Travellers fighting at Belfast airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭10fathoms

Forced sterilisation at birth. The perfect solution..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

We're different ethnic groups now. That time a knacker punched me in the head can now be considered a hate crime.

Do you know the difference between race and ethnici...

Ahh , you're right , it was a hate crime.

Looks like a clever visual viral ad for the '20% Great Savings' poster in the centre of the video (hence no subtitles).

If the Cop had any sense, he'd have a taser in each hand and red dots for the two main instigators.

I believe a 9mm round is cheaper than a tazer cartridge...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

tuxy wrote: »
    About 1% have a degree and I only know of Siny Joyce that has a PHD. For the most part these people are the first to break the mold in their family by obtaining education and job. That is only one generation on, I'm talking about a few generations.
    Fair play to them, this would have been very difficult as generally their parents don't want them mixing as once they stop the tradition of marrying their cousins and marry the general population their traditions will die out.

I just don't see a situation when they enter the work force and continue to only marry close relatives.

Their lifestyles will change (just as they've changed over the last few generations, as fewer and fewer Travellers actually travel, and an increasing number marry outside of their community), and it's likely that many of their traditions will continue to be diluted and/or consigned to history, regardless of education or the availability of other opportunities. There is no conflict whatsoever between formal recognition of their unique shared history and encouraging more Travellers to stay in education. What individuals choose to do with that education is entirely a matter for themselves, but I think it's fair to say that education is the key to solving many of the issues (violence, unemployment, substance abuse, crime, discrimination, suicide, health problems, early death, etc) that exist within the Travelling community.

Education might also solve some of the problems on After Hours. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

10fathoms wrote: »
    Forced sterilisation at birth. The perfect solution..

Almost concentration camp lingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

but I think it's fair to say that education is the key to solving many of the issues (violence, unemployment, substance abuse, crime, discrimination, suicide, health problems, early death, etc) that exist within the Travelling community.

Some real consequences would solve a few of them as well.

They've plenty of camps already.

brooke 2 wrote: »
    I thought that female employee was very brave to come out and try to get them to stop the bedlam. It looked like she was out there alone for what I would consider too long a period for her own safety. Surely police/security should have moved in sooner if they were monitoring the situation?? :mad:

Are you talking about the woman you can hear in the video? I thought she was part of the traveller group.

Reading some of the Facebook posts, all of them got on their planes.

Some real consequences would solve a few of them as well.

Looking at the suicide rate among male Travellers, I think you might be wrong. For some people, life's so shit that consequences no longer matter.

They're an ethnic minority, whether you like it or not.

That's enough to qualify them for cleansing.

Looking at the suicide rate among male Travellers, I think you might be wrong. For some people, life's so shit that consequences no longer matter.

My heart bleeds.

10fathoms wrote: »
    That's enough to qualify them for cleansing.

So edgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

That's a cultural matter and the consequences don't matter as long as they have their culture.

• Site Banned Posts: 79 ✭✭Robert Wolfe

Yeah it's our fault they kill themselves. Ha.

• Site Banned Posts: 79 ✭✭Robert Wolfe

Do you know the difference between race and ethnici...

Ahh , you're right , it was a hate crime.

If one ethnic group attacks another ethnic group it can be a hate crime, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

can someone transcribe this?? can't understand a thing boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I used to be a Merchandiser in the duty free in Dublin Airport in my late teens, when these cultured fellows and ladies were due to show up we’d get overtime just to hang around and have a staff presence on the floor to discourage any ‘carry on’. The airport police would have a few bodies in and around the place in particular the bars as if a flight was to be significantly delayed that these fellows and ladies would pitch up in the bars with the potential for mayhem.

I saw countless groups of football supporters of varying teams who often by historical definition could be able to present difficulties especially if drinking, sittting side by side, pints a plenty and never a cross word aside from in jest.

The aforementioned demographic however, I witnessed being refused boarding, escorted from the airport LITERALLY kicking and screaming the place down. It was handy overtime but not a nice atmosphere to work in.

