Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Murph_D wrote: »
    Not a bad week at all Barry! Wouldn't get down about a bad MP run this early in the plan - your average pace looks great for the conditions. Sure you're just getting the feel for it, Fit Dutch Lady however seems to have helped you find your mojo. ;)

Cheers D, she helped alright and even exchanged mobile numbers, I was only a guide for her. Her 5k PB is 16.00 even she told me!!!

This sweating crack is getting ridiculous, both legs the same!!!:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

OOnegative wrote: »

:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Is it infectious?

aquinn wrote: »
    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Is it infectious?

Sweating?? You shave those legs yet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Sweating?? You shave those legs yet!!

Yes, a Friday night treat. Lucky P.

Köln Training Week 3/18 (18th-25th June ‘18)

Monday: Rest
    Tuesday: 11 mile MLR@8.01min/miles
    Wednesday: 12 mile MLR@7.56min/miles
    Thursday: 5 mile Rec@8.54min/miles
    Friday: 5 mile GA@8.19min/miles
    Saturday: Sweet Jesus!!!
    Sunday: 15 mile MLR@8.15min/miles

Monday was a rest day so nothing of interest there.

Tuesday’s 11 miler was again out towards Monster turn around just before half way and back again, 95% humidity on this at just past 10am, ridiculously soaked with sweat by time I got home. White foam on outside of both my legs, toe boxes of my runners were the same, looked like I was running with a bar of soap in each shoe. The run was fine though, felt good and strong even with the profuse sweating.

Wednesday and had to do the 12 miles later in the day, approaching 6pm by time I got out & it was very windy. Gusting upwards of 50km/h at times and along the exposed running paths out to Monster this was a challenge. I was being blown sideways with the sand whipping against my face and legs making it sting even more. As the day previous I felt great, less sweating as the humidity was below 70% but still a nice workout. Face sandblasted by runs end!!

Thursday’s run was a gentle recovery around the flatter parts of Bosjes Van Poot and Westduinpark. Becoming my favourite run of the week this.

Friday I dropped herself at play school and out straight away for an easy 5 miles around the local roads, all good. Received some great news later that evening and had 4 beers to celebrate, bad idea!!!

Saturday, awake all night with a pain in my stomach and crippling cramps on & off. I was due to race a 10k but pulled the plug on that as I was in no state to do a race. Nothing coming out of either end, just plain in agony with my stomach. We were entertaining that afternoon and couldn’t even have a few shandies due to the discomfort. I would have podiumed in the 10k to make it worse!!!

Sunday again up all night with the pain & cramps. The Boss was doing an early morning trip to Eindhoven so ruled out an early morning jaunt not that I was in a fit state to do so. Missus got back before 11.30am and cajoled me out to just try a mile, if I felt crap come home.

Done the mile felt crap, done two still felt crap, three the same, four and drink of water I perked up. So the small improvements continued. Got to my turnaround still feeling ropey but better than starting out, in the end got the run done. In better shape than I expected but I would have bailed in times gone past so glad of the little push out the door!!!

Shade over 48 miles for the week, not ideal I know but not a lost week either considering how I felt and continued to feel after Sunday’s 15 miles. Turns out one of the beers I had Friday evening was a good 12 months out of date and it wasn’t the kind of beer you want to be drinking past it’s best before date. There’s little signs of improvement on each run so i’ll take that. Delighted to get the call!!!!

Koln Training Week 4/18 (25th June-1st July '18)

Monday: Rest Day
    Tuesday: 9 mile GA + 10X100m strides@8.18min/miles.
    Wednesday: 5 mile GA@8.14min/miles.
    Thursday: 11 mile MLR@7.57min/miles.
    Friday: 11.45 mile GA@8.26min/miles.
    Saturday: 5 mile Recovery@8.54min/miles.
    Sunday: 18 mile LR@8.08min/miles.

Monday as usual was a rest day, nothing to see here.

Tuesday was down to Zuiderpark, the whole place was blocked off from a music festival the weekend before so i had to run laps on the perimeter o fthe park which wasn't ideal as the paths were quiet lumpy in parts and i really had to watch the footing in places. I like to do my strides throughout the run rather than do them all at the end of the run.

Wednesday's run was a quick jaunt around Bosjes Van Poot and Westduinpark as the Boss was going swimming so i had to be back to let her off.

Thursday we all spent most of the afternoon at http://www.volvooceanrace.com/en/ports/the-hague.html, some of the boats on show were something else and worth a few dollars i would say. It was after 7pm getting out to run but was still 28 degrees according to the weather :eek::eek::eek:. I once again headed for Monster and turned around there, i struggled big style on the last 4 miles running myself close to dehydration by runs end. Happy to get home in one piece if i'm honest, i was well hydrated before heading out but i won't bore or sicken ye anymore with my sweating capabilities.

