebabs in Wicklow, in fact there is no decent fast food at all where you are.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Zaytoon is crap. They put peppers or something in it.

I should also clarify that I'm a purely kebab tray man. No time for the pitta bread.

My local chipper has the luminous orange sauce. You need to move to da nortsoide

I never knew you could get a kebab tray this is excellent news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

stephen_n wrote: »
    I took a notion! :D

There are no decent kebabs in Wicklow, in fact there is no decent fast food at all where you are.

Is there decent fast food anywhere? The delivery options are limited but we've 3 or 4 good Indians, 2 good thai places with a Camille opening soon and a new pizza place in beside Tesco that does take out and is good. Not sure what the Chinese places are like as I'm not a fan of Chinese.

Crowd going mad for George Ezra at Glastonbury. Young ones love these bland feckers. That Lewis Capaldi is another dose...Absolute dross...More life in a morgue.

Rant over.

• Administrators Posts: 55,069 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling wrote: »
    Crowd going mad for George Ezra at Glastonbury. Young ones love these bland feckers. That Lewis Capaldi is another dose...Absolute dross...More life in a morgue.

Rant over.

I could listen to the odd songs by those lads but one of their concerts just seems like hell to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Rant over.
    I worked his gig in malahide there last week. Was same for him there as well and have kaleidoscope this weekend in blessington. Still waiting there to get back to city centre....

Just got on the Enterprise train to Belfast. Very large sign at carriage E saying "this carriage is for people with pre booked reservations". Why was someone sitting in my seat and why are people moving from other seats and asking "are these seats booked"?
    Are people stupid? Can people not read? Is there a thickness particle in the brain that activates when people get on public transport?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Just got on the Enterprise train to Belfast. Very large sign at carriage E saying "this carriage is for people with pre booked reservations". Why was someone sitting in my seat and why are people moving from other seats and asking "are these seats booked"?
    Are people stupid? Can people not read? Is there a thickness particle in the brain that activates when people get on public transport?
    They're just chancing their arm in the hope that they won't be challenged. IE are re-introducing conductors to all inter-city trains. The sooner the better. Fairly sure the enterprise always had one.

Speaking of the enterprise - last time I was on it, the 1 way first class was a fiver more than regular class. Hot towels all round and a good fry delivered straight to your seat? Don't mind if I do!

dregin wrote: »
    They're just chancing their arm in the hope that they won't be challenged. IE are re-introducing conductors to all inter-city trains. The sooner the better. Fairly sure the enterprise always had one.

Speaking of the enterprise - last time I was on it, the 1 way first class was a fiver more than regular class. Hot towels all round and a good fry delivered straight to your seat? Don't mind if I do!

Was 20 quid more for me. I think I'll actually book it the next time. It's not even people chancing their arms...Dopey young american kids wondering why they're being asked to move. The hint might have been that large sign that your backpack nearly fcuking cleaned when you barrelled on earlier.

I always book first class on the train to Belfast. Only way to do it.

I'm definitely doing that the next time. There's a fat, sweaty, hairy lad sitting opposite me who is watching a movie on his tablet, whilst taking 100 photos out the window and demolishing a large bag of crisps.... anyone know what the sentence is for beating someone to death with a shoe?

Edit Now he's absolutely destroying the biggest bag of wine gums I've ever seen.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Is there decent fast food anywhere? The delivery options are limited but we've 3 or 4 good Indians, 2 good thai places with a Camille opening soon and a new pizza place in beside Tesco that does take out and is good. Not sure what the Chinese places are like as I'm not a fan of Chinese.

Depends on your preference I guess. Chipmongers in Bray is excellent for fish and chips. Henry and Rose in Bray do fairly good burgers, better than Bunsen anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Must be the same one that activates in sports stadiums.

"I think you're sitting in my seat."

"What does your ticket say"

"15H"

"Yeah, this is 26G, go one row back and over to the next block, that's you."

