Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

After Hours Presidential Election Poll

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Casey has done a very good service in this campaign .

Its up to each individual to decide what TRUTH is and not have it decided by the Political and Media Establishment .

Thank you Mr Casey .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Do you give your salary to charity? No? Does that mean you’re greedy too?

Like I said you’re a fool if you believe for one second PC won’t take what he’s entitled to.

If I my job afforded me a free luxurious mansion, 24hr security, hoardes of private attentive staff, including drivers, florists, chefs and what have you, an annual unvouched expense budget of more than 300k, and use of cars/jets/convoys , and I was entitled to a few hefty pensions on top of all that,.....

I think I could struggle on without the salary. Though sackcloth and ashes I may be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Mickey D is getting my number 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,821 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I suppose people also believe Casey WILL leave after 5 years 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

If I my job afforded me a free luxurious mansion, 24hr security, hoardes of private attentive staff, including drivers, florists, chefs and what have you, an annual untouched expense budget of more than 300k, and use of cars/jets , and I was entitled to a few hefty pensions on top of all that,.....

I think I could struggle on without the salary. Though sackcloth and ashes I may be.

Maybe you could but I very much doubt that you would.

Nor would I expect you to. You’re allowed to to be paid for your job.

pjohnson wrote: »

Absolutely.

Same way I believed Michael D wouldn't contest a second term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Slightly more than I believe the other candidates would have no issues with living next to a halting site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ollie78

Casey for me

Yes just like they believe he won’t accept the salary to which he is entitled and that he’s some sort of savior.

It’s a bit pathetic how people are fawning all over him because of one comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,907 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Mickey D is getting my number 6.
    Fair play at least he is on your scale i will be going from 1 to 5... Casey is getting fecking nothing. The clown, what an embarrassment he would be as president the shambling mess.

Maybe you could but I very much doubt that you would.

Nor would I expect you to. You’re allowed to to be paid for your job.

No one's saying they wouldn't or shouldn't be paid for the job, it's just Higgins has made millions from the taxpayer's, while for almost 50 years has travelled around in the lapse of luxuries pontificating about his socialist views and how he is a socialist member.

Do you get the point now?

No one's saying they wouldn't or shouldn't be paid for the job, it's just Higgins has made millions from the taxpayer's, while for almost 50 years has travelled around in the lapse of luxuries pontificating about his socialist views and how he is a socialist member.

Do you get the point now?

And where do think Casey’s millions come from? Where does the money you make come from?

Absolutely.

Same way I believed Michael D wouldn't contest a second term.

Is he not allowed to change his mind?

And where do think Casey’s millions come from?
    Self Made Millionaire, private market.
    Where does the money you make come from?
    I hardly think that's anyone's business but mine, less I was to stand for public office:confused:

Is he not allowed to change his mind?

Of course he is.

Even if it takes him 7 years of luxurious surroundings to do so.

Self Made Millionaire, private market.

I hardly think that's anyone's business but mine, less I was to stand for public office:confused:

You’re missing the point completely. Every bit of money that passes through your hands and mine comes from taxes.

Complaining that the wealthy make money from taxpayers makes no sense because they pay taxes too and we all make money from other peoples taxes.

Of course he is.

Even if it takes him 7 years of luxurious surroundings to do so.

Lose the holier than thou attitude will you. It’s doing you no favors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

In between the 5 million astroturfers telling us that they, and every person they've ever known, are voting for casey.

Can I remind people to vote yes in the referendum.

You’re missing the point completely. Every bit of money that passes through your hands and mine comes from taxes.

Complaining that the wealthy make money from taxpayers makes no sense because they pay taxes too and we all make money from other peoples taxes.

This is some funked up logic.

A self employed individual, a PAYE employee, or a business owner in the private sector have made their money from the tax collected from the exchequer:confused:

Could you by any chance dissect this a bit, and explain it a bit more for me, I'm genuinely interested in this theory.

This is some funked up logic.

A self employed individual, a PAYE employee, or a business owner in the private sector have made their money from the tax collected from the exchequer:confused:

Could you by any chance dissect this a bit, and explain it a bit more for me, I'm genuinely interested in this theory.

Why would I bother arguing with someone who’s decided they’re right.

Vote for whoever you want Johnny. Just do it fit the right reasons.

Why would I bother arguing with someone who’s decided they’re right.

Vote for whoever you want Johnny. Just do it fit the right reasons.

I'm not arguing - far from it, I just want to be able to cover my tail should anyone accuse me of gaining anything i own from the money collected via tax, rather than through my own hard work and initiative.

You appear to not want to explain this theory, and I think I know why.

It's more holes in it than a sieve.

I'm not arguing - far from it, I just want to be able to cover my tail should anyone accuse me of gaining anything i own from the money collected via tax, rather than through my own hard work and initiative.

You appear to not want to explain this theory, and I think I know why.

It's more holes in it than a sieve.

Don’t you think our president works extremely hard especially for a man his age?

Why do you think Casey will be any different? He’s not a saint you know.

I also doubt Casey had any intention of targeting any sane thinker.

So you're calling them insane now? I don't think Casey even went that far. I think they prefer the term Travellers btw...

dav3 wrote: »
    In between the 5 million astroturfers telling us that they, and every person they've ever known, are voting for casey.

I'm voting NO just to spite you dav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

@ (sorry my keyboard is stuck)

fooook off ye shower of liberal dictators

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

This will be a red letter day. The revolution begins on this day of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 strettyend

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Dress it up and demean it how you like. The surge in Casey's popularity is down to the frustration the middle classes feel in working hard to fund those who choose not to work. People are sick of spending thousand each year they can ill afford to allow others a bone idle lifestyle.

The average industrial wage is about 36k. If you earn twice the average industrial wage, you still won't take home as much as Margaret Cash. That is astonishing, and really bugs the majority of honest, hardworking people.

Call it whatever you want, but the frustration is genuine and justified.

Absolutely spot on. Peter Casey had the balls to call it as it is and he will certainly be getting my vote no question. Do we seriously need another 7 years of higgins been president? i have a massive problem what with his salary, lifestyle, lear jet, expensive hotels and idiots in this country are going to vote him in again!! We have people living on the streets, serious overcrowding in our hospitals, health service in tatters and people struggling day to day and this we are going to vote for someone who would not come clean about his spending. We deserve what we get because we are a spinless nation and go with the flow..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Danzy wrote: »
    Giving up his salary is not admirable, stuff like that makes it only a job for multi millionaires.

I'll vote for Casey but in spite of things like that.

The cost of running a campaign means it's only for the elite, or those backed by the elite.

Giving up the wage is admirable as it shows you aren't in it to earn another few million, unlike Mickey D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

dav3 wrote: »

A no vote is needed in the referendum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

King Casey Number One