"Non book readers" - Season 8 Episode 1 "Winterfell"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,758 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

What do dragons eat?
    Whatever they want!

I'm not sure that one was supposed to be a joke. More of a threat.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I have no issue with the episode being all reunions except for the fact they were all boring and sh*t. Sam Tarly was the only good thing about the episode, and that says a lot considering most of his scenes make me cringe normally.

The writers are on such a tight timeline this season and they waste an entire episode on drivel. I'm very disappointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

One area that could definitely be improved is the attempts at humor.

Why do you think jokes about eunuchs are funny?
    Cuz I still have my balls.

What do dragons eat?
    Whatever they want!

What do you hold onto when you ride a dragon?
    Anything you can!

There are better jokes in a Tesco Christmas cracker.

The blue eyes comment by Thormund was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

But why was that even necessary? We know he's a Targarian. We know the dragons can sense this from his interaction with Drogon at Dragonstone in the last season. We learn nothing new from this, and the whole thing was just killing time to add extra episodes into the mix.

Knowing he can and seeing him do it are vastly different things. Sure you could apply that logic to so many things.

I think the episode did well to build into the season. The first episode of any season will always be plot heavy and it needed to remind people where they were. You're not getting a battle of the b@st@rds in episode one or anything close and the pay off is worth nothing if its in the first episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Poor episode . Really really disappointed .the exchange between the hound and Ayra was poor. Ayra was my favorite character but has gone to **** in the last season or two.
    I hope this season delivers ... the series really deserves it but I have a bad feeling about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The show was gone for 2 years and they've basically covered every possible reunion in 60mins so that for the next 5 episodes there's not backlash as to why X ended up meeting up with Y and magically done this.

Every major and a few minor charactera were shown, where they are and whefe their place is for the coming season.

I think it was a good episode to re-introduce everyone and see what's happeningz no complaints here.

Had a few "oohhh, there he/she is" moments because I didn't bother catching up with all 7 series again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,250 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I enjoyed the episode, bar the dragon riding which had poor CGI and was unnecessarily long.

Very good ending with Bran catching sight of his “old friend”....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

What a waste of an episode some people defending this tripe is shocking. It was a boring episode that offered little to nothing. Why can't people be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Lemlin wrote:
    I enjoyed the episode, bar the dragon riding which had poor CGI and was unnecessarily long.
    Very good ending with Bran catching sight of his old friend....

Was Bran bad CGI or some sort of doll it felt like he had the same blank look on his face throughout the episode. Like he was being forced to watch every Terminator movie after Judgement Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭thefa

ERG89 wrote: »
    Was Bran bad CGI or some sort of doll it felt like he had the same blank look on his face throughout the episode. Like he was being forced to watch every Terminator movie after Judgement Day

They’ve really emphasized how bran isnt bran any more over the last season since he became the three eye raven. Scenes like the one with Meera saying she’s leaving or being reunited with Sansa. He wasn’t the warmest character before then anyways. I like to call him Bran bot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Lemlin wrote: »
    Very good ending with Bran catching sight of his “old friend”....

I do feel that's a bit of false drama, Bran obviously can't physically harm him himself can he and if he was to reveal to Jon or anyone else what Jaime done it could lead to a lot of crap like Cersei sending troops to fight the Starks but since there's obviously bigger stakes on the line I can imagine Bran just doing his weird little creepy thing to Jaime and no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Not a bad opener. Agree the humour was not great but good to see Sam have an important role in the story again. His scenes were the best in the episode.

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    What a waste of an episode some people defending this tripe is shocking. It was a boring episode that offered little to nothing. Why can't people be honest.

Tripe?

No pleasing some people clearly. Things need to be set up before they start barging into war randomly and with no real idea of who is where.

Last season ended with more or less everyone in the same place, miles away from Winterfell. They needed to establish who was where and give the viewer the 'reunions' for some characters who hadn't seen in each other in seven seasons.

Jeez if they didn't do it, people would be complaining that they didn't properly give credence or time to a long awaited meeting.

My only complaint was that the dragon riding sequence was a bit too long and poorly SFX'd, but I understood the need for it to be there.

I understand people probably want six episodes that are Battle of the Bast@rd-esque but come on, gotta build these things - every episode can't be season finale quality.

I do feel that's a bit of false drama, Bran obviously can't physically harm him himself can he and if he was to reveal to Jon or anyone else what Jaime done it could lead to a lot of crap like Cersei sending troops to fight the Starks but since there's obviously bigger stakes on the line I can imagine Bran just doing his weird little creepy thing to Jaime and no more

There's a different speculation about what comment could have meant, since Bran is now effectively thousands of years old.

"The prince that was promised". Melissandre thought Stannis was the reincarnation of the prince that was promised. Could instead be Jaime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Okay, I've been known to... criticise a good deal of GOT stuff...

This was a totally okay episode. It didn't cheat, and put real effort into world building. Reunions were nice, if predictable (except Sam with the news of father and brother).

My only real problem (except obvious green screens with dragons) was the issues that characters hang a lamp shade on, but don't actually address.

Sansa: There isn't enough food for a quarter of these men
    Everyone: *silence*

Sansa: Tyrion, it is obvious to literally everyone that Cersei has betrayed you.
    Tyrion: *silence*

Sansa: The Glovers aren't sending any men.
    Jon: *silence*

Sam: You are actually the king, Eggon
    Aegon: *silence*

The Yara rescue was a bit unrealistic, but to be totally honest I had forgotten that she was even a prisoner, so it's better that that plot is wrapped up.

