Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Do you remember which show?

I'd like to listen to the podcast

Was the day after the story broke last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

Melendez wrote: »

A friend of mine has 2 kids, and the whole family (4 people) lives in a two bedroom apartment, paying mortgage.
    He receives no support from the state except the child benefit. And his two children share the same small bedroom. If he to give up the house, and declare himself  a "homeless", then he could demand a 3 bed house, because 2 bed apartment is not suitable for a homeless family of 4,  but perfectly OK for a working family of 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Was the day after the story broke last week.

cool thanks will try to find it later on

So she did have transport and apparently enough beds to house everybody

Any idea why she would prefer to remain in the Garda Station after being sorted for the night?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

It was reported that the group involved were prepared to provide transport, how the logistics of the situation would have worked out if it wasn't, I have no idea.

Any idea why she would prefer to remain in the Garda Station after being sorted for the night?

My money remains on optics for a good story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

I'd love to know what happened to the 7 seater she was trying to buy for 10 grand in February of this year.

I would agree with your assessment even if it's messed up

This has hit the international headlines.

If you know next to fcuk all about Ireland or not from a country with a bit of a housing shortage/problem/crippling rents then this looks bad.

It's worse looking in on these things than it is to be inside looking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

It was confirmed she was offered accommodation with enough beds and transport included.

All confirmed on pat Kenny show.

What was her reason for turning it down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Two questions to you if I may ?
    1. Who SHOULD we vote for then ?
    2. Why can't she pay her own rent ? She gets enough money.

Maybe because even couples on what one would think to be decent wages are struggling to even find places they can afford with the rental market the way it is?

Another point as well is, what landlord is going to rent to a single traveller mother with 7 kids? Straight away that narrows her options way down.

Kitty6277 wrote: »
    Maybe because even couples on what one would think to be decent wages are struggling to even find places they can afford with the rental market the way it is?

Another point as well is, what landlord is going to rent to a single traveller mother with 7 kids? Straight away that narrows her options way down.

Even before this story broke if any landlord googled her name they had enough metaphorical ammunition to refuse her

Surely the family who had the daughter could have also taken 1 of the sons in for the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

maccored wrote: »
    finlands not doing too bad with that theory. then again, who'd we all have to look down on if there wasnt homeless people (sarcasm, just in case that flew over anyones head)

Ever been there ?
    You do know they are a pretty law abiding bunch and do believe in alien concepts like social responsibility and the like.
    if one more person (i won't say what i really want to say in place of person because someone will report me) mentions 'uniforms' i'm going to scream

uniforms uniforms
    knock yourself out

PLEASE
    I'd love to know what happened to the 7 seater she was trying to buy for 10 grand in February of this year.

I suppose they can fit a fair few tvs, laptops and rugs. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

All of that is much better for her children that being made to sleep on plastic chairs in a bright,noisy garda station with god only knows what kinds of people coming in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

KrustyUCC wrote:

Because she wants a house with a room for everyone , in an exact location that will allow her to carry on with her drinking buddies as before . And sure there will probably be a few more children shoved out in the coming years to top up the welfare . So she will get a house bigger than you and I will ever afford because she won't have to pay a cent for it ! All because poor Margaret had to go on the sun beds , overspent on the old communion dress etc and drank the rest and now the poor creature has no savings from the thousands of euros she has been getting ,for a rainy day . The rainy day in her case would be being an actual parent and financially supporting her family herself . As most of us do . But no.... Margaret's hand is still out for more .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Even before this story broke if any landlord googled her name they had enough metaphorical ammunition to refuse her

It's hard to see then what people expect her to do, she can't go back and undo what she did in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,190 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

if one more person (i won't say what i really want to say in place of person because someone will report me) mentions 'uniforms' i'm going to scream

Why were they in their uniforms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,531 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

eviltwin wrote: »
    All of that is much better for her children that being made to sleep on plastic chairs in a bright,noisy garda station with god only knows what kinds of people coming in.

by the sounds of it, only a tiny bit better.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

It's hard to see then what people expect her to do, she can't go back and undo what she did in the past.
    What you expect from us to do to a killer? He/she can't go back and resurrect their victims. So lets release all the killers and other criminals. And if they continue to commit the crime, lets blame the society which didn't provide them with means to live on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

eviltwin wrote: »

Maybe she was holding out for somewhere down in Wexford.
    After all she and some of her friends seem to know the Enniscorthy area fairly well.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Surely the family who had the daughter could have also taken 1 of the sons in for the night?

There was no deal where one child had to stay behind its utter nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So she did it for the optics as she wanted to jump up the priority ladder with a bit of flashy press coverage.

Another reason for people to be angry at specifically her as if she is put top of the list it moves everyone else down in priority.

Let me guess: she saw that "second person" only one night, and he wore a motorcycle helmet all the time. So she couldn't identify him and let the court make him to pay the maintenance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

A bit of humility might help along with admitting she maybe had a hand in putting herself in the situation she is in instead of blaming everyone else and going on about her "right to be housed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Flynn said Margaret was offered accommodation in Meath at 10pm yesterday but would have had to leave one of her children behind

Not according to the homeless executive who I believe over flynn .

She would not have been offered anything other than a property for the whole family .

She turned it down ,not once but twice or is it three times now