Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LoveMeSexy

Great game today and plenty more progress to be made yet. Hopefully we can have Duggan and Daly fit for the semis at the latest. Good to see Fiontáin back too, think he has potential but was rocked by a few injuries. Pity we don't have Silke and McDaid but the whole squad has been excellent so can't complain really, subs made a big difference again today. Should get a good crowd for Salthill in a fortnight and finish top of the group with a good performance. Gaillimh abù

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Fair play to the footballers.congrats to them.a great year for Galway gaa.let them push on now and with a bit of luck finish it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭threeball

LoveMeSexy wrote: »
    Great game today and plenty more progress to be made yet. Hopefully we can have Duggan and Daly fit for the semis at the latest. Good to see Fiontáin back too, think he has potential but was rocked by a few injuries. Pity we don't have Silke and McDaid but the whole squad has been excellent so can't complain really, subs made a big difference again today. Should get a good crowd for Salthill in a fortnight and finish top of the group with a good performance. Gaillimh abù

Anyone know how mcdaid is going in Oz. Does he look likely to be given a contract or will we see him back on these shores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Was behind the goal and have never ever come across a dirtier shower of complete knackers at a GAA game as them. A bunch of once a year merchants who knew no players and had eyes for the referee only. Idiots still bitter over 98, 00, 17 and every other time we've beaten a crap county. Went in good spirits, had a great time, but beating those ignorant clowns will be the happiest memory. No offense to the countless sound Kildare people but my god that's the worst I've ever experienced

threeball wrote: »
    Anyone know how mcdaid is going in Oz. Does he look likely to be given a contract or will we see him back on these shores.

Going quite well from what I've heard. A pity

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Going quite well from what I've heard. A pity

Fair play to him but a shame for Galway. If we had him, silke and a young lad or two coming through in the next few years we'd have a serious squad going forward. Apart from Armstrong brannigan and gary thats a fairly young team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

From a stage a few years ago where Waterford were minutes away from beating us in Salthill it's nice to just take a moment to reflect on the progress made since. It's been a bumpy road even in the last few years but finally we are at least relevant again and we'very got rid of some of the embarrassing stats that have been thrown at us.

Today I never felt we'd lose but we lacked the killer instinct to drive on and win by 6 or 7 and to be only 2 points up and callaghan catching the ball in our square late on is dodgy territory. Kildare kicked some excellent scores and considering they were down to 14 and had a lot of miles putility up of late have certainly emerged from this summer in a position to move forward.

Really think Flynn has finally started to look like a player at this level. Kerin made some vital interventions. Comer put a lot of ball through his hands again but really should have squared the ball at the end for the goal. Ian Burke had his moments. Think Bradshaw has had a good few weeks to be fair.

The kickouts broke down completely for a while midway through the first half and the long ball early on caused havoc but we got to grips in both areas.

Again I think the subs are proving their worth. Patrick Sweeney as first sub was baffling though. Daly had started well so hopefully it's nothing serious for him.

Games today and in Omagh showed what super 8s should be about. Atmosphere seemed fantastic. A game like that would be lost in Croke Park.

Hurling next Saturday. Not often we have both teams in business end. It's a good time to be a Galway supporter.

I guess the logic may have been:

- Armstrong: Too early to bring him on, might not last pace of full match

- Varley: Ideal player to come on for last 15 minutes when game opens up. Has the pace to cause serious damage then

- O'Curraoin: Hasn't played enough football to be brough on so early. Galway were also doing well at midfield at that stage so what would he add?

- Darcy: Same as O'Curraoin really.

- McHugh: Was poor v Roscommon so maybe form in training comes into consideration here. I don't think Sweeney is a better player though and McHugh offers a brilliant free taking option.

- Cummins: Hasn't played much football and doesnt really offer the same physicality as Daly. When you are already playing Comer / Burke inside, its hard to accommodate him.

