Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Political Correctness allows these bastards to leech off government and game the system.

These bastards who exploit the system know that nobody will oppose them due to possible public backlash of "How dare you being heartless bastard trying to take welfare off poor single mother of 7", and those who do oppose them - will get shut down by similar scrotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Personal responsibility is an alien concept to these people.
    An alien concept perpetuated by the likes of Paul Murphy et al. Why would these people ever change when they are constantly told that they are doing nothing wrong. Been a frustrating morning listening to all these pricks! Not getting a lot done at work, but hey, at least I am at work trying to contribute something to society! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Further to soups05 suggestion earlier :

https://www.overshootday.org

"Earth Overshoot Day marks the date when we (all of humanity) have used more from nature than our planet can renew in the entire year. In 2018, it fell on August 1.

We are using 1.7 Earths."

If the average family size is half-a-child smaller in the future, i.e. if every second family has on average one child less, there will be one billion fewer of us in the world than the 9.7 billion that the UN expects by 2050 – and four billion fewer by the end of the century. Given increasing longevity, the end of this century is within the expected lifetimes of children born today.

Reducing family size at this rate is equivalent to moving back Earth Overshoot Day by about 30 days, or one month, by 2050. Long-term benefits are even more striking. This continued reduction in family size would result in 50% more biocapacity per person in 2100. More biocapacity makes it easier to have thriving lives for all within the means of the planet.

soups05 wrote: »
    the solution is a simple one. a pregnancy lasts for 9 months, so lets set a limit at 1 year.

announce now that from next august the benefits will change. cap the limit at two kids ( thats what the average worker can afford) and after that your on your own.

ie you get the benefits for child one and two but no more after that. the current families would be exempt as they made the choice to have kids under the current rules.

no one, ever, will be offered a four bedroom house. you want one, buy your own. if you have 19 kids and counting then fit them all in 3 bedrooms.

This will not solve the current crisis but will break the endless cycle of single mum, multiple kids, who then grow up into single mums with multiple kids.

Let's see how many would be having 6/7/8 kids after that law comes in.

Personal responsibility is an alien concept to these people.

And to their defenders on here.

seamus wrote: »
    You can't presume...

But you can?
    That's the point. You've been lucky enough that someone else gave you the care and attention needed to send you to school and give you a leg up in life.

This woman hasn't. Her ****ty upbringing is not her fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

On another note. I wonder if the pix are actually in the Station at all?

I mean, come on.... what Super or Sergeant would allow a staged picture inside a Station. It is surely a security issue.

I'm sure that the Gardai are just standing back though, and made the call to let it go, the truth will out soon enough.

I often wonder who is in charge at all?

I have long experience of visiiting Garda barracks in the course of work. Surprised that AGS would allow such photography in their premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Not excusing it, just explaining it. Like I say, strong correlation between low education and big families. You can't presume that just because it's an easy choice for you about the size of your family, that it's as obvious to someone else. Which sounds great, but would it work? History says it wouldn't: Families who lived in tenements still had 10+ children despite only having a single (shared) room to put them in, and little or no income.

What makes you think that these people wouldn't just squeeze seven kids into a 3-bed house, and turn to low-level criminality to feed themselves? That's what people do.

If you stick a breeding pair of any animal into a box and give it a limited amount of food, do you think they'll just stop breeding when there's only a few cm of space left in the box? No, they will keep going and going until they can't go any longer.

Yes, that's putting it in raw terms, but humans are animals. The only way to reduce reproduction is to educate us. Punishing them or constraining their resources, doesn't work.

A good plague would sort it out too, but you need the multi-pronged approach

https://www.overshootday.org/take-action/population/

Investing in smaller families through the empowerment of women is also consistent with the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). SDG 5 Gender Equality calls for ending all forms of discrimination against all women and girls everywhere. Targets include:

Undertake reforms to give women equal rights to economic resources, as well as access to ownership and control over land and other forms of property, financial services, inheritance and natural resources, in accordance with national laws.
    Adopt and strengthen sound policies and enforceable legislation for the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls at all levels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Omackeral wrote: »
    And to their defenders on here.

Yeah - I said how soul destroying it was to commute 4 hours a day to do a 40-60 hour working week and have f**k all to show for it - not even being able to see a GP (as who working has 60 spare notes just before pay day??).

Reply ? "You have a soul ?"

When these gullible fools put the workshy scammers above those of us who keep the country going, it's not the lack of a soul you question but a brain.

nuac wrote: »
    I have long experience of visiiting Garda barracks in the course of work. Surprised that AGS would allow such photography in their premises.

"Jayden and Daisy-Maiiii go play Minecraft... here give me your phone I'll set it up .. CLICK".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Reati wrote: »
    I keep seeing you sanctimoniously using "Privilege" as some method to guilt people who had parents who gave a **** or that they can't have an opinion on what is going on because they "had it better" than her.

