Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

Anti Delaney banner taken off fans, and fans removed from Turners Cross.

The man is despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Banner in Sligo...up on twitter.

Clubs affraid of fines...sure the FAI are in need of case and the Problem Childs Euro money cant be used to keep them afloat.

Banner in Sligo...up on twitter.

Clubs affraid of fines...sure the FAI are in need of case and the Problem Childs Euro money cant be used to keep them afloat.

link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Anti Delaney banner taken off fans, and fans removed from Turners Cross.

The man is despicable.

https://twitter.com/DonalMcGrath2/status/1116787743613444097?s=19

Looks like that's from Turner's cross. Gardai going in removing fans.

mugsymugsy wrote: »

tweet removed?

Had about 10 seconds with gardai pulling someone out of the ground

That work https://twitter.com/DonalMcGrath2/status/1116787743613444097?s=19

gone agai, and yer man seems to be saying the fai are somehow to blame

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

The man in Cork was a former member of the FORSAS Board

Cork Supporters Clubs not Happy

Sligo stewards allowed Sligo fans keep their happy up all game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭shanec1928

https://streamable.com/2eqhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,481 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Have you ever been to Oriel Park???

Where or what do you want to develope??? The scope landwise is very limited, lands around do not belong to the club and knowing the owners of one side I doubt they will sell....would cost stupid money to get rid of them.

As for the lease....its over about 80-90 years and the owners will only approve something that inproves the infrastructure or facilities for the football side of the business. Again knowing the owner of the ground I have no doubt that Oriel Park will always be available to the club should they want it. If that is a ground, training center or some other use related to football......
    Im just trying to follow where the money is in all this peak6 invested Bouremouth and were looking to redevelop the stadium, look this article says the housing prices were high there https://www.bournemouthecho.co.uk/news/17479275.afc-bournemouths-vitality-stadium-is-in-the-seventh-most-expensive-neighbourhood-in-the-premier-league/ they sold their interest after delays with the redevelopment plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The man in Cork was a former member of the FORSAS Board

Cork Supporters Clubs not Happy

Sligo stewards allowed Sligo fans keep their happy up all game
    Fair play to Sligo. If clubs are fined, (is that even possible?) they just need to go onto social media and say exactly why they were fined and how much.

It's so futile at this stage.

There was a time when the anti Delaney stuff was quashed. Now it's pretty much on message across the board. Clubs should just refuse to pay any fines and see will the FAI enforce them and stand by a dead man walking. When Sport Ireland and the media and the Taoiseach and certain politicians and fans are all pointing at Delaney, it seems laughably pathetic that he would try to crush dissent amongst LoI fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

There was a time when the anti Delaney stuff was quashed. Now it's pretty much on message across the board. Clubs should just refuse to pay any fines and see will the FAI enforce them and stand by a dead man walking. When Sport Ireland and the media and the Taoiseach and certain politicians and fans are all pointing at Delaney, it seems laughably pathetic that he would try to crush dissent amongst LoI fans.

Sadly they can't. Fines are just deducted from prize money with no appeal process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

I thought they don't get a say in paying fines? As in fines are deducted at source from prize money.

Agree that it's completely futile. Plus the videos going around are a lot worse than a picture of a Delaney out banner.

The bit I don't get though is that cork are a fan owned club. I know fans won't be involved in micro managing things but who instructs the stewards to look after Delaney's image?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭circadian

I'd say the management of the club since they fear fines or other punishment. Clubs in Ireland are ground down so much that they have to fight tooth and nail for anything and fear being reprimanded for anything by the FAI since it could financially screw them.

Fair play tot he fans heading out and making a point. The LOI fans have suffered long enough at the hands of this crook. It's a shame to see stewards and Gardai dragging people out of the stands over it although I'd love to see them try to do that in the Brandywell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Not even close to being a fan of city, far from it. But I've seen videos, and a lot of commentary on what happened tonight in TX, and it has really upset me. People taking a stand against Delaney, particularly the main man who led the charge this week getting thrown out. And treated like that. It sickens me, it ruins the enjoyment of football, and why we coach and play locally. I am not spending a penny on anything that goes near that association until Delaney and the board are gone. Disillusioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Turners Cross is owned by the MFA so maybe they were the ones that told the stewards to take the flag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

More excitement in the stand than on the pitch this season.

Time for change. Dubs are on the rise and this type of ball cannot compete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Maybe its time to march to Abbottstown to protest, i would definitely attend such an event if one was called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

secman wrote: »
    Maybe its time to march to Abbottstown to protest, i would definitely attend such an event if one was called.

As would I, now is as good a time as ever with media and public attention at an intense level that momentum should enhance circulation very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Yeah I’ll happily march on mount doom to destroy the filth of Delaney and his “one position to rule them all” mantra!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Zico !

why wont he resign and take his pensioner board with him fcuk off john

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Unfortunately at this stage you'd have to say they've rode it out.

Someone on here posted earlier that we might have more revelations in the Sunday papers this weekend.

Sport Ireland in with the oireachtas committee next week and they are not currently going to reinstate funding.

Think it's disgusting that they haven't replied to the members of the oireachtas with the answers to the questions which they said they would (they said they would the next day)

I'd hope not. I think a lot of people had unrealistic expectations of what would happen at the Oireachtas committee on Wednesday.

Hopefully the Sunday papers will have more revelations tomorrow. Somebody mentioned the Sunday times advertising something. It's a pity they wouldn't print it in their daily edition though. The dripfeeding from the journalists shows they're more interested in selling newspapers than providing information to the public.

Think it's disgusting that they haven't replied to the members of the oireachtas with the answers to the questions which they said they would (they said they would the next day)

The other side of that is that the TDs they made those promises to would have no problems breaking the same promises. We need to get away from thinking the politicians will fix this. They won't because they can't.

Has Sport Ireland backed down and reinstated funding, and the ODCE said they're happy with matters?

If both of those happen, he'll be safer.

If not, he's finished, it's only a matter of time.

I'm cancelling my Foras membership after the scenes at Turner's Cross last night. After years of support, paying in thousands, I just can't support the club while it enforces orders to appeal to Delaney's vanity. It's a pity, but have to make some stand, know of others who are now going to follow suit.

howiya wrote: »
    The other side of that is that the TDs they made those promises to would have no problems breaking the same promises. We need to get away from thinking the politicians will fix this. They won't because they can't.

yeah good point. As Conor has just posted for them to get the funding back the fai will have to get their house in order so might not be the tds but they need to answer to sport Ireland.