Think they were all the forards / midfielders on the bench. So we are left with Sweeney to come on. Personally, I wouldn't have brought him on. I'd have gone with either Varley or McHugh. It was a shame too as Daly had started very brightly. I hope it isn't serious.

Fair play to him but a shame for Galway. If we had him, silke and a young lad or two coming through in the next few years we'd have a serious squad going forward. Apart from Armstrong brannigan and gary thats a fairly young team.

Brannigan is just about to turn 23. That's not old!

Seriously young yeah. Sean Mulkerrin, Darcy, maybe John Daly, possibly McDaid and possibly Evan Murphy if we're lucky. Very few old players. 3 years this team will be a serious outfit.

@TCD, I can see your logic of Sweeney but my god it needs to stop. It's been proven time and again he's not up to this level and we've class footballers like Army and Varley sitting there looking on. If we had lost today I'd be firmly blaming Walsh. This actually can't keep happening like. I hate giving out about a normal volunteer but there's 25 forwards in the county better than him

Brannigan is just about to turn 23. That's not old!

Meant Bradshaw

@TCD, I can see your logic of Sweeney but my god it needs to stop. It's been proven time and again he's not up to this level and we've class footballers like Army and Varley sitting there looking on. If we had lost today I'd be firmly blaming Walsh. This actually can't keep happening like. I hate giving out about a normal volunteer but there's 25 forwards in the county better than him

Yeah, totally agree. KW put his club mate up against Donaghy last year and it massively backfired. Yet, again he put his club mate on today ahead of some players who have performed better throughout the year (Varley, Armstrong, McHugh have all had stronger campaigns than Sweeney). Sweeney missed 2 goal chances today and gave an awful ball into Comer as well. He did win a good free at start of second half though.

Seriously young yeah. Sean Mulkerrin, Darcy, maybe John Daly, possibly McDaid and possibly Evan Murphy if we're lucky. Very few old players. 3 years this team will be a serious outfit.

Couple of the younger Corofin lads looking promising too. Wall and McHugh. Serious training games with those guys in the mix.

Wall is a great prospect. Wouldnt be too sure of McHugh has the pace for this level. Molloy could step up if he has a league campaign behind him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Wall is a great prospect. Wouldnt be too sure of McHugh has the pace for this level. Molloy could step up if he has a league campaign behind him though.

What's the story with Molloy? Is he in the squad?

PCeeeee wrote: »
    What's the story with Molloy? Is he in the squad?

Yep was involved in the warm ups in croker last week anyway. Surprised he hasn't seen some game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Who dares to speak of 98?

PCeeeee wrote: »
    Who dares to speak of 98?

No one, now shut up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

threeball wrote:
    Yep was involved in the warm ups in croker last week anyway. Surprised he hasn't seen some game time.

Was on the bench last week. Didn't make the 26 today. Bodes well for a strong squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Delighted to see Cathal Sweeney as one of the 3 motm contenders. Himself and Kyne in particular seemed to be tarred with that Tipp 2016 massacre in spite of the fact they've put in some massive performances since then.

In terms of today we were very lucky that our lack of goal conversion didn't cost us. Paddy Sweeney unlucky to see the first one cleared off the line but the second one was a sickening waste. Comer's 3 on 1 was also embarrassing.

Tom Flynn in midfield was being fouled all day long and the ref would give him the odd free despite the Kildare midfield pulling at him constantly without so much as a talking to. His point was fantastic too. Great to see him confident again.

GOD and Army were crucial to the win. Both worked their bollocks off once introduced.

If Kildare bombed more ball in on top of the fullbacks today we'd have been in huge trouble. At one stage Shane Walsh was a sweeper/fullback which was mental.

All that said, delighted with this season. Ian Burke adds a different dimension to our attack we'd lacked for 15 years+. The current underage conveyor belt of lads from that U-21 side of last year in addition to lads like Mulkerrin being potential options down the line would give cautious optimism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

I think we should be more ambitious than that. I don't see anyone better than us bar Dublin and on the right day we might even have a chance to put one over on them. Certainly looking good for the next couple of years.

