Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey to contest the European elections

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

road_high wrote: »
    I think he’s shocking. Though I admit I voted for him in the Presidential out of a protest. Since then he’s actually gotten worse as a media performer, really bad. Hasn’t the first notion how the EU works and couldn’t be bothered finding out. I think he comes across extremely lazy. Even his stance and gait in the tv debates looked ridiculous. Slouching and staring like an idiot.,
    And Ming and Carthy aren’t a whole lot better tbh

Vote Francis Fitzgerald. A person for the people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,884 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Vote Francis Fitzgerald. A person for the people

I’m not in her constituency.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

I’m not in her constituency.

You should move there just so you can give her your vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Bobblehats wrote: »
    And why should he deny it? ..aside from his political aspirations; which are now in tatters but so what man most people are racist to a degree

Indeed it is on the increase. What’s the big issue it’s when actual acts of racism come to the fore does it become a problem... given the right environment, and we are going the right way about it.

That's not the point, there was no need for him to say what he said, shows he has a serious lack of nous, imagine how redicolous he would come across in the EU Parliament, the man is incoherent and inarticulate to an astounding degree

How he is a millionaire is a true mystery, I don't think he is a racist by the way, just a walking brain fart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think he’s shocking. Though I admit I voted for him in the Presidential out of a protest. Since then he’s actually gotten worse as a media performer, really bad. Hasn’t the first notion how the EU works and couldn’t be bothered finding out. I think he comes across extremely lazy. Even his stance and gait in the tv debates looked ridiculous. Slouching and staring like an idiot.,
    And Ming and Carthy aren’t a whole lot better tbh
    This is what I wonder about the Casey support. How many of those who protested then would be prepared to give him a vote now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 937 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

VinLieger wrote:
    Indeed and its other peoples right to then call them racists or bigots if its factually correct

But not to thier faces.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 937 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

Can we stop pretending this clown is some kind of hero just because he said some disparaging comments about Travelers now?

Why would anyone say anything disparaging about travellers?

Grand bunch of lads and law abiding pillars of the community to a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

What I find hilarious is the lack of supporters now claiming that he's going to romp home with this one.

I wonder why???

His twitter account regularly gets about 4 likes. That's FOUR, as compared to thousands that the other candidates get.

I'm so glad he has been exposed as a charlatan and an idiot and it's really going to show up tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,845 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

pinkyeye wrote:
    I'm so glad he has been exposed as a charlatan and an idiot and it's really going to show up tomorrow.
    They are all bluffers, when are you going to cop on to that?

Also anybody that likes a little privacy in their lives doesn't have a social media account. Lots of people who have their own views on things are not on social media accounts. Social media as in Twitter, Facebook and Snapchat or whatever it's called is not real life, it's the place where the stupid have a collective strong voice.
    People who live in the real world instead of having their heads stuck in a phone or tablet all day are looking around and seeing a lot of what Casey is talking about.
    I don't think Casey is a great candidate, a younger, smarter more polished person would be great doing what he is. Thing is he is a voice for a lot of things that people are being warned not to say by the liberal Nazis and as such he will get a lot of votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,103 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

eagle eye wrote: »
    Also anybody that likes a little privacy in their lives doesn't have a social media account. Lots of people who have their own views on things are not on social media accounts. Social media as in Twitter, Facebook and Snapchat or whatever it's called is not real life, it's the place where the stupid have a collective strong voice.
    People who live in the real world instead of having their heads stuck in a phone or tablet all day are looking around and seeing a lot of what Casey is talking about.
    I don't think Casey is a great candidate, a younger, smarter more polished person would be great doing what he is. Thing is he is a voice for a lot of things that people are being warned not to say by the liberal Nazis and as such he will get a lot of votes.

We know there are people who have irrational attitudes to immigrants and we know there are people who hate travellers. How would we know these things if there were 'liberal Nazis' at work?

