Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

After Hours Presidential Election Poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,911 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Casey has “done well for himself” as a self made millionaire. He was also involved in the Good Friday Agreement.

Really? What exactly was his involvement in the Good Friday Agreement? Given his enthusiasm for Brexit, it can't have been a deep involvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,911 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I didn't say that! I said portray yourself as a business person and CEO and not someone who has somehow sacrificed themselves for charity.

Where exactly did she portray herself as having sacrificed herself for charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Really? What exactly was his involvement in the Good Friday Agreement? Given his enthusiasm for Brexit, it can't have been a deep involvement.

He went to the whitehouse with John Hume to represent the Irish side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

I feel Peter Casey lacked the killer instinct when it most mattered. I think he needed a political advisor (or a better one) to prepare him better. He shouldn't have let McCullagh walk all over him when he tried to speak.

They tried to box him in with Farage and Trump and tbh he could have taken a leaf from their book. Call RTE out on their bias and bullshït and say what you want to say anyway.

He was better in the second hour but I think the wheels came off a bit last night.

It was a dreadful performance all round.

Can't deal with 7 more years of that creepy little creature. How anybody could vote for him I'll never know.

Hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

fergus1001 wrote: »
    He went to the whitehouse with John Hume to represent the Irish side

But what did he actually do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

But what did he actually do?

Shook a few hands in America.

In relation to getting expenses back.The quota is valid poll divided by number of seats plus one. So the quota will be 50%. Candidates have to get 25% of the quota so 12.5% of the overall vote.

Am I right in all this. Peter Casey will probably get his 12.5% which was probably his strategy all along. Hard to see him winning it.

Peter Casey will probably get his 12.5% which was probably his strategy all along.

As of the most recent polls, only MichaelD will get his expenses.

Any huge swing to Casey is speculation. I would not be surprised if he catches Duffy and Freeman, but to go from 2% to better than 13%? I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Shook a few hands in America.

While I have no idea what roll he played, Its very disingenious to knock anyone who directly or indirectly had a role to play in putting it together. It's saved countless lives...
    Hell of a lot more than anything you've done in your life I'd wager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

jjmcclure wrote: »
    The most unelectable of them all is Liadh Ní Riada. My god what a po-faced self righteous pain in the arse.
    And she's a shinner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

The most unelectable of them all is Liadh Niada. My god what a po-faced self righteous pain in the arse.

Another half hour now and her supporters will be out of bed and on here defending her

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Hell of a lot more than anything you've done in your life I'd wager?

That's a very low bar, in fairness, for the Presidency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

LiamoSail wrote: »
    The most unelectable of them all is Liadh Niada. My god what a po-faced self righteous pain in the arse.

Another half hour now and her supporters will be out of bed and on here defending her

early start today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

That's a very low bar, in fairness, for the Presidency.

Being part of a peace process that has saved countless lives on the island of Ireland is a pretty low bar to presidency??

Or am I taking you up wrong?? (Apologies if I have)

Being part of a peace process that has saved countless lives on the island of Ireland is a pretty low bar to presidency??

Or am I taking you up wrong?? (Apologies if I have)

Doing more than I ever did in my life is a low bar.

And Casey literally shook a few paws in DC. If that was critical to the Peace Process, I'm a monkey's uncle.

I'll take John Hume's judgement of his character and what he'd bring to the peace process over your "shook a few paws" drivel.

Thanks though.

As of the most recent polls, only MichaelD will get his expenses.

Any huge swing to Casey is speculation. I would not be surprised if he catches Duffy and Freeman, but to go from 2% to better than 13%? I doubt it.

Is there any proper poll after all his controversial comments? From Red etc? 200, 000- 250,000 votes would do it. Will be interesting to see if he gets that. Might lead to more of this type of strategy in future elections.

I'll take John Hume's judgement of his character and what he'd bring to the peace process over your "shook a few paws" drivel.

Got a quote from Hume on the subject?

Or a quote or reference from anyone other than Casey himself who says he did anything Peace Process related?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I'm voting for Peter Casey because he said what he was thinking.

Refreshing in this day and age. I dont care who he offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Micheal D is just too crafty. Knew to keep his mouth closed and when he did respond, he seemed to be taking the high moral ground and making the rest of them look desperate. Which wouldn't be hard, admittedly.

Joan Freeman is ok and her idea of steering clear of governmental roles and focusing on "Wellness" makes some sense but I still think when it comes to the duties she would have to discharge, she's runner up to Micheal D all day long.