Definitely. Bar Dubs, we're as good as whats left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Yeah, totally agree. KW put his club mate up against Donaghy last year and it massively backfired. Yet, again he put his club mate on today ahead of some players who have performed better throughout the year (Varley, Armstrong, McHugh have all had stronger campaigns than Sweeney). Sweeney missed 2 goal chances today and gave an awful ball into Comer as well. He did win a good free at start of second half though.

We may as well call a spade a spade here, if it wasn't for that club connection would Patrick Sweeney even be on the 26 match-day squad? Let alone be first sub?

Any time I've seen him play for Galway he just doesn't look even close to an intercounty player and it's worrying that KW still has that sort of bias. At least KW kinda admitted the mistake by taking him off again. But why bring him on in the first place?

Whatever about Varley and Armstrong even a rusty Danny Cummins would offer much more of a threat if he was on the bench. Or McHugh who is a better player and brings the added bonus of some solid freetaking.

Aside from that it was another good win and credit to all, management and players, for bringing this team to a level that few would have expected at the start of the year. A win or draw against Monaghan sees us into a very winnable semi final against Donegal or Tyrone. A few months ago we'd have taken that for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Any word on Daly? He looked like he was on it yesterday before he went off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Was a great day out! Pleasantly surprised by the turnout from Galway. Great feeling around Galway GAA at the minute.

One obvious concern was how we didn’t kill the game off when Kildare went down to 14. In saying that can understand the players taking the foot off the pedal given how hot it was on the day.

On to Croke Park on Saturday now. Not a bad summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Would he even start for Corofin? Or even Salthill who are riddled with young good forwards?

jr86 wrote: »
    Would he even start for Corofin? Or even Salthill who are riddled with young good forwards?

Yes and yes

I'm not from Killannin but I've watched them a number of times and the Sweeneys are easily recognisable as county players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

I wouldn't have him ahead of the two farraghers or Lundy, he'd never get in ahead of Sice on that team and Ian Burke speaks for himself

His best chance for me would be instead of Leonard, but I'm a big fan of the latter, who's also a tremendous free-taker

jr86 wrote: »
    I wouldn't have him ahead of the two farraghers or Lundy, he'd never get in ahead of Sice on that team and Ian Burke speaks for himself

His best chance for me would be instead of Leonard, but I'm a big fan of the latter, who's also a tremendous free-taker

On current form Patrick is as good as any of that forward line bar Ian Burke and Michael Farragher, and as for salthill don't be ridiculous, he'd be their second best player never mind forward after Armstrong. I watched the draw game between Salthill and Killannin and even with 14 players for 3/4 of the game Killannin were the better team. I think you're massively overrating club players and underrating county players based on performances against other county players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Saw the team from the Under 21 team with Comer, Burke, Walsh, etc. listed on Twitter the other day and noticed the name of James Shaughnessy listed at full back. Any idea what has happened to him? Thought he was a decent prospect. Worried about us at full back if anything happens to Sean Andy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Redo91 wrote: »
    Saw the team from the Under 21 team with Comer, Burke, Walsh, etc. listed on Twitter the other day and noticed the name of James Shaughnessy listed at full back. Any idea what has happened to him? Thought he was a decent prospect. Worried about us at full back if anything happens to Sean Andy.

Always thought Shaughnessy was pretty decent when he played underage for Galway. Not sure how he's getting on now. I think he was Ballinasloe. Galway should be fine at full-back going forward with Mulkerrin coming through as well albeit he's not in the senior panel this year as they kept him with the U-20's. He'll be with the seniors next year though most likely. He was with them already during the FBD and early part of the league.

If Sean Andy got injured now I imagine Kyne would have to go to number 3 which is not ideal alright.