2019 World Snooker Championship (Mod Note Post One)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

That is not the point a fella that goes around with the holy christian spiel would not have done so.

Does he go around with the holy christian spiel though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭sliabh 1956

Yeah I never seen Ronnie do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,594 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The Nal wrote: »
    Does he go around with the holy christian spiel though?

Ah he does there are plenty of interviews where he goes on about his faith.
    As far as I am concerned a person can do what they like in thier private life.
    But it is the hypocrisy that annoys me.

Plus he was going on about another snooker player can't remember which. One of the more 'controversial types'.
    It was one of those bits where they look at the pros and cons of other players and assess them.
    Murphy's advice was to player 'toe the party line' and say as little of substance as possible.

But I got the impression that Murphy lives by that mantra.
    So I always get the feeling he is holding back on what he really thinks.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Gary Wilson maintains his lead over Selby at 9-7, despite Selby going 7-6 ahead at one point.

Ah he does there are plenty of interviews where he goes on about his faith.

Maybe it's just me, but I haven't heard Murphy say anything about his faith in years. It seemed to be much more important to him when he was younger -- I think he even met his first wife on some kind of faith-based dating site.

His second wife (from Dublin) does describe herself on her Twitter profile as "passionately anti-abortion," but whether that's a religious conviction or not, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

To me Murphy is the most up his own arse, unlikable player on the tour.

I seriously cant stand the bloke, like his face annoys me, just the way his mouth sits, his big up talk, the way he saunters around the table an absolute cnut imo.

And his analysis is bollox as well, a couple pf years ago they did a thing where Davies and Hendry and him sit around talking about players, psychoanalyzing the talent. Ill get behind to greats like Steve and Stephen but Murphy cant go **** right off.

Ive had a bad day and it shows, id hope anyone attending the crucible would get a see a 147 and if someone else asked which i doubt to lift the curtain i probably wouldn't mind but him does my head in.

He is a decent player on his day though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I agree with last sentence of above post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭kerry37

To me Murphy is the most up his own arse, unlikable player on the tour.

I seriously cant stand the bloke, like his face annoys me, just the way his mouth sits, his big up talk, the way he saunters around the table an absolute cnut imo.

And his analysis is bollox as well, a couple pf years ago they did a thing where Davies and Hendry and him sit around talking about players, psychoanalyzing the talent. Ill get behind to greats like Steve and Stephen but Murphy cant go **** right off.

Ive had a bad day and it shows, id hope anyone attending the crucible would get a see a 147 and if someone else asked which i doubt to lift the curtain i probably wouldn't mind but him does my head in.

He is a decent player on his day though.

I'm not sure I follow you.

Tell us how you really feel :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Johnson_76

anyone know how to watch online with commentary ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,667 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Murphy shouldn't be allowed to comment on other players or matches while he is still playing in a tournament. It's quite disrespectful towards other players. He is not even that good a Pundit. Watching him playing now he seems disinterested in the match, Robertson will have an early night the way things are going!

Looking ominous for Murphy already tonight. Robertson made a 120 break to go 11-6 ahead, and now he's back at the table in excellent position.

12-6 to Robertson now, and Murphy still hasn't potted a ball this evening.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Robertson means business tonight

And that's it. Robertson goes through 13-6, and will play either Bingham or Higgins in the quarterfinals. He's in formidable form -- Murphy scored a grand total of one point this evening.

Maguire seems pretty frustrated in this match, Cahill stole the last frame

Silly mistake there by Cahill, missing the brown when he was 22 ahead with 22 left. Those four points let Maguire win the frame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

The world champion checked himself into a&e following his match, complaining of chest pains. Hope he is ok, and back playing tommorow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Genghis

Murphy shouldn't be allowed to comment on other players or matches while he is still playing in a tournament. It's quite disrespectful towards other players. He is not even that good a Pundit. Watching him playing now he seems disinterested in the match, Robertson will have an early night the way things are going!

I'd agree he's not really a great pundit, but dont see any issue with it if that's what he wants to do, only that i dont think it can do any good for his own game. Gives me the impression he's as keen to cement his long-term place on the bbc team as he is to rejuvenate his playing career and i'd wonder how that has affected his focus. Also, he takes his role as chairman of the players committee very seriously and i imagine that takes up quite a bit of his time as well. They're his choices and i wouldnt have a problem with them.

Desperate stuff from Stephen Maguire tonight. Playing a rookie, albeit one who knocked the tournament favourite out previous round, and looks like his head is about to explode. Bags of talent, but no temperament at all to go with it. Shame really. Nearly fancy Cahill to go on and win from here if he just keeps head together and takes chances when they inevitably come his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,040 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Reverse jinx or what, Maguire winning the last two, the second with a 121 break. Still all to play for though.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Think Robertson is way too short myself.

He’s playing decent obviously but Murphy had tons of chances. Lost 3-4 frames he was 50+ up in along with playing some poor safety in tactical exchanges.

He really could have gone close in that match if he played smarter and closed out chances in the first two sessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

I have to disagree with you here. Shaun is a very nice fella and has been battling a lot of other issues (as has Robbo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,040 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

He can commentate, analyze and say what he likes when he's no longer a competitor in the tournament.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Reverse jinx or what, Maguire winning the last two, the second with a 121 break. Still all to play for though.

Yes I have the knack! Maguire should be winning of course, but just cant have a whole lot of faith in him at this stage.

Selby-Wilson could go all the way this morning. Selby looked in the groove for a time yesterday but Wilson admirably refused to buckle. Am on selby in that half of draw, but cant be too confident right now. Just hope the bbc relax the taxi driver stuff a bit today, or will be quick switcheroo across to eurosport even if its phil at the controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,251 ✭✭✭Inviere

Jesus the lad on Eurosport commentating on the Maguire Cahill match last night would give Dennis Taylor a serious run for his money in the ‘breathing into the mic’ competition. Very distracting once you notice it, you can’t not hear it then every few seconds :o

Hopefully Wilson can see Selby out here, neither player is super consistent though. I still see Robertson getting the job done, he’ll take some serious playing to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,018 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Long match here with Selby and Wilson which has been slow and methodical.

Selby in big big trouble now though with Wilson likely to take a 12-10 lead with 13 the lucky number.

EDIT: As soon as I post that, Wilson misses a fairly handy shot and Selby has an opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭tinpib

Ya, Selby/Wilson is a bit of an old skool Crucible ordeal. Gripping stuff though. Hope Wilson wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Long match here with Selby and Wilson which has been slow and methodical.

Selby in big big trouble now though with Wilson likely to take a 12-10 lead with 13 the lucky number.

EDIT: As soon as I post that, Wilson misses a fairly handy shot and Selby has an opening.

You were right the first time:P