Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Was at the senior football semi-final, was a very enjoyable game and a good standard with a big crowd in. Probably fair to say that our football championship is better than the hurling in that there are more potential winners than the monopoly that Ballygunner have in the hurling.
    Reckon Kilrossanty will bring a huge crowd and neutrals will travel next Sunday night to Fraher Field and it should be a great occasion under lights.

Jesus be careful before making statements like that, we don’t want to insult the hurling snobs who like to tell us sooner ‘see every ball in the county punctured’ than watch a game of bog ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭upthedeise16

Jesus be careful before making statements like that, we don’t want to insult the hurling snobs who like to tell us sooner ‘see every ball in the county punctured’ than watch a game of bog ball

Well we can talk about how good some of the intercounty hurlers were yesterday to help soften their cough? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Met a couple of Cork lads over the weekend. Typical overconfidence about Cork's prospects in 2019, but their main points of discussion were how Limerick had no chance of retaining their trophy (why, because they're Limerick) and then they were both hoping to see an end to sweeper systems, and a return to '15 on 15' in 2019.

Obviously the were looking at me, as a Waterford man, for my response! I must say I'm a bit fed up of listening to this type of rubbish from people in other counties. They didn't seem to like being reminded that we scored 4-19 on them in Croke Park last year, or that Cork played a sweeper themselves in the years 2014-2016.

That said, I hope Waterford will end up in a position where they don't really need to rely on the sweeper approach as they have, that they can mix it up as it suits them. I still think we're in need of a ball winning full forward before we can do that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

Tommy Ryan has made a U turn and made himself available for 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

hardybuck wrote: »
    Met a couple of Cork lads over the weekend. Typical overconfidence about Cork's prospects in 2019, but their main points of discussion were how Limerick had no chance of retaining their trophy (why, because they're Limerick) and then they were both hoping to see an end to sweeper systems, and a return to '15 on 15' in 2019.

Obviously the were looking at me, as a Waterford man, for my response! I must say I'm a bit fed up of listening to this type of rubbish from people in other counties. They didn't seem to like being reminded that we scored 4-19 on them in Croke Park last year, or that Cork played a sweeper themselves in the years 2014-2016.

That said, I hope Waterford will end up in a position where they don't really need to rely on the sweeper approach as they have, that they can mix it up as it suits them. I still think we're in need of a ball winning full forward before we can do that though.

Like all empires, they view guerrilla warfare as unsporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

hardybuck wrote: »

Tom Devine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Ian OB

Tom Devine

Hands of a surgeon on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

DLS College are into the Dean Ryan Cup final. They beat Our Lady’s Templemore on Monday and Face Thurles CBS in the final on Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭whiteandblue

DLS College are into the Dean Ryan Cup final. They beat Our Lady’s Templemore on Monday and Face Thurles CBS in the final on Friday

Also won their first Harty Cup match so a good start to the year. I wonder what age group Derek McGrath is with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,668 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Senior football final takes place on Sunday between the Nire and Kilrossanty. Be nice to see Kilrossanty win there first title since 1989 but its hard to look past the Nire

2 Waterford clubs are in action in the Munster club hurling championships on sunday. Intermediate champs Clonea face Limerick champs Garryspillane in Dungarvan and Ballygunner face Cork runners up Midleton in Walsh park. Club hurling can be very unpredicable and now is really Ballygunners time to make a statement in Munster as aside from Na Piarasigh of Limerick (Still have to win the Limerick title first) and Clares Ballyea they are the most experienced team in the Munster championship this year and have it in them to go far, Midleton wont be easy and have a few star players like Lehane and O Farell. Clonea were fairly average in the intermeidate final and its hard to see them being able to beat a team like Garryspillane but ya never knw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Forget 'Fraher Field or forget it' ... Munster express reporting this week that the county board Are pushing for Walsh park to host championship games in 2019, due to delays starting the refurbishment. Capacity of about 10k.

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    Forget 'Fraher Field or forget it' ... Munster express reporting this week that the county board Are pushing for Walsh park to host championship games in 2019, due to delays starting the refurbishment. Capacity of about 10k.

This gets better and better every week

If the current Walsh Park is allowed than I can see the redevelopment be scrapped

Joke shop we are in Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Walsh Park is Board’s 2019 Choice

By Dermot Keyes. Published on Wednesday, October 24th, 2018 at 12:28 pm

The Munster Express understands that Walsh Park will be the stadium of choice proposed by the County Board of Waterford GAA for use in next summer’s Munster Hurling Championship.

