Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

See the FPGA isn't emulating the SH-2 core - its a cycle accurate simulation so should behave identically to the original chip. FPGA are commonly used now to replace obsolete ASICs, basically the original logic design at the gate level is reimplemented in the FPGA.

Emulating it on x86-64 chip is probably just a total b1tch of a job to get right and current CPU don't have the horsepower or more likely the investment to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,755 ✭✭✭Inviere

See the FPGA isn't emulating the SH-2 core - its a cycle accurate simulation so should behave identically to the original chip. FPGA are commonly used now to replace obsolete ASICs, basically the original logic design at the gate level is reimplemented in the FPGA.

Emulating it on x86-64 chip is probably just a total b1tch of a job to get right and current CPU don't have the horsepower or more likely the investment to do it.

So is there coding involved at all in FPGA, I assume not if it's physical gate level simulation? If correct, how do they 'know' what to do...do they base it off a complete documentation of a chip, is it based off of decapping? I thought FPGA used hardware as a means to an end, but that hardware was still based off of a software engine? See the below from Byuu (author of Bsnes etc)
    FPGA devices are emulators too. Nothing inherently makes FPGAs more accurate than software emulation
    FPGAs, or field-programmable gate arrays, are components that are programmed through code written in languages such as Verilog or VHDL. This code tells the component how to operate, in the same way that C++ instructs a general purpose CPU how to operate.

How these two differ behind the scenes (logic gates versus microcode) is irrelevant to the end result: replicating the original hardware experience. Setting efficiency aside, there is absolutely nothing an FPGA can do that cannot be done in software.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,831 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

It's all fine and dandy to have the SH-2 chip emulated in FPGA.

The issue is you also have 2 very unique VDP chips to simulate as well.

That shouldn't be an issue if people get the chip schematics.

The real issue is how the data bus between the two CPUs and the two VDP units work. And once you simulate that a lot of the complex games rely on the timing of this data reaching each chip so you've to simulate that as well.

Once you add any kind of parallelisation things become a lot more complex, although with FPGA if you've got schematics is could make it a lot easier.

He's phrased that very well and almost glosses over the critical part "Setting efficiency aside", to be anyway useful apart for academic research you can't really set aside efficiency and he dumbs down the the programming aspects.

I'd also argue that FPGA are simulators rather than emulators, subtle differences but different none-the-less.

Emulators aim to accurately model the external observable behaviour of the target, in this case a CPU, how it does it internally is irrelevant so long as the outward behaviour is correct.

Simulators model the internal workings & state of the target so that external behaviour is accurate.

Ya FPGA are also programmed through code (Verilog or VHDL), but the result of this (called a bitstream) is used to reconfigured the FPGA into whatever logic device you've create. A FPGA is basically (but not really) billions of unconnected logic gates and your bitstream tells the FPGA how to connect these gates up to make up logic you want to run and from then on its more or less the same as running native silicon. The quality of the simulation depends on how accurately the VHDL code models the target device.

Doing the same in C, C++ and running on a general purpose CPU is going to be so much more inefficient, when OS's, compilers etc have taken their toll hence why you need a powerful CPU to accurate emulate a 66C816 CPU.

In the case of the SNES, ya both can produce the exact same result , but it depends on what you want do next. Are you sitting at home want to play SNES and happen to own a decent PC or are you developing a consumer product to accurately play SNES games ( Super NT) ?

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    It's all fine and dandy to have the SH-2 chip emulated in FPGA.

The issue is you also have 2 very unique VDP chips to simulate as well.

That shouldn't be an issue if people get the chip schematics.

The real issue is how the data bus between the two CPUs and the two VDP units work. And once you simulate that a lot of the complex games rely on the timing of this data reaching each chip so you've to simulate that as well.

Once you add any kind of parallelisation things become a lot more complex, although with FPGA if you've got schematics is could make it a lot easier.

FPGA are by design parallel, clock comes in and everything ticks along, its not like a CPU where individual instructions are processed in sequence - this is biggest mindf%^k when software engineers look at FPGA, its completely alien.

The VDP's are digital logic so can be implemented as well (bugs and all), buses are just wires, once the device models are timings are correct its all tickey-boo

Problem is, this costs a buttload of money to do so can't see it happening. Decapping chips and reverse engineering them is incredibly time consuming, if the design docs are available then its a lot easier and chances are this video processor were designed using VHDL anyway.

But, there's no money to be paid so nobody cares :(

True story: Project I worked on years ago, one of the guys has tasked with moving one of the ASICs to a FPGA to cut costs, which he did and also fixed a few bugs he found along the way. What he didn't know was that these bugs are 'known' issues and had software workarounds in place... cue much head scratching when the software fell to pieces with the new chips in place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭deadl0ck

Maybe I'm late to the party with this one but have ye heard of Fightcade before?
    It seems like a great idea, enabling online multiplayer for games emulated by Final Burn Alpha.
    https://play.fightcade.com/
    As is tradition, roms aren't included in the download
    So I just discovered this last night - I played through Knights of the Round with a guy from the Retro Asylum discord channel - it works great

Does anyone know the story with this type of Mega Drive Rom? It's an old Scene release of Sonic 3 with a split game file. No idea how to get it to play or even join the files
    u7DWFRq.png

Rename it Sonic 3.zip and see if it loads?

