Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Lads, I bought a car last week. Looked up motortax.ie for change of ownership status, it was transferred on the 5th and notified on the 6th but a new VLC hasn’t been issued yet. Any reason why this might be so?
    bazz26 wrote: »
    I'd say they are just busy, summer time so they might be down on staff due to holiday rota plus you have the July 182 new car reg surge.
    mossym wrote: »
    taxed my new car for the first time on the morning of the 4th, new cert just arrived yesterday, so i'd day they are working through it

The logbook arrived in the post this morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,573 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Interesting review of the new NSX here:

Interior gets slated given it's price tag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Would a main dealer have service books? Car hasn't been serviced there. Current one is full. Not much on eBay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

What kind of car is it for? They can be difficult to source even from a dealer sometimes.

Ford Mondeo 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Print out a few more blanks and stick them in, keep invoices, 2008 Mondeo isn’t worth money so the stamped service history will be more for OCD or sentimental reasons :)

You’ll often see owners forums with blank pages scanned that you can print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

A lot of newer cars have gone away from the hand written stamped service history. My one has a service book but no where to fill in services. But there is a pocket for invoices so I got dealer to print out history and I keep it there. You can also view it online but still nicer to have a hard copy in the service book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Speaking of servicing, the service history on the 3 series I bought is all recorded on the iDrive. Quick Google tells me only main dealers can update that which is understandable but a bit crap too. I'll probably go independent so will just keep receipts etc now.

Got my vrt quote today which matched the vrt calculator online so no hidden surprises. Will get it paid tomorrow and get my new reg.

Also had a look at the amount of M// badges on the car. There are 12 on the exterior alone, and I don't have one on the boot or grill. 6 down each side, in a diesel 3 series. :rolleyes:

Independent BMW specialists who have the proper software/diagnostics can sign up to the BMW online service history in the iDrive. I had my last F10 serviced back in January by my local BMW indy and it was logged in the iDrive. I got paper receipts too. Each registered BMW servicing centre will have a unique id number that you will see in the iDrive next to the service history details.

If your indy isn't signed up to that then just get the usual stamps entered in the service book and normal invoices/receipts.

Independent BMW specialists who have the proper software/diagnostics can sign up to the BMW online service history in the iDrive. I had my last F10 serviced back in January by my local BMW indy and it was logged in the iDrive. I got paper receipts too. Each registered BMW servicing centre will have a unique id number that you will see in the iDrive next to the service history details.

If your indy isn't signed up to that then just get the usual stamps entered in the service book and normal invoices/receipts.
    Does your Indy have a unique service number. My guy said he could do it but that number comes up with question marks or something as he's not a franchise dealer.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Does your Indy have a unique service number. My guy said he could do it but that number comes up with question marks or something as he's not a franchise dealer.

I'm nearly certain he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

In Colm Quinns and Morissons, I got a printed job sheet of what was to be done along with a printed receipt of what was done. All this info is also on the key.

Nothing better than having everything printed off and kept in order to present to potential future buyers.

colm_mcm wrote:
    Print out a few more blanks and stick them in, keep invoices, 2008 Mondeo isn’t worth money so the stamped service history will be more for OCD or sentimental reasons

You’ll often see owners forums with blank pages scanned that you can print.

Good idea!!

Ya cars worth about a fiver, but I'm just so Ocd about these things, a record has been kept since day one so might aswell keep going.

I'm worse with the golf, the black owners pouch is jammer with receipts and stuff. Think I even have the receipts for the reg plates stuck in there :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

So I rang Fionnsport first thing Friday last week, and the upshot of it is that my bus is currently in with him.

I hadn't planned on coming down to Cork at all this month, but since he's closed when I wanted to go to him and he was able to fit me in today instead, I decided that instead of all the things I mentioned last week, he could do the discs and pads instead (I was going to get them done in Dublin as I'm obviously not going to drive a car that needs discs done for too long) - but he will give the car the once over to see what the cause of the other issues are.

While waiting for him to turn up this morning I was talking to a couple of lads in the premises opposite and they also said very good things about him so hopefully it will have been worth the diversion to Cork on my way to Kerry for the weekend!

I also saw an E39 535i this morning, other than FN's 540i, I can't remember the last time I saw a V8 powered E39!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I also saw an E39 535i this morning, other than FN's 540i, I can't remember the last time I saw a V8 powered E39!

That's my buddies 535i I went to the North to pick up, passed her NCT today. There's also an e39 M5 we regularly hang around with that's up with us too and another SE 540i running the same wheels as me too around Carrigaline.

Bad news today is that BMW Germany won't have a Vanos unit now until September :rolleyes: looking into US based options now :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Put the DL plates on in the end. Too much hassle otherwise and figure it'll make feck all difference by the time I sell it...