Friday was suppose to be a 12 mile MLR but i changed it to a 11.45 GA run as i wasn't able for anymore, it was just over 12 hours(10am) after finishing the previous evenings run and having thought i was hydrated well enough after that this run told me i was not. Again i suffered cause of excessive sweating because of the humidity and heat.

Saturday a very handy 5 miles around BVP and Westduinpark in the 30 degree+ heat, glad thats all i had to do.

Sunday morning i was up and out the door before 7am :eek:, the last time i was up this early to do a long run was when i was running my long runs along the Royal Canal in the build up to Rotterdam '16. I once again headed for Kijkduin but rather than head for Monster as always, i took the more northerly cycle/running path and headed for http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hook_of_Holland. It was 17 degrees heading out but the humidity was only at 50% which i was delighted to see, i had the whole paths to myself on my way out and the views across to Europort were something else, kept the mind occupied looking at the various container ships/ ferries/cruise liners etc coming in and out, some of which were huge!!

Turned for home at 9 miles and it was much busier on the way back, loads of large cycling groups out and plenty of runners ALL of which had a "morgen" for me. I ran 6 of the last 7 miles at MP+10% in line with the plan and felt brand new doing them. Got home wondering had i ran 18 miles at all. Big confidence boost this.

59.45 miles for the week but it was a 60 mile week what with the conditions i ran in, all of ye at home are suffering in it this week, this is the kind of weather i have been running in the past 6-7 weeks, its not easy, i don't particularly like it at times but i know it will stand to me come race day.

On a side note and this is not to get thanks on my post, but its great to see TbL back, he reached out to me when times were very rough for me and gave me an ear to talk in. I know how much running means to the man, great to see him back on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Some great running of late man.I'm out at 5:30am,whenever the wife is off.how the hell you can keep running in that heat is beyond me. will definitely stand to you.

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Some great running of late man.I'm out at 5:30am,whenever the wife is off.how the hell you can keep running in that heat is beyond me. will definitely stand to you.

My missus is gone early every morning with our eldest so I leave our youngest at play school Monday, Tuesday & Friday for 10am and head for my run those mornings straight after but it’s 20 degrees plus by that time so I just have to suck it up. Rest of the week it’s run when she comes home or as i’ve done since plan started out early on a Sunday.

Any 10K or half planned before cologne?

Doing two 10 milers, one while i’m home in Mullingar on 28th of July then another on 2nd of September in Tilburg when I get back to Holland. You doing another marathon this year, DCM?

What pace would you be hoping for,in a 10 mile race,knowing ur going for a sub 3?Yes,b,I'm signed up for Dublin,I'm averaging 55 miles aweek at the moment.Took 2 weeks off, first 2 weeks of June(holidays).Hoping to rack it up to 75/80 aweek for Dublin.

My 10 mile PB is 64.19 so i’d like to dip into 62.xx all going well in one of those races. Mullingar preferably as it’s a tougher route. 10 mile world record was ran in Tilburg!!

Is Mullingar a difficult course?

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Is Mullingar a difficult course?

Best way I can describe S is that it’s rolling, I think it’s a very fair route to give an honest assessment on it. Great sambos & cake though!!!

Haha..this time I'll be more interested in the racing. I have a terribly soft PB of 1:22 and have two things I want to do/ judge in Mullingar...(a) a 7 min pace to break 70 and (b) to see how difficult that is if I get it done as I also have eyes on a 1:30 half. Will Mullingar give me a proper representation of where I'm at?

When is mullingar on?

28th of July. Few from here running it already.

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Haha..this time I'll be more interested in the racing. I have a terribly soft PB of 1:22 and have two things I want to do/ judge in Mullingar...(a) a 7 min pace to break 70 and (b) to see how difficult that is if I get it done as I also have eyes on a 1:30 half. Will Mullingar give me a proper representation of where I'm at?

The first half in Mullingar is the fairer half I think, you have to work harder in the second half I think more rises to deal with when the legs are starting to feel it. Another thing about it, it has an awful reputation of being baking the day of the race for whatever reason. The way your going at the minute i’d say your selling yourself way short st going out at 7 min pace.

Maybe but I want to use it as a rangefinder having never properly raced the distance. Plan is to use it to get a feel for pace over that distance and then use Kilcock 10 and Ratoath half as the all out efforts.

