Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

Wholesale aircon gas is gone through the roof too meaning the €70 refill is now double or tripled.

Frank Keane are doing a Special Offer June/July €95 down from €161 ......
    Drain all refrigerant
    Check system for leaks
    Recharge refrigerant and lubricant
    Check system operating pressures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Paudee wrote: »
    Speaking of wind deflectors, somebody stole mine last week, no damage to car. I would have thought once the windows were up you couldn't take them?
    So did I, but know a few people who've had them robbed off closed windows too

Ms jou got wind deflectors stolen from her then car, touran, in Sligo. Twice! Even though second set had car's reg number clearly engraved on them. Now she owns ASX, wind deflectors with reg engraved as well, no problem. More than likely less popular (I think front deflectors off touran would also fit caddy?). And she's rarely in Shligo nowadays - mostly in Swinford instead.

No deflectors stolen off my corolla. Neither old nor new. Touch wood. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭tcawley29

joujoujou wrote: »
    Ms jou got wind deflectors stolen from her then car, touran, in Sligo. Twice! Even though second set had car's reg number clearly engraved on them. Now she owns ASX, wind deflectors with reg engraved as well, no problem. More than likely less popular (I think front deflectors off touran would also fit caddy?). And she's rarely in Shligo nowadays - mostly in Swinford instead.

No deflectors stolen off my corolla. Neither old nor new. Touch wood. :)

Heard of a few people getting them taken off cars in Sligo alright.
    This is why we can't have nice things :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

beertons wrote: »
    Up in Auto air-con yesterday for a regas, as passat felt hot and I'm driving it to Kerry next week. Guy calls me over and says compressor for air-con is gone. Balls. 200 to buy from eBay in Germany, whatever to fit and regas again. No chance I'll get this done in a week. I'm gonna roast.

Have a look on YouTube,on VW engines a lot of the time it's a €20 solenoid that's gone not the compressor.
    Couple of hours diy job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

tcawley29 wrote: »
    Heard of a few people getting them taken off cars in Sligo alright.
    This is why we can't have nice things :(

It's a certain ...... Group that can't be talked about as it would be racist or discrimination.

I've always said it to their faces and won't stop know.

Call a spade a spade and all that.

If you don't stand up to this group of individuals they'll walk all over you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I've learnt if they think you aren't intimidated they will do nothing.

They're all talk.
    When I was home at christmas in the bar with the lads they came in and lifted money off our table.
    Once confronted they were very quick to put it back and then they were thrown out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Have a look on YouTube,on VW engines a lot of the time it's a €20 solenoid that's gone not the compressor.
    Couple of hours diy job.

It's the compressor just as often. They are rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

For Sale: Set of VW Touran wind deflectors, I'll do any man a good deal boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Maybe it’s just the people I know but everyone seems to be buying Passat CC’s they are what the mk5 golf was a few years ago the car to have it seems. Was helping a friend to pick out one last week and in the right spec they are a nice car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ye, know a few boys who got them over the past few months, look smart in white alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,574 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unfortunately they are now in the price range of scangers and ripe for felting.

I posted last November on my highly positive experience of renting a NYC based BMW 340xi with TURO, an airbnb for cars. $143 gets me an Audi S5 coupe next week in Philadelphia. Not an Audi head and there was no American muscle available, bar a poorly reviewed Mustang, in my budget or nearby so a 345bhp 3.0 tfsi will have to suffice. :D

Renting here is fun to be fair :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

How embarrassing, ran out of fuel tonight on the way from the airport :o

My trip computer that I used for such a long time miscalculated (20km to empty when it stopped).

Fair play to 123 breakdown cover for getting to me in about 30 minutes. They don't carry fuel, though so took some time to get to the petrol station, waking up the person working there and back to the car.

From now on 1/4 of tank at all times. That was a long journey, the visiting family was very understanding, or just good actors :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Stinker wonski. Happened me once before. Luckily not too far from home. Now i only trust the needle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Reading up here on options for getting a bit more performance out of the car. BMW do a kit themselves, which I believe is a new engine map and an intercooler. Anyway, trying to get a price and came across this. I think R.O.R mentioned this before on a car he delivered, but feck me this is mental...

http://www.martinreillybmw.ie/web/BMW-M-Performance-Kit/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Reading up here on options for getting a bit more performance out of the car. BMW do a kit themselves, which I believe is a new engine map and an intercooler. Anyway, trying to get a price and came across this. I think R.O.R mentioned this before on a car he delivered, but feck me this is mental...

Engine map, intercooler and brake upgrade if you don't have the M Performance brakes already.

You get a very small increase in bhp (I think it's about 25bhp) and in my opinion it's a waste of money. Better off getting it remapped by someone like Joe Power once the car is out of warranty.

That kit you linked is for the most part a waste of money too. €10k (down from €14k!!!) not worth it. You can get the same bits for a fraction of the cost on ebay. They won't be carbon fiber but does that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Yeah the map and intercooler that BM do, seems that they are quite conservative about it's performance. A few rolling road days with different cars, stock, BM pack, independent tuner maps showed the gap was a lot smaller than advertised. Independent tuners overselling their numbers and BM underselling.

PM me, I have a specific option for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Got my renewal quote this morning, 990 quid, have them down to 600 now. The difference one call can make!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Cowboys Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

Got my renewal quote this morning, 990 quid, have them down to 600 now. The difference one call can make!

That's good going on an 2001 car, most of them won't budge or quote new business.

tossy wrote: »
    That's good going on an 2001 car, most of them won't budge or quote new business.

Bought it straight away before they copped on. Don't think I've every paid that low a price on the e46! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Bought it straight away before they copped on. Don't think I've every paid that low a price on the e46! :eek:

That's fantastic, who are you insured with? It was €2295 for me at Christmas, and my car is newer!

(Although I have only one year NCD in my own name, so I'm sure that doesn't help matters.)

I just helpfully told my sister in law to turn off her rear demister. She had an argument with me as to how it makes the air in the front of the car cooler. Jesus wept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,120 ✭✭✭selectamatic

vintagevrs wrote: »

Tbh I'm firmly of the opinion that stage 1 upgrades are a waste of time on new emissions orientated diesels. The added chances of reliability issues down the line from dpf's and ever more complicated egr systems just doesn't seem worth it.

A stage 2 or 3 upgrade with free flowing exhaust and bypassed emission controls gives you much better performance gains and potentially a more reliable car so its more or less a win win.

Sure there's the what about the nox emissions argument but thats a whole other can of sanctimonious worms...

That's fantastic, who are you insured with? It was €2295 for me at Christmas, and my car is newer!

(Although I have only one year NCD in my own name, so I'm sure that doesn't help matters.)

123, I have 9+ years NCB at this stage which probably helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Ah sure Audi are way better than BMW anyway.

Just realised that this is a dangerous place to say that :)