Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Galway always name team Friday night as far as I recall.

E.g. https://galwaybayfm.ie/galway-team-to-play-kilkenny-announced/

Published Friday night before kk replay.

https://galwaybayfm.ie/galway-team-to-play-wexford-announced/

Published Friday night before Wexford game.

Still expect Burke to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Skehill
    Tuohy
    Daithi
    Hanbury
    Padraic Mannion
    GMac
    Harte
    Coen
    David Burke
    Joseph Cooney
    Canning
    Glynn
    Whelan
    Conor Cooney
    Cathal Mannion

Best of luck to the lads and hopefully we'll be talking about a win this time tomorrow. Safe travels to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

To quote the American President re the Burke story "It's fake news"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

1 adult lower Cusack ticket for sale for today. Face value €45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Danger here. Worried about Clare's pace and hunger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭conor05

If Tony Kelly has a stormer today I think Galway could be up against it.

He is a Matchwinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Best of luck to the minors and seniors today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

After overhearing someone on the bus up saying Daithi Burke is out??

Absolutely brutal by Coen leaving a free puck short from that distance.

Ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Pa8301

We should have this game well won by now. I'll be sick if we lose this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,342 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

We might regret all those wides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

We might regret all those wides.

You will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,342 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

You will.

Well unless you have a crystal ball that tells the future in front of you you don't know that so let's wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Some amount of wides by us. Thought Clare left it behind. Don't think Galway will play as bad as that next week. Injuries/recoveries will be crucial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭I says

Some amount of wides by us. Thought Clare left it behind. Don't think Galway will play as bad as that next week. Injuries/recoveries will be crucial.

And the ref as bad as I’ve seen since he reffed is against Kilkenny in tullamore in 13 the John oxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Unbelievable attitude to come back from two down with four minutes to go with Canning Burke McInerney and Whelan all off. Regardless of how the year pans out, they won’t be found wanting for character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭vid36

I am very pessimistic about our prospects without those players.

Dejected after that.

Too many times in the past few seasons we've played like that.

Wexford x2/Limerick/ Cork/ Dublin in the league, Kilkenny this year.

Most of those days were in the league but its happened a few times outside of that.

In the majority of those games it was like we had one less attacker and one less defender.

Every ball in attack was a 40/60 and every ball won against us in ours was 60/40 with the attacker well in front of a low ball.

I don't think we're any better than the pack now, that Clare team aren't up to much.
    We're capable of playing better than any team in patches but also capable of playing far worse than anyone else... Jekyll and Hyde stuff.

While we don't usually throw two of those performances together with the injury list I think our goose is cooked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

A trip back to that kip town of Thurles is truly a sickener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Let Kirwan ref it and we may as well not turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Any idea when the replay is fixed for? Heard Saturday but surely the GAA won’t fix two Galway matches for the one day?!

well ye had yer chances not to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

Redo91 wrote: »
    Any idea when the replay is fixed for? Heard Saturday but surely the GAA won’t fix two Galway matches for the one day?!

Sunday, 2pm in Thurles.

Thanks. Was wondering what happen. Fair play for clearing that up. We had chances. Very insightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,962 ✭✭✭threeball

How bad are our injuries. Was at the game so couldn't tell how bad they were. Looks like Daithi was carrying something throughout the match which could come against us next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

How bad are the injuries? I think Clare are favourites now. Left it behind.

threeball wrote:
    How bad are our injuries. Was at the game so couldn't tell how bad they were. Looks like Daithi was carrying something throughout the match which could come against us next week.

Mc and Tuhoy look the worst. Daithi is well documented. He had injections to play so it will depend what happens when that wears off. Joe hard to tell. Seemed to strain himself diving for that ball. Fingers crossed they'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭spurshero

Dejected after that.

Too many times in the past few seasons we've played like that.

Wexford x2/Limerick/ Cork/ Dublin in the league, Kilkenny this year.

Most of those days were in the league but its happened a few times outside of that.

In the majority of those games it was like we had one less attacker and one less defender.

Every ball in attack was a 40/60 and every ball won against us in ours was 60/40 with the attacker well in front of a low ball.

I don't think we're any better than the pack now, that Clare team aren't up to much.
    We're capable of playing better than any team in patches but also capable of playing far worse than anyone else... Jekyll and Hyde stuff.

While we don't usually throw two of those performances together with the injury list I think our goose is cooked.
    Why are you always so negative ? We don’t have a divine right to win the all Ireland . In the second half of extra Time we were 2 points down without whelan gearoid Mc canning and David Burke and we came back to lead and were leading when 3 Added mins were up . But unlike normal time when the ref blew when we were in possession he gave Clare the 45 secs and the chance to draw . Having said all that surely we should have kept it in play up there end rather then putting the
    Sideline over there endline to give them the quick puck out .

How bad are the injuries? I think Clare are favourites now. Left it behind.

Galway are always beatable I feel when they aren't playing well. Expect Clare to come out on top next day with few points to spare. just my thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,962 ✭✭✭threeball

Mc and Tuhoy look the worst. Daithi is well documented. He had injections to play so it will depend what happens when that wears off. Joe hard to tell. Seemed to strain himself diving for that ball. Fingers crossed they'll be ok.

Mc looked like an ankle? What happened Tuohy? Can't see Daithi being ok after 100mins of that. It'll be up like a balloon, surely.