Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish people support English teams?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Omackeral wrote: »
    As well as, would be my argument. You can do both. Most do have a team they like across the water contrary to belief.

Absolutely. I follow my local club, but I also have a soft spot for a club in the UK who's results I look out for, as I was at a few games at the start of the year when I was living there for a while

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

8-10 wrote: »
    Why would I go to a game now at my age knowing that the guy beside me looks down on me for not going all my life and because I support Liverpool? Why even bother if I’m being judged before going to the turnstiles?

You wouldn't be. New fans are always welcome. Nobody would even know that you're new anyway, how would they? You see EPL jerseys being worn at games all the time. Nobody cares. It's a non issue.

I think you should give it a lash if you get the chance. Genuinely. EPL season is over. No WC or Euro tournament on. Why not? You might like it. Worst thing that could happen is that you'll get fresh air and see an alright game of ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    Christ. If you're living in the area for a while there is connection. He's not in the UK, exclusively supporting an Irish team is he? Different.

Well,he is living in Co.Cork and I'm in Co.Waterford so if I was bringing him it would be Waterford.
    He has enough Langers to deal with during the day without ruining his Friday night as well!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

blade1 wrote: »
    Well,he is living in Co.Cork and I'm in Co.Waterford so if I was bringing him it would be Waterford.
    He has enough Langers to deal with during the day without ruining his Friday night as well!:pac:

Sure bring him to the Waterford and bohs match on the 28th.
    We can all fight in the shed or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Omackeral wrote: »
    You wouldn't be. New fans are always welcome. Nobody would even know that you're new anyway, how would they? You see EPL jerseys being worn at games all the time. Nobody cares. It's a non issue.

I think you should give it a lash if you get the chance. Genuinely. EPL season is over. No WC or Euro tournament on. Why not? You might like it. Worst thing that could happen is that you'll get fresh air and see an alright game of ball.

I know the loi plays over the summer. What bright spark came up with that idea? Sure why don’t they play over the ****ty freezing winter months like real men in the Irish league up here?

(Private Memo to Irish league. Wise the feck up)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    Come off it. Support your own league and make it better, you'll enjoy it more. Like give me a break, if it was OK then there'd be a bigger spread of teams followed in England other than Chelsea, arsenal, Liverpool, united and the odd Leeds fan. Its a bandwagon similar to Ireland when they get to a tournament.

People get on the bandwagon from a very young age. Because of our culture. You want to blame kids for supporting Man United when it’s what their friends are doing and it’s a big talking point in school. That’s how it starts and are you suggesting it’s something people should grow out of or something?

Fair enough if someone is constantly changing the team they support year on year to match who is the best team or whatever but if you start supporting an English team from a very age and still to do this day, anyone who looks down on you for it, is very pathetic in my eyes.

The “support a LOI team” someone mentioned to me in response, is a very easy argument to make. If I had a local soccer team in the LOI I would 100% support them and attend as much games as possible.

FourFourFM wrote: »
    If I had a local soccer team in the LOI I would 100% support them and attend as much games as possible.

I wish more people had your outlook. Genuinely mean that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Greyfox wrote: »
    My league is the EPL, but as I'm Irish I think I should support the Irish league too. There's nothing to be gained from a EPL v LOI argument. There's no rule that says you can't support both.

The fact you dont know the name of the league in the country you live in speaks volumes.

Utter nonsense, absolutely nothing artificial about it which is why most Irish people will always prefer the EPL

If the Rovers fans use to live in Tallaght I admire them and if there not from Tallaght then there the same as Irish fans flying over to Old Trafford/Anfield

And where is this rulebook that defines a real fan?.. Oh you just made it up yourself.. making up rules it something children do, next you'll be saying a real Irish person should only buy food produced in Ireland and that were not allowed to support sports stars who are not Irish

It is 100% artificial. Shouting at a tv screen is not supporting a team.

A real fan, just so you know, is somebody who supports a team from their own city or country. Who knows the game, the culture and what it is like to have a real connection. Something a barstooler will never ever understand.

Go to any other country and take in a game. Those people at that game are real fans.

And I know from taking in games in other countries and talking to other real fans their bemusement at oirish wearing english jersies.

It is your loss. You "support" that club simply because everyone else does and they won a trophy.

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    A real fan, just so you know, is somebody who supports a team from their own city or country.

I'm an ardent LOI fan and I can't agree with this. You can be from here and follow a team from abroad much like you can support a team from here and not be from here. My mates at Bohs are from Germany, Belgium, Brazil and Limerick.

I think fans should be at games though because football without the people is worthless. If it's a case of you can't get to see your team because they're in another country, that kinda tells you why people tend to support teams near to them. That's not a shot at anyone, that's just logical.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,328 ✭✭✭✭8-10

A real fan, just so you know, is somebody who supports a team from their own city or country. Who knows the game, the culture and what it is like to have a real connection. Something a barstooler will never ever understand.

