Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I see no media outlet had the guts to out this fraudster.

Some left wing moron on kfm with the faux outrage a while ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

gmcdaid wrote: »
    These are all very valid points.

The State has a role to play when people haven't the cop on the look after themselves.

The question that arises is whether or not there are limits to that responsibility. If facilitating irresponsible behaviour enables even more irresponsible behaviour, is it not wise to question that approach? Is there any point at which you allow consequences to inform the behaviour of the individual?

Note, I'm talking about the mother here, not the kids. The State never allow kids to be victims.

You have soon forgotten recent past..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

colm_mcm wrote: »

Anything social welfare related, you have to scream to get it.
    Anyone that's been on the dole knows that those who don't take no for an answer at the social welfare office will always get sorted.

Numerous times I've seen people be flat out told there's nothing they can do but they refuse to accept that. 15-30 minutes of this and they're sorted just to get them out of the office and yet the most meekly/soft spoken people are treated like crap.

It's like survival of the fittest out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Caliden wrote: »
    Anything social welfare related, you have to scream to get it.
    Anyone that's been on the dole knows that those who don't take no for an answer at the social welfare office will always get sorted.

Numerous times I've seen people be flat out told there's nothing they can do but they refuse to accept that. 15-30 minutes of this and they're sorted just to get them out of the office and yet the most meekly/soft spoken people are treated like crap.

It's like survival of the fittest out there.

Correct. Should be a wake up call for others if they have the balls for it. Go fill up the Garda stations, hospitals, bus and train stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I see no media outlet had the guts to put this fraudster.

She's just another statistic now, the issues are still there. I think you'd agree that Fine Gael's handling of this has been shambolic.

dav3 wrote: »
    She's just another statistic now, the issues are still there. I think you'd agree that Fine Gael's handling of this has been shambolic.

Handing of what???

seamus wrote: »
    Middle/working class, whatever, you know what I mean.

Yeah I think you've tripped over yourself there. You were trying to paint it as a middle class privilege. You even went on to describe how ''It's classic middle class privilege, citing wealth and education as factors. So are you standing by your claim? Or are you saying middle class and working class is the same thing, as above? Tying yourself up in knots it seems.

Whoever heard of working class privilege? But ya know, middle/working class... whatever

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

To all the people looking for "evidence" that this was a scam, 1, she was offered accommodation in Meath but refused to take it because she would be too far away from her family, 2, if thats the case why didnt she stay with these family members rather than dragging her kids into the garda station, 3, the kids are wearing school uniforms in the photo which means it was an old photo, it was all a publicity stunt so that she could get a free house close to the boozer where she and her mates spend all their childrens allowance, single mother allowance, back to school allowance, dole, job seekers benefit and all the other hand outs she gets from us mugs who work hard for a living....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,502 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I see no media outlet had the guts to put this fraudster.

Yeah many of them have doubled-down, despite evidence as to the, shall we say, nuances of the situation.

Peter McVerry on Radio 1 there now telling us we are expressing our prejudices because "we live in homes". Now I have respect for the great work he does, but come the **** off it Peter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

Melendez wrote: »
    And rightly so. She is apparently incapable of thinking through the consequences of her actions. A national media vendetta against her would be hugely hugely disproportionate to the little stunt she pulled.

But a national vendetta against eoin Murphy is acceptable?

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Yeah many of them have doubled-down, despite evidence as to the, shall we say, nuances of the situation.

Peter McVerry on Radio 1 there now telling us we are expressing our prejudices because "we live in homes". Now I have respect for the great work he does, but come the **** off it Peter.

Ah yes another moron with his ceo in 100k a year.

He’s just a mouthpiece who wouldn’t be relevant if the homeless situation was solved.

These charities would be like turkeys voting for Xmas if they actually solved it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Someone did the maths on her FB and posted a table showing what a single mum of 7 receives on welfare...

€49,000 and a bit of change.

Thats for the poster way back who reckoned she wouldn't be getting as much as €3000 per month

FFS I've been grafting solidly for 30 years and I don't ever earn that GROSS.

The usual bleeding hearts on here make me sick. "Middle class privelige" - yeah that would be why the council house I was born in had cockroaches for three years; why my father worked two jobs to provide for us. Holidays were the Isle of Man if we were lucky.

If you believe this scammer you are part of the problem.

Ah yes another moron with his ceo in 100k a year.

He’s just a mouthpiece who wouldn’t be relevant if the homeless situation was solved.

These charities would be like turkeys voting for Xmas if they actually solved it.

Don't read the Twitter feed of that Flynn bloke from Helping Homeless or whatever they are.

So much saccharin in the replies I think I'm developing diabetes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Would you ever eff off. She like her ilk, knew PRECISELY what she was doing and has known for years on the best way of scamming an overly generous social welfare system.

People are saying her husband is in jail, his father was part of a drugs gang and was murdered. there are stories about anti social behaviour in her previous place and she has no problem taking copious holidays

The media should spend just a little time on investigating the story and report the TRUTH

But the truth does not have the same sensationalist hysterical reaction,m so it will never be published.

RIP Real Journalism

Middle/working class, whatever, you know what I mean.
    Awesome. A great mother like yours is something this woman didn't have.

Like I say, you started halfway up the ladder. Education level of the primary carer is the no. 1 factor in determining the long-term prognosis for any individual.