IMG_20180713_200008.jpg

That's my buddies 535i I went to the North to pick up, passed her NCT today. There's also an e39 M5 we regularly hang around with that's up with us too and another SE 540i running the same wheels as me too around Carrigaline.

Bad news today is that BMW Germany won't have a Vanos unit now until September :rolleyes: looking into US based options now :rolleyes:

Oh no, sorry to hear that! I know it's far from ideal, but would it be worth trying breakers in the UK? I saw your car in Fionnsport this evening and it's still looking as pristine as ever anyway!

Yeah it was a black one on an English reg that I saw this morning, I'm guessing that's the car?

Got the car back this evening, and while I think it's fair to say I'm not easily impressed, I was blown away by how good Fionnsport is. The last time I was this impressed with a mechanic was when I used Darren Wood BMW in the UK (by the way, for any boardsies in the UK, this is the only place to take your BMW to as they're simply amazing - well worth the 3-4 week waiting list).

He is outstanding, since I brought the car back to Ireland I've tried two different garages, and neither would rate besides Fionnsport.

I knew there was a noise coming from back of the car so I took it into a fairly well regarded specialist in Dublin only to be told it was fine:rolleyes:, needless to say Fionnsport caught it and fortunately it's a wheel bearing and not the diff as I suspected. He also found quite a few other issues as well, his attention to detail really impressed me.

Suffice to say, from now on I'll be taking round trips to Cork any time I have a problem as my car won't be going anywhere else unless it's something that renders the car undriveable to Cork (although I do have towing and recovery included in my insurance). He knows BMWs backwards and he's a real enthusiast as well. To top it off, the job was nearly €25 cheaper than what I was quoted in Dublin, so I almost got my petrol costs back for good measure, so all in all, I'm a very happy camper!

What kind of car is it for? They can be difficult to source even from a dealer sometimes.

Actually need a Vw Golf one too. Got it serviced today, only realised they used up the last page :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Good idea!!

Ya cars worth about a fiver, but I'm just so Ocd about these things, a record has been kept since day one so might aswell keep going.

I'm worse with the golf, the black owners pouch is jammer with receipts and stuff. Think I even have the receipts for the reg plates stuck in there :o

I have a spreadsheet for each car put details of all servicing and maintenance work in there handy if you want to look back and see when or what mileage something was done tyres for example. Also put insurance costs etc in that. I have spreadsheets for most things though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

CIP4 wrote: »
    I have a spreadsheet for each car put details of all servicing and maintenance work in there handy if you want to look back and see when or what mileage something was done tyres for example. Also put insurance costs etc in that. I have spreadsheets for most things though :)

You’re some craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Oh no, sorry to hear that! I know it's far from ideal, but would it be worth trying breakers in the UK? I saw your car in Fionnsport this evening and it's still looking as pristine as ever anyway!

Yeah it was a black one on an English reg that I saw this morning, I'm guessing that's the car?

Nah second hand isn't an option for me to be honest. An absolute waste of time putting in a second hand unit not knowing what it's like or for it to just fail 6 months down the line, kind of like a second hand timing belt :pac: It definitely aint pristine at the moment anyway :D

Yeah the black one outside Finbarr's on the english plates, now on Irish plates! Manuel too :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Nah second hand isn't an option for me to be honest. An absolute waste of time putting in a second hand unit not knowing what it's like or for it to just fail 6 months down the line, kind of like a second hand timing belt :pac: It definitely aint pristine at the moment anyway :D

Yeah the black one outside Finbarr's on the english plates, now on Irish plates! Manuel too :cool:

Que?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You’re some craic!

Knowledge is power :)

Excel and fun don't go in the same sentence.....

Might interest some here, from the bargain alerts forum:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057891159

If you have a BOI Visa debit card registered for cashback rewards, there is €5 cashback on your Visa debit card if you spend €50 or more at certain Circle K/Topaz filling stations:

https://boi.visaoffers.eu/

Might interest some here, from the bargain alerts forum:
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057891159

If you have a BOI Visa debit card registered for cashback rewards, there is €5 cashback on your Visa debit card if you spend €50 or more at certain Circle K/Topaz filling stations:

https://boi.visaoffers.eu/

AIB are doing the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,683 ✭✭✭✭wonski

AIB are doing the same.

And Permanent tsb valid until 27/07.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭Dartz

193km on 16l of petrol.

... That's the best I've ever seen out of it in 4 years of ownership and not far off what it should be getting. New engine running like a spinning watch on long drives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Back in Dublin for the weekend and aggression on the roads seems to he worse than ever. 10 years experience of drivibg there befire i left abd don't remember it being this bad. Considering Sunday morning has been the worst everyone just be hungover. Running red lights has stayed the same.