Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANDSCAN THREAD

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭hustlergraham

Yup jingles are cheap enough. So many pros and cons between all the pirates I suppose. The ones who are rolling in cash it seems, haven't a clue how to do things right. All this sponsorship bullsh*t from Now FM. Seriously, give me a break. Looking on social media, some people think Now & Hot are the best thing since Krispy Kreme!

Only two pirates preset on my radio... Trax & Phever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭castle2012

Nrgfm wrote: »
    Haven’t been logged in much of late but always try to keep an eye on what’s happening, Big improvement from Now Fm this evening, I heard from a friend they were having Tx issues the last week or so and were awaiting some new kit to arrive looks like Santa delivered. Best of luck to them hope it all goes well, I know back in NRG days we had our fair share of teething and frequency issues but when we got there we were sorted hopefully the same will apply to the Now lads,

There is some really good mix s up on SoundCloud from Ger Fenton when he was on Nrg. Talk about nostalgia to listen to. The pure quality and professional of it. 4 years on

• Registered Users Posts: 28,997 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

castle2012 wrote: »
    After all the money they spent on studios, transmitter s etc. The have one jingle (hot fm). Which they play over and over. There djs are using jingles from old stations they used to work with and just adding hot fm to the end of it.
    Surly it can't be that expensive to buy some new jingles

i think this is a non-issue tbh. the djs either got those jingles custom made themselves or they were custom made for them by the original station they started on, they can remove station name and insert new station as they go.
    Yup jingles are cheap enough. So many pros and cons between all the pirates I suppose. The ones who are rolling in cash it seems, haven't a clue how to do things right. All this sponsorship bullsh*t from Now FM. Seriously, give me a break. Looking on social media, some people think Now & Hot are the best thing since Krispy Kreme!

Only two pirates preset on my radio... Trax & Phever.

i'm not seeing what the problem is with now taking sponsorship? bills have to be paid and if someone is willing to sponsor them then fair play.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭hustlergraham

If it was "Joe Bloggs Tyres" or "Mary's Barber's" well yeah that's grand. It's a small business. But Odeon Cinemas? No way a big company like that are going to sponsor a pirate. Not a chance. Don't believe it at all.

If I was to guess, one of the DJs works there or someone connected to the station, and they got free passes. No sponsorship involved whatsoever. They shouldn't be using big company names like that just to boost their image. Could definitely lead to big issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

In fairness, if Coca Cola wanted to run ads on a pirate it's up to them. As far as I am aware there is no law against it. They would need to do there due diligence on how it would maybe affect there brand. As much as I hate to say it pirate radio is a 'criminal activity' so to speak. The guys with the big brands wouldn't want the hassle of if something went wrong with the station and been involved. By that same token, some of the legal stations may refuse to take sponsorship as a two fingers to a product running on a pirate and at the same time a legal (highly unlikely mind you). Plus the big brands would be looking for things like rate cards, JNLR figures. They won't part with cash without knowinf they are getting good reach for there brand with there cash.

Off the top of my head, Hyundai did run ads on Non Stop 90s.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭Infoanon

TallGlass wrote: »
    In fairness, if Coca Cola wanted to run ads on a pirate it's up to them. As far as I am aware there is no law against it. They would need to do there due diligence on how it would maybe affect there brand. As much as I hate to say it pirate radio is a 'criminal activity' so to speak. The guys with the big brands wouldn't want the hassle of if something went wrong with the station and been involved. By that same token, some of the legal stations may refuse to take sponsorship as a two fingers to a product running on a pirate and at the same time a legal (highly unlikely mind you). Plus the big brands would be looking for things like rate cards, JNLR figures. They won't part with cash without knowinf they are getting good reach for there brand with there cash.

Off the top of my head, Hyundai did run ads on Non Stop 90s.

It is illegal to advertise on a pirate station under the 88 act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Infoanon wrote: »
    It is illegal to advertise on a pirate station under the 88 act.

Interesting I didn't know that. Pretty much settles that argument on all fronts.

I'm a bit surprised to be honest with there been a law for it.

Will be Intresting to see what all these pirates will do with Christmas fm back on air next month

• Registered Users Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Antenna

8radio returning to FM next Friday for 3 days weekends (Fri-Sun) broadcasts until mid November
    We’re back for another run of weekends from next Friday on 105.2FM in Dublin, 106.7FM in Cork, 87.7FM in Galway, 105.5FM in Limerick and on DAB Digital Radio in Cork City on the new Eirdab Multiplex!

castle2012 wrote: »
    Will be Intresting to see what all these pirates will do with Christmas fm back on air next month

i think most will be fine. 88.1 and 99.5 are the ones that are likely going to need to switch off.

