Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

After Hours Presidential Election Poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/presidential-election-2018/president-higgins-still-on-course-to-win-second-presidential-term-poll-37441150.html

For those saying there haven’t been any polls since before Casey’s comments here’s one from the 20th.

MDH still holding the lead and I can’t imagine last nights debate would have changed that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭q85dw7osi4lebg

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/presidential-election-2018/president-higgins-still-on-course-to-win-second-presidential-term-poll-37441150.html

For those saying there haven’t been any polls since before Casey’s comments here’s one from the 20th.

MDH still holding the lead and I can’t imagine last nights debate would have changed that.

The data was harvested a week previous to that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

“However, the opinion poll was completed last Tuesday – the same day Mr Casey’s comment on Independent.ie’s Floating Voter podcast were published.”

Is it? Yeah? Don’t worry, just blame your staff, that apparently works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,894 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'm sure Peter Casey will cut costs. He surely wont use the plane for any state visits nor will he go anywhere on this island on anything except a bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

The data was harvested a week previous to that

Lol!

ELM327 wrote: »
    A white person cannot be racist against a white person.
    NEXT.

You must have a fascinating outlook on what went on in Yugoslavia. Or even how the Brits used to treat the Irish.

Is that just #bantz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Sean Gallagher

If he is doing his own yet constantly refers to himself in the third person, he has a serious ego problem :)

Oh course MDH doesn't do his own Twitter. Apparently the man hasn't got good internet skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Your own link says the poll was completed the same day Casey opened his gob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Thejournal has just started a poll and it seems to also show a surge for Casey, though so far over there he's second on 33%, to 47% for MDH so it will come down to transfers if true, and Id say SF transfers are more likely to go to MDH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Useless. Ye can vote as many times as you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Thejournal has just started a poll and it seems to also show a surge for Casey, though so far over there he's second on 33%, to 47% for MDH so it will come down to transfers if true, and Id say SF transfers are more likely to go to MDH.

If that was the way it pans out, that would be a major wake up call to the establishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I’ll be abstaining. I don’t care which of those shamdazzlers gets elected. I’m not well at the moment and it’s not worth my energy. Will be interesting to see how the AH Peter Casey vote translates to the general populace though. Will he poll highly or is AH a microcosm?

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Useless. Ye can vote as many times as you like.

If you can be bothered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,128 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

He’s a self proclaimed socialist, rambles on about the homeless etc.

Wouldn’t it be nice for him to cut back on unnecessary spending and set an example?

Aren’t people always crying for politicians to have their wages cut?

Why should he be any different?

He’s a big fat pension at the end of it all, he doesn’t need all these luxuries.

Just another one who has made millions off the taxpayer through the years while preaching the opposite.

A champagne socialist and nothing else.

The much maligned Dev had such a small salary as president, that there were people worried about his standard of living. Of course the pocket-stuffing culture came later with CJ and the mohair suit set and it's been that way ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭Patser

Peter Casey lost me last night. He was great last week as a breath of fresh air in such a poor campaign, spoke simple home truths and didn't seem as scripted/managed as others.

But last night he veered too much into just here for the craic. Saying he'll put his Wife on a council to advise him as she's the only one that can get him to do things. Sorry that's just a joke. And when he had garnered so much momentum last week, and could have potentially really challenged, a little bit of preparation, a bit of vision of what you could genuinely do would have worked wonders.

And my big worry now is that people will give him a vote to 'stick it to the establishment' or 'for the craic' thinking he'll never win - and that's how we ended up with Trump, Brexit and Dustin in the Euro vision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Not great last night not one of rte finnest hours putting them in 2 groups what was that about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,081 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Patser wrote: »
    Peter Casey lost me last night. He was great last week as a breath of fresh air in such a poor campaign, spoke simple home truths and didn't seem as scripted/managed as others.

But last night he veered too much into just here for the craic. Saying he'll put his Wife on a council to advise him as she's the only one that can get him to do things. Sorry that's just a joke. And when he had garnered so much momentum last week, and could have potentially really challenged, a little bit of preparation, a bit of vision of what you could genuinely do would have worked wonders.

And my big worry now is that people will give him a vote to 'stick it to the establishment' or 'for the craic' thinking he'll never win - and that's how we ended up with Trump, Brexit and Dustin in the Euro vision
    You might as well have my dog as President here though. No power.
    Casey was great because he spoke his mind unlike the other programmed mice.
    He upset the softly softly brigade and that's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,128 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The one thing Casey may do is embolden others to take a more controversial line, unfettered by the pc media. Casey did so and as we can see, he emerged more popular than ever after it, saying things people are thinking but afraid to voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭Patser

Your dog, Casey or whoever gets the Park still becomes Irelands official face for next 7 years. And while the office has little true power, ripping into to MDH about expenses while saying he'll put his Wife into an advisory council, because you know, the craic and a laugh and he couldn't really think of anyone else to add to his big plan. He just isn't credible, doesn't have any real plan if he gets it.

