Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Latest I heard is that rumour is false and he’s good to go for Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

These rumours always pop up for semi finals. Think either Mannion or Whelo was meant to have broken their hand this time last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭spurshero

Daithi didn’t train Tuesday night as a precaution measure more then anything . Due to train this evening and should be sound for Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

spurshero wrote: »
    Daithi didn’t train Tuesday night as a precaution measure more then anything . Due to train this evening and should be sound for Saturday

Everybody pray. Including the atheists.

Team named tonight then so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭sean555

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

sean555 wrote: »
    Isn’t Ewan from Kildare? Sore loser is Ewan then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭mjp

This Galway team taking serious abuse in media from all angles. Between not getting credit for their wins and performances and the negativity to their style of play.
    It's not Kevin Walsh's place to retaliate to this criticism but it's about time some of the ex players who appear in media come out and back up this team and respond to this constant criticism to their performances and style of play.

You seen Damien Hayes response to Jackie Tyrrell's comments calling the hurlers a team of rugby players due to their size. That's what we need former colleagues of these players backing their own countymen.
    Whether it's Dublin Donegal or Tyrone we play in semi final you can be damn sure that their county pundits will be calling on refs to keep a close eye on the Galway players for off the ball niggles and referees are only human and can be influenced by such comments.

Our whole fullback line are marked men at the moment and this media attention won't help our cause especially with Sean Andy being 1 black card away from picking up a 1 match ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,963 ✭✭✭threeball

mjp wrote: »
    This Galway team taking serious abuse in media from all angles. Between not getting credit for their wins and performances and the negativity to their style of play.
    It's not Kevin Walsh's place to retaliate to this criticism but it's about time some of the ex players who appear in media come out and back up this team and respond to this constant criticism to their performances and style of play.

You seen Damien Hayes response to Jackie Tyrrell's comments calling the hurlers a team of rugby players due to their size. That's what we need former colleagues of these players backing their own countymen.
    Whether it's Dublin Donegal or Tyrone we play in semi final you can be damn sure that their county pundits will be calling on refs to keep a close eye on the Galway players for off the ball niggles and referees are only human and can be influenced by such comments.

Our whole fullback line are marked men at the moment and this media attention won't help our cause especially with Sean Andy being 1 black card away from picking up a 1 match ban.

Its beyond a joke at this stage. No credit given to any win. We beat mayo, they talked about what happened mayo. We beat roscommon, they asked why did roscommon flop, we beat Kerry, why did Kerry underperform. The media build a narrative and they stick to it as if to say we didn't call this wrong they just had an off day.

The other narrative they've built is that we're dour and defensive. If that we're the case why are we running up close to 20pts a game and when a lower level team comes our way we smash them. How does a dour defensive team turn around a dire situation in 20mins in a connacht final.

The media have called it wrong all year and it doesn't suit them to say so. Off the ball on Monday discussed all of the weekends games except the Galway one. They talked Donegal roscommon and ignored the game of the round. Absolute joke at this stage. I'd love to see this team shove the whole lot down people's throats in 4 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Robson99

One way to shut them up. Get to the All Ireland final and perform.
    For too many years we have been fancy dan's. Nice teams win friends not honours. Every team needs a nasty streak. Kilkenny and Tipp in hurling Kerry Dublin Mayo and all northern teams have it. Bite or be bitten

Love the notion that we played the "right kind of football" when we were getting knocked out by Westmeath, Meath, Wexford, Cork, Donegal and Antrim to name just a few.

Utter nonsense that the style we play now is witchcraft in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

mjp wrote: »
    Rumours doing the rounds that daithi Burke fractured his ankle in training lastnight !!!

Ah stop, that would be a disaster. These rumours always happen coming near big games.

No team named tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Any idea about any extra bus service being put on by the likes of go bus? I appreciate I left it late to book but the only return journey left with go bus is the last one of the night. Have the trip up booked. Wouldn’t usually mind waiting around but have a going away party to go to was hoping to be back in Galway for 10!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LoveMeSexy

He's an expert at spotting off the ball cynicism from his couch in Brazil. Incredible how a piece this biased could be printed but that's his shtick. I don't approve of off the ball stuff but it's always been a part of every sport and will always be, this is just sour grapes.

Strong rumours now that Daithi is hurt. The team not being named last night doesn't point to good things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭christy c

Redo91 wrote: »
    Any idea about any extra bus service being put on by the likes of go bus? I appreciate I left it late to book but the only return journey left with go bus is the last one of the night. Have the trip up booked. Wouldn’t usually mind waiting around but have a going away party to go to was hoping to be back in Galway for 10!

Citylink available

christy c wrote: »

Citylink available

Checked again and there appears to be Go Bus available again. Booked the 7:15 bus home so a bit of a dash after the game but should have about 30 minutes or so. Am I right in saying there will be no extra time tomorrow and it will go straight to a replay?

There is ET if required

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

Any word on Daithi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Xoshinho

There is extra time to be played if necessary. All-Ireland final only 3 weeks away. They have really messed up their scheduling this year.

There is ET if required

Oh ****! Could be in a spot of bother then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

LoveMeSexy wrote: »
    He's an expert at spotting off the ball cynicism from his couch in Brazil. Incredible how a piece this biased could be printed but that's his shtick. I don't approve of off the ball stuff but it's always been a part of every sport and will always be, this is just sour grapes.

No praise for Comer, who had the discipline not to strike out at the defender who was hanging out of him. Very one sided article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Any word on Daithi?

Apparently he was 50/50 last weekend but it looks like he'll start the game anyway. Probably on painkillers though. He's definitely carrying a knock.

rgace wrote: »
    No praise for Comer, who had the discipline not to strike out at the defender who was hanging out of him. Very one sided article

Thats the key point. Galway getting very much the same treatment from other teams yet have the cop on not to lash out. Comer has 3 lads dragging out of him every game. Dublin full back line gave him plenty of it in the two games this year. Has he lamped anyone, no. He knows better as do the rest of the team. A witch hunt from a sh1t journalist with an axe to grind.

Apparently he was 50/50 last weekend but it looks like he'll start the game anyway. Probably on painkillers though. He's definitely carrying a knock.

Hanbury to full back if Daithi's not fit? Who goes in the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Aravo

threeball wrote:
    Hanbury to full back if Daithi's not fit? Who goes in the corner.

Killeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭I says

Aravo wrote: »
    Killeen

No pace

I says wrote: »
    No pace

Needs must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Aravo

I says wrote:
    No pace

Toughness is a good attribute for a corner back. Noel Connors probably would not win the 100m at the Olympics but would the others be able to get past him if he was throwing himself about. Sure it's a wait and see on the day for the actual lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭mjp

meriwether wrote:
    Strong rumours now that Daithi is hurt. The team not being named last night doesn't point to good things.

Wouldn't read anything into that. They're always going to name him in starting 15 and will replace him before throw in if he's not fit. Not a chance of them naming a weakened side that could give Clare psychological edge.