Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Not a diet feeder but zgrazed grass beteween paddocks ,very little feed loss and working a dream so far

Lol.
    Big difference between drought and........“ could do with a drop of rain”.

You could be suffering from a touch of Munchausens alright.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    F the begrudges ,some just don’t like differing opinions ....anyway those posts were very interesting and helpful I thought .im probably taking an option on 15 acres of westewolds and red clover for baling in late September .barley off Monday field disced today and seed in tomorrow .good option for tillage man as he’s putting wheat back in there in October

WESTERWOLDS!!!??

It’s a parasite!
    It’s worse than a bad virus that completely sucks the life out it’s host!
    Bred by Beelzebub to destroy land...

Why would you greet your friendly tillage farmer with a Glasgow kiss? May as well give him a kick in the nads while you’re at it.

Westershyte is promoted for decades because it “responds well to fert”....meaning it will suck every drop of fertility from the soil and put nothing back. Also ruins soil structure.

If you cut it when leafy and damp you will get bales of skittery shyte that is only useful as a Bovine laxative. If it gets strong you have bales of gutfill that has a feed value of straw.

The whole idea of cover-cropping is to replenish, fertilise, and condition the soil whilst at the same time remove a high value forage.

Try winter/spring rye or even buckwheat.

Yosemitesam was correct...

This was my plan too Mj but talking to a rep today he told me I wouldn't get a crop by the end of October and then another one yesterday told me I'd have a crop in 10 weeks if sowed soon who do I beleive?
    I have land available that I can put something in, quite a sizeable amount too. The one today was saying redstart and bale it but I'm afraid of the bales going into absolute mush!

Baling redstart??

Ah my that land is 20k away and it's tillage land.
    I could sow it in land I wanted to reseed this year and graze but I'd be down land in the spring when it would be needed more

Micheli/balansa clover with a suitable partner or two (not westershyte!!).
    Tillage man will love you for it and you’ll score top class forage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Micheli/balansa clover with a suitable partner or two (not westershyte!!).
    Tillage man will love you for it and you’ll score top class forage.

I'll have to look into that. Where would I get the seed and don't say cooney/furlong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

WESTERWOLDS!!!??

It’s a parasite!
    It’s worse than a bad virus that completely sucks the life out it’s host!
    Bred by Beelzebub to destroy land...

Why would you greet your friendly tillage farmer with a Glasgow kiss? May as well give him a kick in the nads while you’re at it.

Westershyte is promoted for decades because it “responds well to fert”....meaning it will suck every drop of fertility from the soil and put nothing back. Also ruins soil structure.

If you cut it when leafy and damp you will get bales of skittery shyte that is only useful as a Bovine laxative. If it gets strong you have bales of gutfill that has a feed value of straw.

The whole idea of cover-cropping is to replenish, fertilise, and condition the soil whilst at the same time remove a high value forage.

Try winter/spring rye or even buckwheat.

Yosemitesam was correct...

Not my land so not concerned 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

kevthegaff wrote:
    Anyone feeding using a diet feeder out on the field? How do ye find the Abbey tub? Was considering one in the future

Say there's plenty at it, I'm feeding at the barrier still.
    Have tub feeder a couple of years. You'd really wonder sometimes if the money invested in it is worth it. But I still find it handy.
    I think all the big names are the same really. Bales still have to be chopped by right. I decided to throw a bale of hay into mine there, it mixed up prefect with silage. Fired in the next one it just sat there in a big ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Please, Please, Is there a school or course that we can go to....through English.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

alps wrote: »
    Please, Please, Is there a school or course that we can go to....through English.?

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Bo dearg

Some of us are interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,394 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Cooney Furlong, Dranagh, Caim, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford.

I ain't messing either.

Anyone travelling through Clonroche these past few winters will have seen examples of such. And especially the following crops. Anyone that went with a big diversity of a cover crop this year its more or less "a normal year".

The big thing in the U.S. is now direct drilling straight into a rolled cover crop or multi cropping with two crops growing at the same time on the same ground.

For anyone thinking of sowing any crop after w.barley. You won't get no tillage takers if you just buy on the crop/dm basis. You're going to have to take all the risk in this weather and buy the seed and fert and till.
    Maybe just lease the land for a few months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

I ain't messing either.

Anyone travelling through Clonroche these past few winters will have seen examples of such. And especially the following crops. Anyone that went with a big diversity of a cover crop this year its more or less "a normal year".

The big thing in the U.S. is now direct drilling straight into a rolled cover crop or multi cropping with two crops growing at the same time on the same ground.

For anyone thinking of sowing any crop after w.barley. You won't get no tillage takers if you just buy on the crop/dm basis. You're going to have to take all the risk in this weather and buy the seed and fert and till.
    It's the idea of leaving 'soil armour' to prevent heavy rain impacting on friable soil directly washing it away or wind/sun drying it out too much. Putting in Balansa and oats here for grazing beef heifers and something cheap for the rest going for spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,394 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It's the idea of leaving 'soil armour' to prevent heavy rain impacting on friable soil directly washing it away or wind/sun drying it out too much. Putting in Balansa and oats here for grazing beef heifers and something cheap for the rest going for spring.

