Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Faugheen wrote: »
    I genuinely do not understand why people are pissed off that women are getting a chance on OTB.

Oh I do, it's the sexist undertones that are prevalent across this toxic website of dinosaurs.

Credit where credit's due, I think it's a great idea from OTB.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

No, my point is that are women actually getting a chance? This is just a one off on a quiet weekend for sport.

It's a start but actually hiring a full time female presenter would be doing something lasting.

Whether there are any candidates out there looking for a full time position on OTB is a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

Faugheen wrote: »
    I genuinely do not understand why people are pissed off that women are getting a chance on OTB.

A grand gesture like today is just tokenism, so that Ger Gilroy and his all male panel can look like white knights and preach to the rest of us. If OTB really cared about equality in sports broadcasting, why don't they introduce quotas (like in politics) so that they could ensure that there would be at least one female presenter for the full time team?

Personally, I think the best person should get the job every time, regardless of sex. But if these guys are going to preach their SJW ideals to us, they could at least live up to those ideals themselves. Ok lads, which one of you wants to fall on your sword?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,262 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Jumbo2018 wrote: »
    I suspect he's fighting against the constant barrage of nonsense about womens sports we get in the media.

A very high percentage of topics on womens sports seems to focus on the apparent lack of coverage of womens sport despite there really not being a lack of coverage of womens sport.

Camogie is covered by RTE,Ladies football by TG4
    Womens international rugby is on RTE
    Womens cricket is covered well by Sky
    Womens Premier League is on BT Sport
    Netball is on Sky Sports regularly
    WTA tennis is on BT sport
    LPGA golf on Sky Sports
    WNBA is going to be on sky sports this year
    Katie Taylor is on Sky regularly
    And there is loads of coverage of womens olympic sports when major championship are on.

Despite all this television coverage that womens sports get it seems a large amount of womens sports coverage in papers and radio is dedicated to whining about a lack of coverage for womens sports when that isn't exactly the case, sure they don't get as much coverage as mens sports but the market dictates that.

If women's sport media had far more positivity and treated the sports like mens sports are rather than using it for a push of a feminist agenda they'd be far better off but it seem impossible these days for womens sports to not be attached to some feminist agenda.

The majority of women are just not interested in following thier own sports.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=99979090

The media are trying thier best to change this fact.
    The likes of the ladies GAA football final spectator numbers are faked because GAA clubs are forced to buy tickets, and they are then used for the final.
    The majority are underage tickets and they are bused there by the clubs in groups.
    Then it can be said look at the incredible interest and crowd!
    But we end up with articles like the one below from RTE which has good optics on the face of it from 2017:

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0924/907197-record-crowd/

Or others such as Sports Joe having a clickbait headline from 2018:

'Attendance at ladies final smashes record and trumps men's semi'

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/177365-177365

The question I always ask is: how many women who claim Katie Taylor as a role model can name any of the women she defeated to her titles/medals? It is not a real interest from women in general in boxing it is just a name heard and regurgitated.
    I think the discussion of women's sport it is all a bit of media game, tokenism at it's worst.
    It is not just OTB who does this.
    But it seems like a clever move on OTB's part a quiet time of the year as far as the major sports go, so fill it with women's sports discussion all day instead.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

The question I always ask is: how many women who claim Katie Taylor as a role model can name any of the women she defeated to her titles/medals?

A pretty pointless question to be constantly asking. I don't know the answer and I'm certain you don't either. You don't how many women claim Katie Taylor as a role model and I really doubt you've asked that many that do what they know. or don't know, about her titles/medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,493 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

CatFromHue wrote: »
    No, my point is that are women actually getting a chance? This is just a one off on a quiet weekend for sport.

It's a start but actually hiring a full time female presenter would be doing something lasting.

Whether there are any candidates out there looking for a full time position on OTB is a different story.

Yesterday this thread was all about this being BS forced upon the public, now it's being suggested they should hire a full time female presenter for it to mean something.
    Maybe they're doing it in stages so that some of their listener-ship don't have to cope with too much in one go. They probably think some listeners wouldn't be able for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,493 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

"For Nollag na mBan, we will have ALL women's voices, yes that's right, all five hours of broadcasting. Cliona Foley, Sinead O'Carroll, blah, blah, blah"

Honestly, what has this got to do with sports? Once again the priority of the show is to feed us their social justice bullsh1t instead of covering the sports that people actually want to listen to.

So the above was your position yesterday. And below your comment today.
    A grand gesture like today is just tokenism, so that Ger Gilroy and his all male panel can look like white knights and preach to the rest of us. If OTB really cared about equality in sports broadcasting, why don't they introduce quotas (like in politics) so that they could ensure that there would be at least one female presenter for the full time team?

Personally, I think the best person should get the job every time, regardless of sex. But if these guys are going to preach their SJW ideals to us, they could at least live up to those ideals themselves. Ok lads, which one of you wants to fall on your sword?

Did you actually listen? I reckon you did and realised it was actually very good and had everything to do with sport and so are gone back to beating the SJW strawman drum.

Ahwell wrote: »
    A pretty pointless question to be constantly asking. I don't know the answer and I'm certain you don't either. You don't how many women claim Katie Taylor as a role model and I really doubt you've asked that many that do what they know. or don't know, about her titles/medals.

How is it pointless?
    It is a very valid point.
    I don't claim to follow Katie Taylor or that she is a role model to me.
    If you cannot see the point I am making you are being deliberately obtuse.

How many times have you seen women stating that thier sportsperson is Katie Taylor on various forms of media?
    When in reality many do not follow that sport and are just saying it for the sake of it because they heard her name.

