Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2019 World Snooker Championship (Mod Note Post One)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,354 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Inviere wrote: »
    That chalk thing was a minor mistake on Sean’s part, one which he undoubtedly regrets. Players have done much worse.

Shaun Murphy seems a bit of hypocrite to me.
    On the one hand there is the 'Holy Shaun' persona

https://www.churchtimes.co.uk/articles/2005/29-july/features/shaun-murphy-snooker-world-champion

The type of fella who raises the screen during a 147 attempt for the benefit of others.

But then there is the other-side is his wife filed for divorce after he had spent the night with an escort girl he had met at a religious youth group! :D

https://web.archive.org/web/20100526095612/http://www.people.co.uk/news/tm_headline%3Dsnooker-hero-murphy-and-pound-100-escort%26method%3Dfull%26objectid%3D21328337%26siteid%3D93463-name_page.html

There are two ways of looking at Murphy lifting the screen think was it for the fans benefit or was it just Murphy just trying to further the 'nice guy' and what a great fella he is? A PR job.

To me I think it is the later, but maybe I am just cynical.

Edit: As another poster said he loves talking in the studio. He even was talking in studio mid match!
    That is in furtherance of the creation of the persona, and let's Murphy pontificate away to his hearts content.

All this 'lifting the screen' craic and talking mid session etc, has made me more irked by Shaun Murphy than I was before. Robertson hammering him would not even stop him appearing on screen. As no doubt the would still turn up in studio saying all the things he thinks people want to hear in studio. Without actually giving his real thoughts.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Shaun Murphy seems a bit of hypocrite to me.
    On the one hand there is the 'Holy Shaun' persona

https://www.churchtimes.co.uk/articles/2005/29-july/features/shaun-murphy-snooker-world-champion

The type of fella who raises the screen during a 147 attempt for the benefit of others.

But then there is the other-side is his wife filed for divorce after he had spent the night with an escort girl he had met at a religious youth group! :D

https://web.archive.org/web/20100526095612/http://www.people.co.uk/news/tm_headline%3Dsnooker-hero-murphy-and-pound-100-escort%26method%3Dfull%26objectid%3D21328337%26siteid%3D93463-name_page.html

There are two ways of looking at Murphy lifting the screen think was it for the fans benefit or was it just Murphy just trying to further the 'nice guy' and what a great fella he is? A PR job.

To me I think it is the later, but maybe I am just cynical.

You are being cynical. Even the article states "Their romp came after he walked out on Clare".

So he broke up with his missus and then slept with someone else.

What a monster!

Fúcks sake.

The Nal wrote: »
    You are being cynical. Even the article states "Their romp came after he walked out on Clare".

So he broke up with his missus and then slept with someone else.

What a monster!

Fúcks sake.

That is not the point a fella that goes around with the holy christian spiel would not have done so. As he had not yet divorced Clare.
    You cannot have it both ways the guy is a hypocrite and seems way to calculating for my liking.
    The lifting the screen stunt is a great example - he thinks 'how will this look for me on TV etc.' Then can say 'I did it for the fans as I thought it would be a nice gesture etc'

As I said maybe I am cynical but I can't stomach the fella. Even though he is a great snooker player/style wise etc. His persona he tries to create is too much for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭sliabh 1956

I noticed something I had n't seen before I spotted Selby and Williams having a quite word with their opponents during the match . Is this a common thing

Not really, But both Selby and Williams are laid back type of characters.
    Williams in particular. Some of the more 'intense' players would deliberately blank thier opponent completely at the other end of the spectrum.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

That is not the point a fella that goes around with the holy christian spiel would not have done so.

Does he go around with the holy christian spiel though?

• Registered Users Posts: 399 ✭✭sliabh 1956

Yeah I never seen Ronnie do it

The Nal wrote: »
    Does he go around with the holy christian spiel though?

Ah he does there are plenty of interviews where he goes on about his faith.
    As far as I am concerned a person can do what they like in thier private life.
    But it is the hypocrisy that annoys me.

Plus he was going on about another snooker player can't remember which. One of the more 'controversial types'.
    It was one of those bits where they look at the pros and cons of other players and assess them.
    Murphy's advice was to player 'toe the party line' and say as little of substance as possible.

But I got the impression that Murphy lives by that mantra.
    So I always get the feeling he is holding back on what he really thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Gary Wilson maintains his lead over Selby at 9-7, despite Selby going 7-6 ahead at one point.

