Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Voltex wrote: »
    Forgot about Paschal. He was Gill's mentor for along time...

People give out about the gards but they really have put away some dangerous people away for years lately, doing a great job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Your right though. Gill is a funny onion in the world of gangland. He's from a decent family, he's well educated, well spoken and very intelligent.
    He's a very smart man no doubt. Much smarter than most of them that regularly appear in this thread. I'm surprised he's still about with the amount of stuff he's linked to and enemies he would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

Always amazed me how the Ra never retaliated for ryan being murdered, it’s out there that a Mr Big did it but nothing no comeback on him, I don’t buy that they don’t have the people to do it, only have to look to Derry to see they still are about and thought the fact a gangster murdered one of their own they would retaliate as a matter of principle and as a warning others not to target their members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

I think they feel out in the last few years or something. Funny when Kelly moved to Cavan there was several gangland murders around the same time there. Several still unsolved now. Another coincidence.

I remember the 2 Dublin lads who were murdered up there and dumped on an island. From what I read, it was the Taliban brothers that clipped those lads...

Calltocall wrote: »
    Always amazed me how the Ra never retaliated for ryan being murdered, it’s out there that a Mr Big did it but nothing no comeback on him, I don’t buy that they don’t have the people to do it, only have to look to Derry to see they still are about and thought the fact a gangster murdered one of their own they would retaliate as a matter of principle and as a warning others not to target their members

There used to be a time when the IRA struck the fear of god into gangs. They havent been that for along time. Ryan was taxing the gangs as if the IRA were still a force...and pissed off way too many people.

Didnt the IRA clip Eamon Kelly in return?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

I'm not surprised at all with the upsurge of shootings and killings on the street, it was quite obvious this was going to expand exponentially from the passing of the previous Lisbon Treaty. The amount of foreign people that came here to this tiny island, it was obvious that many of them thought it was an easy money opportunity to get into the drugs trade. People are giving out as usual in regards to the upsurge in executions, we will all see a lot more of this in all areas of Ireland as the years go by, no control of borders and easy access to the Island for the importation of drugs as well as the non-re-opening of rural garda stations will make this expansion of drug crime more prevalent.

You have to look back in time to see that we now have mafia's from many countries in/and working through Ireland now as well as many other serious foreign criminals. Yes, we have our own native criminals, but the government and justice system wasn't capable of handling this alone, so now you have this huge network of complex criminal activity from drug-lords and working criminals at the ports allowing the containers through to their destinations.

Money talks, but the deaths and executions will continue as long as the money talks. The government, well, they don't seem to live in this reality, i.e they don't really care. We found only a few corrupt gardai and inspectors, but you can be sure it's rampant out there in all little counties across the land.

Is there a way of fixing this ? I wonder if it is even possible at this stage.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

They tried on numerous occasions but for some reason the gards had a hard on for the reals in Dublin and buried them.

No one ever charged with Ryan’s murder.

Strange that ay.

I'm not surprised at all with the upsurge of shootings and killings on the street, it was quite obvious this was going to expand exponentially from the passing of the previous Lisbon Treaty. The amount of foreign people that came here to this tiny island, it was obvious that many of them thought it was an easy money opportunity to get into the drugs trade. People are giving out as usual in regards to the upsurge in executions, we will all see a lot more of this in all areas of Ireland as the years go by, no control of borders and easy access to the Island for the importation of drugs as well as the non-re-opening of rural garda stations will make this expansion of drug crime more prevalent.

You have to look back in time to see that we now have mafia's from many countries in/and working through Ireland now as well as many other serious foreign criminals. Yes, we have our own native criminals, but the government and justice system wasn't capable of handling this alone, so now you have this huge network of complex criminal activity from drug-lords and working criminals at the ports allowing the containers through to their destinations.

Money talks, but the deaths and executions will continue as long as the money talks. The government, well, they don't seem to live in this reality, i.e they don't really care. We found only a few corrupt gardai and inspectors, but you can be sure it's rampant out there in all little counties across the land.

Is there a way of fixing this ? I wonder if it is even possible at this stage.

Ah here Gemma!!

I remember the 2 Dublin lads who were murdered up there and dumped on an island. From what I read, it was the Taliban brothers that clipped those lads...
    They must be in double figures those lads. Yeah I remember meeting the families of those 2 Dublin men handing out leaflets before the bodies of the men where found dumped on the island. As far as I recall they met someone in Ballyjamesduff, then went off and were never seen again. Paschal Kelly was living in Ballyjamesduff around then I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Did it ever come out as to why they singled out Eamon Kelly to be shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

The RIRA killed Eamon Kelly in retaliation. Deckie Smith and then Vinnie Ryan were killed. I think the people up North realised Dublin was rotten and were more interested in internal housekeeping than further retaliation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

The ira restructured at the time...several smaller micro.groups aligned and joined together and moved away from "taxing" drug dealers and criminals as politically it was destroying them and most northern based micro groups wouldnt come onboard to fued with criminals

Alan ryan and faction led by him was facing explusion at the time,since have been (as well as that lad in cork oconnor??,who.was kneecapped to spare his life,after another chap.was killed in blackpool area cork.city)

****this is why OnH/new ira waited til.circa 6 to.8.months after his funeral to.announce their existance

There used to be a time when the IRA struck the fear of god into gangs. They havent been that for along time. Ryan was taxing the gangs as if the IRA were still a force...and pissed off way too many people.