Casey is just not credible. I like how he has some bit of personality and doesn't seem to be spouting robotic PR soundbytes but it's clear he hasn't really a clue about the role and is making it up as he goes along. The bit where he said he would seek to address the Oireachtas if the Taoiseach requested a dissolution!! I'm sure the Dáil chamber would be eager to here a sermon from Peter Casey in the middle of a government collapse. Lets get real, he's chancing his arm. He's not a great speaker and is a bit all over the shop, which for a ceremonial role full of speech delivery is a small problem.

Gavin Duffy, the best of the dragon candidates. Seems like a real person, speaks well and isn't fake humble like some of them. Don't think his experience in business is massively applicable to the presidency though A) because it's all wishy washy management consultancy spoof and B) he would have no role in solving trade issues anyway. Whatever about electing a business and trade focused president in a country where the president has powers, it's totally pointless here.

Liadh Ni Riada is a preposterous creature. She reminds me of a very self involved, preachy, English teacher I had doing my Leaving Cert. The way she puts her chin up and stares wistfully into the middle distance as she drops her philosophical ruminations on the audience would just want to make you vom. An awful 2 dimensional caricature. The bit about her average industrial wage of 50k after tax just capped it off.

Sean Gallagher - I'm certain he has wet dreams about JFK's "Ask not what your country..."speech and imagines himself making a similar stirring rhetorical flourish as president of Ireland. I actually was in physical pain when he answered McCullogh's question about what should be on his epitaph. A total non entity and the worst of the bunch.

All in all and terrible lineup to challenge Micheal D. It's not even a race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

That's racist. Somehow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stratowide

Is there any proper poll after all his controversial comments? From Red etc? 200, 000- 250,000 votes would do it. Will be interesting to see if he gets that. Might lead to more of this type of strategy in future elections.

Normally at these elections you'd have official polls coming out continually..The suspicious part of me is smelling a rat here.

Are the media trying to hide something..hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,343 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

That's racist. Somehow..
    Everything is these days
    I mean, I'm writing this in black font.
    Someone somewhere will be triggered by that!

DNb0pJx.jpg

stratowide wrote: »
    Normally at these elections you'd have official polls coming out continually..The suspicious part of me is smelling a rat here.

Are the media trying to hide something..hmmm

The media would be only delighted if Casey or anyone could turn this into a nailbiting race to the Áras. Casey jumping 30% in a poll and challenging Higgins would be the story of the year.

The idea that they have this story and are burying it to help MichaelD for reasons is beyond ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    And she's a shinner
    Unlike Martin McGuinness she hasn't the killer instinct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I hope Casey has a good security team around him. From comments on FB the some of the travelling community are violence first, ask questions later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,242 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

In 2014, President Higgins travelled to Lanzarote for a holiday to prepare for the year ahead.

His wife, Sabina, remained at home due to a previous engagement (the day after our interview the President sent a message to say she was picking up a lifetime achievement award from the Renmore Pantomime and Musical Society in Galway).

The President's holiday was not funded by the taxpayer; Mr Higgins paid for it himself. Mr McCarthy travelled to work for the President. He did so at his own expense, to be of assistance to Mr Higgins.

The President explains why he was invaluable on the trip.

"I don't have keyboard skills and I was preparing three or four very big speeches at the time. I hadn't very good skills in relation to the internet, and I was writing the speeches and I needed someone who would type them. Someone who was going to be able to communicate them back for further references to Aras an Uachtarain and he did all of that and we were accompanied by security staff and so forth.

He explains: "He paid for it [his own travel expenses] because it wasn't work. It was more that I needed space in which to get the work done.
    I can't say I've ever heard of an employee going away with their employer to work, at their own expense, during their own free time.

Seems strange imo.

I can't say I've ever heard of an employee going away with their employer to work, at their own expense, during their own free time.

Seems strange imo.

Maybe he just enjoys Mickeys company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'm voting for Peter Casey because he said what he was thinking.

Refreshing in this day and age. I dont care who he offended.
    this is the first time in my life I will have the opportunity to vote for someone who has not hidden behind mealy mouthed platitudes or been kowtowed by the menu of acceptable opinions as defined by the Montrose mafia and the wider media groupthink.

my only options in any election I have ever been eligible to vote for have been leftist and or centrist.

is he doing it for votes? probably.

is he the best presidential candidate ever? no.

the reason he can get away with speaking to the truth of many people's lived experience on these issues is because he is wealthy and not a career politician.

I'm not going to miss this chance to use my vote to stir some diversity of opinion into the irish political scene. who knows when such a chance will arise again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Still looks like a handful of people out there deciding to vote for casey and voting no in the blasphemy referendum because they want to 'stick it to the man'.

What brave Irish heros they are. Bualadh bos.