Perfectly happy never understanding that then. Sounds like elitist rubbish. Unwritten rules designed to exclude others

Happy supporting my team who are welcoming to all supporters regardless of what country they come from, no matter what their reasons why, and which is enjoyable to watch whether on TV or live

• Registered Users Posts: 18,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Perfectly happy never understanding that then. Sounds like elitist rubbish.

Do you not understand the irony of this post, you claim to be an ardent supporter of one of the biggest clubs in the world! :eek:

Six European Cups (finalists last two years) - winners this year
    Uefa Cup Winners
    The second most leagues in the history of English football.
    FA cups and League Cups multiple times

You chose to support one of the elite teams in world football.
    Just because they are elite - Liverpool

How could supporting your own local team be considered elitist?
    Explain that logic to me ?

It is just madness.
    I was just at local GAA club game it was a home league match against third placed team. My team is second placed.
    It was great entertainment.
    There was probably less than 50 people watching, it was free.
    I could not help thinking how much better entertainment it was than watching the CL final on TV the previous week.

Why do people who consider themselves Irish soccer fans
    - find themselves incapable of getting the same enjoyment from watching thier local soccer team?
    No one is saying that you give up on your beloved Liverpool.
    If that is your luxury grand, fair enough.

But surely if you consider yourself a 'soccer man' you would not be able to get enough of live games.
    So you follow your local club to get that aspect more games=more fun. Regardless of the standard.
    For the love of the sport, and the place your from.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Perfectly happy never understanding that then. Sounds like elitist rubbish. Unwritten rules designed to exclude others

Happy supporting my team who are welcoming to all supporters regardless of what country they come from, no matter what their reasons why, and which is enjoyable to watch whether on TV or live

It is the reality in every country. Until you go to a game in a different country and watch how locals support their team you will never understand.

Of course they are happy taking your money. But your money would be better spent supporting your own.

It is the reality in every country. Until you go to a game in a different country and watch how locals support their team you will never understand.

Of course they are happy taking your money. But your money would be better spent supporting your own.

And then of course people wonder how the International team does not improve as Irish players struggle to get game-time over in England.
    Competing with players from all over the globe.
    They fall further down the divisions in England looking for a team to get into, if they don't, they are chewed up spat out and forgotten about.

If people supported thier local club the standard of International football would no doubt improve as well.
    As less Irish players would be lost to the sport after disillusionment over in England.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Go to any other country and take in a game. Those people at that game are real fans.

And I know from taking in games in other countries and talking to other real fans their bemusement at oirish wearing english jersies.

It is your loss. You "support" that club simply because everyone else does and they won a trophy.

Hahaha.. and sure soccer is a foreign game and if your really Irish you should only play Irish games, your post shows a lack of understanding of what football is. Football is a global game where connections are so much more than simple geography. A real fan is anybody who continues to support a team when there going through a bad patch. Where is this rule written that you have to pick a team from your own city/country? I know the game very well and I have a real connection with my club, a connection that's just as real and deep as what you have with your club.

Most barstoolers fall in love with a foreign team before they get a chance to go to a LOI match, it's not there fault that the EPL is everywhere, we live in a world where were free to choose and if some choose a foreign league there not breaking any rules. The bemused people you met are just eejits who don't understand football. It's no loss to me, I chose my club wisely, if a club can't give you happiness what's the point of picking them in the first place.

If you want more people to follow the Airtricity league this real fans nonsense needs to end as it puts potential fans off, luckily the vast majority of LOI fans are not like you. Instead you need to be talking up the Airtricity league

Ya agree with greyfox.
    The bitterness is pointless. I just think they are missing out whether they know or not.

Even the grimness of some places adds to it.
    Getting curry cheese chips while being battered with rain up in dundalk has a certain charm to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Ya agree with greyfox.
    The bitterness is pointless. I just think they are missing out whether they know or not.

Even the grimness of some places adds to it.
    Getting curry cheese chips while being battered with rain up in dundalk has a certain charm to it.

Yes bitterness is pointless, but also this excuse of "I read someone on boards say that I am not a real fan, screw them!" is crap. It's an easy way out. A minority of fans are really like that, and if I have given that off, I do not mean it, its just frustration. No one is going to be at a game telling you leave or looking down on you, that excuse is a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭atilladehun

I'm still baffled at this conversation. People from Africa, the middle east, Asia, Australia, the Americas, Scandinavia and most of the rest of the world have famously supported the top European teams for decades. Its not an irish thing. Some support their local teams, others don't. There really is no should in this conversation. You can be just not into it.

What about all those irish people who just don't support any irish sport?!?! How dare they.

I'm still baffled at this conversation. People from Africa, the middle east, Asia, Australia, the Americas, Scandinavia and most of the rest of the world have famously supported the top European teams for decades. Its not an irish thing. Some support their local teams, others don't. There really is no should in this conversation. You can be just not into it.

What about all those irish people who just don't support any irish sport?!?! How dare they.

And what about their leauges?
    They are way better supported than ours? What's the craic there?