Plenty of people have **** upbringings and do not go on like her. It's insulting to every honest person who worked their way to where they are.
    Not sanctimony or "guilting", just trying to get people to try and see things from a different perspective.

We all have a tendency to view life through our own lens - "If I was her, I would...", or "I would never do anything like that", or "she's just a horrible person".

That presumes the person has the same life experiences that you do. Which obviously isn't the case.

We are generally lucky in this country that school is free and accessible. This means that in many cases, even if your upbringing is crap, you're still getting an educate to drag yourself out of that crap.

But unfortunately the travelling community shun education, leaving their children in the same crappy life that their parents have.
    YFlyer wrote: »
    Fixed
    Sure. That too. ****ty mothers breed ****ty mothers. Shocking.

So let's fix it, instead of just complaining about ****ty mothers. Let's give ****ty mothers the tools to become better, and they may avoid breeding ****ty mothers.

All of the stuff proposed in this thread where she gets her kids taken away, child benefit cut, thrown out on the street, etc etc - do you think any of these are going to result in a better outcome for the kids? Nope, just more ****ty parents in 20 years time.

Invest in improving the ****ty people now, and the ones they breed might have a chance. Which, unfortunately means swallowing a bitter pill now where a layabout with ten kids gets a free gaff, but the end result should be in future to have ten functioning, contributing adults. Assuming it's done with that end result in mind and not just to sweep her under the carpet and shut her up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Omackeral wrote: »
    How do you know what type of upbringing she had?

I saw her on TV3 News yesterday - and while I don't know what type of upbringing she had, I can guess, from her body language and the way she spoke, what kind of upbringing she didn't have. Having parents who place value in education isn't an exclusively class-based privilege, but it's a privilege nonetheless.

They fill you with the faults they had, and add some extra just for you, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,850 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Don't read the Twitter feed of that Flynn bloke from Helping Homeless or whatever they are.

So much saccharin in the replies I think I'm developing diabetes.

That lot only registered as a charity late last year in spite of being in operation since 2013 (as per https://www.ichh.ie/. Someone really should ask him a few hard question about the four years worth of donations that were taken in without any oversight.

From the Charities Regulator : "Newly established organisations (established after 16 October 2014) cannot legally fundraise or operate as a charity until they are registered on the Register of Charities."

That lot only registered as a charity late last year in spite of being in operation since 2013 (as per https://www.ichh.ie/. Someone really should ask him a few hard question about the four years worth of donations that were taken in without any oversight.

From the Charities Regulator : "Newly established organisations (established after 16 October 2014) cannot legally fundraise or operate as a charity until they are registered on the Register of Charities."

I'm still very curious as to the whereabouts of the Apollo House money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,850 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Same as. Apparently there was over €130k left over that has since been unaccounted for.

Speaking of things going missing, where's Brendan Ogle these days, he's usually all over these sort of stunts like flies around sh1te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Saw a documentary last year about a charity rehousing people/families in rural areas. Everything going well, communities delighted, kids settling in well at school.
    Credits roll and info says they all got houses back home near the grannies.
    Meanwhile saps like myself... need to work, move to different county to get work, compete with these lot and their 'forever homes to pay a mortgage.

Saw a documentary last year about a charity rehousing people/families in rural areas. Everything going well, communities delighted, kids settling in well at school.
    Credits roll and info says they all got houses back home near the grannies.
    Meanwhile saps like myself... need to work, move to different county to get work, compete with these lot and their 'forever homes to pay a mortgage.

Yeah - including start and finish there's four counties on my commute.

Started today at 6.45am and will end today at 7.35pm.

And that's with an early Friday dart.

Joy of joy of joys! Damn the PRIVILEGE of a work ethic and a conscience eh ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

Some of these callers into 98FM are morons. Herd mentality, all spouting the same nonsense with the one common denominator - IT'S THE GOVERNMENTS FAULT. Of course it is, it always is. No self-reflection, no self-analysis, these people cannot seem to recognize that they are ultimately responsible for their own actions. The government can only do so much!

It's worth remembering that a significant amount of people think that Michael D Higgins is a hatchet man for Irish Water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭davetherave

Mike Hoch wrote: »
    Are McVerry and Flynn on 100K a year? Do they take a wage at all?

I know charities are full of spoofers but I thought surely ones with such a left leaning ethos wouldn't have the gall to take a massive wage.

