Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

Joke by the GAA again huge traffic in birr where vintage week is on, Roscrea and templemore no plan in place missed most of the first half no plan to delay throw in that’s how supported are treated btw I left at 10.30 from east Galway a distance of 55 miles to Thurles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭HenrysLeftHand

I decided to go Tullamore - Portlaoise - Thurles on the way down. The lads thought I was mad. Left Athenry at 10.15 the same time as them. I was down there at 12.10. They made the second half. Madness! Home at 6 as well, they will listen to me again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭slegs

Amprodude wrote: »
    Exactly Cork were the better team and had Limerick in their pocket for 63 mins. Few ref decisions helped Limerick gain momentum and Limerick had the better bench to finish the game. Think Galway will win the final. Pressure of winning and hype might affect Limerick like 2007.

Yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 people_sheeple

Mac_Lad71 wrote: »
    I’m a Corkman and I absolutely agree with you on the ref. When a team goes 5 or 6 points ahead psychologically the refs give the chasing team everything. It was the exact same in the closing stages of last weeks Cork v Limerick game when a totally incompetent ref gave Limerick a couple of soft frees which enabled them to gain momentum which they never lost.

Corks last free to level the game wasn't a free, he ducked into the challenge.
    Gillanes Hurley was held for his first 'miss',I could go on.

Cork shat their pants again, ye're out, take ye're beating and get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Corks last free to level the game wasn't a free, he ducked into the challenge.
    Gillanes Hurley was held for his first 'miss',I could go on.

Cork shat their pants again, ye're out, take ye're beating and get over it.

A lot more Limerick pants have been shat since 1973, Cork unbeaten in this championship over 70 mins..fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Amprodude wrote: »
    Exactly Cork were the better team and had Limerick in their pocket for 63 mins. Few ref decisions helped Limerick gain momentum and Limerick had the better bench to finish the game. Think Galway will win the final. Pressure of winning and hype might affect Limerick like 2007.

Do you not realise the game is 70 min long like if it wasnt we'd have won it in 94 and sure loads of other counties won a semi or final in last 5 min

Dont worry there'll be no more hype in Limerick than there will be in Galway

Congrats to Galway a fine team though i thought both looked tired looking forward to the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

I'm just very pleased and content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 people_sheeple

Mac_Lad71 wrote: »
    A lot more Limerick pants have been shat since 1973, Cork unbeaten in this championship over 70 mins..fact.

I don't deny that at all :rolleyes:

Cork are OUT - Fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Pa8301

I don't deny that at all :rolleyes:

Cork are OUT - Fact

I thought this was the Galway GAA thread....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

In mature recollection, that referee was truly awful. Galway could not buy a free. It could easily have cost Galway the game. Why do GAA refs always try to equalise the game?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

BloodyBill wrote: »
    Clare crowd should have went by Tipp town or Newport. I think Clare and Galway went the same way so traffic was chronic. They should have left out some of the fat trainee guards in Templemore to direct traffic.

the irony of this post and after you having a pop at me during the week for even mentioning traffic :P

even more so that it was in reply to somebody who had traffic issues, helping people avoid this was my whole point in posting in the first place, this gave me a bit of a laugh Bill :D

Left Tuam at 11 myself & was home at 17:45.

Took the motor way From Tuam toward Limerick, bypassed Limerick through the tunnel and just followed the signs to Thurles.

Parked a little up Holycross Road outside the stadium, was at the town end terrace so it was just a little cut through Kennedy Park between the car and the stadium before and after the game.

If you want to take me more serious the next time!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Pa8301 wrote: »
    I thought this was the Galway GAA thread....

True..really hope ye go on and do it as only unbeaten team left but ye’ll prob have to beat ref in final like ye did today

In mature recollection, that referee was truly awful. Galway could not buy a free. It could easily have cost Galway the game. Why do GAA refs always try to equalise the game?

Serious question, are referrees encouraged to even out games where possible? I know, it sounds ridiculous, but it is very much relevant.

As soon as Glynn scored the goal and we were really kicking in to a lad, it seemed a switch was immediately hit with Fergal Horgan. From then on he gave us ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

He gifted frees to Clare and we all know that in hurling a free in most places on the pitch is a free point if you will, it's more than likely going over the bar.

If so, it's just ridiculously unprofessional, and it's not the first game I've seen it in either.

It's so infuriating.

Imagine for the likes of our lads today and all they've put in, despite them being the better team and better hurlers, Fergal fcuking Horgan could have taken that away from them.

