Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

km79 wrote: »
    Would imagine Schlingerman is a good shot stopper and good with his feet too
    Under the high ball who knows ..................I just can't see us turning to Hennelly when Clarke retires. What's the point ?
    I feel sorry for him at this stage . All that training year round

Under rochford you never no what he could do.think Hennellys goose is cooked he had his chance didn’t do to bad but not reliable enough under the high ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Anyone read James Laffey's book, "Will Galway beat Mayo?" Thoughts on it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

The rumours for the new backroom team have begun......

Pat Fallon
    Joe Keane
    Kevin O'Neill
    Pete Lally

Check out @RefComeOn’;s Tweet:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Anyone read James Laffey's book, "Will Galway beat Mayo?" Thoughts on it...

Nope but I will endeavour to get my hands on a copy.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Nope but I will endeavour to get my hands on a copy.

Id never heard of it tbh, saw it in a bookshop in Galway last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

That backroom team doesnt inspire much confidence

Am being told or man hasn't a notion of resigning unlike fitzmaurice with Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

naughto wrote: »
    Am being told or man hasn't a notion of resigning unlike fitzmaurice with Kerry

But Fitzmaurice is in a far weaker position than Rochford.

The knives have been out for him for years, and he has consistently underachived.

There was widespread suprise when Fitzmaurice was given 3 more years last winter.

But Fitzmaurice is in a far weaker position than Rochford.

The knives have been out for him for years, and he has consistently underachived.

There was widespread suprise when Fitzmaurice was given 3 more years last winter.

With the right manager Kerry will be in the final next year the players are there they just need to sort out there best team.

Do you actually think Rockford is the man to get us over the line,?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

With the right manager Kerry will be in the final next year the players are there they just need to sort out there best team.

He got us within a point twice. Who do you have in mind that's going to do better?

I have no idea if he is or not.

Not living in the county I have no idea who a good alternative is.

I'm not sure where all the dislike for Rochford is coming.
    He did not get Vaughan sent off last year nor did he hit the post with a late free.

Had Dublin scored three more points from placed balls or play during the 2016 replay no one we would mention Hennelly.

So who is better right now ?

PressRun wrote: »
    He got us within a point twice. Who do you have in mind that's going to do better?

It’s still considered a loss no matter how close we came.so it’s Fine for him to clean out his back room team but no go himself. If he had faith in them he wouldn’t have pushed them.
    I’d like the job to go to jimmy winning matches why not see what he can do it might quiten some of the personality on the team who try to run the show

Who said he pushed them?

And why are people still persisting with the notion that "jimmy winning matches" is ever going to happen?

It’s still considered a loss no matter how close we came.so it’s Fine for him to clean out his back room team but no go himself. If he had faith in them he wouldn’t have pushed them.
    I’d like the job to go to jimmy winning matches why not see what he can do it might quiten some of the personality on the team who try to run the show

Who said he cleaned out the backroom team? Wheres that coming form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

There's always one.

It was strongly intimated that his backroom team stepped down voluntarily?

So they all agreed to resign together then did they?
    Surly if they though Rochford was the man they would have stayed with him

There's been talk of Donie Buckley walking away long before now. He supposedly had to be convinced to stay in the past, so it should be of no surprise that he would eventually decide to leave. I had heard myself that McEntee wasn't going to commit long term because of the commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Had heard earlier in the year that Burke had said he would stay one more year, would imagine that the commute is killing for McEntee and Buckley has been talked back for at least the past two years as he wanted to step away.

Can also imagine the county board will be happy with the reduction in travel expenses for McEntee and Buckley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

It’s kind of funny that Fitmaurice resigns a failure in many people’s eyes with an AI won while Horan is still lauded as a demi-god .............

Donie Buckley has been there since the James Horan era,has reportedly been persuaded to stay in the past in spite off his long commutes from Ennis.

McEntee has considerable mileage worked up in terms of travel.A none too insignificant consideration when deciding whither to stay on.

It’s kind of funny that Fitmaurice resigns a failure in many people’s eyes with an AI won while Horan is still lauded as a demi-god .............

Funny Horan is well-liked and respected in the county and Rochford constantly subjected to criticism even though Horan didn't get the team over the line either and imo was responsible for squandering our absolute best chance at an all-Ireland in 2013.

