Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

• 23-07-2018 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭

Every weekend, they swarm around, what is it about cycling that brings them in? Why aren't they playing weekend footie or mountain biking?

shakeitoff wrote: »
    Every weekend, they swarm around, what is it about cycling that brings them in? Why aren't they playing weekend footie or mountain biking?

joints man

joints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

You can cover a good distance with relatively less effort than other forms of exercise. Get to see a bit of the countryside while exercising. I can see the appeal to that, but I'm not a cyclist so could be talking out my hoop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Giraffe Box

They should be in a public house enjoying a pint pot playing 'Rings' or 'Dominoes'.....and don't call me Grandad!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Stay Fit/loose weight, beats cutting the grass or putting up shelves gets you out in the fresh air and its easy on the auld joints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭shakeitoff

Vegeta wrote: »
    You can cover a good distance with relatively less effort than other forms of exercise. Get to see a bit of the countryside while exercising. I can see the appeal to that, but I'm not a cyclist so could be talking out my hoop.

Explains why a lot of them are tubby. They probably do the cycle and then eat/drink so much. Probably doesn't burn that many calories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

joints man

joints

Exactly. The knees, hips and ankles can't take running no more.

Cycling v accessible. Need to drive to a pool to swim. Just hop on bike for hour or two.

TBF it's not a bad thing, but a lot of them have the most smug annoying faces. The whole get up is quite cringeworthy it must be said, zero chance of them doing it in football shorts and a t-shirt, has to be the most expensive equipment, reminds me of every middle aged tennis club player ever, shows up in all white with the best equipment and loses in straight sets to the guy with the 20 year old racket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

It has its own acronym: MAMIL or Middle-Aged-Men-In-Lycra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

joints man

joints

Yup. Low impact exercise, easily accessible to anyone and it's good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

joints man

joints

I only ever get the munchies, never had the urge to hop on a bike

TBF it's not a bad thing, but a lot of them have the most smug annoying faces. The whole get up is quite cringeworthy it must be said, zero chance of them doing it in football shorts and a t-shirt, has to be the most expensive equipment, reminds me of every middle aged tennis club player ever, shows up in all white with the best equipment and loses in straight sets to the guy with the 20 year old racket.

cycling for four hours in football shorts?

ouch :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Only use a bike to get from A to B, you know, like what normal people used do before they had cars. Not busting my balls doing a ring of Kerry or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Aegir wrote: »
    cycling for four hours in football shorts?

ouch :eek:

Indeed... spend 3-4 hours cycling in football shorts and report back on the state of your balls.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Yup. Low impact exercise, easily accessible to anyone and it's good fun.

Not when they're hurtling towards you on the LUAS platform it's not!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

they don't like their kids and or wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

I am one of these.

Cycling gives me everything as a hobby.... Keeps me in good shape, gets me out of the house, de-stresses me and provides headspace like nothing else I have ever tried, provides that pain/endorphin kick back on a hilly ride, gives me something mechanical to tinker with..... and there is nothing, NOTHING like flying down the side of a hill at over 60k, sheer unadulterated kid-like joy!

they don't like their kids and or wife

whereas middle aged men who spend all weekend in the pub or on the golf course do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭barney shamrock

Road tax!
    Lycra!
    Tour de France wannabes cycling 3 abreast!
    Etc, etc

McTigs wrote: »
    I am one of these.

Cycling gives me everything as a hobby.... Keeps me in good shape, gets me out of the house, de-stresses me and provides headspace like nothing else I have ever tried, provides that pain/endorphin kick back on a hilly ride, gives me something mechanical to tinker with..... and there is nothing, NOTHING like flying down the side of a hill at over 60k, sheer unadulterated kid-like joy!

Awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

whereas middle aged men who spend all weekend in the pub or on the golf course do?