No joy, No Archive Found error when I try. I'm trying to find info on what Standards were used for the Mega Drive but very little out there it seems

What emulator are you trying it on?

Kega Fusion

Kega Fusion

Is it a release aimed at development or something? What does the nfo file say when you open it

The NFO is only greetings and bbs numbers, no technical info. Don't think it's aimed at development. In the pack theres 640 roms from various groups and the vast majority of them are in this format, very puzzling.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,630 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Careful now lads, while there's no links this is skating a tad close to rom talk rather than emulator talk, keep the rules in mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Addicted to Banjo Guy Ollie's version of Lemmings level 6. What a tune, what a version.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Careful now lads, while there's no links this is skating a tad close to rom talk rather than emulator talk, keep the rules in mind

No issue with the rules Cidey, but can you elaborate on where the issue is? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055036214 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

this was in the lifehacking forum
    New Home wrote: »
    490105.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,058 ✭✭✭Doge

Anyone watch Upgrade yet?
    Even though it's a similar concept to RoboCop it's pretty unique in its delivery. Slow to start but picks up and interesting ending. Worth a watch.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,630 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Inviere wrote: »
    No issue with the rules Cidey, but can you elaborate on where the issue is? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055036214 :)

As I said I my post I am not saying this is a rule beach but it is skirting up close.
    That's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Doge wrote: »
    Anyone watch Upgrade yet?
    Even though it's a similar concept to RoboCop it's pretty unique in its delivery. Slow to start but picks up and interesting ending. Worth a watch.

I really enjoyed it. Felt like a cyberpunk take on venom/Eddie Brock from spiderman myself

Ending was really good I thought. Well worth the watch

Sat through an awful made for TV Primer/Coherence wannabe from Australia last night, on Netflix.
    Can't even remember the the name!
    I mean those better films were made on a zero budget, so this has no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

In a surprise move, SNK's mystery new game turns out to actually be a game. They're reviving Samurai Showdown. Colour me shocked.
    There isn’t too much information about the newest title yet, but SNK expects to release it in 2019. Hopefully we’ll get more information at Tokyo Game Show next week, but barring that, expect to hear more about the game next year.

https://www.polygon.com/2018/9/10/17840860/samurai-shodown-ps4-tokyo-game-show-2018

Now patiently awaiting a Metal Slug 8 announcement.

Neo Geo mini available for pre-order on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07H472N6H/?tag=22

£130, absolute lunacy imo.

absolute lunacy imo.

+1 thats ridiculous

Can't see who's behind the Neo Geo Mini anywhere. Is it Blaze like the Neo Geo X?

At the end of the day it's a licenced emulation device, for games that lived and died in the arcades, played on a CRT.
    But for the knockdown price of £125 you get to play it on a device whose case looks like an old grandstand console and a LCD screen.
    From what I can see it offers less than you can expect from a PSP Go or a Vita, or any of the other multitude of ways to play NeoGeo games.
    At least the Ninty mini consoles are made by them, to their standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,885 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I see that Neo Geo mini as more of a fancy desktop toy than anything I’d do serious gaming on. That and something I’m looking forward to modding.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭LazySamaritan

I'm getting a 4K monitor to use with an AppleTV 4K and an xBox One X. Something like this https://www.lg.com/uk/monitors/lg-32UD99

Is there a way to connect a Nintendo 64 to such a monitor?

I've just read about the Retroactive UltraHDMI but I don't want to take the N64 apart. Is there an alternative that gives equally good results?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,831 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

It's not cheap but I just use my xrgb mini.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭LazySamaritan

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    It's not cheap but I just use my xrgb mini.

Very pricey indeed.

What do the games look like with that?

Very pricey indeed.

What dobthe games look like with that?

I'd guess and say a pile of poop
    The N64 anti aliasing really hasn't aged well, it benefits from a CRT, a modern display makes everything worse.
    Plus, using a PAL machine just doubles down on the misery.

Hate to say it, but emulation is probably the best way to play, as you can upscale, remove the vaseline from the lens and play at full NTSC speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Haven't used the xRGB mini with the N64 but it works pretty great with most consoles.

I use it mostly for capturing though as I've plenty of CRTs now to run consoles on.

I've my n64 rgb modded and it looks as good as it can. There's cheaper solutions but they won't looks a good and worse, add lots of lag.

Might even be worth hanging on for 4k versions of similar hardware.

Hate to say it, but emulation is probably the best way to play, as you can upscale, remove the vaseline from the lens and play at full NTSC speeds.

