Do you look down on people with tattoos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I don't have any but have considered getting one to cover a scar on my ankle from breaking it years ago. Have decided not to bother though. 
    Was really disappointed when my son got one on his shoulder blade last year. It's a black sheep. I couldn't resist telling him that my "cb handle" as a kid was black sheep and that he will always have his mother on his back. I don't hate it but I don't like it either. 
    Made friends with an Australian guy in Bali who is covered in them. He has face ones including some of guns etc. He looks like one scary mofo but is one of the sweetest guys I have ever met. He also has over 25k followers on Instagram coz of his look! I just don't get it. 

So am a bit on the fence. I don't like over the top ones but a small one hidden or of significance (one of my mates lost a child and has her name and a small heart on her wrist and my crazy aunt in New Jersey has a shamrock on her foot as do her 2 daughters and 2 of her nieces, they all went and got them done to celebrate her 80th birthday!) then they can be ok. 

I don't look down on people but I just don't understand the gra for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

Honestly... such drivel being spouted here . A tattoo is not a definition of character, it does not define who the person is or how good they are at their job . It does not mean you cannot progress in your career . It simply means you like having ink on your skin . Narrow mindedness is rife here .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Honestly... such drivel being spouted here . A tattoo is not a definition of character, it does not define who the person is or how good they are at their job . It does not mean you cannot progress in your career . It simply means you like having ink on your skin . Narrow mindedness is rife here .

So refreshing to hear a voice of reason!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

if the taoiseach had tattoos all over him i would be disgusted and wouldnt take him/her seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭valoren

My brother got one done when he was 19. Came back from a two week holiday with a paunch and a tattoo.
    In big letters across the top of his back;

ONLY GOD CAN JUDGE ME

He is in no way religious and he is not au fait with the lyrics of Tupac either.

His girlfriend had put him up to it 'as a laugh' and he said he picked something out from the catalog that he liked. Needless to say, she doesn't have big bold lyrics across her back interestingly enough.

I get the whole artistic aspect of it, I find alt type ladies and their tattoo's quite sexy and also those who get tattoo's for personal reasons but then there are dopes like my brother, peer pressured into getting it done and then trying to convince themselves they actually wanted their hideous, nonsensical Tat's subsequently and they have them permanently as a reminder of how stupid and gullible they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,418 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Narrow mindedness scares me far more than a bit of ink on a persons own body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I cannot stand them on anyone. Sorry. They just scream "look at me" I am cool or something. Not.

The David Beckham style tats are just awful. And if you do get a tat but conceal it on your nether regions out of sight, what is the point? It's a pity they are permanent, because I'd say a lot of people might regret them in the future. Especially if they are visible.

Tatoos just remind me of sailors and Borstal and jails and stuff.

OK I am just going to duck down behind the sofa now. But that's my opinion.

Those without tatoos are the minority now it seems, and we will conquer all for being individuals who chose NOT to follow the herd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

I cannot stand them on anyone. Sorry. They just scream "look at me" I am cool or something. Not.

The David Beckham style tats are just awful. And if you do get a tat but conceal it on your nether regions out of sight, what is the point? It's a pity they are permanent, because I'd say a lot of people might regret them in the future. Especially if they are visible.

Tatoos just remind me of sailors and Borstal and jails and stuff.

OK I am just going to duck down behind the sofa now. But that's my opinion.

Those without tatoos are the minority now it seems, and we will conquer all for being individuals who chose NOT to follow the herd.

Yeah, er no don't think so!

Well in fairness I did use a bit flowery language there!

But today you are in the minority if you haven't inked up yet it seems.

I think it's the permanence of them that would concern me. You can change your clothes, hair, make up, etc. but you can never change a tat. And I am sorry but before they became a so called "art form" and expression of individuality or whatever, they WERE staples of jails and sailors and hard men.

Still a nope from me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,430 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Spanish Eyes , just in relation to your point that if the tattoo is hidden , what's the point in getting it then .

A lot of people get tattoos in places that aren't obvious for varying reasons , because it means something to them alone , it might be personal .
    Most people choose their tattoos carefully , they don't go in a pick the first one they see in a generic book .

Even if they did , what harm is it doing anyone else ?

I have four , not on show , unless I choose them to be :)

Each to their own , there's always a for/against side on everything , the only harm I see is when anyone forms an opinion on someone else , by appearances alone , tattooed or not .

https://forumofgames.com/

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Spanish Eyes , just in relation to your point that if the tattoo is hidden , what's the point in getting it then .

A lot of people get tattoos in places that aren't obvious for varying reasons , because it means something to them alone , it might be personal .
    Most people choose their tattoos carefully , they don't go in a pick the first one they see in a generic book .

Each to their own , there's always a for/against side on everything , the only harm I see is when anyone forms an opinion on someone else , by appearances alone , tattooed or not .

Private art collections are not on show either, it doesn't mean they're less important to the people who own them.