And what about their leauges?
    They are way better supported than ours? What's the craic there?

As in is there as much animosity between lads who support local teams or man utd etc.
    Seems those leauges are healthy enough to support both.

Because on the man utd subreddit they get derided for their tattoo's and colour schemes for bikes or cuff links for weddings.

All that commercialism argument and branding has been well covered on this thread.
    There are always going to be a percentage who just pick it for the brand - Roliex-BMW-Apple syndromes.
    Many of those type of fans would actually change club depending on thier PL teams success or failure.
    They are more consumers first and soccer fans second.

But those who really love the sport would support thier local team.
    As it represents thier area, they can attend live games on a regular basis etc.
    The majority of the Irish soccer fans do not do that.

Because they are so blinded by marketing/commercialism/branding with an inbuilt complex about how -
    All things English = superior
    All things Irish = inferior.
    (years of successful colonialism may be a cause for this)

But then when it comes to the Irish national team this logic disappears for some strange reason.

Even though they are not that good and few play for PL sides never mind top 6 - maybe the fact the players play in England is enough of a reason for the Irish PL fan? They make an exception quality wise.

Yet they do not realise that a reasonably strong domestic league, will lead to a stronger international team - given time.
    They are not willing to support a football team regardless of quality at club level, like they do at International level
    That is the Irish PL soccer fans mental dichotomy.

They are actually keeping Irish soccer down rather than helping it.
    And it will probably get much worse.
    Ir won't be long before most of the Irish national side are plying thier trade in the second/third tier of English soccer.

There are always going to be a percentage who just pick it for the brand - Roliex-BMW-Apple syndromes.

Yeah I'm quite a snob about my Roliex

Ireland

Population 4.5m

Irish PLD average attendance : 2,686

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0327/1039008-increase-in-sse-airtricity-league-attendances/

It used to be well below the 2000 mark

Scotland

Population: 5.2m

Scottish Premiership average attendance: 15000-16000

Denmark

Population 5.7m

Danish Superliga average attendance: 6000-7000

Norway

Population: 5.3m

Norwegian Eliteserien average attendance: 6000-7000

For European countries attendance stats see below:

http://www.european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn.htm

I have been very fair and picked countries of similar population who also have an interest in the English PL football.
    I excluded Wales because thier main teams play in the English league. Population smaller only 3.1m.

You're answering the question anyway as to why Irish people support English clubs

What do you think those attendance numbers tell you about the quality of product on offer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

You're answering the question anyway as to why Irish people support English clubs

What do you think those attendance numbers tell you about the quality of product on offer?

It tells me that none of those three countries have a national sport that is remotely close to the GAA.

So you think the quality is the same?

Seriously? That is what you got from it! Wow. Product? Consumer?
    Not the fact that proportionally Ireland is shattered by other countries support.
    If is about quality why do Irish international fans follow the team?

That argument does not stack up plenty of soccer people cannot stand anything to do with the GAA.
    If soccer people really liked the sport as much as they claim they would follow thier local teams much more as simple as that.
    They are codding themselves with mental gymnastics and excuses.

The facts are there in black and white.

Seriously? That is what you got from it! Wow. Product? Consumer?
    Not the fact that proportionally Ireland is shattered by other countries support.
    If is about quality why do Irish international fans follow the team?

I say it over and over again, there's loads of valid reasons to support an English team. Quality is one of them for sure. Inclusiveness is another, they're particularly welcoming to foreign fans.

But is shouldn't matter why someone supports a team, it can differ person to person and as long as they enjoy it what's the harm?

I say it over and over again, there's loads of valid reasons to support an English team. Quality is one of them for sure. Inclusiveness is another, they're particularly welcoming to foreign fans.

But is shouldn't matter why someone supports a team, it can differ person to person and as long as they enjoy it what's the harm?

Welcoming to foreign fans?
    Do you realise how weak that sounds?
    The teams that Irish PL fans support (in particular) view fans not as fans but as consumers.
    Of course they are going to be welcoming to foreign fans it means more money.
    Money-spinning meaningless friendlies worldwide etc.

If an Irish EPL soccer fan really loved soccer as much they say they do they would not only support those foreign glamour teams, but an Irish club team as well.
    But the majority don't.
    It is not for the love of the sport of soccer that Irish PL 'fans' of support a club in EPL soccer.
    Like you implied they are more interested in the product and brand.
    That's the truth of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I get the sense of identity.

It's probably a bigger social thing, especially in Dublin. The overall sense of community is dissipating I find - even if I am in my Victor Meldrew stage!

Even with the Dublin footballers, while well supported, you could easily spend the day in a Dublin suburb and not know they were playing in a big game.

Same applies even to national teams. Flags come out when Irish soccer team are in finals, but I would safely say not that many were interested in the match the other day.

And for all the sh1te talk about rugby being the heartbeat of the nation there are vast swathes of Dublin where no-one cares. Only thing that brings attention is TV.