He was easily the difference of a few points today and could have cost us that match!

Gaillimh Abú! I am so proud of them lads! We not only bet a very good Clare side but we over came a referee also, that ain't easy!

Roll on Limerick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

BloodyBill wrote: »
    Pressure is on Galway. I think Limerick will bring a performance but Galway are a fantastic side. A few weaknesses shown today though. Hanbury was roasted but O Donnell is class I guess.

Is there really that much pressure on Galway? If anything, there is very little pressure because they won it last year. A lot of people in Galway did not really expect them to be back in the final this year due to the extended celebrations of last year. I'd imagine there is more pressure on Limerick as their performances this year has led to some high expectations. Possible expectations that cannot be met......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,342 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Well we are in an All Ireland final, it's a bit worrying that the lads come out all guns blazing and then kind of lose the momentum in the second half but a win is a win so hopefully the cup will be staying with us for another year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

kala85 wrote: »
    Traffic to today's game was absolutely chronic.

An absolute joke of a place for an All Ireland semi Final.

Alot of people didn't get in to the grounds until the second half.

No traffic management whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Woodbrook80

It's the under 21 turn now 😀 hopefully another final for Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

djPSB wrote: »
    An absolute joke of a place for an All Ireland semi Final.

Alot of people didn't get in to the grounds until the second half.

No traffic management whatsoever.

i couldnt get over the constant flow of people still making there way into the ground 25 plus minutes into the game , but the trick to thurles is to get to know the side roads around borrisoleigh and templemore as they have several minor roads leading into thurles , in reality it should never have been played outside croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭obi604

Can anyone tell me who makes Gearoid Mcinerney’’s hurl ?

Kinda looks like a Torpey but not sure.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Well done today lads we can have some regrets about missed chances today but I think the better team just edged it over the course of what were two great games. Normally I'd always shout for Galway against anyone but Clare but I really wouldn't begrudge Limerick the holy grail this year ;)

the problem with referees is this nonsense of leaving it up to the referees interpretation and how he sees an incident , if its a foul call it if its not well dont and today horgan let an awfull lot of stuff go which benifited clare more so then galway

i would stop short of saying he kept us in the game , galway failed in the championship 1/4 of the game , after 25 minutes it was some where in the region of 1-09 to 0-3 points , none of clares scores coming from play , by the 45th minute it was 1-11 to 1-09

that is a huge lapse for any team , the game pretty much went point for point after this , that will be the key talking point in the team meeting next week , '

over the two games we took the lead 3 times in total , so its pretty safe to say the best team won today , best of luck in the final lads

obi604 wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me who makes Gearoid Mcinerney’’s hurl ?

Kinda looks like a Torpey but not sure.

To be honest, even if you buy the same hurl as him, you still need to be built like a house to be as effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

DVDM93 wrote: »

Serious question, are referrees encouraged to even out games where possible? I know, it sounds ridiculous, but it is very much relevant.

As soon as Glynn scored the goal and we were really kicking in to a lad, it seemed a switch was immediately hit with Fergal Horgan. From then on he gave us ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

He gifted frees to Clare and we all know that in hurling a free in most places on the pitch is a free point if you will, it's more than likely going over the bar.

If so, it's just ridiculously unprofessional, and it's not the first game I've seen it in either.

It's so infuriating.

Imagine for the likes of our lads today and all they've put in, despite them being the better team and better hurlers, Fergal fcuking Horgan could have taken that away from them.

He was easily the difference of a few points today and could have cost us that match!

Gaillimh Abú! I am so proud of them lads! We not only bet a very good Clare side but we over came a referee also, that ain't easy!

Roll on Limerick!

I am not sure if it's deliberate in a sinister way. It's more that it has become "custom and practice" for refs and thus implicitly accepted. People don't complain especially if they win. Refs should be brought in and questioned why they ignored obvious frees. I believe that happens after rugby test matches if there is controversy. P Mannion played brilliantly but was fouled throughout and could not buy a free. Win or lose I just wish refs would ref fairly and impartially. It damages our amazing game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

DVDM93 wrote: »
    I know, it sounds ridiculous, but it is very much relevant.

It's so infuriating.

Roll on Limerick!

After Glynn's goal, Clare scored 0-4 frees to Galway's 0-3. Your post is delusional. I think often supporters give out about referees who let the game flow as it does involve leniency and not blowing for some infringements that are technically frees.

And I think this week like last week, some Galway fans are taking frustration at not winning as easily as expected especially after a good start out on the ref.