Ah he does there are plenty of interviews where he goes on about his faith.

Maybe it's just me, but I haven't heard Murphy say anything about his faith in years. It seemed to be much more important to him when he was younger -- I think he even met his first wife on some kind of faith-based dating site.

His second wife (from Dublin) does describe herself on her Twitter profile as "passionately anti-abortion," but whether that's a religious conviction or not, I don't know.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

To me Murphy is the most up his own arse, unlikable player on the tour.

I seriously cant stand the bloke, like his face annoys me, just the way his mouth sits, his big up talk, the way he saunters around the table an absolute cnut imo.

And his analysis is bollox as well, a couple pf years ago they did a thing where Davies and Hendry and him sit around talking about players, psychoanalyzing the talent. Ill get behind to greats like Steve and Stephen but Murphy cant go **** right off.

Ive had a bad day and it shows, id hope anyone attending the crucible would get a see a 147 and if someone else asked which i doubt to lift the curtain i probably wouldn't mind but him does my head in.

He is a decent player on his day though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I agree with last sentence of above post.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭kerry37

To me Murphy is the most up his own arse, unlikable player on the tour.

I seriously cant stand the bloke, like his face annoys me, just the way his mouth sits, his big up talk, the way he saunters around the table an absolute cnut imo.

And his analysis is bollox as well, a couple pf years ago they did a thing where Davies and Hendry and him sit around talking about players, psychoanalyzing the talent. Ill get behind to greats like Steve and Stephen but Murphy cant go **** right off.

Ive had a bad day and it shows, id hope anyone attending the crucible would get a see a 147 and if someone else asked which i doubt to lift the curtain i probably wouldn't mind but him does my head in.

He is a decent player on his day though.

I'm not sure I follow you.

Tell us how you really feel :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Johnson_76

anyone know how to watch online with commentary ?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,495 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Murphy shouldn't be allowed to comment on other players or matches while he is still playing in a tournament. It's quite disrespectful towards other players. He is not even that good a Pundit. Watching him playing now he seems disinterested in the match, Robertson will have an early night the way things are going!

Looking ominous for Murphy already tonight. Robertson made a 120 break to go 11-6 ahead, and now he's back at the table in excellent position.

12-6 to Robertson now, and Murphy still hasn't potted a ball this evening.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Robertson means business tonight

And that's it. Robertson goes through 13-6, and will play either Bingham or Higgins in the quarterfinals. He's in formidable form -- Murphy scored a grand total of one point this evening.

Maguire seems pretty frustrated in this match, Cahill stole the last frame

Silly mistake there by Cahill, missing the brown when he was 22 ahead with 22 left. Those four points let Maguire win the frame.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,266 ✭✭✭This is it

Very poor shots and positioning from both, that was criminal from Cahill on the brown

Edit: the miss on the brown was bad too!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

The world champion checked himself into a&e following his match, complaining of chest pains. Hope he is ok, and back playing tommorow

• Registered Users Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭Genghis

Murphy shouldn't be allowed to comment on other players or matches while he is still playing in a tournament. It's quite disrespectful towards other players. He is not even that good a Pundit. Watching him playing now he seems disinterested in the match, Robertson will have an early night the way things are going!

I'd agree he's not really a great pundit, but dont see any issue with it if that's what he wants to do, only that i dont think it can do any good for his own game. Gives me the impression he's as keen to cement his long-term place on the bbc team as he is to rejuvenate his playing career and i'd wonder how that has affected his focus. Also, he takes his role as chairman of the players committee very seriously and i imagine that takes up quite a bit of his time as well. They're his choices and i wouldnt have a problem with them.

Desperate stuff from Stephen Maguire tonight. Playing a rookie, albeit one who knocked the tournament favourite out previous round, and looks like his head is about to explode. Bags of talent, but no temperament at all to go with it. Shame really. Nearly fancy Cahill to go on and win from here if he just keeps head together and takes chances when they inevitably come his way.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,238 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Reverse jinx or what, Maguire winning the last two, the second with a 121 break. Still all to play for though.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Think Robertson is way too short myself.

He’s playing decent obviously but Murphy had tons of chances. Lost 3-4 frames he was 50+ up in along with playing some poor safety in tactical exchanges.

He really could have gone close in that match if he played smarter and closed out chances in the first two sessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

I have to disagree with you here. Shaun is a very nice fella and has been battling a lot of other issues (as has Robbo).