Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Remember Leo called the media out a few weeks back??

He was 100% right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭M.Cribben

The State should be rigorously pursuing the father to contribute towards caring for his SIX children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭woejus

Hopefully he discusses it today he is the only one who might ask the questions.

We're in a dark place when we have Nasal Niall Boylan to rely on as a beacon of truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

M.Cribben wrote: »
    The State should be rigorously pursuing the father to contribute towards caring for his SIX children.

Seven

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Says she just wants a house like everyone else.

And then she can pay for it like we all have to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,502 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Caller Eddie on 98FM, "its not Eoghan Murphy's fault that she didn't learn to keep her legs closed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

woejus wrote: »
    We're in a dark place when we have Nasal Niall Boylan to rely on as a beacon of truth
    :D:D A sign of the times, and a sad indictment of "journalism" in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭M.Cribben

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Seven

Jaysus. That's unacceptable. He obviously has some kind of income. How is he allowed to just walk away without any repercussions?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Seven

Some reports say 8 and tbh I'd put my PGA winnings - should they come - on there being multiple "children from previous relationships". As women's magazine's euphemistically phrase it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Omackeral wrote: »
    I went to school...I got through education...fed and clothed.
    That makes you relatively better off than people who didn't go to school.

You recognise you had the privilege of a determined parent who made sacrifices.

That's the point. You've been lucky enough that someone else gave you the care and attention needed to send you to school and give you a leg up in life.

This woman hasn't. Her ****ty upbringing is not her fault, just like your good upbringing is not yours. You can't look down on her for her upbringing no more than you can be proud of yourself for yours.

That doesn't excuse the situation she now finds herself in, but it does explain it. It does tell us that unless something is done to intervene, there will be at least seven more just like her in two decades' time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jennifer oconnell (some form of Irish Times "journalist") -
    It's depressing how many people saw the photos of homeless children sleeping in a garda station last night and decided to attack the mother because she's a lone parent. I thought we left that Ireland behind when the last of the Magdalenes closed down.

"accept our stories and don't question them or you are evil "
    She repeatedly then shuts down replies asking questions about the situation saying that's not what she's interested in.

This the level of journalism we've to expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

If I am reading this correctly the only people without a "roof over their heads" are those who choose to sleep rough or pull a stunt!

https://www.housing.gov.ie/sites/default/files/publications/files/homeless_report_-_june_2018.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭canonball5

Why were these kids not taken from the mother and put into care if she couldn't provide a bed or warm meal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Lux23 wrote: »
    What the f**k does it matter if they're wearing school uniforms? Kids shouldn't be sleeping in a Garda station at any time, wearing anything.

This is what is wrong with public discourse this day, people pick tiny little holes and then refuse to look at the bigger picture which is a homelessness and housing crisis which is now endemic and getting worse. The school uniforms don't matter a jot!!!

You take her and her kids into your house then.

seamus wrote: »

This woman hasn't. Her ****ty upbringing is not her fault, just like your good upbringing is not yours.

How do you know what type of upbringing she had?
    That doesn't excuse the situation she now finds herself in, but it does explain it. It does tell us that unless something is done to intervene, there will be at least seven more just like her in two decades' time.

People need to stop having children when they can't provide for them. It's that simple. Don't have 6,7 or 8 kids when you're on a waiting list for a house and you've no means of income. Easy. Simple. As I've said, one or two kids can happen. Having a near litter when you aren't working and never will is a lifestyle choice. Stop excusing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

. It does tell us that unless something is done to intervene, there will be at least seven more just like her in two decades' time.

soups05 had the solution to that earlier on in the thread :

soups05 wrote: »
    the solution is a simple one. a pregnancy lasts for 9 months, so lets set a limit at 1 year.

announce now that from next august the benefits will change. cap the limit at two kids ( thats what the average worker can afford) and after that your on your own.

ie you get the benefits for child one and two but no more after that. the current families would be exempt as they made the choice to have kids under the current rules.

no one, ever, will be offered a four bedroom house. you want one, buy your own. if you have 19 kids and counting then fit them all in 3 bedrooms.

This will not solve the current crisis but will break the endless cycle of single mum, multiple kids, who then grow up into single mums with multiple kids.

Let's see how many would be having 6/7/8 kids after that law comes in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

The Nal wrote: »
    "Poor Ms Cash"

Hahaha

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/goreyguardian/news/district-court-roundup-30999781.html

A bench warrant was issued for the apprehension of Margaret Cash from 22 Sundale Villas in Tallaght.

She was due in the District Court sitting at Gorey to meet a charge alleging that on October 5, 2013 she was in possession of stolen property at Kilconnib in Monageer.

