What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Cienciano wrote: »
    It's easy to take the píss out of anyone who's into their hobby. Those gimp suit wearing cyclists who probably shave all their body hair. Those idiots playing football and screaming at their mates like they're in the world cup final. Wind surfing off dollymount, losers with all their gear and they're barely moving. Eejits playing rugby, a bunch of rugger buggers who play soggy biscuit in the changing room afterwards. Lads out playing golf, imagine paying to hit a ball around a field. Losers hiking with their "gators" and walking poles. Remote control cars in st. annes park, loser adults with toy cars. People playing tennis with their white outfits, think they're in Wimbledon. Swimmers wearing their budgie smugglers, state of them.

Can people have no interests, just go to the pub and do nothing else please?

Lol, YES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Balanadan wrote: »
    I saw a middle aged cyclist knock down a child from behind and cycle over their back. Didn't even stop to look back.

Of course you did :rolleyes:

So what did you do when you saw it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Also does going to the pub and get p1ssed actually count as a hobby? Would people put that on their okcupid page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

BarryD2 wrote: »
    The joints - wear & tear etc. Cycling is easier on the old joints.

Your not trying hard enough! pedal harder! :D

So it’s just rudeness and inconsiderate behavior from cyclists.

Thanks for clearing that up.

Sometimes being considerate is not in a cyclists best interest...

http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/video-drivers-close-pass-cyclists/

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

"Lads!"
    "Lads!!"

Please treat your elders with a little more respect

Particularly that 07Lapierre bloke. He's very old :)

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Yeah because they're going to take a change of clothes with them and change in public before going into a coffee shop :rolleyes:

Stop looking at them if it bother you that much.
    I don't go into a cafe or a shop after I've been to the gym. I'd shower and change first.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

I did. I ran over to help the child. It was shocking. Thankfully the child was alright, just shocked like everyone that saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

PandaPoo wrote: »
    There's a loveky cafe in eniskerry that we go to every second weekend or so. We try get there early because around 11 or 12 a swarm of cyclists come in. Their bikes block the path and the exit, they stomp in with their noisy clompy shoes, take up the whole restaurant and outside. It's really annoying.

Imagine that...customers taking over a restaurant and buying food/coffee.

They're probably saying...look theres that silly little person in here again giving us dirty looks and scowling about our bikes.

Get over yourself, you are not the only person on the planet. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

LirW wrote: »
    Also does going to the pub and get p1ssed actually count as a hobby? Would people put that on their okcupid page?

That's 'being a full time mad bastard'.

LirW wrote: »

From my brief foray into online dating some years ago, I believe some people did list socialising as a hobby and some did mention the pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

No, for some reason, every mention of golf does not end up on the same drooling Pavlovian response of bloodycyclistsmamilsredlightsroadtaxJoe that cyclists get.

It's not Pavlovian - that is automatic.

This is a well thought out response to leaving a LUAS and being hit by a cyclist.

Loads of middle aged lads cycling, it most certainly does infinite more good than harm to all concerned :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,729 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I'm constantly amazed at the number of males that happen to be members of boards.ie who have a fascination with older men wearing tight clothing. Are you guys closeted?

I don't get the disbelief ??

http://www.thejournal.ie/woman-critical-collision-cyclist-3920019-Mar2018/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Jqtu4bqv-Q

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/young-woman-knocked-down-cyclist-12943045

The last one concerns me as I cross O'Connell St twice daily and the rules of the road are roundly ignored.

Plus the many interactions resulting in near misses, or the bruised a**e I had from the eejit going over the Millennium Bridge like it was the last stage of the Tour de France and me falling to get out of the way.

I'm not saying all cyclists are like this but I am very tired of the constant victim complex cyclists seem to have - some of ye are morons. Some drivers are morons but I've yet to see a Volkswagen drive at me on a tram platform!!!

Beasty wrote: »
    "Lads!"
    "Lads!!"

Please treat your elders with a little more respect

Particularly that 07Lapierre bloke. He's very old :)

Yep it was all different when i was a lad. Sure we used to play football on the road!

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Yep it was all different when i was a lad. Sure we used to play football on the road!

