If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

ya a golden Fiston out of a HCA second calver who herself was outta a ELZ blue cow. he was a late March calf 352kg. had 12 month old ZAG calf out of another HCA 2nd calved 502 kg 1100. he was a great calf tho. a few march limos went ok. they were between 350 and 420 went for 895 to 955. another nice may Fiston 362kgs 960. what really surprised was a late may half twin, GPD 358kgs 990 i would have said he was the worst calf of the bunch. i guess some lads love a white furry lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Track9

Was at Special Weanling Show & Sale at Kenmare today .
    Prices middling to poor.
    Top 10 % of stock making circa 500 + weight .
    The rest made v poor prices . Lovely Lim & Char Cross heifers & bulls circa 350 kg
    Struggled to make 800 euro.There was little to no interest in weanlings 250-280 kg some sold a low as 500 euro.
    Cannot see any reason to feed such animals with concentrates of any kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭grange mac

Track9 wrote: »
    Prices middling to poor.
    The rest made v poor prices . Lovely Lim & Char Cross heifers & bulls circa 350 kg
    Struggled to make 800 euro.There was little to no interest in weanlings 250-280 kg some sold a low as 500 euro.

Was it a big mart, Maurice prob takn alot of their business to Gortalea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,176 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Prices middling to poor.

Did you see Titanium's bulls there. Problem with a lot of these Marts is if farmer buyers travel down to buy a few the auctioneer and dealers trys to ride them. If the auctioneers worked fair with these lads they would keep coming. As well TBH those prices reflect the reality of the present finishing trade and the extra costs from last year

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Prices middling to poor.

I wasn't there the hole day but anything of any decent quality sold well. I didn't see any of the 500 euro crowd you mentioned there. any light weanling bulls I saw there went for 700+. but as I said I wasn't there all day.
    a buddy of mine but together a load there yesterday to go up the country. they averaged out at 2.49 a kilo. he had bought a load in gortatlea for the same lad the night before that averaged out 10cent a kg cheaper. he was looking for caves born from march on circa 350kgs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    I wasn't there the hole day but anything of any decent quality sold well. I didn't see any of the 500 euro crowd you mentioned there. any light weanling bulls I saw there went for 700+. but as I said I wasn't there all day.
    a buddy of mine but together a load there yesterday to go up the country. they averaged out at 2.49 a kilo. he had bought a load in gortatlea for the same lad the night before that averaged out 10cent a kg cheaper. he was looking for caves born from march on circa 350kgs

i was in gortatlea wed night only bulls there i taught they were a mighty trade some men there to buy them.Bil had 410kgs 4 in the bunch golden ch 1180.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭Robson99

i was in gortatlea wed night only bulls there i taught they were a mighty trade some men there to buy them.Bil had 410kgs 4 in the bunch golden ch 1180.

And the Farmers give out about he factories. There is no bigger ass than the farmer himself. All young cattle are anything between 100 and 150 a head too dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭ppn

Crazy money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,724 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Robson99 wrote: »
    And the Farmers give out about he factories. There is no bigger ass than the farmer himself. All young cattle are anything between 100 and 150 a head too dear.

So the farmer selling is an ass, is he? If there is so much money in it, why don't you get into producing stores youself. You might find far away hills ain't so green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭tanko

They must be exceptional cattle to make that money. I was passing Ballyjamesduff mart on Tuesday, watched the bull weanlings for 15 minutes.
    Good quality U grade CHX bulls 360-380 kgs making €840-850. One serious bull 400kgs made €900.
    What has the farmer who fed a cow for a year and the calf since October got out of that?? Are they not entitled to make a few quid. The problem is at the other end of the chain.
    Sure if lads think cattle are too dear they can always buy a batch of cows and produce their own. They'll make a fortune in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

ppn wrote: »
    Crazy money!

Theyd go that in September and have a full winter to go through. 6 werks and these will be at grass

So the farmer selling is an ass, is he? If there is so much money in it, why don't you get into producing stores youself. You might find far away hills ain't so green.