Strikes me that 'liberal Nazis' are not very good at what they are doing...like Mr Casey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,364 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭mgn

Well i have just decided to Vote for Casey.It is either him or a scruffy cannabis smoking dope or someone that will be there for only a few months,As for the Rose i don't want to listen to her being permanently offended.

pinkyeye wrote: »
    What I find hilarious is the lack of supporters now claiming that he's going to romp home with this one.

I wonder why???

His twitter account regularly gets about 4 likes. That's FOUR, as compared to thousands that the other candidates get.

He couldn’t, he’s had a terrible lacklustre campaign where he’s been largely absent and irrelevant. The outburst these last few days about immigration and Brexit were cringe inducing. Perhaps we do need a stricter work permit system and welfare restrictions but his delivery is atrocious- no link made to being an MEP and how he’d actually influence that. I think there’s very little behind him, no substance or deep intellect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,036 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Reading his replies to that just shows how absolutely out of his depth he is, he has no clue about any of the complexities around brexit or simply being a member of the eu and the benefits that brings

No he just doesn’t understand the Eu and isn’t arsed finding out anything. He’s lived years in America and might as well have lived under a rock as far as this election is concerned

We know there are people who have irrational attitudes to immigrants and we know there are people who hate travellers. How would we know these things if there were 'liberal Nazis' at work?
    If you call people who dislike cheap labour moving into their locality forcing local workers to take lower pay or lose their jobs irrational then you live in lalaland.
    People are upset by this stuff and also by the amount of eastern Europeans involved in crime in rural Ireland.
    If you don't understand or realise the amount of people who have been affected by traveller crime in the counties of Donegal, Sligo, Mayo, Galway, Roscommon and Longford then you need to go and look at what has been going on in those counties.
    Strikes me that 'liberal Nazis' are not very good at what they are doing...like Mr Casey.
    Liberal Nazis are causing a lot of problems. Pent up anger is building up in a lot of people, it's very worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

mgn wrote: »
    Well i have just decided to Vote for Casey.It is either him or a scruffy cannabis smoking dope or someone that will be there for only a few months,As for the Rose i don't want to listen to her being permanently offended.
    It will make my day if Peter casey gets all first preference votes. One of only a very few people not **** scared of offending the pcbrigade snowflakes.

If you call people who dislike cheap labour moving into their locality forcing local workers to take lower pay or lose their jobs irrational then you live in lalaland.
    People are upset by this stuff and also by the amount of eastern Europeans involved in crime in rural Ireland.
    If you don't understand or realise the amount of people who have been affected by traveller crime in the counties of Donegal, Sligo, Mayo, Galway, Roscommon and Longford then you need to go and look at what has been going on in those counties.
    I live in the heart of rural Ireland and there are many problems that people who 'actually work' in those communities have no problem addressing and talking about.
    The biggest problem in rural Ireland I find are those who sit on various fences, criticise every initiative and resolutely refuse to get involved...but will be the first to whinge if an initiative fails.
    Liberal Nazis are causing a lot of problems. Pent up anger is building up in a lot of people, it's very worrying.

They exist in your head. Traveller crime has been talked about for years in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,285 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

VinLieger wrote: »
    Reading his replies to that just shows how absolutely out of his depth he is, he has no clue about any of the complexities around brexit or simply being a member of the eu and the benefits that brings

Appeal perfectly to his fans then as they have that in common :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

No he just doesn’t understand the Eu and isn’t arsed finding out anything. He’s lived years in America and might as well have lived under a rock as far as this election is concerned

I'm sure if elected he'll be expert on all of the benefits available to MEPs courtesy of us fools.

All the right wing friend of Putin idiots entering the parliament will be studying that even if they don't give much of a f- about the EU or how it works other than they want to destroy it. Seems to be a fairly consistent thing with many of these new patriots popping up around Europe - blatent "whats in it for me"/"where's the baksheesh" even worse than might be usual for politicians.