A solicitor was in court to suggest that there had been what he called a 'break down in communication' between Ms Cash and her legal representative. An application was made to have the case taken by Detective martin Brauders adjourned in the hope that this breakdown could bed repaired.

However, Garda Inspector Pat Cody felt obliged to seek the warrant, pointing out that this was not the first time that Ms Cash had failed to appear.

https://www.google.com/maps/place/Sundale+Villas,+Jobstown,+Dublin/@53.2836875,-6.4076296,3a,75y,3.5h,78.85t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sfTt4zXQ80Nb0XNXlXfPG-Q!2e0!7i13312!8i6656!4m5!3m4!1s0x48677492b283e835:0xdc85b63e3b80cf2e!8m2!3d53.2836424!4d-6.4078725

It's a grand oul life. Get married at 17 to a jailbird husband, fire out seven kids, get the social to pay your rent on a nice suburban semi that probably went for 380K during the boom, probably worth around 220- 250K now. Session all night while your neighbors sleep as they have to go out and pay either the mortgage or the 1500 per month rent that you get for sod all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

She's got 7 kids at 28?!!!

She doesn't need a house, she needs to have her tubes tied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

That's the point. You've been lucky enough that someone else gave you the care and attention needed to send you to school and give you a leg up in life.

This woman hasn't. Her ****ty upbringing is not her fault, just like your good upbringing is not yours. You can't look down on her for her upbringing no more than you can be proud of yourself for yours.

This woman is a traveller, and travellers are raised with more street smarts than most of us can ever hope to have. I think her upbringing has taught her that she can have 7 kids with her husband - who I bet any money is still in the picture - then stupid gullible buffers will give her a free house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Some of these callers into 98FM are morons. Herd mentality, all spouting the same nonsense with the one common denominator - IT'S THE GOVERNMENTS FAULT. Of course it is, it always is. No self-reflection, no self-analysis, these people cannot seem to recognize that they are ultimately responsible for their own actions. The government can only do so much!

I forgot to pay the Oxigen bill and now my bins won't get emptied till the 22nd!

We've a FG TD - can I blame de gubberment ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

I keep seeing you sanctimoniously using "Privilege" as some method to guilt people who had parents who gave a **** or that they can't have an opinion on what is going on because they "had it better" than her.

Plenty of people have **** upbringings and do not go on like her. It's insulting to every honest person who worked their way to where they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Personal responsibility is an alien concept to these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,695 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That's why I cut off Welfare in this country bar the people who are sick, and people looking for work and just can't get break

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Adrian on 98 FM was a fu*king disgrace.
    Shouting down anyone who disagreed with the liberal MSM agenda.
    She wouldn't answer questions as to where her partner was and she was given an easy ride like most of the media today and yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Middle/working class, whatever, you know what I mean.
    Awesome. A great mother like yours is something this woman's children don't have.

Fixed

Reati wrote: »
    I keep seeing you sanctimoniously using "Privilege" as some method to guilt people who had parents who gave a **** or that they can't have an opinion on what is going on because they "had it better" than her.

Plenty of people have **** upbringings and do not go on like her. It's insulting to every honest person who worked their way to where they are.

The father lost his dad at 11 - had to quit school at 15 to go to work.

Some f**king privelige that.

Adrian on 98 FM was a fu*king disgrace.
    Shouting down anyone who disagreed with the liberal MSM agenda.
    She wouldn't answer questions as to where her partner was and she was given an easy ride like most of the media today and yesterday

Horses for courses...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Omackeral wrote: »
    People need to stop having children when they can't provide for them. It's that simple. Don't have 6,7 or 8 kids when you're on a waiting list for a house and you've no means of income. Easy. Simple. As I've said, one or two kids can happen. Having a near litter when you aren't working and never will is a lifestyle choice. Stop excusing it.
    Not excusing it, just explaining it. Like I say, strong correlation between low education and big families. You can't presume that just because it's an easy choice for you about the size of your family, that it's as obvious to someone else.
    gctest50 wrote: »
    soups05 had the solution to that earlier on in the thread :
    Which sounds great, but would it work? History says it wouldn't: Families who lived in tenements still had 10+ children despite only having a single (shared) room to put them in, and little or no income.

What makes you think that these people wouldn't just squeeze seven kids into a 3-bed house, and turn to low-level criminality to feed themselves? That's what people do.

If you stick a breeding pair of any animal into a box and give it a limited amount of food, do you think they'll just stop breeding when there's only a few cm of space left in the box? No, they will keep going and going until they can't go any longer.

Yes, that's putting it in raw terms, but humans are animals. The only way to reduce reproduction is to educate us. Punishing them or constraining their resources, doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Spokeswoman for the minister on Pat Kenny said accommodation for the WHOLE family was offered in meath. Also transport was being provided. The offer was declined and she brought her kids into the police station