Another way of looking at it is that more variety = more diversity of life = more life = more free fertilizer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Another way of looking at it is that more variety = more diversity of life = more life = more free fertilizer.
    Spend enough on various versions of poo and compost and witch doctor stuff, cc's are to give BG the middle finger and tell it compete with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I ain't messing either.

I could get a short term lease ie until first week of Oct. Thirty acres, 10 miles away. No organic manure available cost effectively. Transport of anything harvested esp bales would be an expensive pita. Grazing not an option. Stubble clear now. What would give a reasonable dm yield in this time frame?

Edit; Something that would have a benefit for my tillage farming neighbour also. I'd far rather organise a price for a forage crop delivered to my yard than to get involved with planting and managing a crop 10 miles away where every single thing bar dropping the seed to the field will be done by contractors. He's not keen on it because he feels he's taking too much risk. For a guy who generally takes good care of his soils he's not keen on cover crops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

I could get a short term lease ie until first week of Oct. Thirty acres, 10 miles away. No organic manure available cost effectively. Transport of anything harvested esp bales would be an expensive pita. Grazing not an option. Stubble clear now. What would give a reasonable dm yield in this time frame?

Edit; Something that would have a benefit for my tillage farming neighbour also. I'd far rather organise a price for a forage crop delivered to my yard than to get involved with planting and managing a crop 10 miles away where every single thing bar dropping the seed to the field will be done by contractors. He's not keen on it because he feels he's taking too much risk. For a guy who generally takes good care of his soils he's not keen on cover crops.

oats and a bag of n is probably the easiest, could put in something like vetch, peas or some of dawg's fancy clovers to provide n or else some buckwheat to help with soil p availability if you want to help his soil.

I'll have to look into that. Where would I get the seed and don't say cooney/furlong!

Goldcrop in Cork.
    John Dunne is the man to talk to.

Cooney Furlong was in my head because you’re in their neck of the woods and I know the guy that’s spearheading their work....

If you need Johns mobile no I’ll pm.

visatorro wrote: »
    Say there's plenty at it, I'm feeding at the barrier still.
    Have tub feeder a couple of years. You'd really wonder sometimes if the money invested in it is worth it. But I still find it handy.
    I think all the big names are the same really. Bales still have to be chopped by right. I decided to throw a bale of hay into mine there, it mixed up prefect with silage. Fired in the next one it just sat there in a big ball!

Use 2ton of hay per week here. Fire in the bales and come back in 20mins, job done. Unload into feed bay. Use daily as needed. Simples.

Try winter rye, squarrosum and vetch on the land going for spring cropping.
    Don’t plant a following crop that’s easily lodged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Cows today. Dropped meal to 2kg now

You’re getting a little carried away there Free.

Planting can be as simple as dragging a fecked up gate through stubbles, spread with fert spinner, roll, close the gap. Or you could direct drill and roll...

NO FERT...It is a fertiliser and soil conditioner.

The “fancy” clover should cost at most €30/ha.

Eg. Squarrosum will grow to the height of your shoulder...most certainly it will lodge. 3-6tdm/ha circa 18-22% pr. Adding oats,rye or whatever will help to conserve the clover when harvested and further condition the soil.

No chemicals. No fertilisers. No worries.

For anyone in a tillage area it’s very attractive to both parties going forward.
    Sustainable. Win win.

What fert is needed for that mix?

oats and a bag of n is probably the easiest, could put in something like vetch, peas or some of dawg's fancy clovers to provide n or else some buckwheat to help with soil p availability if you want to help his soil.

You’d be doing the country a service if you do your PhD on cover and companion cropping...

Then again you’d be in a hard battle to change/wean current thinking.

Planting can be as simple as dragging a fecked up gate through stubbles, spread with fert spinner, roll, close the gap. Or you could direct drill and roll...

Eg. Squarrosum will grow to the height of your shoulder...most certainly it will lodge. 3-6tdm/ha circa 18-22% pr. Adding oats,rye or whatever will help to conserve the clover when harvested and further condition the soil.

For anyone in a tillage area it’s very attractive to both parties going forward.
    Sustainable. Win win.

You're adamant that these will germinate without moisture everyone I talk to including people you have mentioned is just as adamant that without rain being at least in the forecast it's a waste of money. You obviously have no dog in the fight but have plenty of experience with these crops. I'm going to burn off a failed reseed and get one of the mixtures you mentioned and see what happens.

Goldcrop in Cork.
    John Dunne is the man to talk to.

Cooney Furlong was in my head because you’re in their neck of the woods and I know the guy that’s spearheading their work....

If you need Johns mobile no I’ll pm.
    They are and I will not deal with them. Dealt with them once and not again.

Sustainable. Win win.

Or me gawd :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

whelan2 wrote: »
    Cows today. Dropped meal to 2kg now

Christ W2 but things look good for you there. No green here at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Christ W2 but things look good for you there. No green here at all.
    The only advantage of heavy ground. Often look at photos on here and elsewhere of lads with cows out in February, we can only dream here. In fairness I have alot of brown fields at the minute too :)

whelan2 wrote: »
    The only advantage of heavy ground. Often look at photos on here and elsewhere of lads with cows out in February, we can only dream here. In fairness I have alot of brown fields at the minute too :)

We are heavy ground too but completely burnt off