Hot fm s technical problems are back. Monday while in Dublin there was a crackling in the background. Today when tuning the radio won't lock to 91.0 when I have AF on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭SWR meter

Lots of the pirates in dublin suffer from constant outages and tech issues.

Observations from this morning include phever fm (off air), hot radio (no rds), now fm (no audio), fresh fm (no rds).

Its all a bit too amateur for listeners. Far cry from the pirates of october 30 years ago.

i think phever suffered some damage due to the recent storm. did they have any audio since friday?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,873 ✭✭✭JDxtra

i think phever suffered some damage due to the recent storm. did they have any audio since friday?

Phever was on over the weekend, yes. On right now - just checked it.

Signal strength report from Leixlip, Co. Kildare this evening (higher is better):

88.1 - PVR - 40dB
    91.0 - HOT FM - 57dB
    91.6 - NOW FM - 46dB
    93.2 - KISS FM - 46dB
    99.5 - FRESH FM - 20dB
    107.1 - TRAX - 45dB

does anyone know, 1. is fresh fm still relaying danceoneradio? 2. has kiss fm 93.2 had live shows yet?

1) Yes, Fresh FM are relaying Dance One Radio (danceoneradio.com).

2) No, there have been no live shows on Kiss FM.

JDxtra wrote: »
    1) Yes, Fresh FM are relaying Dance One Radio (danceoneradio.com).

2) No, there have been no live shows on Kiss FM.

thanks for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭SWR meter

Now fm gone again both fm and internet stream have no audio. I dont get point of Now fm. Music and jocks all over place. Need to up the game to attract those advertisers they are looking for. So far giant waste of someones money.

Now FM has the potential to be a quality dance station, and there is room in the market for it. If I could offer some honest (and hopefully helpful) advice to the team, it would be the following:

1) Review the playlist. Remove most of it. Dance classics are well covered - this is Now FM. The playlist should be fresh to reflect that. Don't make it too commercial, leave that to Spin. Only play radio edits. Be different. Have a listen to the stations down in Cork, NRG Radio Cork for example have a great initial playlist. Oh, and destroy Calvin Harris 'One Kiss' - nobody ever wants to hear that tune again! :)

2) Review the actual quality of the music in the playlist. Studio audio should be as high as possible in quality - buy it on a digital audio store if needed, but always check it afterwards. Sometimes tracks are re-encoded, even on Beatport.

3) Stick to the playlist - most DJs should not need to bring their own music unless they are doing some late evening specialist show. Review playlist content weekly, rotating songs in and out.

4) Make sure all the DJs have presenting skills and are confident on the mic. If there are live shows, make it known. I've heard long periods go by with no links even when a DJ was seemingly there.

5) Playout system - it’s too crude on the cut overs. There are reasonable (or free) options out there - PlayoutONE, SAM Broadcaster, Radio DJ etc. which will offer better transitions for a tighter overall sound (with a bit of work of course!).

6) Imaging - I've heard very little on air to be honest. For a new station, this needs to be more prominent. Spend a few quid here, it's worth it.

The visual branding and social media content are excellent. Radio app is great too. Try and get on TuneIn as well if possible.

Otherwise, best of luck. Looking forward to this station improve and grow over the weeks and months ahead.

i agree with all of those points.

i'm shocked to hear beatport re-encode tracks, i don't buy from them but i would have expected better.

I've bought tunes that turned out to be vinyl rips. Tunes with the end missing and some others that were definitely not WAV. I guess it's not always their fault, they just sell what the labels gives them.

that's true to be fair.

Kiss FM is now gone from 93.2 in Dublin. Easy is now on the frequency.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭radioguru02

Now FM are OK, but they ought to get rid of the Spin new pop crap

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Oscarziggy

Not strictly "bandscan" but what is the station on 927 khz on this sdr ----http://emeraldsdr.ddns.net:8073/ please?
    It not on the other sdr http://emeraldsdr.ddns.net:8074/
    I can't receive it on any radio here .
    Regards

Kiss FM is now gone from 93.2 in Dublin. Easy is now on the frequency.
    Kiss didn't last long

• Registered Users Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Antenna

There are currently good 'lift' conditions (at least in southern areas of the country) if anyone want to try for reception of long distance FM stations , or perhaps even DAB (the latter probably only likely in coastal areas facing the UK).

• Registered Users Posts: 15 80s

The Cube on 101.2 in dublin now playing 80s.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,764 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Retro FM on 92.0 in Dublin also this evening. Now fm are back on after being silent earlier on today.