Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Elections 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,028 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Looking at the picture of the Healy raes it's fair to say that Danny's wife did and her side did a lot of the genetic heavy lifting.

The cork city council results are picking up pace and more candidates are being elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Just on the first quote for my local leixlip, cauldwell and neville it was always going that way but how the hell is nuala killeen in 3rd out the gate, hopefully transfers put her inexperienced obnoxious style of vote getting away.

From political party does she hail from ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

The last laugh seems to be with the Healy Rae's, they have that constituency sown up for life.

i doubt they ever laugh except when counting their money and looking at the idiots that elected them.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    From political party does she hail from ?

the social democrats, my only guess is Catherine Murphy's endorsement gave her a serious boost. Yet another Rita Harrold 'im loud, im rude, im in your face and my only experience is screaming repeal the 8th' type with no exposure in leixlip till a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,799 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Heart warming to see all the posts worrying about the impact of the supposed middle class vote for Green Party on poor people from the posters who normally seem to want the poor to be put up against a wall and shot.

How did they SD african woman do? The one who was telling us alternative facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Sinn Fein lost 3 seats in Louth, FF picked up 2 leaving both on 7 seats each.

Poor performance from FG, down 2 seats to 5 despite only losing 0.6% of votes on 2014.

Labour did well in Drogheda picking up a 3rd seat there while the Greens representation is halved to 1.

Independents make up the other 6 seats.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Heart warming to see all the posts worrying about the impact of the supposed middle class vote for Green Party on poor people from the posters who normally seem to want the poor to be put up against a wall and shot.

Is it not a legitimate concern that poorer people will have to pay for the principles of Greeners?

I doubt it's a genuine concern of any of the posters clutching their pearls about it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

How did they SD african woman do? The one who was telling us alternative facts.

Fake news didn't make it. She's not too happy with the party leadership by all accounts.

I doubt it's a genuine concern of any of the posters clutching their pearls about it here.

Well for some it is a concern meanwhile you may continue to clutch your pearls.

emo72 wrote: »
    My kids are voting for greens. Signing me up for carbon tax to save the world. I wonder will they be happy when they don't get their iPhones off santy Claus.

if they have a vote and are still getting presenta off santy claus theyve been taking you for a ride a lot longer than since last Friday tbh

Well for some it is a concern meanwhile you may continue to clutch your pearls.

OK?

Personally I find it hard to see how Green Party local councillors and/or MEPs will have any impact on the taxation of poor people but it's great to see the right wingers worried about them all of a sudden however incoherent their rationale is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

What do you mean by 'pushed'? Do you mean they spoke about them?

There was no government scheme or grant or building requirement or anything, right?

It is possible I am wrong but I seem to remember these being included in the Home Energy Saving Scheme launched in 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,079 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

16jhgep.jpg

ncoabn.jpg

A great bunch of lads but which is scarier? Kerry or Offaly?
    Just missing a photo of Team Lowry.

Gombeen politics making a roaring come back in Ireland. It's truly depressing.

OK?

Personally I find it hard to see how Green Party local councillors and/or MEPs will have any impact on the taxation of poor people but it's great to see the right wingers worried about them all of a sudden however incoherent their rationale is :)

The Green party may not but Leo will use the vote as an endorsement of a move towards higher carbon taxes and more that will I think have a bigger impact on people who have less money. It will drive up prices across the board.

"Government party to punish poor people after electorate support for alternative party increases modestly in local elections. Alternative party blamed by disingenuous supporters of right wing politics."

Cork city north east is going to be bloody close for the last seat. There is 30 odd votes in it between the bottom two. Imagine getting 1,400 votes in a local election not getting a seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

If he couldn't get water charges across, I wouldn't worry too much about his endeavours to push through green policies and or taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,225 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He will do feck all about it until after a General Election otherwise he will suffer big time as will the Greens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Fine Gael need to keep the farmers and rural Ireland onside, its a big amount of their vote. I can't see any massive changes unless the greens get in government. Carbon taxes were on the agenda since last year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

He will do feck all about it until after a General Election otherwise he will suffer big time as will the Greens.
    Yeah he will probably delay it until after election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,855 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

If he does feck all about it, he will suffer big time.

• Administrators Posts: 55,066 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The Green Party are not exactly a secret about what they are after and people still voted for them in big numbers. I think this idea that they dare not do anything or be run out of government is just wishful thinking by some.

awec wrote: »
    The Green Party are not exactly a secret about what they are after and people still voted for them in big numbers. I think this idea that they dare not do anything or be run out of government is just wishful thinking by some.

I think their popularity has come from there being a void in centerist politics for people looking for a FF/FG alternative to vote for, also a massive amount of voting from young dublin dwellers who can't fathom the lack of a bus service being an issue for anyone. In a GE with any kind of honesty about the tax hikes I think rural ireland would have no time for them.

Not even a first count in Newbridge yet. Extremely slow for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

How can the Healy-Rae's have 3 Councillors and 2 TD's? :confused:

It's actually outstanding by them. Fair enough. They must get things done for their constituents. The parish pump must be made of gold! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

How can the Healy-Rae's have 3 Councillors and 2 TD's? :confused:

It's actually outstanding by them. Fair enough. They must get things done for their constituents. The parish pump must be made of gold! :pac:

Masterclasses in vote management, they had two outgoing Councillors, ran the third in a different (Castleisland) district so as not to dilute the existing two votes. He doesn't even live in the area, name recognition was enough.

Did the same the last GE as well, divided up the county between the two of them so not to dilute each others votes (vote Danny in this area, vote Michael in this area).

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

(I didn't realise that we share LEA)
    It would be awful for her to win when Anto Larkin has shown himself to be hard working.
    Killeen has nothing to offer IMO! Apart from the Repeal stuff she has done nothing, not part of any local clubs or groups to my knowledge.