Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

That's one of the better roads in Cork. You can get a lot poorer than that if you want to :)

I know..... however kinsale attracts lots of tourists so one would expect the road to be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭ofcork

I see there will be a BMW 635csi for sale at terenure tomorrow saw on fb during the week also cannonball will have some cars there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Got to drive a family members 171 Leon Cupra 290 DSG. Some car I have never driven anything with that kind of power. But was unreal the fact you could just drive it normally and it would tip up through the gears quite and smooth but if you put the shoe down and it dropped a few gears the sound and the power just effortless up to ridiculous speeds. I reckon the Golf R would be the better car with its 4 motion but price wise the Leon is a lot of car and power for the money.

Had a massive grin on my face kind of mad that they are basically only a 4 cylinder 2.0 but putting out that kind of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

...and that, folks, was the moment when CIP4 knew that the A4................

..well...we all know what happens next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

colm_mcm wrote: »
    ...and that, folks, was the moment when CIP4 knew that the A4................

..well...we all know what happens next

Me impulsively buying a new car never, you must have me mixed up with someone else. Although it is my birthday today :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,280 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Happy B-day! :D

CIP4 wrote: »

Had a massive grin on my face kind of mad that they are basically only a 4 cylinder 2.0 but putting out that kind of power.

2.0 turbo units from way back used to put out similar or more with slight mods. ST205 ish GT4s were 250bhp out of the showroom iirc..... wrx Impreza were 270 odd in the90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭flatty

Murt102 wrote: »
    08 Mondeo 1.8tdci - over the last few days it has started to suddenly lose power. Driving at approx 100kmph and then a sudden judder of power loss (only for a second) and then back to normal. This would continue the whole journey every few minutes when at that speed. Any ideas of what could be causing this?

Faulty injector, dpf, EGR or another sensor.

Mine dies if I rev it over 2krevs as it's the fuel pump.
    We had this on herselfs Peugeot 307 back when we were first wed.
    It was the dpf, and it stopped the engine revving above 3000 rpm. It was a dear enough fix in truth, and it no difference at all to the way she drove, so she just left it and it stayed like that for a few years til she traded it. Told the dealer. He was happy and sold it on as was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭flatty

Mercedes w126 vs w140
    I'm looking at buying one or other. I've actually put a deposit down on a 126 which the dealer says in in excellent condition. A Singapore import with 70k on the clock, which he says is good enough for him to do an unintended full body respray on. I was going to buy another one he has, so it's not like he was losing out, or had a motive to encourage me to wait, but when I told him what I was after when looking at the first, he said if I could hold on for six weeks, this was a far better buy. In the meantime I have been offered an absolutely pristine w140, as new, with 24k km on the clock. Problem is firstly its grey, secondly it has grey velour, and thirdly those have a reputation for every repair bill being a thousand euros.
    I'd be really keen on anyone's opinion. I just want something steady, solid, comfortable and I may well Lpg convert.

Anyone heading to cars and coffee limerick? Should be great with the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Yet again, the only weekend I am away from Limerick is the one C&C is on. Take a few pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

What county are ye in?

vintagevrs wrote: »
    What county are ye in?

Limerick City for me, Kerry currently. I think Colm is too.

Clare for me.

Limerick City for me, Kerry currently. I think Colm is too.
    Ah I passed an E36 very like yours today, but not you then so

Taxing it when I get home from Kerry. My Volvo is SORN today. It's the E36 or a Fiat Doblo van for the summer.

Actually we were thinking of heading up to Donegal is August in the 36 for a night or so, where would you suggest?