No they don't like their kids and or wife either !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm also one of these...started back cycling when I was 40, in my late 40's now, I'm fitter and healthier than I ever was in my life. Yes its expensive (I've now got 4 bikes and every one of them fills a different need) and I have spent a considerable amount of money on gear, equipment etc but like I said, I'm fitter and healthier than I have ever been and to be honest I'd rather be me than someone like you who hasn't a clue and critical of something you have never done/experience.

I'd challenge you to cycle for 4 hours in a pair of football shorts and runners...see how you get on. :rollseyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭mikemac2

You could have put golf in the title OP and gotten the same thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,674 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

mikemac2 wrote: »
    You could have put golf in the title OP and gotten the same thread

No, for some reason, every mention of golf does not end up on the same drooling Pavlovian response of bloodycyclistsmamilsredlightsroadtaxJoe that cyclists get.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I do a good bit of cycling now, I love it. Great form of exercise and you get to see stuff and it's something anyone with any level of fitness can enjoy.
    I've tried to incorporate it into daily life, like instead of jumping into the car to run an errand, I'd hop on the bike and do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Only use a bike to get from A to B, you know, like what normal people used do before they had cars. Not busting my balls doing a ring of Kerry or whatever.

Same here. I'm 45 and got my bike 7 years ago through the Bike-to-work scheme (although I previously had one in my 20s). I use it for going to work mainly, and for going shopping since I don't drive. The very odd time I go further afield.

I've never worn lycra, though. I just wear black jeans, black shirt and black steel toecap boots. It's my lo-vis look. :pac: A friend of mine started cycling in his 40s but he has all the gear, and joined a cycling club straight away. I hate cycling with anybody else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

There's a loveky cafe in eniskerry that we go to every second weekend or so. We try get there early because around 11 or 12 a swarm of cyclists come in. Their bikes block the path and the exit, they stomp in with their noisy clompy shoes, take up the whole restaurant and outside. It's really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

I think we can all agree that kids are just terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

To call it an obsession is a bit of a stretch. It's a hobby just like any other, but, as it takes place in a public place, you are more exposed to it.

Cycling is fantastic for keeping you fit, really great for building leg muscles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,506 ✭✭✭✭Alun

PandaPoo wrote: »
    Their bikes block the path and the exit, they stomp in with their noisy clompy shoes, take up the whole restaurant and outside.
    It's always amusing seeing them trying to walk in those shoes when it's wet, falling on their arses :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

mloc123 wrote: »
    Indeed... spend 3-4 hours cycling in football shorts and report back on the state of your balls.

How do cycling shorts protect your balls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,506 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Cycling is fantastic for keeping you fit, really great for building leg muscles.
    So are lots of other sports. There seems to be an attitude amongst the more serious cyclists that they're in a unique position, and that everybody else, especially car drivers that interrupt their enjoyment of the public roads is a beer swilling, snack eating lard arse. It may surprise them that many of those car drivers are on their way to partake in other outdoor sports that are just as good, if not better for them than cycling. Low bone density anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭Cordell

I'm a middle aged lad that occasionally partake in cycling, but have never ever had any inclination to those balls and micky revealing pants. Have some decency, ffs. And if you have to, wear something else over, you don't need to by that aerodynamic, those flaps don't really help at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Cordell wrote: »
    I'm a middle aged lad that occasionally partake in cycling, but have never ever had any inclination to those balls and micky revealing pants. Have some decency, ffs. And if you have to, wear something else over, you don't need to by that aerodynamic, those flaps don't really help at all.

Why are you worrying about other mens crotchs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

If your micky is showing through your cycling shorts then something is very wrong. It's not about being aero, it's about comfort and stopping chafing. And the shorts are padded. It just makes it way more comfortable.

Alun wrote: »
    So are lots of other sports. There seems to be an attitude amongst the more serious cyclists that they're in a unique position, and that everybody else, especially car drivers that interrupt their enjoyment of the public roads is a beer swilling, snack eating lard arse. It may surprise them that many of those car drivers are on their way to partake in other outdoor sports that are just as good, if not better for them than cycling. Low bone density anyone?