Yes I think Sean Connolly got a life sentence for Kellys murder in Killester. And kelly himself was once a republican I think

Man that pulled a trigger won't be out for 15 years.
    When Kenneth Finn was murdered last year papers said he was the triggerman for Alan Ryan.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2254787/murdered-hitman-ken-finn-wore-prosthetic-mask-when-he-blasted-real-ira-terror-boss-alan-ryan/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

The Ra dont really get involved when their lads get killed doing their own thing, Michael Barr is another example of that. The leadership up North werent happy with Alan Ryan's antics down here.

Man that pulled a trigger won't be out for 15 years.

Dunno about that.

Cazale wrote: »
    The RIRA killed Eamon Kelly in retaliation. Deckie Smith and then Vinnie Ryan were killed. I think the people up North realised Dublin was rotten and were more interested in internal housekeeping than further retaliation.
    Yes they wanted nothing to do with it up North they had other priorities. Also Deckie Smith wasn't liked by most republicans North or South.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

Yes they wanted nothing to do with it up North they had other priorities. Also Deckie Smith wasn't liked by most republicans North or South.

I beleive he was implicated in killing a prision warden up.north though??

.Charlo wrote: »
    The Ra dont really get involved when their lads get killed doing their own thing, Michael Barr is another example of that. The leadership up North werent happy with Alan Ryan's antics down here.
    They were very involved for the funerals and anniversary stuff but no retaliation. Remember Anthony Stokes was at Ryans big rememberance do.

Yes I think Sean Connolly got a life sentence for Kellys murder in Killester. And kelly himself was once a republican I think
    Eamon Kelly was the closest Ireland ever had to a Don! He was into everything...

_blaaz wrote: »
    He fled Belfast after the murder of two republicans. I think one was decapitated with a shovel and he was supposedly involved. Also there was strong rumours he was an informant, he got away with a lot including multiple murders.

_blaaz wrote:

Was it not the double murder of two former CIRA members in Belfast that caused him to move to Dublin. One of them was beaten to death and nearly decapitated with a shovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

The IRA/RIRA whatever's mandate is to fight British occupation of Northern Ireland, why are they down here at all? There's no Brits to fight in the republic, unless they're conspiracy theorists who believe we were never granted independence in the first place?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

They were very involved for the funerals and anniversary stuff but no retaliation. Remember Anthony Stokes was at Ryans big rememberance do.

Stokes was good mates with him, hes a prìck he used to be starting fights all the time in the players lounge. He knew no one would touch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

It’s a good point you make they are not the same force they used to be, I did read a very interesting thread on a different site a few years back, I had a look online but can’t find it at moment, basically it went into detail about what happened to Ryan, it said that Ryan had the backing from the North and was acting under orders to target gangs however there was an incident in a Dublin hotel where he had arranged a sit down with a bagman for a number of dublin gangs, the bag man brought along with him a certain individual, Ryan threatened the bag man that he would be dealt with unless he coughed up, the individual that turned up with said bag man was an ex senior member of the provisional IRA and took exception to Ryans threats, there was a violent altercation and it was implied that Ryan signed his own death warrant at that meeting and that after that his own cut him loose and he lost the protection of the dissidents as the provisionals wanted him gone because he was encroaching on their rackets, I don’t know if that’s true but interesting take on it, as big a crim Mr Big is I don’t think he would have targeted Ryan unless they knew there would be no retaliation

Did it ever come out as to why they singled out Eamon Kelly to be shot?
    He had some involvement supposedly. But they couldn't get to Mr Big as he was in his gaf and had heavy gardai protection at the time I think. So they went for the easier option.

I bought Republican music cds off him online years ago and he never sent them after receiving the cash. A small thing in the grand scheme of things but shows you the measure of the man.

Who?

Was meant to be a total scumbag. Most republicans were happy he was killed at the time. I can't even remember what group killed him? It's unsolved, think it was outside a creche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

El_Bee wrote: »
    The IRA/RIRA whatever's mandate is to fight British occupation of Northern Ireland, why are they down here at all? There's no Brits to fight in the republic, unless they're conspiracy theorists who believe we were never granted independence in the first place?

In all fairness, it can hardly be surprising to find Irish Republicans all over Ireland.