Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

No social welfare bonus this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Sleeper12 wrote: »

80 percent of high functioning autistic people are long term unemployed. Why would you discriminate against them?

That's a new one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

200 is kind of stingy. We should be doing more as a taxpayer. We should be looking at upping that. What can two hundred do for a single mother? Or is there more for a single mother with a few kids? I hope so.

You'd need 800 for a decent Christmas - at least.

Should get a Christmas bonus equivalent to the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

200 is kind of stingy. We should be doing more as a taxpayer. We should be looking at upping that. What can two hundred do for a single mother? Or is there more for a single mother with a few kids? I hope so.

Make it 2 grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,257 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Gatling wrote:
    That's a new one

It might be new to you but it's totally true.

There are many people on long term unemployment that could easily qualify for permanent disability but they slug it on the dole, getting less benefits, in the hope of getting work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Surely the bonus should be scrapped for anyone on the dole for over a year and not punish people in receipt of other social welfare payments such as pensioners and people on illness benefit.

I believe people are paid welfare if they are sick, old, unemployed etc. and need to prove they are such. Also you can't walk in and automatically get paid.
    Only in this country can you decide you aren't arsed to work and then get a bonus for it .

Just think about it for a second . It's hilarious in a way.

That's not true.

All these rabble rousing threads are great craic and all but anyone who believes them are helping to support the very FF/FG system and set up they are complaining about. Who do we think organises all this stuff?
    How about vulture funds who make money on the misery of the Irish tax payer during a housing crisis pay a reasonable tax for one? We're selling houses to them and then buying them back. We are making things attractive for these people while FG has you giving out about the f***ing christmas bonus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,011 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Make it 2 grand

Make it 5 grand...tide them through January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Cant we just have a sort of hunger games type thing for dole fúckers. The ones that manage to survive to the end get the Christmas bonus and the ones that don't, well they're off the live register due to being ........ dead.

Seems like a win win for people who get up early in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Hehehe seeing all the neoliberal types celebrating this all morning and then being hideously surprised when the story got corrected brought me a fair amount of amusement to get through the day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Last year it was 85% of your stard payment.
    Never heard anything about meat tough.

It entitles you to four "B grade cuts in participating butchers' according to the voucher my friend's cousin had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

mfceiling wrote: »
    Make it 5 grand...tide them through January.

Then they can afford to buy legal cigarettes instead of smuggled one.

There are many people on long term unemployment that could easily qualify for permanent disability but they slug it on the dole, getting less benefits, in the hope of getting work.

What kind of work would suit and what's stopping them getting it if they are long term unemployed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

storker wrote: »
    As a taxpayer who helps pay for it, I don't really have a problem with the idea of a Christmas bonus. I think of it more as a government stimulus, because most of it ends up in the economy anyway. Its not as if even the real spongers (and I note how everyone in receipt of it seems to be lumped into the "sponger" pigeonhole) will use it carefully or hoard it. And if the real spongers do spend it on beer and fags, a large amount of that will go straight back into the state coffers anyway. Dole money doesn't just get sucked into a black hole; it circulates. And a good portion of it will find its way back to where it started, either in the form of VAT, or in the form of PAYE, PRSI and USC paid on the wages it helps to pay, and VAT on things that are bought by the people who receive those wages, etc...

It's not as if it's added to an existing pile of cash on a bed with the recipients rolling around on it cackling gleefully.
    storker wrote: »
    Likewise. And where does it go? On presents for her grandkids or directly to her grandkids, who can't inject it back into the economy fast enough...

Okay - so we dish out 25m as a bonus (as quoted earlier in this thread, I'll use the figure as an example though.)

Let's say every cent goes back into the economy over Christmas.

Do you really think it's 25m going back in? What about company profits? Let's say the companies keep 20%. It would be 20m going back in, so we have just lost 5m.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

mikemac2 wrote: »
    The state pension won’t exist in a few decades

What else does your crystal ball show? How does it all work with hoards of old people with no money? Are they all starving to death in the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,257 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Augeo wrote:
    What kind of work would suit and what's stopping them getting it if they are long term unemployed?