But whether the Deisemen will line out against Clare (week ending May 12th) and All-Ireland champions Limerick (week ending June 2nd) at the Keane’s Road venue is entirely dependant on the time it will take An Bord Pleanála to deal with the two submissions lodged in relation to elements of the proposed redevelopment.

This newspaper also understands that a capacity of between 10,000 and 10,500 will be placed on the ground for both games next summer, with work potentially beginning in mid-June or early July, subject to both the planning and tendering processes.

I think this is a mistake. The Munster Council will use any excuse to rule out either of our venues, and there are currently far more excuses to be found in Walsh Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

deiseach wrote: »
    I think this is a mistake. The Munster Council will use any excuse to rule out either of our venues, and there are currently far more excuses to be found in Walsh Park.

Are there? If it's deemed more suitable for redevelopment it's probably considered the better stadium?

More onboard with this idea than Fraher Field, as much as I like the place. But I'd rather Nowlan Park and Walsh Park works get underway promptly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Does the season ticket club pass get you into today's game in Walsh Park?

Any game on before the Ballygunner v Midleton one?

thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭upthedeise16

Does the season ticket club pass get you into today's game in Walsh Park?

Any game on before the Ballygunner v Midleton one?

thanks!

Don’t think so, Munster council will be the ones charging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,449 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Middleton 2-8 ballygunner 0-10 HT

Clonea leading 10 points to 6 HT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Does the wlr commentater usually sound like he's eating the dinner during a game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,449 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Clonea and ballygunner both win

great day for Waterford club hurling

in the Munster Intermediate championship Clonea 1-25 (28)- Garryspillane (Limerick) 1-10 (13). Great win for Clonea, they now face Feakle (Clare) in Fraher Field next weekend in the semi final

Ballygunner 1-18- Midleton 2-13. Great comeback from Ballygunner but a step up is badly needed. They face Ballyea of Clare in the Semi Final next Sunday 4th Nov in Walsh Park

Good win for Ballygunner, looked in real in trouble at half time but stepped up in second half to win by a couple of points. Big improvement needed when they take on Ballyea next week but todays game should bring them on a lot.

In fairness, only €10 on the gate was very good value but the crowd there today was terrible, only 1,300 turned up which is desperate.

Great win for Clonea too, very impressive to have such a big win over the Limerick champions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Good win for Ballygunner but Midleton should be kicking themselves for some bad wides as they could have really turned the screw. Ballygunner very reliant on frees from Mahony and some generous referring in the first half. The introduction of Peter Hogan and JJ Hutchinson made the difference down the stretch as they showed for the ball a lot better and kept the ball in the Midleton half. After the annual procession through the Waterford championship, maybe Ballygunner needed this game to kickstart their Munster campaign.

Senior football final result
    Nire 0-9- Kilrossanty 0-7

Nire play Limerick champs Adare next Sunday in Limerick

Is divisional teams the way to go in Waterford for some of the lesser successful clubs ???

They could do combine some of the city clubs and play in the senior football championship. Call them Hilview GAA (made up for DLS/Roanmore/Mount Sion footballers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 RichardBzero

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Is divisional teams the way to go in Waterford for some of the lesser successful clubs ???

They could do combine some of the city clubs and play in the senior football championship. Call them Hilview GAA (made up for DLS/Roanmore/Mount Sion footballers)

Hell might also freeze over while that team is being made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Deisedick

You'd have to feel for kilrossanty last night man of the match and 3 points for a player that should have been suspended for the county final after an assault in the semi final darren guiry . And another player star county midfielder barron that threw about 5 or six punches in the semi final himself pat casey is a disgrace you'd have to think kilrossanty would have won if the rules had been applied properly by the referee in the semi final standard of refereeing is shocking.

Divisional teams were tried out in senior hurling championship about 20 years ago. My recollection is they were a disaster, barely able to fulfill fixtures and some big beatings, the interest just wasnt there.

Similarly WIT entered the hurling championship and that didnt work out either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Divisional teams were tried out in senior hurling championship about 20 years ago. My recollection is they were a disaster, barely able to fulfill fixtures and some big beatings, the interest just wasnt there.

Similarly WIT entered the hurling championship and that didnt work out either.

Just because something didnt work 20 years ago, doesn't mean it won't work now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭tommylad1212

They can't finish championships as it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

De La Salle should be comfortably a senior football outfit if they got their act together and if some more of the hurlers got some encouragement to play football.

Mount Sion, Roanmore, Erin's Own, Ferrybank etc., you'd imagine there would be lads that'd love to play on a decent senior team if the option was available.

If the west of the county was as poor at hurling as the east is at football, and contributing players to the county sides, there would have been a task force established to tackle the issue long ago.