Strange the attitude amongst the more serious drivers that cyclists are there to prevent their enjoyment of public roads...

If your micky is showing through your cycling shorts then something is very wrong. It's not about being aero, it's about comfort and stopping chafing. And the shorts are padded. It just makes it way more comfortable.

plus when you wear shorts over the shorts you reduce wicking. Maybe he just likes sweaty balls?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Whoever invented the padded cycling shorts is a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭Cordell

If your micky is showing through your cycling shorts then something is very wrong.
    Yes, probably they don't come in my size, but that's beside the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't mind lycra, I think it's functional and cycling is good fun. Especially in hot weather it's a lot cooler than other forms of exercise. But I do wonder is it a man thing that they first spend couple of grand on a bike when something between 500 to 1000 would be perfect for the amount of cycling they actually do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭tobdom

PandaPoo wrote: »
    There's a loveky cafe in eniskerry that we go to every second weekend or so. We try get there early because around 11 or 12 a swarm of cyclists come in. Their bikes block the path and the exit, they stomp in with their noisy clompy shoes, take up the whole restaurant and outside. It's really annoying.

Yea, you think the cafe owner would bar them in fairness, I'd say they hate to see them coming, spending money & the likes...... I'd say they wouldn't spend as much as a 'swarm' of drivers or a swarm of walkers (given that we're grouping people in such a fashion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭blackvalley

never ever had any inclination to those balls and micky revealing pants. Have some decency, ffs..

Personally I would be looking around at our fantastic countryside as I cycle and not as you say " the balls and mickys " of my fellow cyclists . Each to his own of course but if thats what turns you on then there are probably many adult only late night clubs that cater for your particular fancy :D

Vegeta wrote: »

you mean get to see a bit of the countryside while causing 5km tailbacks :rolleyes:!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

Cannot change peoples faces for you, perhaps its just the air in their faces, alters the look a little? Lots of people cycle in regular gear, you are talking complete muck.

Try cycling a long distance in a nice pair of tracksuit bottoms and then in cycling shorts you and your nether regions will be thankful.
    It certainly doesn't have to be expensive....I have 1 bike, 5 years old, and cycle every day getting aprox 2 services a year.

Bike and gear cost €1,000 and services approx €40 each. As such if i ditched the bike tomorrow that would have cost about €300/year to cover my commute and weekly exercise (most anyway)....How ids that expensive.
    Who are they competing against, just going for a cycle?

meeeeh wrote: »
    I don't mind lycra, I think it's functional and cycling is good fun. Especially in hot weather it's a lot cooler than other forms of exercise. But I do wonder is it a man thing that they first spend couple of grand on a bike when something between 500 to 1000 would be perfect for the amount of cycling they actually do.

Probably? Who doesn't like bling I guess and when you're middle aged you're more likely to have to cash to spend and offset your belly weight with carbon :D

I just got back into cycling and spent like 200 on a 2nd hand alu bike with 105 running gear. No real need to spend any more than that imo.

meeeeh wrote: »

which is why we all drive Mitsubishi Colts I suppose :rolleyes:

I just got back into cycling and spent like 200 on a 2nd hand alu bike with 105 running gear. No real need to spend any more than that imo.

yes, but if you could buy that carbon bike with Di2 gears, you would :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

They have to ride something if they're not getting it at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

The arse of hte young wan in front of you is what one lad in his fifties told me when I asked him.

To call it an obsession is a bit of a stretch. It's a hobby just like any other, but, as it takes place in a public place, you are more exposed to it.

yeah but does nothing for the beer belly ...........or the back muscles.:P

yes, but if you could buy that carbon bike with Di2 gears, you would :P

lol, honestly? Alu and ultegra (cable) at most.... I find bikes to be a mostly functional thing... I splurge my almost middle aged money in other areas of my life :)