From the 2016 accounts for Peter McVerry Trust
    https://search.benefacts.ie/org/361cf244-d0e1-4b06-be81-29ed251b4450/peter-mcverry-trust-company-limited-by-guarantee

Employment Costs were €11,665,366
    They had 8 employees above 60k, and the CEO's salary was €98,382

Government Funding|€10,720,906
    Dublin City Council|€5,851,090
    Tusla - Child and Family Agency|€2,414,442
    Health Services Executive (HSE)|€1,381,866
    Fingal County Council|€509,864
    Kildare County Council|€298,000
    South Dublin County Council|€193,644
    Department Of Justice and Equality|€72,000

All Other Income|€5,609,497

It's worth remembering that a significant amount of people think that Michael D Higgins is a hatchet man for Irish Water.

I can see him with a fishing rod sitting on a lily pad but that's as far as it goes.

The water "protests" made me laugh.

Sat on a train trying to get home from work (after walking from Stephen's Green cos the LUAS was off for them!!) and seeing waves of people with placards whining on about not having any money.

How much would a day out in Dublin cost ???? Gobs**tes.

https://search.benefacts.ie/org/361cf244-d0e1-4b06-be81-29ed251b4450/peter-mcverry-trust-company-limited-by-guarantee

Sweet mother of jaysus. I wish someone had advised me in school of the money to be made in philanthropy.

I can see him with a fishing rod sitting on a lily pad but that's as far as it goes.

Sat on a train trying to get home from work (after walking from Stephen's Green cos the LUAS was off for them!!) and seeing waves of people with placards whining on about not having any money.

I fail to understand how we started a national movement over 150 poxy quid per year but failed to do one about the legal mafia extortion that is car insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You're right to be.

In May 2017 the unspent fund was allegedly sitting at €130k, and the organisers confirmed that no expenses had been incurred that would need to be taken from it.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/home-sweet-home-money-3359321-May2017/

Two months later, they announced that they would disperse the funding to other homeless groups (i.e. wind themselves up). How much? €85k
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0701/887010-home-sweet-home/

€45k went missing in two months, and there's no reason to believe that it was spent on anything in particular since the campaign wasn't doing anything.

Where that money has gone and whether the other €85k was ever redistributed, are open questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Well it cost them nothing, their day off (which is the norm for them, no doubt) was paid for out of our wages. I think there is definitely a swell developing in the middle-ground, people are seriously sick of supplementing these pricks. I don't mind my taxes going to resources for the country, however mismanaged some of them are - i.e. roads, hospitals, etc. but paying for scumbags up around Jobstown (the irony!) really grates.

I fail to understand how we started a national movement over 150 poxy quid per year but failed to do one about the legal mafia extortion that is car insurance.

Or so many other things, agreed!

Low hanging fruit perhaps ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Invest in improving the ****ty people now, and the ones they breed might have a chance. Which, unfortunately means swallowing a bitter pill now where a layabout with ten kids gets a free gaff, but the end result should be in future to have ten functioning, contributing adults. Assuming it's done with that end result in mind and not just to sweep her under the carpet and shut her up.

I love this attitude of rewarding bad behavior, its how these people have the balls to do what they do as they understand clearly that there are fools who will just give them one more chance while never asking them to be responsible or holding them to account.

It also means abandoning our real vulnerable in society while we throw good money after bad.

Well it cost them nothing, their day off (which is the norm for them, no doubt) was paid for out of our wages. I think there is definitely a swell developing in the middle-ground, people are seriously sick of supplementing these pricks. I don't mind my taxes going to resources for the country, however mismanaged some of them are - i.e. roads, hospitals, etc. but paying for scumbags up around Jobstown (the irony!) really grates.

A fair point.

I have often said if a government of whatever flavour said "non illness related benefits are being frozen for three years, and taxes will rise by 2% and that money is ringfenced purely for medical staff*" I might not be thrilled at paying more but I get where it's going.

* Medical staff = as in nurses, doctors, mental health specialists - not into the "health pot" where the unions are first with their hands out or MORE middle managers are hired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

There's something wrong when wastes of space like this thing get a free gaff and people working and paying their way are struggling or having to do ridiculous commutes. We've gone badly wrong somewhere.

You're right to be.

In May 2017 the unspent fund was allegedly sitting at €130k, and the organisers confirmed that no expenses had been incurred that would need to be taken from it.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/home-sweet-home-money-3359321-May2017/

Two months later, they announced that they would disperse the funding to other homeless groups (i.e. wind themselves up). How much? €85k
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0701/887010-home-sweet-home/

€45k went missing in two months, and there's no reason to believe that it was spent on anything in particular since the campaign wasn't doing anything.

Where that money has gone and whether the other €85k was ever redistributed, are open questions.

Missing! That's theft and no one does anything ????

Mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

98K isn't much for a CEO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

Rabble rabble dole scrounging single mother with a million kids looking for a house rabble rabble rabble. Let's all focus our hate on her and forget about the fact that the government is doing fcuk all about the housing crisis.