"Oh"

I mean its letters and numbers so I suppose I get the confusion.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

molloyjh wrote: »
    Must be the same one that activates in sports stadiums.

"I think you're sitting in my seat."

"What does your ticket say"

"15H"

"Yeah, this is 26G, go one row back and over to the next block, that's you."

"Oh"

I mean its letters and numbers so I suppose I get the confusion.....

Exact same thing on planes as well. Just people constantly trying to chance their arm because they were too cheap to pay for the prebooking. Was on a flight to London for work a couple of weeks ago and some auld one had an absolute meltdown because she was told to move because it wasn't her seat and someone else had booked it, but she insisted on sitting beside her husband on a packed plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,492 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Exact same thing on planes as well. Just people constantly trying to chance their arm because they were too cheap to pay for the prebooking. Was on a flight to London for work a couple of weeks ago and some auld one had an absolute meltdown because she was told to move because it wasn't her seat and someone else had booked it, but she insisted on sitting beside her husband on a packed plane.

That paying more to sit next to the person you're flying with is a load of bollocks.

That being said, you know the rules when you get on the plane. Even if the rules are a load of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

That paying more to sit next to the person you're flying with is a load of bollocks.

That being said, you know the rules when you get on the plane. Even if the rules are a load of ****.

I don't think it's a load of bollocks. If you want to sit with the people you're travelling with then you can pay. If you get on Dublin Bus as a group you don't automatically get to sit together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

The airline would counter that it allows people who don't care where they sit to pay less. At least everyone has an assigned seat now before boarding, the stampede onto a Ryanair flight when it was a free for all was the most depressing thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,492 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I don't think it's a load of bollocks. If you want to sit with the people you're travelling with then you can pay. If you get on Dublin Bus as a group you don't automatically get to sit together.

Sure, but you don't get charged more to do so. If the seats on the bus are available, you can do it, for free. On the airplane, the seats are there when you're booking, so you should be allowed to choose seats beside each other for free, if they're available.

It costs the airline nothing, this is just an excuse to nickel and dime the customer. Again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Mayo are going to close this out but there's a solid argument that they're the second best side on the field here. 2 points in it and the difference is a great stop from David Clarke but a verysoft goal to concede by Armagh.

Up Armagh!

• That paying more to sit next to the person you're flying with is a load of bollocks.

It's great. Bit of peace and quiet for a few hours.

Agreed.

I always avoid paying so I don't have to sit next to herself.

Buer wrote: »
    Agreed.

I always avoid paying so I don't have to sit next to herself.

Convenient excuse for a cheap b@stard that.

AerLingus still allow you to book seats for free as long as it’s within 48 hours before the flight. So it only really affects people checking in on the day.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Buer wrote: »
    Mayo are going to close this out but there's a solid argument that they're the second best side on the field here. 2 points in it and the difference is a great stop from David Clarke but a verysoft goal to concede by Armagh.

On borrowed time really

I liked the look of Armagh but they're still a side who are lower Division 2, and probably would have lost to Down only for them losing Caolan Mooney. With all due respect its not a game any team with All Ireland ambitions should be limping over the line in - and were fortunate enough to do so

Mayo's last two championship campaigns have seen losses to Roscommon, Kildare, Galway (all Division 1 in that year) and unconvincing wins over Tipperary, Down and Armagh (all division 2/3 in that year).

At championship level I think Mayo have now regressed to the tier below Donegal, Tyrone, Kerry and maybe Roscommon and Galway, who themselves are all a tier below Dublin all out on their own

Mayo still bring plenty of drama as seen last night but it looks like an appearance in the Super 8s are the best they can hope for at present

Looks like the AI dream is gone for this era - its a shame they couldn't win one, and they certainly should have

Jaysus Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Limerick are back babey. Serious second half performance.

Think that just about summed up the MHC this year.

Great showing from Limerick but not exactly an enthralling game.