If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭High bike

Base price wrote: »
    Are you sure about that cause no movement has taken place i.e. compliance cert completed which is the criteria for a movement with DAFM - the exception is a temporary movement to a show which is also not classified as a movement.
    In Whelan's case the only indication that the animals were in a mart is that the card maybe stamped with the mart code, date and lot number.
    brought 3 weanlings home from the mart last November and there’s a movement showing on my agfood account and the same the year before at a different mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

High bike wrote: »
    brought 3 weanlings home from the mart last November and there’s a movement showing on my agfood account and the same the year before at a different mart
    So it recorded the movement out of your herd to the mart but then I presume another movement from the mart back into your herd because they were not sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭orm0nd

It will show as a movement on the board in the mart at future sales but won't be classed as a movement in the factory.

Not in marts around here. Shows number of previous owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

orm0nd wrote: »
    Not in marts around here. Shows number of previous owners.

Must have changed then! It's not something i look at much but it definitely used to be the way a couple of years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭High bike

Base price wrote: »
    So it recorded the movement out of your herd to the mart but then I presume another movement from the mart back into your herd because they were not sold.
    no just a movement into herd not out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

In the Marts around here it will show up as 1 owner but it will show up as a shorter number of days in the herd. So lets say you showed an animal in Delvin on a Thursday & missed it, then in Carnaross on the Monday it would say the animal only had 1 owner but was only 4 days in the herd and it could be a two year old animal. It was confusing lads for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,182 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It will show as a movement on the board in the mart at future sales but won't be classed as a movement in the factory.

Laziness by the mart in question. Marst have to manually count movements and discount mart movements in and out. They usually count number of owners rather than movements

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Bought a ch bull there today lads I'm not well up on charolais tag number 372212657620350 would ye let me know if he has good back breeding etc he's fine animal to me and the father, another question is what vaccinations should he get thanks lab man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

lab man wrote: »
    Bought a ch bull there today lads I'm not well up on charolais tag number 372212657620350 would ye let me know if he has good back breeding etc he's fine animal to me and the father, another question is what vaccinations should he get thanks lab man

He's by carrickbrack hutch and a roundhill doc dam. My own bull is by ckh aswell so I'll give him the thumbs up. https://webapp.icbf.com/v2/app/bull-search/view/1614702062#view-beef-eurostar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Figures look good anyway best of luck with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Anyone in Kilkenny today for the bull sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

He's by carrickbrack hutch and a roundhill doc dam. My own bull is by ckh aswell so I'll give him the thumbs up.

Is he easy calve or are u in the Jack full time

As charolais go he's probably not the worst but still had a few fairly big calves and nice pulls with them. I wouldn't call him easy calving though. My fella had an awful wide shoulder on him and they were struggling to get the head out. No problems once I got them that far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭hopeso

As charolais go he's probably not the worst but still had a few fairly big calves and nice pulls with them. I wouldn't call him easy calving though. My fella had an awful wide shoulder on him and they were struggling to get the head out. No problems once I got them that far.

Can I ask what your bull is rated at for calving difficulty on the evaluation? The reason I ask is because I went to look at a CKH bull yesterday. He's rated at 5.9 for calving, but like your's he looked wide at the shoulder, so I was wondering if I could trust the figure of 5.9?

hopeso wrote: »
    Can I ask what your bull is rated at for calving difficulty on the evaluation? The reason I ask is because I went to look at a CKH bull yesterday. He's rated at 5.9 for calving, but like your's he looked wide at the shoulder, so I was wondering if I could trust the figure of 5.9?

My fella is 10.8%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭hopeso

My fella is 10.8%.

Your's is probably fairly accurate, then.... I might chance this one, if I thought the 5.9 could be trusted....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Charollais heifer 520kg 1250( was bid to 700 Euro in September)
    chx heifer 285kg 805
    Bbx 375kg 750
    Bbx 410kg 920(twins)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Charollais heifer 520kg 1250( was bid to 700 Euro in September)
    chx heifer 285kg 805
    Bbx 375kg 750
    Bbx 410kg 920(twins)

well done ,there was a strong trade in macroom today as well anything with shape and colour flew it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

well done ,there was a strong trade in macroom today as well anything with shape and colour flew it.

The cows were insane, as ever fellas not spending their own money drove it cracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,728 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Pidae.m wrote: »
    The cows were insane, as ever fellas not spending their own money drove it cracked.

Dry cows or what?

Yeah.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Pidae.m wrote: »

The cow trade has improved massively across all types in the last fortnight as have suckler teams. Regarding the lads spending other people's money they still have the backing of someone that is willing to pay the bill. In my experience at least in the west there's lots of summer grazers with large payments and "grass fever" that are quite prepared to buy regardless of price or economics. I always think that the same agents are often accused of both lowering and increasing the price at the same time depending on whether the commenter was buying or selling.

The fact cows have improved 50 or 60 cent I'm pretty sure those lads didn't even know about it.
    The mart own a good bit of land so they dont mind getting trapped with a few. Also they're under big pressure from Gortalea so they've to keep the throttle down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭tanko

Sold a few this week
    Two April 18 Sim x Lim bullocks
    510kgs €1285
    450kgs €1205
    and a 24 month old Lim heifer that hurt her leg as a calf 500kgs €1275.
    Was pleasently surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭visatorro

tanko wrote: »
    Sold a few this week
    Two April 18 Sim x Lim bullocks
    510kgs €1285
    450kgs €1205
    and a 24 month old Lim heifer that hurt her leg as a calf 500kgs €1275.
    Was pleasently surprised.

What would those Bullocks make in factory at 24 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭tanko

visatorro wrote: »

I'd say they'd be the type of bullocks that would kill out close to 500kgs dead at 28-29 months. Might be worth near two grand hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭visatorro

tanko wrote: »
    I'd say they'd be the type of bullocks that would kill out close to 500kgs dead at 28-29 months. Might be worth near two grand hopefully.

Dunno what these beef lads are giving out about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Dunno what these beef lads are giving out about!

Put down that wooden spoon you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Say the lad at 510kg. To keep things simple He should do 1kg a day from now till next April so add 360kg to his weight now, that would leave him at 870kg live weight at 24 months. At 55% he’d be 480kg dead weight. At a base price of €3.80 and assuming he’d be a u- that would leave a price of 4.04 so €1939 at 24months.
    Last spring You’d get near €2100 for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Castleisland yesterday trade was only average
    thought the 2 lads over 400kgs were worth 1K...
    only 1 man there buying the mart weren't buying for some reason
    lads were saying try Gortalea.
    only saw a few exceptional lads make over the 1K

all CHx bulls
    3 x Aug 18 born
    394 kgs 875 - he was lacking height
    424 kgs 975
    428 kgs 900

3 x Oct 18 born
    354 kgs 855
    320 kgs 710
    324 kgs 690 - plain and cow had no milk