Koln Training Week 5/18 (2nd-8th July '18)

Monday: Rest Day
    Tuesday: 9 miles with 5@LT@6.45min/miles
    Wednesday: 14 mile MLR@8.00min/miles
    Thursday: 5.10 mile Recovery@8.49min/miles
    Friday: 10 mile GA@8.21min/miles
    Saturday: 18 mile with 8@MP@7.59min/miles
    Sunday: 5 miles GA@8.03min/miles

Monday was resting as per usual, move on.

Tuesday's LT run was done in Zuiderpark, mainly cause of the shade it would offer when doing it as it was 25 degrees plus at 10am heading out the door after dropping the wee one to play school. Had been reading a bit about running in the heat and one thing that stuck in my head that The Claw stated was to focus more on effort rather than pace in the heat. So with that firmly stuck in my head i started into the LT miles after a 2 mile warm-up.

Ignored the watch save for 2-3 looks throughout mainly when under tree cover and concentrated on the effort, it was warm but i felt good, sweating buckets but very comfortable. Was very happy to see the avg pace after the 5 miles, it was only 4 secs slower to what i would have targetted on a normal day.

Wednesday's run was done and dusted before 8.30am to be back to let the missus off, out on the usual route towards Monster and back, it was warm out at 6.30am but a very managable warm, started at MP+20% and worked down to MP+10% over the last 5 miles, great run and even better to have it out of the way that early.

Thursday and the usual recovery jaunt around Bosjes Van Poot, it was like a furnace running in the tree covered park and i looked like i had done a hard session by runs end not a recovery run.

Friday's 10 miler was done in the heat of the afternoon as the eldest lads sports day was on for the morning. He loved everybit and performed well in the shot-putt a sport he says he enjoys. Kept the pace sensible on this one as the heat was pretty intense but thankfully humidity was low.

Saturday i was up and out the door again before 7am, checked the phone for weather and it was saying it was 87% humidity out, not good for me. I done this on a 3.35 mile loop that passed our front door for water purposes and not to to far from home if i felt wobbly!! Done a 6 mile warm up before starting the MP miles, immediately i felt it, sweating went up tenfold and i felt very warm even though it was still before 8am, the first MP was bearable, second i started getting dizzy and light headed like a few weeks back, i was approaching the house and was either going to plow on with the MP miles or stop at the house for water? Legs started to get jelly like as i turned of Laan Van Meerdervoort, decision made, i stopped for water and a bit of a sit down. Composed myself and started off again, decided to leave any more MP stuff, cop out? Maybe, but i didn't fancy more dizzyness and jelly legs!! Rest of the run went fine with plenty of MP+10% miles in there.

Pretty dejected for while after the run that the MP miles were such a disaster, previous MP miles i done in the cycle were far from comfortable also. But soon seen the brighter side, it was a solid LR at less than 60secs slower than MP that will stand to me come 7th of October.

Sunday's run was a quick one around Westduinpark working back into Bosjes Van Poot and home, legs felt good the same could not be said about the head from previous nights Anniversary drinks and dinner with the missus.

61.10 miles and a decent week again, the MP stuff is a little concerning but something i will figure out no doubt, i'm not a morning runner maybe thats it and the body is letting me know, but that trumps doing 18 miles in the middle of the day in 25+ degree heat. A little bit of a niggle in the left achilles but apart from that the body feels good, drop back to 55 miles next week in the plan with less intensity to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

That’s a pretty tough week even without the heat B - and given your aversion to the hot stuff I think you’re acclimatising pretty well and I wouldn’t worry too much about those few MP miles at this stage of the cycle. Happy anniversary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Murph_D wrote: »
    That’s a pretty tough week even without the heat B - and given your aversion to the hot stuff I think you’re acclimatising pretty well and I wouldn’t worry too much about those few MP miles at this stage of the cycle. Happy anniversary!

+ 1 to this

And no harm to have a bit of water with you\stashed somewhere for some of the longer stuff B

Duanington wrote: »
    + 1 to this

And no harm to have a bit of water with you\stashed somewhere for some of the longer stuff B

Cheers D, very conscious of the water alright, make sure i’m passing plenty of water fountains when I plan a run, something the Dutch are very proud of is there water quality.

Koln Training Week 6/18 (9th-15th July '18)

Monday: Resy Day
    Tuesday: 8 mile GA + 10x100m@8.12min/miles.
    Wednesday: 5 mile GA@8.00min/miles.
    Thursday: 12 mile MLR@7.55min/miles.
    Friday: 10 mile GA@8.31min/miles.
    Saturday: 5 mile Recovery@8.51min/miles.
    Sunday: 10 mile GA@8.25min/miles.

Monday, usual rest day.

Tuesday, 8 miles with strides after dropping the wee one to playschool. Headed for Zuiderpark again for the shade and the fact that the European Beach Volleyball Champs were on the coming weekend, Tuesday just happened to be ladies practise day, pure coincidence that!!