Yes, I have asked people the question about Katie Taylor's opponents by the way and they got embarrassed and said they don't know.
    Let's get real here or are we supposed to collude in the delusion?

How is it pointless?
    It is a very valid point.
    I don't claim to follow Katie Taylor or that she is a role model to me.
    If you cannot see the point I am making you are being deliberately obtuse.

How many times have you seen women stating that thier sportsperson is Katie Taylor on various forms of media?
    When in reality many do not follow that sport and are just saying it for the sake of it because they heard her name.

You are asking a question that you can't answer. How about a question you can find an answer to. How much has female boxing participation increased in Ireland on the back Of Katie Taylor's success?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 welltodo

imo that was excellent today with only FEMALE presenters
    get rid of gilroy and all the sjw bots and get the women in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 welltodo

CatFromHue wrote: »

me threasa ni cheallaigh was excellent
    she was au fait with every sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

welltodo wrote: »
    imo that was excellent today with only FEMALE presenters
    get rid of gilroy and all the sjw bots and get the women in
    Thought it was okay. The only issue I have is with Cliona Foley. Not a great presenter at all.

You are asking a question that you can't answer. How about a question you can find an answer to. How much has female boxing participation increased in Ireland on the back Of Katie Taylor's success?

There is no doubt that Katie Taylor's success would have increase participation in boxing.
    But there are plenty of women who feign interest because of a media styled female role model like Katie Taylor.
    That is the point I am making most of the lauding of Katie Taylor is from people who do not follow the sport and just go along on the bandwagon.

The bit that irritates me about the whole thing with women in sport etc, etc, is that the majority of women themselves do not support thier own sports on the one hand.
    Yet on the other hand they make it an equality type issue when the majority of women themselves have f**k all interest in sport, never mind women's sport.
    Normally it is nothing more then lip service and a feigned interest like the example I gave about Katie Taylor.
    I find this contradiction extremely irritating.
    If women really wanted equality they would support thier own more and thier sports would grow in a real sense, not just underage tickets to fill a stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

Loads actually, well at least that’s just in my local club.

One girl won an Elite with us who came in inspired by Katie.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Thought it was okay. The only issue I have is with Cliona Foley. Not a great presenter at all.

I may be in the minority here but I think she’s pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

good show today, the interview with Ayeisha McFerran was excellent. Maire Treasa should host more regularly.

Sounded like she had been doing it a long time.

Interview was very good. I prefer Sundays like this to double premier league commentaries.

redbuck wrote: »
    Loads actually, well at least that’s just in my local club.

One girl won an Elite with us who came in inspired by Katie.

In the Cork area female gym membership went from about 5% of the total to 20%-25%. The O'Donovan brothers would have had a similar influence on rowing, with an increase in the number of kids of both genders taking up the sport. Having the media spotlight on minority sports can have a big affect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Who are these lads that are the reserves for joe and ger. I think one of them is Nathan but the others are ****e. Awful bogger accent (have a bogger one myself but listening to it on radio is horrible). Turn it off when I hear it's not Joe/Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Awful bogger accent (have a bogger one myself but listening to it on radio is horrible).

That's Johnny Ward. Not a fan either. But he was interesting tonight when speaking about the GAA. Those bland GAA interviews really do my head in, particularly listening to Jim Gavin

He really gave it to Liam Sheedy for earning from the media last year with his work on the Sunday Game and to now instruct his players that they cannot discuss Tipperary with the media in January.

He has a point. Can't see why managers want to turn the media against them like that.

Who are these lads that are the reserves for joe and ger. I think one of them is Nathan but the others are ****e. Awful bogger accent (have a bogger one myself but listening to it on radio is horrible). Turn it off when I hear it's not Joe/Ger

I'd rather listen to Johnny Ward over Ger Gilroy any day of the week. Doesn't take himself too seriously and always has an interesting story or two. I think it's refreshing to hear someone who doesn't speak with a made up broadcasting voice that could be from anywhere.

I'd rather listen to Johnny Ward over Ger Gilroy any day of the week. Doesn't take himself too seriously and always has an interesting story or two.

The interview with Stephen O'Donnell was very good but Johnny needed to listen to what Stephen was telling him.

Johnny was adamant that Stephen could/should have played for Ireland and Stephen was telling him that honestly, he could see he wasn't at that level.

I'd rather listen to Johnny Ward over Ger Gilroy any day of the week. Doesn't take himself too seriously and always has an interesting story or two. I think it's refreshing to hear someone who doesn't speak with a made up broadcasting voice that could be from anywhere.

I think they're lining him up as the new Wooly.

The interview with Stephen O'Donnell was very good but Johnny needed to listen to what Stephen was telling him.

Johnny was adamant that Stephen could/should have played for Ireland and Stephen was telling him that honestly, he could see he wasn't at that level.

Johnny and SO'D are very good friends. Having seen SO'D play for Dundalk many times and look really comfortable against good teams in Europe, Johnny has a point about him being able to play at a higher level, but I doubt he was good enough to play for Ireland. That being said, there are guys with Ireland caps who are not as good as SO'D in my opinion.

redbuck wrote: »
    I think they're lining him up as the new Wooly.

I know Johnny and he is nothing like Wooly. He's a very affable guy who gets on well with most people, though he does seem to spark a few controversies from time to time.

He gets fairly passionate about some topics. In that way he is similar to Wooly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I like Parkinson but hopefully Ward is a bit more reasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Would have good time for Johnny Ward, very knowledgeable and interesting. Enjoyed him on tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Self hating bogger alert.

A lot of these ****ers around Dublin.