Too much judginess going on. Sure they were the preserve of sailors in the past, but that's a very long time ago and the rest of the world has moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

Don't see why anyone would waste their time caring. It's none of your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭CastielJ

I like tattoos, but some ppl have no taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I don't look down on people with tattoos but I'm not remotely impressed by them either.

You do know that tattoo wearers aren't actively trying to impress you, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Isn't it funny that people without tattoos care so much about those of us with tattoos whereas we just don't care about whether or not someone has decided to get tattooed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭knipex

If only I could say it like you do maybe the other posters would like me.

I doubt it..

Mam of 4 wrote: »

Fair enough, but I don't have to see yours, they are hidden. Good choice there I think!

A lot of them are not, and quite frankly are gross (to me obv).

I cannot help the way I feel about the Sleeves and Necks etc.thing. I just cannot warm to them. That is not a judgment on anyone else, just a visual thing for me.

The point I made about sailors and jails was to reflect how the "hard men" thing is ingrained. You just have to look at McGregor for that kind of thing really. Beckham has similar and he is a bit of a pussycat, but looking at him at the Royal Wedding recently, he seemed to be all covered up and a bit uncomfortable. Maybe that's just me. But tats are indelible.

No offence meant to anyone, my opinion is as valid as anyone else's is I hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

The sleeve of tattoos thing is becoming popular with the girls as well as the lads.

Awful stuff.

Not the girls as well? :eek:
    Each to their own and nothing against tattoos, but if people think they are original in getting one they are kidding themselves, every man and his dog has a sleeve these days, people not covered in ink are now the non-conforming ones, people with ink are the sheep!

Maybe people are just getting tattoos because they like them? Maybe people getting tattoos actually don't give a shite what anyone else thinks of their tattoos?

The David Beckham style tats are just awful. And if you do get a tat but conceal it on your nether regions out of sight, what is the point?

First you say that you think people get tattoos for attention but then, if they get tattoos that aren't always on display, what's the point of them:confused: So on display = attention seeking, not on display = not attention seeking so what's the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

No tattoos myself because it's not really my thing but I don't judge anyone for having them. It's a personal thing, would be as silly as judging someone for having a fringe or a beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

The only time I felt the compulsion to get a tattoo was a portrait of a friend reluctantly snapped at her desk whilst probs distracted by solitaire again but I thought she looked legend and so considered it in a black monochrome

Just enough to accentuate, but I wanted a dangerous looking cat on my arm :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭FriendsEV

Nice girl

Shame about the tattoos

Everyone comments on everything and people do make judgments on lots of things, even if it is just privately in their own heads.

Better to have an opinion than to be told to shut up and conform with the latest fad. Pity tats are indelible though. I reckon many will regret them later in life. But hey ho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,430 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Fair enough, but I don't have to see yours, they are hidden. Good choice there I think!

A lot of them are not, and quite frankly are gross (to me obv).

I cannot help the way I feel about the Sleeves and Necks etc.thing. I just cannot warm to them. That is not a judgment on anyone else, just a visual thing for me.

The point I made about sailors and jails was to reflect how the "hard men" thing is ingrained. You just have to look at McGregor for that kind of thing really. Beckham has similar and he is a bit of a pussycat, but looking at him at the Royal Wedding recently, he seemed to be all covered up and a bit uncomfortable. Maybe that's just me. But tats are indelible.

No offence meant to anyone, my opinion is as valid as anyone else's is I hope!

I thanked your post as your opinion is as valid as everyone elses :)

The rest of it , ...:D

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,418 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Everyone comments on everything and people do make judgments on lots of things, even if it is just privately in their own heads.

Better to have an opinion than to be told to shut up and conform with the latest fad. Pity tats are indelible though. I reckon many will regret them later in life. But hey ho.

Big difference in having an opinion about not liking tattoos and making judgement on its wearer . Therin lies the difference . You are judging the person on one single part of their lives and one choice they make .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Isn't it funny that people without tattoos care so much about those of us with tattoos whereas we just don't care about whether or not someone has decided to get tattooed?

I doubt most 'care so much' if at all.

Somebody started a thread asking for opinions on tattoos and they answered.

You know, like what often happens on Internet boards.

It doesn't mean they're necessarily approving a gulag for tattoo wearers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭gargargar

Was in an airport coming back from Spain and there was a woman who looked about 70 with a good few tattoos. She has that old-person, wrinkly skin (no offence meant, it's a literal description!) and I swear it would put you off getting one if you were thinking about it.

There is a vast middle ground between having no tattoos and being covered from your neck to your feet. Lots of people, myself included, have one small tattoo. Or a number of discreet tattoos. Not everyone who gets one gets a dragon tramp stamp and/or a full sleeve.

If someone has a body full of tattoos or one small personal one, the only thing it says about them is that they like tattoos.

The big ones on sleeves and chest/neck must cost a fortune. And the pain of it all. I'd rather be at the dentist TBH.

The day will come when you will be able to get a copy of yourself on the AI robot things, then tat away, and charge for people to see your artwork. The way of the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

would any of you be brave enough to get one done like Ollie Reed :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Dear OP,

what-year-is-it-robin-williams.jpg