If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

After Hours Exit Poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Putinbot wrote: »
    Mod- For the love of Christ will ye idiots stop with the personal abuse of each other. The reports are getting fücking beyond believe.

Next instance of personal abuse gets a month holiday.

"We idiots"

Are you calling yourself an idiot? :d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

He spoke freely

The vipers attacked

He didn't back down

The people voted

1-20%

Wake up

Where is his record of speaking on similar topics? Given that he is has been a public person for a while. With access to writing articles in national papers.

He just blurted out something. Took a few days to assess after saying it (was considering whether to stay in the race). Then realised he could double down and get people to vote for him based off lowest common denominator politics.

Wake up to what? That there are eejits everywhere that will hand power to people who tell them slogans and soundbytes that they want to hear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

People who voted for that man based solely off his traveller statement should have a think about the effect of their vote and what you have contributed to starting.

I don't even think your man meant, or thought about, it. I think he just blurted out random crap without realizing it and then ran with it.

It's all grand to be the hard internet warriors online but will we see an avalanche of similar chancers making populist statements in upcoming elections. Why get bother getting involved with local politics, contributing to your community and working your way up as you gain experience when you can just try to catapult into the limelight with some populist statements. What will it be the next time? "The lazy africans", "the job-stealing poles", "the invading muslims"?

The ironic thing is that the same playbook is what drives the likes of yer wan Cash to the front pages moaning about "de guvvermint robbin' us all".

Voting for a wealthy multimillionaire TV personality and portraying him as a saviour of the people. I remember how people laughed at the Yanks for doing it. Ironic usernames notwithstanding

And what is this shite of "snowflakes" and "liberals". Cop yourselves on. Stop apeing the yanks

"hard internet warriors"-you're right that's all we are but try have a reasonable word with travellers face to face and you'll find your property damaged or your or safety threatened. If we had an open honest debate on travellers we the concerns or ordinary people were listened too none of this would happen and the animosity we are seeing wouldn't exist.
    And also while you're mentioning "poles" and "blacks" why don't you ask them what they think or irish travellers? I know of several polish lads only in the country a few years who have the same sentiments regarding them as many irish.now do you think it's because they had similar negative experiences or are they simple bigots too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,254 ✭✭✭omega man

STB. wrote: »
    He said 2 things that resonate with people.

One was about travellers and the other was the welfare state that Ireland has become.

Neither of them belonged in an arena that was voting for a President. They do in an general election though. And we will have one of those come February, mark my words.

But now maybe politicians will open up on these issues seeing Caseys result. Doubt they would have without him having opened the debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

I'd love to see the percentages of what Peter Casey will get in rural areas compared to the cities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I don't think many people voting for Casey thought it'd make any difference to Michael D romping home. It's a protest vote against the entitlement/enablement culture that's in this country. The indulging of the Margaret Cashs of this world, the travellers' houses in Thurles etc. Mainstream media is not interested in hearing these views and shuts them down. Politicians are no better. I've no doubt Casey's remarks were self-serving but they were a vehicle for people to put their point across.
    100%

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

It'll be interesting to see the regional breakdown of voting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Voted Casey 1 with no preferences.

Yes to referendum.

I voted just before polls closed and was surprised there was still a few arriving at the same time.

RTE's biased poll is a good few percentage points off or I'll eat a large slice of humble pie tomorrow.

It's bizarre how people who believe in equality of opportunity and personal responsibility are branded in the modern world.

It's a paper thin 20% though, built on a protest vote. He might feel he can run for proper elected office now. Let's see how well he gets on if he has to enunciate policy positions he'd actually have to stand over and even try to deliver.
    That doesn't matter, he did get peoples attention, if he was talking crap then his vote would have been around 2%.
    But he will get far higher than that as people like the "say it as you see it!" approach, rather than being cowed into PC checking everything you say in case it offends some somehow out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

21% translates to zero presidential seats.

ffs lads. a handful of candidates and second polls 21% i mean jesus its actually hugely improbable that whoever finished second could actually have polled much lower!

Er.. not really. I mean look at the last five polls

Date
    Casey Duff Joan Gllgr MDH NíRiada
    24 August 0% 10% 3% 11% 65% 11%
    16 Septem 1% 6% 3% 15% 67% 7%
    10 October 1% 4% 6% 14% 70% 5%
    12 October 2% 4% 5% 12% 66% 11%
    16 October 2% 4% 6% 11% 69% 7%

That puts Casey as higher than any of the other candidates at any time, and MDH at much worse than during any poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

GoneHome wrote: »
    I'd love to see the percentages of what Peter Casey will get in rural areas compared to the cities
    humberklog wrote: »
    It'll be interesting to see the regional breakdown of voting.

Casey's vote (No1s) will be biggest in the usual troglodyte areas, the triangle of squinting windows - north Cork/West Limerick/South West Tipp, the border Boondocks, and the cultural void in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

omega man wrote: »
    But now maybe politicians will open up on these issues seeing Caseys result. Doubt they would have without him having opened the debate.

I don't disagree. Politicians would sell their own grannies to get elected. If I had a euro for every broken election promise I'd have as much as Peter Casey.