Depends what ye are after. If you are touring about in the car and want to see some nice scenery/beaches etc I would recommend Fanad. There is a light house that you can visit in Fanad Head, Port Saloon isn't too far away and is worth a visit as it is beside Ballymastocker beach which is one of the best beaches IMO.
    585_82-628x250.jpg

This beach is also the start of the famous Knockalla stage on the Donegal rally if that means anything to ye. Impressive road to drive even within speed limits.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nrokRanX4k

There's also Glenveigh national park, not far from Letterkenny. You can hire bikes at Glenveigh Castle, and they also do electric bikes which are handy if that was your thing. Nice little cycle to the castle where you can get a bite to eat etc.
    glenveagh1.jpg

Slieve League is on the other side of the county. Nice scenic spot too but a bit of a drive to get to it:
    sdp3_slieveleague_main.jpg

Fantastic Vintage, thanks a million. Was on booking.com but didn't know where to start. That's a great help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Happy birthday cip lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The 540 is still feeling sorry for itself in the garage, found out yesterday even with the new seals the VANOS unit on bank 1 is mechanically sticking, new or second hand unit needed. New are very expensive each, between €5-700 each :rolleyes: depending on what they quote me from BMW tomorrow but I think new is a better shout than second hand with one and I should have it quickly from BMW too.

Jesus you've had it rough enough with that car.

I'm a week into oil burner ownership now. I've maybe put up a 1000miles and can't complain. It's averaging about 44 mpg and that's with me still enjoying passing everything that's in front just to enjoy the performance so that should stop after a while. I've only put diesel in it once, which is great.

Also it's my first white car, and with the weather being so dry lately I still haven't washed it as there's no point as it still looks pretty clean. Compared to black, there's no comparison.

IMG_20180701_214152.jpg

It's not all fun and games though as one of my front tyres has grown two bulges. This is the lesser of the two, the other was at the bottom of the wheel where I parked and isn't obvious for a picture.
    IMG_20180701_210701.jpg
    I wouldn't mind but there's plenty tread left on the fronts and because one needs done I'll probably replace the two. They are 19/40/225 run flat eagle F1s up front so a waste of two good tyres :(. Looks like an alignment is needed too as they are wearing the shoulders. At least it's the fronts, the rears are 255s.
    Also, revenue want me to give them the price of a decent car for a set of plates, which is booked in soon enough too.

Jesus you've had it rough enough with that car.

Ah well to be fair this is the only thing I hadn't planned for, I knew I'd be doing the timing chain/guides job as that's a main failure on them and took it into account when buying but the Vanos failure is not expected, they rarely go mechanically but one of mine is sticking and not retarding the timing correctly. The cost doesn't even bother me, I just want the thing back to enjoy driving it again :pac:

FN you're an inspiration to us all! I had a boarsie call to see the E36 today and he was gushing about your car.. munster mini meet?

Someone has to do it :pac: it wasn't CaptainSpeed by chance? :D Yeah I'd be definitely up for a meet once I have the car back, hopefully it'll be done this week if I can get a new unit quick enough!

Would there be much interest in a full Boards meet too at some point?

Someone has to do it :pac: it wasn't CaptainSpeed by chance? :D Yeah I'd be definitely up for a meet once I have the car back, hopefully it'll be done this week if I can get a new unit quick enough!

Got it in one! I'll give you a text and we will iron something out.

Yeah do!

Guess who's back.... Back again.... Taxed and ready for road, the 1st of July was a long time coming.

20180701_195029.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

And having had the pleasure of travelling in both of yer cars within the past year, what lovely examples of both they are too!!

Much to my shame, I've never been in an E36 until today:eek:, but I made up for this oversight by going in one with a proper engine:D.

If ye're planning on some sort of boards meet up then do let me know, I have yet to go to anything since I came back to Ireland so if I'm around then I'm definitely up for something!

And having had the pleasure of travelling in both of yer cars within the past year, what lovely examples of both they are too!!

Much to my shame, I've never been in an E36 until today:eek:, but I made up for this oversight by going in one with a proper engine:D.

If ye're planning on some sort of boards meet up then do let me know, I have yet to go to anything since I came back to Ireland so if I'm around then I'm definitely up for something!

Will do Captain. Great to meet you today and glad you enjoyed the spin. I was telling herself about "exploring the limits of grip" and meeting the Garda car coming around the corner!