• Site Banned Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Dakotabigone

Strumms wrote: »
    I used to be a Merchandiser in the duty free in Dublin Airport in my late teens, when these cultured fellows and ladies were due to show up we’d get overtime just to hang around and have a staff presence on the floor to discourage any ‘carry on’. The airport police would have a few bodies in and around the place in particular the bars as if a flight was to be significantly delayed that these fellows and ladies would pitch up in the bars with the potential for mayhem.

I saw countless groups of football supporters of varying teams who often by historical definition could be able to present difficulties especially if drinking, sittting side by side, pints a plenty and never a cross word aside from in jest.

The aforementioned demographic however, I witnessed being refused boarding, escorted from the airport LITERALLY kicking and screaming the place down. It was handy overtime but not a nice atmosphere to work in.
    Ice cold story brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

I only missed this by a couple of hours on Saturday, and would have been sat right where it kicked off, it's not a big airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

looksee wrote: »
    There was something very unconvincing about the whole thing. I don't think a single blow landed and grown men looked like big eejits waving those lengths of bar around. There was a lot of shouting but not a lot else. They used wire shopping baskets to throw around - one of them got them from behind the edge of the duty free area - all that throwable stuff in duty free and they liberated a few wire baskets.

They reminded me of over boisterous young teens acting up to embarrass an ineffective teacher on a day trip - aware of just what they could do without actually causing damage. But these were supposed grown ups. Quite what the purpose was I have no idea, but they did a very good job of making themselves look like complete fools.

That's all very fine in a big open area. What if the whole thing started off on the plane again after take off? Great crack if you're taking your mother or grandchildren on a holiday and have to put up with that carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

If you did that in a major continental airport, you'd be assumed to be a terrorist and probably taken down by armed police. It would be an EXTREMELY bad idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

EdgeCase wrote: »
    If you did that in a major continental airport, you'd be assumed to be a terrorist and probably taken down by armed police. It would be an EXTREMELY bad idea.

I hope they go and do that in an American airport so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,433 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Its AH. What did you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,708 ✭✭✭✭looksee

sligojoek wrote: »
    That's all very fine in a big open area. What if the whole thing started off on the plane again after take off? Great crack if you're taking your mother or grandchildren on a holiday and have to put up with that carry on.

Totally agree, I am in no way defending them or downplaying what happened - its almost worse that a group of 'men' can feel free to deliberately create mayhem and disturbance just for their own entertainment. Whatever about 'some' of them not getting their flight, none of them should have flown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Emtec

There was never a Joyce that could bate an O'Donnell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,750 ✭✭✭wonga77

Yer man waving the stick around reminds me of my neighbour waving his stick at the dog when he won't herd the sheep the right way. Cant say I've ever seen him throw empty baskets at the dog though, must be a new technique

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

I was hoping they would be shot by the police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Two questions:

Can't people film in landscape on their phones at all?

Why are the police taking an eternity to respond? Come on, it's an airport for godsakes.
    If it was an actual terrorist, we'd be all dead already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Strumms wrote: »

Football supporters rarely cause problems in airports. People tend to have sense and leave the shouting etc for the game itself.
    I hope they go and do that in an American airport so.

They'd be tasered. Police in the US take no sh1t.
    Much handier than seperating classy Celt v Rangers fans, or those full of burgers 'n brew from weaponising street furniture.

Contrary to public opinion, issues rarely occur between football fans in airports.
    I hope they are fkd. But I very much doubt it here or UK, fear of racism. What have we done now?

How the heck did those sticks get beyond security though? That is the question.

Those sticks are from the stalls in the duty free shop.
    chosen1 wrote: »
    You do realise that they're are travellers north of the border as well as here in the south. They weren't all banished in some sort of pogrom in 1922.

They have the same accent anywhere in the country; north or south.

Did you watch the clip? They are from south of the border. Definitely not from NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭blueb

jaysus i hate travellers