Wednesday's run was a quick 5 mile after herself got in from work, one of those runs where you don't want it to finish. I was gliding along.

Thursday and out again after the missus got in, like home its still baking here and it was still 25+ degrees at 5pm heading out on this. Started again at MP+20% for first 4 miles and worked down to MP+10% for last 4. It went well even though i resembled the EXXON Valdez with the amout of sweat i was leaking on it, got through it feeling strong. Confidence booster feeling so good in the heat.

Friday's run was complete opposite to Thursday's even though it was just a General Aerobic, i was overheating after two miles and was total mess come 5 miles. Took serious effort to get this done, i took plenty of water on board during the run and can only put it down to maybe running it to soon after Thursday evenings effort, kick in the gonads this one!!

Saturday and my favourite run of the week, handy recovery run through Westduinpark, Bosjes Van Poot and back home, regardless of the pace i was soaked again.

Sunday, i woke up to the alarm at 6.30am and i was cranky and tired, quick press of the snooze button and checked the weather, 24 degrees at 7am with 80% humidity. What the hell?? I was going to suffer running 15 miles, i knew that, but how badly? Out the door in the Trim AC colours, and around a 5 mile loop that passed the front door this week again for water reasons. First half mile was shaded then onto the running paths, bang the sun hit my back and near bald head. Christ its warm i thought, plowed on but not joking i was goosed by 4 miles, remember passing the local garage and having the sudden urge to vomit which took few minutes to pass.

Stopped at 5 miles and took 500mls of water on board and set off again, felt good for about a mile and then it went pear shaped again, i remember looking down at my runners as i turned onto Laan Van Meerdervoort for the second time and seeing little streams of sweat shooting out of the air holes in the toe-boxes of both my runners :eek::eek::eek:. Got to 9 miles and had to stop and sit down, nearly fell over the wall in doing so!! Got home the second time and pulled the plug, i can suffer with the best of them when i have to, this wasn't an occasion to do so. I was fried and no point hurting myself anymore.

50 miles for the week, 5 short on what it should have been, not a big deal in the grand scheme of things but slightly deflated with this mornings run. 15 miles should be handy at this stage.

1/3 Plan Review:

- thoughts of sub 3 are gone, not being defeatest, negative or throwing in the towel just being honest and realistic with myself.
    - training is up and down, down mainly because of the heat/humidity but ye folks in Ireland have that problem to.
    - this is my first time training for a marathon during the summer, thoughts of doing it again are not strong at this point.
    - i am getiing fitter i can feel it.
    - man i hate training in the heat!!
    - only for the fact i have a few drinks at the weekend i would be gone away to nothing, 78kgs currently, but without the alcohol i would be much less i think.
    - did i mention its warm!!
    - niggles are good thankfully, achilles can be achey but not impeding my running.

Am home in Ireland for 3 weeks from next Friday hoping for some cooler weather!! Big week coming up with 68 miles on the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

You might get a bit cooler weather but still have the humidity. You are not yet half way through. Still putting in the miles, executing all sessions bar the LR. The MLR was good. Get one or 2 of those LRs done over here and you may feel more positive about a sub3 crack. Just a bit early to call it yet maybe?

No, I don’t think so. I’m border line sub 3 going off my most recent half time and the longer the distance the more I tend to suffer and my times tail off. I’ll settle for a strong PB currently, sub 3.10 and i’ll be delighted honestly. I’ll discount the sub 3 altogether but hope the sub 3.10 turns to a sub 3.05 as the training goes on. Thanks for the input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

I also was thinking it is a bit early to call of the sub 3 attempt. 1/3 of the way through the plan and running in unfavourable conditions ATM...

I'd be interested in knowing how much fluid you are loosing through sweat... Any chance of weighing yourself in the nip pre and post workout on a few of your runs? I'm sure it might surprise you (and us if you tell us) the difference....

PS Just to clarify, I say in the nip just so that you don't end up weighing the sweat soaked gear post run!!!!! :D:D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    I also was thinking it is a bit early to call of the sub 3 attempt. 1/3 of the way through the plan and running in unfavourable conditions ATM...

I'd be interested in knowing how much fluid you are loosing through sweat... Any chance of weighing yourself in the nip pre and post workout on a few of your runs? I'm sure it might surprise you (and us if you tell us) the difference....

PS Just to clarify, I say in the nip just so that you don't end up weighing the sweat soaked gear post run!!!!! :D:D

Pre run this morning Marty 78kgs, post run after only 10 of the prescribed 15, 73kgs!! Purely through sweat loss. Both weigh ins done in the nip(take it easy TbL!!!).