It'll set the agenda for populist votes come early next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

GoneHome wrote: »

For sure Rural Casey vote will be surprisingly high imo (surprisingly high for city dwellers I’d say)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,433 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

One thing that's only going to help future Casey's is the vitriol being spewed at those that voted for current Casey. And there's no Arnie going to go back in time to try fix things for you.

omega man wrote: »

political analyst, tuesday morning: "whatd casey poll with the traveller thing he blurted?"

data monkey: "20%"

political analyst: "ok we wont be doing that then"

smurgen wrote: »
    "hard internet warriors"-you're right that's all we are but try have a reasonable word with travellers face to face and you'll find your property damaged or your or safety threatened. If we had an open honest debate on travellers we the concerns or ordinary people were listened too none of this would happen and the animosity we are seeing wouldn't exist.
    And also while you're mentioning "poles" and "blacks" why don't you ask them what they think or irish travellers? I know of several polish lads only in the country a few years who have the same sentiments regarding them as many irish.now do you think it's because they had similar negative experiences or are they simple bigots too?

What is your point? This isn't about my impression of Travellers or any other group.

It's about the stupidity of giving all those votes to someone just because they said something populist.

I suppose all these property damaging and safety-threatening travellers will have learned their lessons from the vote and never do those things again now? Because they know that superman Casey will sort them out

Hurrache wrote: »
    One thing that's only going to help future Casey's is the vitriol being spewed at those that voted for current Casey. And there's no Arnie going to go back in time to try fix things for you.

Exactly. Like Hilary Clinton calling trump supporters before the election deplorables.great way to claw back support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Voted Casey 1 with no preferences.

Yes to referendum.

I voted just before polls closed and was surprised there was still a few arriving at the same time.

RTE's biased poll is a good few percentage points off or I'll eat a large slice of humble pie tomorrow.

It's bizarre how people who believe in equality of opportunity and personal responsibility are branded in the modern world.

That's exactly how I feel, I think that exit poll is somewhat off, I reckon tomorrow morning Casey will be on a much bigger percentage, he still won't win it but will send a message

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Calling people idiots is not personal abuse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Where is his record of speaking on similar topics? Given that he is has been a public person for a while. With access to writing articles in national papers.

He just blurted out something. Took a few days to assess after saying it (was considering whether to stay in the race). Then realised he could double down and get gobshites to vote for him based off lowest common denominator politics.

Wake up to what? That there are eejits everywhere that will hand power to people who tell them slogans and soundbytes that they want to hear?

Change we can believe in?

Yes we can?

President to the Treasury Secretary can we help Ireland out in her hour of need write off some that debt

No fcuk them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

If this is the way the Michael D Boardies go on when he wins I'd hate to see the meltdown that would happen if he lost :D
    Maybe we should have an auld after hours post election beers get together just to see what type of keyboard warriors we are dealing with! I doubt any of them would be brave enough to call any of us Peter Casey voters the C word to our faces :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,254 ✭✭✭omega man

political analyst, tuesday morning: "whatd casey poll with the traveller thing he blurted?"

data monkey: "20%"

political analyst: "ok we wont be doing that then"

Up from 1% in a week or so. You think that’s negligible? You’re mad if you do.

Change we can believe in?

Yes we can?

President to the Treasury Secretary can we help Ireland out in her hour of need write off some that debt

No fcuk them

You are free to give your vote to whomever you think would do the best job. In this case that job was representing the Irish State.

If you think that the country would be best served by someone who happened to blurt out some stupid statement in an interview then that is your choice.

If Casey really believed in campaigning on the substance of the statement, he wouldn't have needed a few days to assess whether he'd continue.

The problem isn't Casey or his statement. It's the signalling that someone can potentially gather significant support by simply spouting populist rhetoric. We laughed at other countries when it happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭haley79

i still believe casey is going to win
    ffs polls are fake news

if any "exit-pollster" asked me who i was supporting i'd tell them nothing or tell them a lie

smurgen wrote: »

What is your point? This isn't about my impression of Travellers or any other group.

It's about the stupidity of giving all those votes to someone just because they said something populist.

I suppose all these property damaging and safety-threatening travellers will have learned their lessons from the vote and never do those things again now? Because they know that superman Casey will sort them out

No it will show the government that the the people that pay their wages have genuine concerns that are not being listened to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Austria!

MJohnston wrote: »

A reminder - Casey voters are literally supporting a man who sat around on his arse on TV and decided which hard-working people are deemed worthy of a few Euros he scraped from the bottom of his shoe.

What a bizarre description of a guy investing their money in

someone else's business idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I don't want Superman Casey to sort them out. What I would like is for the relevant authorities to start doing their jobs for a change. Take their unfortunate horses off them, prosecute them when they break the law, stop giving them free housing, stop indulging them. But you know that already, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Atlantis50

Good thing I bet €60 @ 16/1 for Casey to come second. A good start to the bank holiday weekend. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭spurshero

Atlantis50 wrote: »
    Good thing I bet €60 @ 16/1 for Casey to come second. A good start to the bank holiday weekend. :D

Very nice . Any time ya turn 60 into a grand is good day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭enricoh

Casey's vote (No1s) will be biggest in the usual troglodyte areas, the triangle of squinting windows - north Cork/West Limerick/South West Tipp, the border Boondocks, and the cultural void in the middle.

Insufferable, I would have loved the meltdown if casey had won!