Well as pointed out already they are autistic. Autism is a disability. There is a saying, if you have met one autistic person then you have only met one autistic person. No two autistic people are alike. Meeting one autistic person doesn't mean the next one you meet will be anything like the first. Not all types of work suit autistic people. There is a limited amount of jobs suitable for most autistic people. Many people in wheelchairs are on long term unemployed rather than permanent disability. These are people, like autistic people, that qualify for permanent disability yet they choose the more difficult option.

There are many, many spoungers on the dole but there are thousands on long term unemployment that are willing to work but there is a shortage of suitable employment. I know that this doesn't fit into many posters mantra of "everyone on welfare are milking the system or everyone homeless are lying & milking the system" but there are many people on long term unemployment that are genuinely trying to get a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Naos wrote: »
    Okay - so we dish out 25m as a bonus (as quoted earlier in this thread, I'll use the figure as an example though.)

Let's say every cent goes back into the economy over Christmas.

Do you really think it's 25m going back in? What about company profits? Let's say the companies keep 20%. It would be 20m going back in, so we have just lost 5m.

Far from it. Ever hear of the multiplier effect in the economy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭facehugger99

doylefe wrote: »
    What else does your crystal ball show? How does it all work with hoards of old people with no money? Are they all starving to death in the street?

No it's grand, working people are paying a tax rate of 95% to keep them in spa days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

How about we ban Dole bashing threads instead?

I don't believe in censorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,411 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Ideally yes. If you dont pay taxes this is the ideal solution they'd have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭AllForIt

How about we just scrap xmas altogether instead and then all sorts of nonsense including xmas bonus would automatically disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,826 ✭✭✭✭rob316

These threads are so ****ing boring.

Dole is a **** life going nowhere, people want to stay on it and do nothing that's grand I'm too busy making bread to care.

TallGlass wrote: »
    uch wrote: »
    But my Gold plated Civil service one will :eek::eek:

Paid for by the idiots like me in the private sector, who pay for everything else and get zero.

Seriously considering upping sticks and getting the ****ing hell out of this place. Ran by greedy, dangerous idiots.
    Never got this argument. I work as a hospital pharmacist, the interventions I make make a difference in patients lives and I save the HSE vast amount of money through my pharmaceutical care therefore saving the taxpayer money. I also don't get paid as much my colleagues in the community. Prob the same for the vast amount of people in the public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Edgarfrndly

Emme wrote: »
    Most people don't begrudge the elderly, the disabled and carers a little help around Christmas.

However there is a growing sense of anger towards people who are able to work but choose not to. Also some people seem to be able to manipulate the benefits system in such a way that they are far better off not working than they would be if they had a job. The system enables them to do this.

Imagine working all week, having a long commute, struggling to pay every bill and having nothing at the end of every month. Not being able to afford another child even though you would love one. Not being able to afford the increase in rent or else a home. Despite working as hard as you can. Wondering how you will get through Christmas because it's such an expensive time. In the meantime your neighbour who doesn't officially work and is in receipt of the full gamut of social welfare payments can afford the latest toys for his children at Christmas AND is getting a SW bonus which he will spend down the off licence.

The poor OAPs, disabled and carers spend it on heating fuel. Meaning the government gets a lot of it back.

I hear where you're coming from, but those people only make up a minority of those on benefits. Trust me - people who abuse the system are hurting people like me who depend on it. I'd give anything to be in a position to be able to work. It's lonely staying at home all day while your friends are out working.

Just, people like me scrape by from week to week. Depending on social welfare is awful. You have literally the bare minimum needed to get by. The Christmas bonus might not seem like much, but it really is a blessing to people like me and helps us get through a tough season.

I really wish they didn't cut it. And like you, I wish those who abused the system who are in a position to work were slowly cut off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

It'll all go towards paying €600 per Christmas Tree in Dublin, with €500 of that towards commission fees.

Think of their poor pockets!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ideally yes. If you dont pay taxes this is the ideal solution they'd have.