It is a pity that someone that is willing to speak freely, but was more coherent and planned didn't stand. Ironically if Gavin Duffy and Seán Gallagher had taken Casey's approach they probably would have been much better at it. Duffy could have put the controversial ideas forward with a lot more thought (and probably boringly long answers to it), Gallagher also showed signs of proper research (even if robotic). If they'd stood apart from herd, but used their better preparation and smoother talking things could have been very interesting.

Instead Casey blew in like a blast of fresh air, but having cleared himself a platform had very few ideas on how to build on it. Just too casual in the end. Too blustery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 strettyend

Can someone explain to me why michael higgins is going for a second term when he is heading toward eighty years of age? It seems ludicrous. Peter casey will be getting my vote no question. He had the balls to say what a lot of people thought regarding travellers but were afraid to say as they would of been regarded as racist. We all know travellers who have a very lavish lifestyle, fabulous houses, top of the range cars/vans and have never worked or paid taxes. Where did this money come from? It it were you or i the revenue would be asking questions would they not? i have been working all my life pay taxes like everyone else but get it hard to make ends meat and drive a ten year old car. Good on you peter casey for having the bottle to stand up and ask challenging questions.

I suppose a lot of people would embrace nepotism. Thats the Irish way jobs for the boys/family :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,344 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

pjohnson wrote: »
    You must have a fascinating outlook on what went on in Yugoslavia. Or even how the Brits used to treat the Irish.

Is that just #bantz?
    Oooooh this should be interesting.
    Do please explain how the atrocities committed here by the british were racist.
    Remember now, racism involves two different races. Nationality is not a synonym for race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

The most unelectable of them all is Liadh Ní Riada. My god what a po-faced self righteous pain in the arse.

Remember now, racism involves two different races. Nationality is not a synonym for race.

Race
    noun
    - a group of persons related by common descent or heredity.
    - a population so related.
    Anthropology.
    - (no longer in technical use) any of the traditional divisions of humankind, the commonest being the Caucasian, Mongoloid, and Negro, characterized by supposedly distinctive and universal physical characteristics.
    an arbitrary classification of modern humans, sometimes, especially formerly, based on any or a combination of various physical characteristics, as skin color, facial form, or eye shape, and now frequently based on such genetic markers as blood groups.
    - a socially constructed category of identification based on physical characteristics, ancestry, historical affiliation, or shared culture:
    - a human population partially isolated reproductively from other populations, whose members share a greater degree of physical and genetic similarity with one another than with other humans.
    a group of tribes or peoples forming an ethnic lineage:
    the Slavic race.

any people united by common history, language, cultural traits, etc.:
    the Dutch race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DChancer

That must be some dog, having the right to send most bills passed by the Houses of the Oireachtas to the Supreme Court for express Judicial Review, and what a dog being able to refuse a sitting Taoiseach a dissolution of the Dail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,344 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

pjohnson wrote: »
    Race
    noun
    - a group of persons related by common descent or heredity.
    - a population so related.
    Anthropology.
    - (no longer in technical use) any of the traditional divisions of humankind, the commonest being the Caucasian, Mongoloid, and Negro, characterized by supposedly distinctive and universal physical characteristics.
    an arbitrary classification of modern humans, sometimes, especially formerly, based on any or a combination of various physical characteristics, as skin color, facial form, or eye shape, and now frequently based on such genetic markers as blood groups.
    - a socially constructed category of identification based on physical characteristics, ancestry, historical affiliation, or shared culture:
    - a human population partially isolated reproductively from other populations, whose members share a greater degree of physical and genetic similarity with one another than with other humans.
    a group of tribes or peoples forming an ethnic lineage:
    the Slavic race.

any people united by common history, language, cultural traits, etc.:
    the Dutch race.

The "dutch race" is not correct, nor is the last highlighted in red.
    Genetic commonality and difference from others is the definition of race.
    Hence you have European Whites, you have Africans, Middle Easterns, couple of different ones in Asia, African Americans, Native Americans, White Americans (which were mostly shared ancestry with white Europeans) etc.

These are examples of race. Nationality is not Race.

For your info as you seem to have missed the question in my last post:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

DChancer wrote: »
    That must be some dog, having the right to send most bills passed by the Houses of the Oireachtas to the Supreme Court for express Judicial Review, and what a dog being able to refuse a sitting Taoiseach a dissolution of the Dail!

Dogs can fly planes these days

I think they could manage the above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio