If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Blazer wrote: »
    National ID card with biometric. No card = no dole.
    Allow all government departments shared access to all peoples information. Obviously huge penalties for people that abuse this. Etc etc
    ...and roughly how much fraud will this save the state?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Why do my taxes have to be so high.
    Given how much we spend nationally each year and how much we take in from taxation, your taxes should be a lot higher.
    If course prudent fiscal management isn't something the electorate ever really want.

Dannyriver wrote: »
    Well done for persisting but your practical responses will be ignored, this is a mutual anger massage thread and dissenting voices will be ignored.

Do you have a job? Do you work? Do you work hard? Do you get up early? Do you come home late? Do you miss putting your kids to bed because you've been at work? Do you work through the night ever? Do you do back to back shifts? Do you work weekends? Bank holidays? Christmas Day? Do you ever sh*t yourself because there's another bill coming in and you're wondering how you're gonna pay it?

If the answer to any of the above is yes, well then all I can say is you're either the most understanding person I've ever encountered..... or a complete walkover deluded mug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,165 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Too busy working otherwise I’d do it in a heartbeat.
    First all I’d implement a huge crackdown on welfare fraud.
    Secondly look at reducing child allowance to only 2 children with a deadline of 10 years. There’s no way you could introduce it straightaway.
    Next up i’d look at ensuring that all those in receipt of jobseekers/dole etc would work for it. Be it 1-2 days a week cleaning duties in town etc and other days on courses that help them upskill.
    Then of course a huge crackdown on crime.
    Build a super prison in the midlands somewhere in the arse of nowhere. Any one on trial their previous convictions will determine their sentencing..ie someone with 50 previous convictions will not be getting any of it suspended etc.
    Look at corporation tax and loopholes. We obviously don’t want to drive them away but they have to pay a fair share also.
    Make all welfare payments taxable. Make USC viable across the board and stop having the middle class shouldering the entire tax burden.
    So much more ideas but don’t have the time at the moment.

If you get elected you get well paid. Why not be the new Varadkar then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,364 ✭✭✭Damien360

National ID card with biometric. No card = no dole.
    Allow all government departments shared access to all peoples information. Obviously huge penalties for people that abuse this. Etc etc

In principal it made sense. But each government department is a entity in its own. So it was found that none of the databases could share information with each other easily. They are all different structures. The cost of administrating the cards would therefore exceed the savings projected. Some of these issues are caused by our data privacy laws. I would have thought governments should be excluded from some of these.

I still believe PSC cards are needed for welfare fraud issues but that would be seen as targeting one demographic, which is an odd excuse when trying to cut down on fraud. Joan Burton stated the amount of fraud when she was in charge and was practically run out of that place. She was targeting this one demographic.

Replace your drivers license with a combined driver, social services, doctor visit card, identity card, add remove as required. But that would cut down some government departments and actually save the state money. Can't be having that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,509 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

No idea, how much fraud is estimate? We see varying amounts etc.
    It’s the principle of it though.. also as I have 2 austistic children I also get DCA and a tax allowance for each which for those of us on the high bracket is €3800 per child.
    The reason the government does this is because they can’t provide a proper service to special needs and so we end up paying it ourselves for diagnosis, speech therapy etc.
    It’s cheaper for the government to provide an allowance than actually provide a service.
    Ie getting your child diagnosed publicly is a minimum of a 18 month wait. Most austistic children are detected around 2-3 years so the child needs as much support as possible to ensure they can hopefully adjust to a normal life. This is called early intervention and a proven method of helping children. Yet the government is quite content to ignore this and allow children to wait upto 18 months for help which can be too late.
    The reason i mention the above is I would gladly give up all allowances and pay extra taxes to ensure we have proper support for all children.
    Not to ensure that the local welfare scroungers who can’t be bothered to work or claim and do nixers get the brunt of taxpayers money to keep them in an ‘entitled’ lifestyle choice.
    By cracking down on welfare cheats and actually encouraging people to work we should have enough money to help people that require our help.
    Yes we need social housing and we should help people who require this.
    But once you get a job you pay a fair market rate in rental and it’s not a house for life or to hand down to your kids etc.
    if people don’t bother getting a job etc because it’s cushier on the dole ..well that’s not a problem as long as you don’t mind revenue and cab investigating for any additional signs of income, tracking your whereabouts on weekdays etc in case you have a job on the sly and of course you’ll be enrolled in a few tidy town schemes to keep your town and area clean.
    If you don’t engage well you’ve a month to find new accommodation and another means of income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,509 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Damien360 wrote: »
    In principal it made sense. But each government department is a entity in its own. So it was found that none of the databases could share information with each other easily. They are all different structures. The cost of administrating the cards would therefore exceed the savings projected. Some of these issues are caused by our data privacy laws. I would have thought governments should be excluded from some of these.

I still believe PSC cards are needed for welfare fraud issues but that would be seen as targeting one demographic, which is an odd excuse when trying to cut down on fraud. Joan Burton stated the amount of fraud when she was in charge and was practically run out of that place. She was targeting this one demographic.

Replace your drivers license with a combined driver, social services, doctor visit card, identity card, add remove as required. But that would cut down some government departments and actually save the state money. Can't be having that !

Yes a one for all card would be perfect.
    The technology is there for it and it would require a whole unified database but that’s not an issue.
    And again it’s only 4 million people so there’s no technical issue. I come from an IT background and this would be pish posh to rollout. You’d simply roll it out one department at a time and integrate each one as it comes online. At most you’re talking 50 million and around €10-30 million in support and maintenance.
    Peanuts when you think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Uncharted wrote: »
    Margaret Cash and her ilk should be told to fùck off with herself.
    Typical welfare grabbing,begging bowl mentality.

They want to be handed everything,but contribute ZERO,absolute scrotes the lot of them.

Gimme gimme gimme,I'm a single mum on welfare.
    I'm ENTITLED,don't you know.

Cop yourself on and stop ridin' when you haven't a hope of providing for your kids (pawns).
    She hasn't a hope of giving those kids a chance in life,they will grow up to be more statistics.
    No doubt about it. It's inhumane.

She's a disgusting human.
    We're all being made fools of.

Johnny taxpayer to the rescue.
    Modern Ireland how are ya!

If R.T.E. wanted to pay her to go on The Late Late, would it affect her entitlements?

Yes a one for all card would be perfect.
    The technology is there for it and it would require a whole unified database but that’s not an issue.
    And again it’s only 4 million people so there’s no technical issue. I come from an IT background and this would be pish posh to rollout. You’d simply roll it out one department at a time and integrate each one as it comes online. At most you’re talking 50 million and around €10-30 million in support and maintenance.
    Peanuts when you think about it.

This is Ireland. You could quadruple those figures and then you get close to the savings estimated and it becomes a non-starter. There are a lot of silos in departments and they won't let go control to one Central one easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

KevinCavan wrote: »
    If R.T.E. wanted to pay her to go on The Late Late, would it affect her entitlements handouts?

I imagine it would. What would you class it as though? Hardly expenses to sit on your ar$e talking to that clown about how you joined him in fleecing the taxpayer.

Given how much we spend nationally each year and how much we take in from taxation, your taxes should be a lot higher.
    If course prudent fiscal management isn't something the electorate ever really want.

We all know about fiscal space though :rolleyes:

The issue isn't one of fraud or whether the PSC is of use. It is down to a welfare system which should be there to help those in need being used, in some cases (and I suspect a very small percentage), to fund a lifestyle such as the one we believe Ms Cash has.
    This is encouraged in many cases by populist politicians and a public that believe the crap those politicians come up with.
    Social welfare is far too easy to obtain here. Childrens allowance should be scrapped completely. Why do we hand money to any parents regardless of their income?
    Why is it better for some people to stay on welfare than to return to work?

The problem is we want the populist politicians who promise loads of free things and "giveaway" budgets.
    However, nothing is ever free!
    The social welfare system is a symptom of our broken political system.

Not sure what your point was there!

It's a joke. It gets trundled out every year since the bust as we approach the budget.

Damien hit the nail on the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

I imagine it would. What would you class it as though? Hardly expenses to sit on your ar$e talking to that clown about how you joined him in fleecing the taxpayer.

I can just imagine Tubs quietening and saying “you went through a tough time Margaret didn’t you?”

KevinCavan wrote: »
    I can just imagine Tubs quietening and saying “you went through a tough time Margaret didn’t you?”
    At least he's consistent in that he never gives an interviewee a hard time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭zeebre12

If other travellers including herself are so interested in telling us all this then why don't they go back to what they are known for ...

Little hint it's in the word travellers.....

I have no issue with a haulting site been provided but it doesn't need to be in or close to the city centre or expensive areas to live such as anywhere in Dublin.

They are provided with the best of housing and huge money spent but yet they still burn the properties down.

Look at the site at nutgrove, they burnt one and the other was destroyed.

They done one up but the family there(complete site) won't allow anyone else in.

So now there are 2 lovely(were lovely until destroyed) houses sitting idle.

I always laugh how they themselves comment how holy they are including the dogooders on their side...... But hold on if one was that holy they wouldn't be criminals such as those that beat elderly people and rob and scrounge....

I don't get it.

Why do my taxes have to be so high.

See travellers think their 'entitled' not to work. It's just their culture. There a traveller man that comes out our road in the middle of the day , parks his 181 car at the end of the road and takes a little stroll. Great life to have. Is there no investigating by Revenue to see how they can afford this. Their 'entitled' I suppose.
    Talking of travellers, they ransacked several ghost estates in our area a few years ago. Houses torn a sunder. They moved in with their caravans and parked there. Of course they got the copper piping as well. I looked into them, kitchen cabinets broke up, all windows, tiles, walls. I know the man who now owns the estate. They have taken over a few houses and won't leave still. Shhhh but we can't sure we can't say anything because their 'travellers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

pjohnson wrote: »
    If you get elected you get well paid. Why not be the new Varadkar then?

i wouldnt be a politician if i was paid 300k a year. its a fuc*ing dose of a job, dealing with whingers, moaners and the entitled every day of the week and having to pretend to care about everybody.

most of them deserve what they are paid apart from the likes of Clare Daly, wallace and murphy who are just mouthpieces for extremism and shouldnt be near the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,176 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

i wouldnt be a politician if i was paid 300k a year. its a fuc*ing dose of a job, dealing with whingers, moaners and the entitled every day of the week and having to pretend to care about everybody.

most of them deserve what they are paid apart from the likes of Clare Daly, wallace and murphy who are just mouthpieces for extremism and shouldnt be near the Dail.

No point in apportioning any blame on Daly, Wallace or Murphy. They are not in govt., and more than likely will never be in govt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Fann Linn wrote: »
    No point in apportioning any blame on Daly, Wallace or Murphy. They are not in govt., and more than likely will never be in govt.

Correct. In fact Murphy has publicly stated that he would never serve in government and considers himself as merely an extremely well paid professional protester against "the capitalist system"

(I don't criticise him for this nonsense, I criticise the many fools who voted for him.)

Turnipman wrote: »
    Correct. In fact Murphy has publicly stated that he would never serve in government and considers himself as merely an extremely well paid professional protester against "the capitalist system"

(I don't criticise him for this nonsense, I criticise the many fools who voted for him.)
    If only they voted Renua? Going by boards it seems there is no politician/political party that can save us. And workers are "too busy" to create such a party. Guess we need Superman to change things then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I totally believe that we have a massive housing shortage & homeless crises but six young kids setup for a publicity stunt like this??

Six kids. Where is the father/ fathers??

I'm sick to death of people like this setting up publicity stunts in the hope that they get to skip the queue.It's the likes of this "mother" that gives genuine homeless people a bad rep
    EDIT: LINK

Stunt? Where the **** would you like them to sleep? The middle of a motor way?

And I didn't know homeless people had a bad rep.

You right-wing fanatics on boards are turning more & more closer to Fascism each day.
    Next they'll be saying just shot the homeless, kids & all, like the Nazi's did with people who were a so-called "embarssment" to the state.

You people are some cold hearted bastards.

Stunt? Where the **** would you like them to sleep? The middle of a motor way?
    She gets enough money from the state to rent but has failed to get anywhere on the island and now wants to be put at the top of a housing list by getting her kids to pose in a garda station.
    Its all a stunt and you've obviously fallen for it!
    You people are some cold hearted bastards.
    Maybe I am but that doesn't mean it's not a stunt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I think till someone stands up with a pair of balls and says our 20bn per yer social welfare bill is no longer financially viable ,and drastically slashed by multiple billions,

Here we get the bankers cost us 70 billion that's only 3 years of social welfare payments ,

Over 10 years were spending 200 billion euros on welfare alone and still people are saying that's not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

I'm guessing to you the "entitled" are people who get a 180 on the dole every week & the millionaires who use Ireland as a tax haven.

In the 80's when Sinn Fein were thinking about taking seats in the Dail people were saying they had no business near it. because they were too extreme. Now Socialists are too extreme to?

Would you like a Dail just full of right-wingers?:rolleyes:

And least in Britain people like Attlee, Tony Benn, Ken Livingstone,George Galloway, Michael Foot, Harold Wilson, Corbyn etc... were not considered too extreme for the House of Commons, some of them served as Prime Ministers others in Cabinets as Ministers.

At least in Britain their parliament is full of different opinions from Center, to-C.left, C.right, Socialist, Liberal, Social Democrat, Conservative etc...

In our bananna Republic for the last 96 years whether it was FG(CnG) or FF they were all right-wingers with basically the same social program. Sure Dev & the Cardinal of Dublin ran Ireland as a Catholic dictatorship for 25 years. With no thanks to people like you.

If only they voted Renua? Going by boards it seems there is no politician/political party that can save us. And workers are "too busy" to create such a party. Guess we need Superman to change things then?

We just need to abolish PR.

Turnipman wrote: »
    We just need to abolish PR.

And replace it with?

Presumably you'd want some kind of voting or would a dictator be better?

In our bananna Republic for the last 96 years whether it was FG(CnG) or FF they were all right-wingers with basically the same social program. Sure Dev & the Cardinal of Dublin ran Ireland as a Catholic dictatorship for 25 years. With no thanks to people like you.

Poster named after terrorists criticises democratically elected governments :rolleyes:

Anyhow, neither FF or FG are in any way right wing.

And replace it with?

Presumably you'd want some kind of voting or would a dictator be better?

Rather than asking stupid questions and making comments that you probably think are smart, why not look at the alternative systems of voting used in other European democracies? And if you don't know where to look, then why not ask a grown-up to help you.