But what if they've paid tax all thier lives, including social insurance contributions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,411 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

But what if they've paid tax all thier lives, including social insurance contributions?

Thats irrelevant to them. Sure look at the 2nd post on the thread. For them if you arent working you are lazy and should be working. The concept of "retirement" is beyond them.

Just to clarify this isn't what I personally think before anyone gets the wrong impression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Rodin wrote: »
    I don't believe in censorship.

Any mention of the dole, minorities, etc. is always followed by "let's ban these threads". Ridiculous. Yes you will have people bashing but the thread itself is open for decent discussion. Ban the bashers not the thread.

I have no issue with the Christmas bonus myself. There are people I know who I'd probably rather see not get it but there are others who desperately need it to tide them over the expensive period. Tough enough for some to be out of work, tougher again when you can't buy your kid/s a few Santa toys or manage the extra costs of Christmas.

I can see it still going ahead. As another poster said, they'll take the heat now but add it in the Budget to boost their popularity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,288 ✭✭✭Wompa1

@TallGlass

Was very frustrated with the welfare state in Ireland before leaving many years ago. After many years in the US, I can say it's all a wash. Over here it's lower tax but there's a bunch of expenses you incur in your everyday life that you don't in Ireland.  e.g. 

Most rentals are unfurnished, you need to buy furniture and some fittings and appliances (I had to buy a fridge for my current place!). Landlords and management companies know once you've moved your sh1t in, it costs you money to move it out again so without a doubt, they raise your rent each year. If you do move, you're paying movers or renting a van and doing it yourself. There are background checks for everything which you pay for, you pay administration fees and convenience fees on a lot.

The phone\internet and TV companies are basically a mob organization. You get in at one rate which expires after 12 months. You start a new deal after 12 months which is more expensive than the last and it keeps climbing. I have found myself paying $90 a month just for 40mbps broadband. The only out is to go to a competitor to start on the new customer tier but it costs you the setup fees. I had 40mbps download when I moved here, many years later I now have 50mbps for more than I paid back then...in Ireland, I kept paying the same rate and they upped my speeds for nothing as the service improved.

In any metro area or smaller city, you will need to commute to and from work and usually by car. Public transport isn't great e.g. Phoenix, Dallas, Minneapolis. You'd think that's fine, cars and running a car is cheaper in the US. It's not. I was paying $3,600 a year for insurance before I got married and went on my wife's insurance. Which has brought it down to $2,400. I own a practical petrol car, not a big car. I live in a large metro. I commute close to 400 miles a week. It's fine, it doesn't take long but even with a practical car I'm going through a lot of petrol.

I now work for a chain of hospitals, you'd think my healthcare would be good. Nope. I'm paying $510 a month for insurance which is the cheapest available to me. It limits me to only getting care at the hospitals and clinics I work and it still costs me that much. Also, most treatments are 80% covered by insurance, 20% covered by me. I'm waiting for a bill from an anesthesiologist and I have no idea what it might cost me. My mother in law was just charged $8k for it from a knee replacement operation. A friend of mine got cancer here, the last time I saw him alive he told me he sold his car, his wife was postponing retirement and they were giving up on their idea of retiring in a quiet small town in north east Arizona. His wife worked for the same company that I do now. His bill AFTER insurance was over $40k.

I haven't even got into the cost of education, the toxic meat and produce, the homicide and suicide rate, the homelessness and so on and so forth. I'm not sure where you would move but if you're looking to move to a country that sees welfare and socialism as communism, where states give food stamps that can only be used for certain goods then I'll tell you, it ain't all it's cracked up to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

rob316 wrote: »
    Dole is a **** life going nowhere, people want to stay on it and do nothing that's grand I'm too busy making bread to care.

This. Having been on the dole in the past, it was a miserable experience. The worst day in work is still better than the best day on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Not buying that for one bit ,

Is there anything official saying this or just making a claim , disability is one of the hardest benefits to actually get accepted for ,many people go through a 12 month+ wait to get approval or disapproval from the department ,

As for autism various experts have Claimed the majority of adults if accessed would place on the spectrum ,that doesn't mean majority of people would qualify for permanent disability