Ah so did I - the scars on the knees are badges of honour!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/young-woman-knocked-down-cyclist-12943045

The last one concerns me as I cross O'Connell St twice daily and the rules of the road are roundly ignored.

Plus the many interactions resulting in near misses, or the bruised a**e I had from the eejit going over the Millennium Bridge like it was the last stage of the Tour de France and me falling to get out of the way.

I'm not saying all cyclists are like this but I am very tired of the constant victim complex cyclists seem to have - some of ye are morons. Some drivers are morons but I've yet to see a Volkswagen drive at me on a tram platform!!!

As a cyclist this also boils my piss. The amount of feckless eejits on the road (particularly in the city center) is something else. The victim mentality is achieving nothing and could in fact be causing damage to the cause of safety for everyone on the road.

No, for some reason, every mention of golf does not end up on the same drooling Pavlovian response of bloodycyclistsmamilsredlightsroadtaxJoe that cyclists get.

And golf has way more silliness surrounding it than cycling. So many little rules and etiquette. I defend golf because I think it’s better exercise than people give it credit for but it deserves at least as much opprobrium as cycling and probably more. It’s certainly more pretentious.

eejits, Morons,they're everywhere! ... http://www.thejournal.ie/one-dead-after-car-travelling-in-wrong-direction-causes-pile-up-on-motorway-4142717-Jul2018/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

marvin80 wrote: »
    Stop fuc*king looking at them then!!

I generally look around me while I am going about my business, it's not particularly annoying to me when I see them so I am not going to start walking around the place looking at the ground. I just think it looks silly.

P_1 wrote: »
    As a cyclist this also boils my piss. The amount of feckless eejits on the road (particularly in the city center) is something else. The victim mentality is achieving nothing and could in fact be causing damage to the cause of safety for everyone on the road.

Thank you! I am all too aware that it is a minority but it does happen.

I'm having a few mobility issues at the minute - not mad serious but I have to take care walking - and it's terrifying to see a cyclist coming towards you on a pavement!

Saying it never happens, openly mocking someone's accounts and playing the "but cars are worse" card will never achieve anything.

Pedal safe P_1!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

07Lapierre wrote: »

"But cars are as bad!" - exhibit A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Can’t knock anyone involved in physical pursuits I see them and all I think is more power to them. Especially the overweight folk setting out on the path to weight loss its easy to lounge about become overly cerebral and fall into poor health only way to flush out all that toxicity and improve yourself is physical exhertion.

All the more apparent into older age...if their balls are bulging out of their lycra it’s not my business anyway I prefer magnetic resistance method in the privacy of the shed. Throwing death stars at a sheet of plywood maybe beating the old punchbag with the nunchucks that sort of thing the cigarette hanging out of the mouth is a contradiction but it’s essential to keep active any which way

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

interesting the way people depersonalise motorists to being mere 'cars' but people don't start threads on boards complaining about bicycles; they give out about cyclists.
    maybe that's part of the problem.

The car is not the problem. Someone who drives down the wrong side of a motorway is a moron. this guy was in a car...he could have been on a bike or even walking. the mode of transport determines the level of carnage...it doesn't change the guys intelligence!

interesting the way people depersonalise motorists to being mere 'cars' but people don't start threads on boards complaining about bicycles; they give out about cyclists.
    maybe that's part of the problem.

The point was that whenever one of the many acts of selfish stupidity is brought up there is a predictable response of 1) Cars are worse and/or 2) Outright denial and mockery!

Plus a car is run by a complex system of engineering. A cycle by the rider. There are differences.

Like I said, the "poor us" act helps no one, least of all the majority of responsible cyclists out there.

Balanadan wrote: »
    I saw a middle aged cyclist knock down a child from behind and cycle over their back. Didn't even stop to look back.

****ing lol. If you're going to make up BS stories you could at least make them slightly believable.

Knocking down child - plausible
    Mowing child down and riding over them cartoon style - just no.

Considering I was once sent flying over my handlebars by a jack russell terrier than ran out in to my front wheel, unless the child in question was a newborn there's no way yer man cycled over him without coming off the bike.

Jesus christ.

Plus a car is run by a complex system of engineering. A cycle by the rider. There are differences.
    i'm not sure what this means. a car is still fully in control of the motorist, just as much as a bike is in control of the cyclist.