Look I like Horan and respect everything he did with the team over the years, and I realise people's patience might have worn thin waiting for an all-Ireland, but I don't see what Rochford has done that's so terrible. He's gotten us as close as anyone to winning an All-Ireland. And did it with an older, more fatigued team than Horan had.

Again it's a completely different set of circumstances.

Horan brought a Mayo team that were a laughing stock and turned them into a force to be reckoned with.

Fitzmaurice turned a force to be reckoned with into a laughing stock.

His one all Ireland (without meeting Dublin) means feck all in Kerry.

Horans two finals, two semi finals and four Connacht titles on the trot is record breaking in Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

You need to look at where we were and what Horan did to mayo football. He changed the mindset and drive of the players he had. This was one of the most radical changes to Mayo football that I have witnessed. He was the best we ever had and he has his faults but without any question he was the best Mayo manager in my mind.

Kerry were so used to winning All irelands that he is looked on as a failure. I don't see it that way tbh. He played a lot of new guys this year which was a real tough move and fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Funny Horan is well-liked and respected in the county and Rochford constantly subjected to criticism even though Horan didn't get the team over the line either and imo was responsible for squandering our absolute best chance at an all-Ireland in 2013.

Look I like Horan and respect everything he did with the team over the years, and I realise people's patience might have worn thin waiting for an all-Ireland, but I don't see what Rochford has done that's so terrible. He's gotten us as close as anyone to winning an All-Ireland. And did it with an older, more fatigued team than Horan had.

Both guys have made mistakes so we will leave it even at that but there is one clear difference. Horan started making a team and setting standards. Rochford used the same team and kept the standards. As you would say Horan leads change while Rochford follows it. Horan wins in my eyes until Rochford wins SAM.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I don’t suppose we are tripping over great managers .

Rockford probably is worth one more year . A reasonable to good league and certainly a very good go at winning Connaught . Well a Connaught win unless their is something very unlucky about not winning it . Then take it from there .

Rochford probably does deserve one more year .

Both guys have made mistakes so we will leave it even at that but there is one clear difference. Horan started making a team and setting standards. Rochford used the same team and kept the standards. As you would say Horan leads change while Rochford follows it. Horan wins in my eyes until Rochford wins SAM.

I totally accept that. My point was levelled at the poster who said that it didn't matter how close Rochford got us to an all-Ireland, it only matters that we didn't win. Well, Horan didn't win it either and actually squandered our best chance, so where does that leave him? Apparently all that matters is winning, but not many are going to criticise Horan even though he didn't win either and had the squad when they were in the best position to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

muddle84 wrote: »
    The rumours for the new backroom team have begun......

Pat Fallon
    Joe Keane
    Kevin O'Neill
    Pete Lally

Check out @RefComeOn’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/RefComeOn/status/1025693524057055233?s=09

What about Conor Mort and Liam McHale.

I totally accept that. My point was levelled at the poster who said that it didn't matter how close Rochford got us to an all-Ireland, it only matters that we didn't win. Well, Horan didn't win it either and actually squandered our best chance, so where does that leave him? Apparently all that matters is winning, but not many are going to criticise Horan even though he didn't win either and had the squad when they were in the best position to do so.

As fr tod said above “Horan brought a Mayo team that were a laughing stock and turned them into a force to be reckoned with“
    What has Rochford done bar play the same team and won nothing since he took over.
    Of course all that matters is winning are you happy just to get to a final

As fr tod said above “Horan brought a Mayo team that were a laughing stock and turned them into a force to be reckoned with“
    What has Rochford done bar play the same team and won nothing since he took over.
    Of course all that matters is winning are you happy just to get to a final

Rochford got them closer to an All Ireland win than any had in 20 years.

Two own goals,
    A possible pick off the groud not seen
    A keeper making a mistake under a high ball
    A missed free to take the game to ET
    A stupid red card
    A hit post to go ahead in injury time.

All of the above were things that prevented Mayo winning an All Ireland under Rochford.
    They represent the tiny margins between success and failure.

All but one of them could be blamed on Rochford and even that one there is plenty of debate about.

Rochford also got plenty of praise for the way he setup v Tyrone in 2016 and his deployment of AOS on Donaghey generated but praise and critcism, both for valid reasons.

He has tried to add new blood to the team, but Mayo are not coming off multiple minor championships the way Kerry are.

Can you post those alternatives I asked for yesterday please ?

Who is better right now ?