If someone is born into a family where the primary carer has little or no education, the child is going to find it next to impossible to rise above that level; how can you, when you've never been given the tools?

This is where the state has to step in and break that cycle.

And that, right there, is your privilege. And my privilege. And everyone else's on this thread.

This woman was not lucky in her parents. If you had the parents she did, you'd have a gaggle of kids and be living in hovel right now.

That's the fundamental point that the "pull yourself up by your bootstraps" brigade miss. 90% of your success is down to luck and circumstance. Not hard work.

Well then, the answer in breaking the cycle is to provide financial incentives to attending education in the first place. That’s where the serious bucks should go. You get very decent child benefits by sending your kids to school and “going to school” yourself so you can support your children in the best way. If you don’t do this you get little.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

La Haine wrote: »

pure scum and to all the do gooders out there supporting her, you've been had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

the unwillingness of those in the charity industry (for an industry is what it is) to differentiate between genuine hard cases and cases such as this involving wholesale abuse of the social welfare system and pantomime levels of media manipulation is very telling. Cui bono?

pure scum and to all the do gooders out there supporting her, you've been had!

Do you think anyone will report it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

This is a genuine question - are travellers anti-contraception? You know the way they're into Catholicism (although it doesn't stop them being absolutely awful human beings), would that then mean that they don't believe in contraception?

Miriam O’Callaghan has just been on getting more mileage from the Ms Cash situation. Put my heart rate up. Fr McVerry was on, half suggesting a landlord who would “make anyone homeless” ought to pay €21000 in compo to them like they do in Germany or wherever. If Fr McVerry got his way then all the small time landlords with one property would pull out overnight. Great solution.

I had to wade into at least page 8 before the Mirror today had any actual stories - the rest was poor me made up whiny ****e. Oh and a picture of that odious t**t Paul Murphy.

Hello again breakfast Belvita.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

As print media died, this is the future of journalism.

Each of these online media sites makes money from views of ads. To get views you need stories. If 2 competitors are running stories like this you are at a disadvantage to not run the story. So it's better business for them to run with it and get the facts later.

If people would stop visiting sites that perpetuate this crap, then they would have to change the model but it's not going to happen. People love getting worked up over a good drama story and these sites are experts in drama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

the unwillingness of those in the charity industry (for an industry is what it is) to differentiate between genuine hard cases and cases such as this involving wholesale abuse of the social welfare system and pantomime levels of media manipulation is very telling. Cui bono?

To which you can add the unwillingness of the media to investigate the issues fully. Just listen to RTE today - Morning Ireland earlier followed now by Miriam O'Callaghan and Peter McVerry.

Comes across as very one sided sloppy journalism, the Tallaght case being constantly referred to as some kind of benchmark. Very little attempt to actually investigate that story and the full circumstances of the family in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Omackeral wrote: »
    Yeah I think you've tripped over yourself there. You were trying to paint it as a middle class privilege. You even went on to describe how ''It's classic middle class privilege, citing wealth and education as factors. So are you standing by your claim? Or are you saying middle class and working class is the same thing, as above? Tying yourself up in knots it seems.

Whoever heard of working class privilege? But ya know, middle/working class... whatever
    "Working class" in Ireland has traditionally been used (in my experience) to define people who are chronically or repeatedly unemployed and dependent on state assistance on an ongoing basis.

People who are generally working most of the time are middle class; which is a massive range of people.

Maybe I'm the one who's mistaken. I did think it was odd that we called people who don't work, "working class".

Point still stands though - you come from an background of relative wealth and education.

erica74 wrote: »
    This is a genuine question - are travellers anti-contraception? You know the way they're into Catholicism (although it doesn't stop them being absolutely awful human beings), would that then mean that they don't believe in contraception?

I would buy that definitely - but I'm Catholic and have zero kids so perhaps there might be other motives - like KERCHING!

Mind you my Communion dress was a simple white shift dress the mammy made and not something a Kardashian would be ashamed to get married in so clearly I'm not "that" type of Catholic!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

Am I looking at a different FB page? There's feck all sign of the good living on the one I'm viewing.

It's hilarious though, left wingers will fall for any fashionable cause celebre without even a second's due diligence. Like when they martyred the homeless man who died near Grafton St and it turned out he was a rapist deported from Australia. The bint in Sweden who stopped a deportation to Afghanistan, it later of course transpires he was being deported having completed a jail sentence for beating his wife and kids. The whole Ibrahim Halawa fraud, one that's still ongoing judging by the amount of student unions who think him worthy of a speaking slot. Pamela Ibkehwhatever. That lad Kunle who was deported to Nigeria, returned here and never seemed to be out of the papers with run ins with the law. Releasing Guantanamo inmates only to see them end up in Syria to continue the war.

These people are priceless.

"Working class" in Ireland has traditionally been used (in my experience) to define people who are chronically or repeatedly unemployed and dependent on state assistance on an ongoing basis.

People who are generally working most of the time are middle class; which is a massive range of people.

Maybe I'm the one who's mistaken. I did think it was odd that we called people who don't work, "working class".

You are spot on there.

I'd never consider myself anything other that working class but it galls me to see an entire demographic with no work ethic, no principles and no intention to work described as that.

Yet to me "middle class" does not describe my background and upbringing.