Thats not what I said. But if you are losing money at something and giving out about it then you shouldn't go back doing the same thing again. I know the store producer is entitled to be getting what he is getting and I know that beef needs to be probably €4.20 per kg to make money Winter finishing. But how can you have sympathy for lads who kept making the same mistakes.
    At those prices there is far more out of it for the seller than the man buying to give away to the factories in the long run. Them cattle are dear at 1050 the way beef is at the moment

tanko wrote: »
    They must be exceptional cattle to make that money. I was passing Ballyjamesduff mart on Tuesday, watched the bull weanlings for 15 minutes.
    Good quality U grade CHX bulls 360-380 kgs making €840-850. One serious bull 400kgs made €900.
    What has the farmer who fed a cow for a year and the calf since October got out of that?? Are they not entitled to make a few quid. The problem is at the other end of the chain.
    Sure if lads think cattle are too dear they can always buy a batch of cows and produce their own. They'll make a fortune in no time.

The problem is that there is too many cattle in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭older by the day

I sold fresian dry cows in the yard, milked till x mass, anyone know what they made. I think I gave them to cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,333 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I sold fresian dry cows in the yard, milked till x mass, anyone know what they made. I think I gave them to cheap
    Well we wont know until you tell us :)

whelan2 wrote: »
    Well we wont know until you tell us :)
    I don't want too, in case I made afoul of myself, six for plain ones and seven for a better one. Big boned but would take a lot of feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

The problem is that there is too many cattle in the country.
    They sound like export stock
    Is there many boats going at the moment?
    Hopefully we can keep the export trade going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭kk.man

I don't want too, in case I made afoul of myself, six for plain ones and seven for a better one. Big boned but would take a lot of feed.

Id say you didn't do too bad there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

They’d have to be fairly straight. Taking a good friesian cow to die 900 in money at the minute. Man won’t have a fortune out of the job.

Selling at home is very tricky, you can win and lose, unless you weigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

kk.man wrote: »
    A bullock at 630kgs should n o t take long to get into a fat score 3 with meal and good silage. He then could come into 350kgs dw and say 3.65 on the grid would equate to 1230 after stoppages.

At 3.75 base l doubt if he would make 3.65. 3.55 at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

You done well, I bought 30 emptis ranging from 5-590 last November and milked through the winter. Dropped off 4 fleshy cows but not finished tus morning in rathdowney (think a fellow boards.ie in a mf directed me back!) Anyway all around 300 kgs at 2.60/kg thought they were heavier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,176 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Willfarman wrote: »
    They’d have to be fairly straight. Taking a good friesian cow to die 900 in money at the minute. Man won’t have a fortune out of the job.

When you buy cattle this time of year you are up against the summer grazer/finisher. Some of these lads buy cattle for the summer only. The lads that are good at it work off a combination last years prices.costs and try to project the potential price these cattle will fall into when they sell the. By the sound of it older by the day's cows were a good size and could carry the weight. Lads out now for finishing dry cows that have nothing on the land since last autumn may be looking at a good grass cover and the potential to kill some of these cows as early as late May. We all have an opinion of what the price will be and these lads may be gambling that they will get 10-15 kgs more DW than last year.

This is the reason I gave up winter finishing. If you have to replace cattle finished over the winter to graze for the summer there is no margin in it. Better to overwinter good stores as cheap as possible and finish early summer. Was at a KT walf last spring at a lads farm that finished cows one lads asked would the cows average between 900- 1k each. The lad who's farm we were on told him there would be no cows on the place if that was the average price range. Now he overwintered a lot of his cows at a guess I imagine he expected the better cows to make nearer to 1200/head in May/June but he killed cows right through to early August he said.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Hershall

Was in Elphin Wednesday for special heifer sale. Great stock but they were getting well sold. Must be mostly grass men, if they were killing cattle they wouldnt be fit to give as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭Good loser

BIL sold 10 for €550 recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Anyone at the suckler cow sale in Carnew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭memorystick

What are 250kgs Hereford bullocks making? Sick of aa heifers. Sick of being stuck with fat cattle that aren't wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

What are 250kgs Hereford bullocks making? Sick of aa heifers. Sick of being stuck with fat cattle that aren't wanted.

Kill in june instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,664 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Kill in june instead

Exactly, the day of pawning any sort of cattle on to processors is well over, lambs are gone the same way, consumer doesn't want excessive fat,..... farmers shouldn't produce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

I’ve a pen of angus bullocks and heifers here ave weight 530kg, ave age 22 months. What sort of money are these making in the mart? Debating whether to sell or keep on and finish myself