VinLieger wrote: »

This reply is fully on the money.
    "My position on Brexit is very clear. I'll be ignoring the actual issues at hand to concentrate on dogwhistling and courting the racist vote"

I live in the heart of rural Ireland and there are many problems that people who 'actually work' in those communities have no problem addressing and talking about. The biggest problem in rural Ireland I find are those who sit on various fences, criticise every initiative and resolutely refuse to get involved...but will be the first to whinge if an initiative fails.
    Do you remember the same sex marriage referendum? You were basically told by the liberal Nazis that you better not speak if you are against it.
    They exist in your head. Traveller crime has been talked about for years in the media.
    What exists in my head, that there is pent up anger building in people because they are angry at being told how to think?
    It's you that's living in a bubble if you don't realise this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Why would anyone say anything disparaging about travellers?

Grand bunch of lads and law abiding pillars of the community to a man.

Ah wake up would ya, this idiot is telling people everything we already know about most travelers and folk like you have fallen for it hook, line and sinker.

Enjoy your wasted vote for this clown.

Do you remember the same sex marriage referendum? You were basically told by the liberal Nazis that you better not speak if you are against it.

What? It was the last stand of the loons, they were on every platform i use. Radio-Telly-Social Media and print. I can quote you reams of stuff they got out there.
    You are talking nonsense. You just didn't like open debate.
    What exists in my head, that there is pent up anger building in people because they are angry at being told how to think?
    It's you that's living in a bubble if you don't realise this.

People are variously angry about multiple things - a fraction want to burn everything down because they are angry.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

The vast majority of people who did speak against it didn’t want gay people to be married and essentially campaigned for them to have less rights than they did.

People called them out on their bull****. The likes of you harp on about free speech but if you make a statement, then you don’t like it when ‘the liberal Nazi’s’ disagree with you, as is their right under the same ‘free speech’ rules you like you preach about.

What? It was the last stand of the loons, they were on every platform i use. Radio-Telly-Social Media and print. I can quote you reams of stuff they got out there. You are talking nonsense. You just didn't like open debate.
    I'm not talking about the religious fools. I'm talking about the ordinary man in the street.
    People are variously angry about multiple things - a fraction want to burn everything down because they are angry.
    This is a hell if a lot different. You are being told how to think these days and told you better not go against the grain. I don't watch or listen to Irish media anymore because I prefer to get my information from an unbiased source that doesn't take sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,954 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I don't believe Peter Casey wrote that, I'd guess his account was hacked.
    I don't think he'd be trawling through old tweets of Ming.

Apologies if this has already been done, but just to dispel any lingering doubts, Casey has acknowledged that he did indeed send the tweets:
    ‘I wasn’t aware that it was a fake account. It is the first time I’ve actually looked at Flanagan’s account. I’ve never actually looked at his account before.’
    https://extra.ie/2019/05/23/news/politics/peter-casey-ming-flanagan-twitter-account

I'd like to see the 'fake Ming' come forward and take a bow for adding so much to the gaiety of the nation.

Faugheen wrote:
    People called them out on their bull****. The likes of you harp on about free speech but if you make a statement, then you don’t like it when ‘the liberal Nazi’s’ disagree with you, as is their right under the same ‘free speech’ rules you like you preach about.
    I am fully on favour of free speech. I'm against people threatening others not to air their views.

I'm not talking about the religious fools. I'm talking about the ordinary man in the street.
    Who got every opportunity to say how they felt...and the women too btw.
    It is a complete disingenuous position to say the same sex marraige issue wasn't fully and openly explored here. The No side getting huffy because they lost or didn't have any weight in the debate, is really their problem, not democracy's.
    This is a hell if a lot different. You are being told how to think these days and told you better not go against the grain. I don't watch or listen to Irish media anymore because I prefer to get my information from an unbiased source that doesn't take sides.

Where is this happening...links please.