My thoughts exactly. If you're set on using original hardware, steer well clear of modern tv's if you don't have something like the xrgb mini. If you've no option of using a CRT, definitely investigate Retroarch with the mupen64plus core. You can increase the internal resolution of the games, thus making them look seriously nice on a modern tv (even 4k).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

I'd guess and say a pile of poop
    The N64 anti aliasing really hasn't aged well, it benefits from a CRT, a modern display makes everything worse.
    Plus, using a PAL machine just doubles down on the misery.

There is a way to remove the anti-aliasing (per game) if using a Game Shark or flash cart - more info about it here. Not great, but better than nathin'!

Inviere wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly. If you're set on using original hardware, steer well clear of modern tv's if you don't have something like the xrgb mini. If you've no option of using a CRT, definitely investigate Retroarch with the mupen64plus core. You can increase the internal resolution of the games, thus making them look seriously nice on a modern tv (even 4k).

Oddly enough, I have played the upscaled and very clean looking N64 Rare catalogue, no Goldeneye for obvious reasons, and I just didn't have half as much fun as I thought I would.
    Most of the issues were around control tbh.
    Jet Force Gemini for example, I loved the game the first time around, on a PAL N64 of all things, but playing it again the controls are just terrible and totally hamper the game, and the visuals have horribly dated over the past 20 odd years, Body Harvest is another.

Blast Corp - still the best thing Rare has ever done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Burzum

Can anyone point me in the direction of a site that shows Commodore 64 bundle variations such as the Terminator bundle, light fantastic etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Burzum wrote: »
    Can anyone point me in the direction of a site that shows Commodore 64 bundle variations such as the Terminator bundle, light fantastic etc.

Probably better off asking on lemon64

Was in Skerries last night, walked into Bob's Casino on the strand to get an ice-cream and may as well have walked back into 1995. They had an upright Outrun running, as well Taito's Superman, Konami's Vendetta, Point Blank and a 2-player Sega Rally rig. Fascinated as to how much play they get, looks like they've not been moved in 20 years.

Feck, I walk past that place all the time when I'm back in Dublin. Must pop in. Used to have some excellent games there but just figured it would have turned into a slot machine dungeon by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

Last time I was there around 5 years ago they had a rare Sega discrete game called Monaco GP. (a 70's game no CPU type game that used discrete logic circuits - like pong).

It was still working and taking coins. Was it still there? Must be the only ones in the world at this stage still in service.

I remembered seeing it in mame a several years previous for a short time and it was removed from mame as they couldn't accurately emulate discrete games. Same reason pong is not in (official) mame.

Going to head out there on Saturday morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭geotrig

take pics and post them ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭fmul9798

Used to be one in Salthill back in the 80s too.
    Richie Knucklez and Todd Tuckey have mentioned it in some of their videos - Todd is particularly fond of his, and Richie has an interesting repair technique for the boards...
    Last time I was there around 5 years ago they had a rare Sega discrete game called Monaco GP. (a 70's game no CPU type game that used discrete logic circuits - like pong).

It was still working and taking coins. Was it still there? Must be the only ones in the world at this stage still in service.

I remembered seeing it in mame a several years previous for a short time and it was removed from mame as they couldn't accurately emulate discrete games. Same reason pong is not in (official) mame.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Missed a decently priced copy of Vampire Chronicle on Dreamcast, just as I find out my car insurance renewal is €300 less than expected.

Should have bought it!

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Missed a decently priced copy of Vampire Chronicle on Dreamcast, just as I find out my car insurance renewal is €300 less than expected.

Should have bought it!

If its meant to be it'll come up again. I like to remind my friend on a yearly basis about the time he talked me out of buying a Sonic Crackers proto for €250. Bastard

Didn't see Monaco GP. 3 quarters of the place looks to be shuttered, so I guess they used to open the whole floor but have downsized in recent years and maybe they rotate in a couple things. The only bit open was the confectionery area that had the cabinets, some pool tables and then a bit at the back for slot machine area. The only semi-neglected looking thing was Sega Rally, that's limited to one screen and Outrun looked a bit faded, but was astonished as to how much of a timewarp the place felt.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

That outrun cab when i was there last about 3-4 years ago was through a set of double doors at the back where the toilet is with a load of other cabs out of action. They Afterburner, operation thunderbolt, a donkey kong and a few other generic cabs i think. They must rotate some in and out when they break. There was a point blank as well i think.

They also have a lot of the kiddie rides there from when i was a kid 30 odd years ago, including the red baron type bi-plane from WW1, knightriders car and a helicopter that goes up and and down that i was in loads of times decades ago! Its a mad place in fairness, it is defo a time warp.

It used to be a very sizable arcade. Loads of games there. I remember they had Raiden, Outzone (only place I've ever seen that), Street Fighter 2 CE where the slot machines were, the Konami Asterix game and the Neo Geo Double Dragon fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,253 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

If its meant to be it'll come up again. I like to remind my friend on a yearly basis about the time he talked me out of buying a Sonic Crackers proto for €250. Bastard

Any idea what they're going for now? I think mine was only about 200.