Also... "shoot Jamie with this crossbow if you see him".
    Wut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

There's a different speculation about what comment could have meant, since Bran is now effectively thousands of years old.

"The prince that was promised". Melissandre thought Stannis was the reincarnation of the prince that was promised. Could instead be Jaime.

Maybe Bran reminding Jaime of what he has done will be another push for Jaime to do a noble thing at some stage leading to his death and being that prince that was promised, whatever that may be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,250 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I think Bran might have a creepy exchange with Jamie but not tell anyone what Jamie has done to him or basically say it doesn’t matter anymore and to forget it.

I am more interested in Jamie’s reaction than Bran’s tbh. Maybe he’ll get some further redemption before his death which I feel is coming....

It will truly complete his character arc to atone for what he did to Bran. Then it’s bye bye IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭nix

It's the first time Jamie has seen Bran since he fecked him out the window, everything that Jamie has suffered himself since has made him more emphatic as of late, he did a good job portraying his guilt in a short a scene as it was, it was the only good scene in the whole episode tbh, probably because there was no dialogue :pac:

Everything else was either sloppy or executed poorly, the whole reveal to John was so underwhelming..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭coolisin

Can I say I enjoyed that episode??

It was a very old school episode setting the pieces up reminding the viewer where everyone was and what they where up to.
    (Assuming the viewer hadn't rewatched since the last season, I had caught up with the seasons up to this)
    But at the same time moving everything along.

Other then the stupid dragon ride, which I was thinking was too long.
    Surely she should be looking at this going ehh how can you fly a dragon.
    Big long dragon CGI scene but no ghost!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

"Poor girl will die of rot in a year"

Bronn: "Which girl?"

That was comic gold.

But I agree about the clunkiness of the dragon riding scene. Was James Bond-esque, even down to the cheesy "well warm your Queen up" line. Eugh.

Tripe?

No pleasing some people clearly. Things need to be set up before they start barging into war randomly and with no real idea of who is where.

Last season ended with more or less everyone in the same place, miles away from Winterfell. They needed to establish who was where and give the viewer the 'reunions' for some characters who hadn't seen in each other in seven seasons.

Jeez if they didn't do it, people would be complaining that they didn't properly give credence or time to a long awaited meeting.

My only complaint was that the dragon riding sequence was a bit too long and poorly SFX'd, but I understood the need for it to be there.

I understand people probably want six episodes that are Battle of the Bast@rd-esque but come on, gotta build these things - every episode can't be season finale quality.

That's not it bro, we rave about this when its good cause it's merited. This was weak all over with only one or two good sections.

This episode was so underwhelming and not because there was no major battles. We all rave about it when its good but this was not good, it was a very weak offering.

Lets just admit this was a weak episode and look forward to the next one being better.

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    Lets just admit this was a weak episode and look forward to the next one being better.

Or perhaps people have different opinions and actually found it good without being great :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I enjoyed it! Though the kid towards the end nearly killed me :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I'm convinced the people who found that episode boring or dull or "Just plain bad" are people who havent been watching from the beginning. They are watching or binge watched it all because GOT is a cultural thing now and not because they actually enjoy or get the show. Because if you watch the show for the characters and not mindless CGI armies fighting...... that episode was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

The best thing about the episode is the memes on twitter currently about Cersei hearts elephants and about Jon being the nephboo of Daeny.

I'm not expecting this season to be all that great tbh, I reckon it's all gonna be just characters getting killed off and that's fine with me. I think they're obviously turning the audience against Daeny, but don't think she'll be killed off, possibly one of her dragons will be but she'll fly off on the other one. Sansa will be fine, she's the one they are trying to get you to root for. Jaime will do something to redeem himself to Bran, save his life or something. Tyrion will amaze everyone with his cleverness. And finally I'll bet they kill off Sam to really hit everyone in the feels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

I would be so pissed in the last 6 episodes were just wall to wall battles. The conversation, politics and chess pieces being moved into place are what makes this show stand out. The Red Wedding would've just been a crappy set piece, a twist for the sake of a twist, without the entire season being about Tywin frantically writing letters, Roose letting Jaime go home for no clear reason, tension in Rob's army despite him winning the war etc. Because everything was in place, it is one of the greatest twists in television history and only gets better with repeated viewing as new pieces of the puzzle become clear.

If you want mindless action, go watch White House Down or some meaningless drivel. I want to spend some nice quiet time with these people I've watched for years, to see them happy before **** hits the fan, and to wonder what's going to happen when it undoubtedly does. Never mind the fact that first episodes of the season have always been this way with Thrones. The plebs who can't appreciate character based narrative and are just here for battle scenes always moan, then it always turns out grand in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Redriddick

One thing,.........where is Brienne??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

As a season opening story builder that was awesome. Agree about the shoddy CGI. The dragon sequences/Danny are my least favourite bits of GOT but that was plain awful.

Whats everyones thoughts on Brons mission? I get the feeling that wont end well at all. :(

What comment was that? Also when you say Bran is effectively thousands of years old, is that because of some weird time glitch relating to Hodor and the One Eyed Raven?