Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2019 All Ireland Senior Football Championship *Mod note: Post #1*

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 18,383 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

joe40 wrote: »
    I'm far from a GAA expert but just a wee question about Dublin dominance of the inter county scene at the minute. Would it be fair to say that this complete dominance isn't reflected in the club scene for Dublin, which after all is the breeding ground for intercounty players. Corofin (Galway) and Gweedore (Donegal) competed for the club championship. Is this strange?

That is an excellent point actually that is rarely spoken about.
    I would be neutral when I go to Dublin Senior Club championship games where the standard is great among the top eight.

Ballymun (perennial favourites) have underachieved because they are mostly knackered through the amount of players they have playing for Dublin McCarthy, Rock, Small, Mcmahon etc. Plus there are also questions asked about the sideline calls.
    They have repeatedly lost to a match smart/aging Vincents side Ger Brennan, Mossy Quinn et al.

Crokes were caught this year against that Longford crowd (can't spell it) who had 5 intercounty players who beat Meath previously.
    But this was a Crokes side who had Mannion who scored seven from play against Kildare last weekend.

It is not the first time a club in Leinster has shocked a Dublin team. Rathnew from Wicklow beat Vincents and kept Diarmuid Connolly to 2 points.

In an AI final Brigids from Roscommon beat Ballymun who were 6 ahead at one stage.