I'm sure he missed a couple of decisions over the course of the game but that will always happen. To say he nearly cost ye the game is not fair on Clare really, who to be honest probably threw it away in the end much like Galway did in the first half last week with their wide count.

Fairplay yet in the final and you have to be there to win it, but to me that was a poor performance overall from very talented players.

I am not sure if it's deliberate in a sinister way. It's more that it has become "custom and practice" for refs and thus implicitly accepted. People don't complain especially if they win. Refs should be brought in and questioned why they ignored obvious frees. I believe that happens after rugby test matches if there is controversy. P Mannion played brilliantly but was fouled throughout and could not buy a free. Win or lose I just wish refs would ref fairly and impartially. It damages our amazing game.

i taught the referee in the cork v limerick last week was excellent , he was probably the reason the game was played at such a high tempo , while he did let a lot of things go he was far more consistent then horgan today or the infuriating james mcgrath in general

After Glynn's goal, Clare scored 0-4 frees to Galway's 0-3. Your post is delusional. I think often supporters give out about referees who let the game flow as it does involve leniency and not blowing for some infringements that are technically frees.

And I think this week like last week, some Galway fans are taking frustration at not winning as easily as expected especially after a good start out on the ref.

I'm sure he missed a couple of decisions over the course of the game but that will always happen. To say he nearly cost ye the game is not fair on Clare really, who to be honest probably threw it away in the end much like Galway did in the first half last week with their wide count.

Fairplay yet in the final and you have to be there to win it, but to me that was a poor performance overall from very talented players.

It's not fair on Galway, nor is it fair on Clare, just let the lads hurl and play and ref the game properly.

As Sycamore Tree mentioned, it's ruining our amazing game.

Honestly, I'd nearly be less angry if Clare had beaten us today and the ref had been consistent. Obviously not literally, but you get my point.

I'm not complaining for the sake of complaining Mr. Burns or looking for excuses. We won. We are in an All-Ireland Final with a very good chance of retaining it and winning two in a row. I couldn't care less if that's by hammering teams or by just about scraping by. Believe me I would not be complaining on a night of celebration like tonight unless I felt strong enough about an issue to do so.

The delusional comment is unnecessary too, my hurling knowledge genuinely makes me believe that game was not refereed fairly today from the moment Glynn scored that goal, you obviously think differently. At least we won so it didn't exactly cost us anything ultimately, and at least you were happy with his performance so it didn't cost you anything either.

So happy days all round :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,957 ✭✭✭threeball

His post is far from delusional. Padraic Mannion was fouled heavily twice within 5 seconds and got nothing, Clare turned the ball over and scored.

His brother was on the 14m line, again fouled heavily, passed to Niall Burke who was fouled but managed to put it over. Had he missed the ref had not gestured for either of the two previous incidents.

Conor Cooney collected the ball on the 21, was obviously fouled but managed to pivot and strike off balance and score. Again the ref had seen nothing wrong.

I could list 10 more blatant and heavy fouls that Galway couldn't buy a free for. Alot when Galway had the upper hand and if they had got them they would have been out of sight by half time.

No fault of Clares, fair play to them they fought back well but Horgan was a huge factor in that comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭kala85

Standard of refereeing this year has been absolutely shocking.

And unfortunately it looks like James Mcgrath will probably get the all Ireland.

I have never ever seen a referee throw in a ball when only one team was represented in the throw in as happened in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

nope. outrageous bad reffing hurling is all momentum. 3 4 point lead every time frees given to clare not to galway brought it back to 1 or 2 points near end.

the free for galway under posts then melee turned to throw ball from galway free clare cleared.
    same thing happens later clare free melee clare free brought forward. i thought owens was bad lol

anyway traffic was mental 45k people no traffic plan wow

stated earlier templemore volunteer in bib trying to help

final bit tractor rally or something

btw full match on sky 2.25 2mrw

nope. outrageous bad reffing hurling is all momentum. 3 4 point lead every time frees given to clare not to galway brought it back to 1 or 2 points near end.

the free for galway under posts then melee turned to throw ball from galway free clare cleared.
    same thing happens later clare free melee clare free brought forward. i thought owens was bad lol

anyway traffic was mental 45k people no traffic plan wow

stated earlier templemore volunteer in bib trying to help

final bit tractor rally or something

btw full match on sky 2.25 2mrw

One would think that Templemore being the base for Garda trainees that they should be able get a few of them out to assist with traffic management for the day.