How many bedrooms / people in your home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Four bedrooms. Only two used as bedrooms.

What's the point of this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

Four bedrooms
    Four humans
    Three dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

endacl wrote: »
    Four bedrooms. Only two used as bedrooms.

What's the point of this thread?

Read post #4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭tobsey

6 people, 3 bedrooms. 3 kids sharing one bedroom. Having 4 kids makes buying a house big enough for 4 kids in Dublin impossible, ironically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭Masala

3 bedrooms. Daughter and son back after finishing college.

Every so often we have relatives arrive anf one of them relegated to couch in sitting room for 1 night.

Not to mention boyfriend and girlfriends staying over. We old stock anf no sharing beds so visitors ending up on couch!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

wexie wrote: »
    Master-Splinter-Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-Turtles-III.jpeg?ssl=1
    Shite! I've been outed. :eek:

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Three-bed house. Me, wife and two kids.

Attic is converted though and used as a room for the kids and/or a home office for me, but has a futon if we're stuck for an extra bed for guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭pollocks

4 adults 4 kids 7 bedrooms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There is one more bedroom than people here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,820 ✭✭✭deisemum

4 bedrooms, 3 adults, hubby and myself in one, younger son still here, older son and his girlfriend moved away earlier this year.

Also got a playroom downstairs that will be a bedroom in my old age if I'll struggle with the stairs, have a wet room beside it.

I have family come to stay on a regular basis.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

3 adults and one 40 year alcoholic man child.

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭daheff

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    do I include the monsters under the beds in this calculation?

no, just the voices in your head

jluv wrote: »
    Single woman(divorced) in 4 bed detached.Family grown but come visit.
    My answer to the folk who would have a problem with it would be..
    "When I was working 60 hours and raising a family,saving and scrimping so that I could buy my home, I actually don't recall you knocking on my door to see if I needed any help or assistance"
    I have more time now and enjoy my home so much..I've earned it!

You don't understand. There is a whole generation that seems to have everything handed to them on a plate. Now that they have hit a stumbling block they don't know what to do. There is a whole generation that thinks they are the first generation to have things tough.

As a kid in the 70s & 80s many of my friends mothers worked. There was no lone parent allowance back then. A small widows pension but times were hard. The separated mums worked several jobs. One did lollypop lady 8:30 to 9am then hopped on a bus to go to her 2nd job cleaning a pub then back to lollypop lady for 12:30home to get lunch for her four boys & back again lollypop lady in the afternoon.

Another friends father died & in those days mortgage protection wasn't a thing. She cleaned the local Garda station in the morning & made her way into the city after 6PM to clean one of the big hairsalons after it closed each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

1 bedroom 2 adults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Just bought a place - finally!
    3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, small terrace .. new building, not too bad at all for the area and 5 mins from the beach ...

2 adults, 2 kids (6,2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,091 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

5 bedrooms, four of us, 3500sqft on 1.2 acre site, we love our space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

4 bed with just myself and herself in it at the mo. Was looking to the future when I bought it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Hoboo

_Brian wrote: »
    5 bedrooms, four of us, 3500sqft on 1.2 acre site, we love our space.

Sounds like my gatehouse

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

Five bedrooms with four people.

Bungalow half hour from regional city, plenty of space but I'd prefer a prime city centre two up two down in truth, I love the city yet love animals so keep sheep and few cattle on small farm as hobby.

Can never fully decide whether the isolation is worth it, that and the wife hates it.

One thing I do know, it's madness building a 300 k plus house in the countryside unless you plan to die there. They cost far more to build than buy, we bought a five bed 2000 sqr foot for 200k and would barely break even if we sold.

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

zoe 3619 wrote: »
    Suprised at how many spare rooms most people have.
    3 bedrooms here for myself and two teenagers.Only one bathroom/toilet which tends to be difficult in the moning.

Large houses are a waste, location far more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭earlytobed

4 bedrooms
    4 adults (us parents, 2 young adult children)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

4 bedrooms and only 2 off us here mostly .
    Can be up to 5 or 6 extra sometimes depending if some of the childer decide to come home , usually with a few of their mates in tow . Cost a fortune to feed and water them when their here and its like a disaster zone when they leave but i love it , wouldn't change it for anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

2 adults, 2 bedrooms. Going to be 4 bedrooms soon. Although, we might turn one room into an office, so maybe it'll be 3 beds. We'll see. Also, I doubt we'll have money for 3 beds anytime soon, so it'll be two bedrooms with beds in them and one with a plan for a bed in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Two adults, two kids, 4 bedrooms and one extra room that could be used as a bedroom. Guest bedroom is used quite a lot for guests and every so often when one of us goes out and doesn't want to wake other one up. As benefit guest bedroom is upstairs and the rest are downstairs so you tend to be left alone in the morning. Location works well for us at the moment and garden is too big but we love it.

We built the house and the freedom to use better building methods, spend money on insulation and walls that don't crumble when you put a nail in is worth it for us.

Women are just so versatile, there's literally nothing you can't blame them for!

Four beds and three people here, one bed is a weird combination home gym and office. Or an office with a treadmill and weights in one corner, if you will.

People are entitled to enjoy the houses they buy with hard earned money, it's not their fault that strangers can't find or afford the housing of their choice and it's not something they should feel guilty about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I was talking about this with my mother the other day. She lives in the house where she raised the family which is 5 bedrooms and she lives on her own. We counted up the number of people living in 40 houses on one side of the road. Most only have 1 person living in them but it averaged out as 1.25 per house that are all at least 3 beds but about a quarter of them are 5 bed houses.
    Mostly retired people. We don't really have a lack of housing we have bad use of existing housing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

One bedroom and just me.

Bliss.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I was talking about this with my mother the other day. She lives in the house where she raised the family which is 5 bedrooms and she lives on her own. We counted up the number of people living in 40 houses on one side of the road. Most only have 1 person living in them but it averaged out as 1.25 per house that are all at least 3 beds but about a quarter of them are 5 bed houses.
    Mostly retired people. We don't really have a lack of housing we have bad use of existing housing

I hear that a lot and it's fine if people want to move. If people want to and can afford to maintain 5 bed house then they should not be hounded out. Maybe planning should be better, apartment buildings are not fit for purpose in Ireland, semi-d build quality is poor and so on. It would take a lot to move me from well built house to something smaller and significantly inferior.

meeeeh wrote: »
    I hear that a lot and it's fine if people want to move. If people want to and can afford to maintain 5 bed house then they should not be hounded out. Maybe planning should be better, apartment buildings are not fit for purpose in Ireland, semi-d build quality is poor and so on. It would take a lot to move me from well built house to something smaller and significantly inferior.

I agree.
    If we built apartments with older people in mind then eventually older people might downsize. For starters every apartment on a ground floor should be fully wheelchair accessible. Showers should be modern but also suitable for disabled or older people. Instead of paying thousands to convert someones house a local apartment should be made more desirable option.

Most apartments are still too small for anyone to consider them their home for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Three bedrooms and three adults. Myself, my son and the "lodger" (he's not a random lodger, but someone we have known since he started secondary school with my son).

My girlfriend stays every weekend, my son's girlfriend stays a couple of nights a week, as does the lodger's girlfriend.

Then there's generally at least one drunken 20-something who ends up on the sofa at weekends too.

Also have a cat, who thinks he owns the house and we're all his lodgers.

And some of the horrible, huge, hairy spiders I've seen recently in the bathroom and bedroom could almost count as extra guests :eek: