Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

They might recruit Macken. Solid depth guy. Maybe Hume will step up next season. Ulster will be better next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,433 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Macken isn't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Some Yoke

Would Keatley be a better player than Ian Humphreys was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭damianmcr

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Keatley at his best is roughly 7 and a half billion times better than iHumph. Hence one of those lads started for Ireland in the 6 Nations while the other wasn't really ever close to getting capped.

At his worst though there's not much in it. As a backup you'd probably mostly be getting that version of him.

• Administrators Posts: 55,733 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

My non-UAFC in-the-know person says Ulster don't really want Carbery and are very reluctant on Keatley. Pushing the IRFU hard for a big name NIQ as a statement of intent after the shambles of this season. Bit of gamesmanship being played in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭durthacht

awec wrote: »
    My non-UAFC in-the-know person says Ulster don't really want Carbery and are very reluctant on Keatley. Pushing the IRFU hard for a big name NIQ as a statement of intent after the shambles of this season. Bit of gamesmanship being played in the media.

Who is available for next season at this stage though?

durthacht wrote: »
    Who is available for next season at this stage though?
    I dunno, I doubt there's any. I also doubt the IRFU would allow it.

Maybe if this person was an Nacewa type who can play anywhere from 10-15 to a semi-decent level. But it seems very unlikely.

It is very frustrating. The IRFU created this mess and they now expect Ulster to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,433 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I think it's very disingenuous to say the IRFU created this situation.

They're doing the best they can in the circumstances they've been dealt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

Think the reluctance is good, but that doesn’t mean they sign someone big named for the sake.

Really don’t think we should be going after a big name peep on high money, but bolster the squad with a couple of decent ludik type players! I know we’re niq restricted but still think that be more beneficial! Especially if Deysel, Ludik, Marshall could missed a portion of incoming season.

Ulster really need to highlight the benefits to other Irish players! Look at how Cooney has flourished even under the conditions of this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stl.ire

Completely understandable by Ulster.

As for the media there’s a lot of double standards going on. Take Keatley for instance, if Carbery heads to Munster why would he ‘obviously’ go to Ulster? He probably would believe he is a better 10 than Carbery and want to fight for the jersey and who’s to say he wouldn’t win? It’s a better outcome than heading north to be a placeholder until McPhillips can replace you.

It’s all speculation and manipulation right now and it’s pretty ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

It is very frustrating. The IRFU created this mess and they now expect Ulster to fix it.

No they didnt.

They had to deal with the fallout of a situation they had no control over at all.

Maybe Ulster are a mess because the blame game always points the finger south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

No matter how many times you keep saying this, it won’t make it true anywhere except in your head. Unless you believe the IRFU forced PJ and SO to have sex with that girl, then forced them to have that WhatsApp conversation, then forced the CPS to prosecute them and bring that information into the public domain. If you do believe that, I can refer you to someone if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,161 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I don't get why they are so intent on a big name. Well I do, it's for season tickets. They just keep making the same f****** mistakes again.

I thought he had moved pass the whole "pick him, he's got a South African/Australian/Kiwi accent".

For example given Ireland are the 2nd best team in the world and SA are No.5 or 6 or whatever it might just be that Ireland's 2nd choice out half is better than South Africa's 3rd choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

bilston wrote: »
    I don't get why they are so intent on a big name. Well I do, it's for season tickets. They just keep making the same f****** mistakes again.

I thought he had moved pass the whole "pick him, he's got a South African/Australian/Kiwi accent".

For example given Ireland are the 2nd best team in the world and SA are No.5 or 6 or whatever it might just be that Ireland's 2nd choice out half is better than South Africa's 3rd choice.

What’s worse is that if this is true they are also continuing to make the same mistake with the IRFU. At what point are Ulster going to realise that they need to work with the IRFU to help develop IQ talent? Signing a big name 10 would relegate a very promising IQ player to the bench. Why would the IRFU ever agree to that? It’s just stupidity from Ulster, like signing a big name back 3 player when they needed to sort out their pack.

If I were a cynical man I’d probably think that UR are looking to ensure the IRFU are getting as much of the ire of the Ulster support as possible to take the heat off themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    No they didnt.

They had to deal with the fallout of a situation they had no control over at all.

And if people think what the IRFU did (in conjunction with UR) was an over-reaction, they only need to look at how the same situation went down at Sale.

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Burkie1203 wrote: »
    No they didnt.

And if people think what the IRFU did (in conjunction with UR) was an over-reaction, they only need to look at how the same situation went down at Sale.

Ah there wasn't that much hassle. I still reckon they will sign for Sale when nobody is paying attention in the summer.

I still think the IRFU were stuck between a rock and a hard place on Jackson and Olding. But let's not kid ourselves and think they revoked their contracts for moralistic reasons. They did it because the sponsors told them to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Lads, let's not lose the run of ourselves here.

Joe wants Carbery to be back-up ten at the RWC, which is a year away.

He's not happy with the number of starts Joey is getting at Leinster.

Everything else is secondary. If you think Heaven and Earth are being moved to get Ulster the ideal ten, you're not paying attention.

Lads, let's not lose the run of ourselves here.

Joe wants Carbery to be back-up ten at the RWC, which is a year away.

He's not happy with the number of starts Joey is getting at Leinster.

Everything else is secondary. If you think Heaven and Earth are being moved to get Ulster the ideal ten, you're not paying attention.

No doubt the IRFU are trying to move Carbery for Ireland's benefit. That's how Irish rugby works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭slingerz

any chance of lealififano coming back?

other than that Ulster could see if buying Steenson/Madigan out of their contracts would be an option. Have to have cash available with Piatau off the books as well as all the other players that have gone

If you think Heaven and Earth are being moved to get Ulster the ideal ten, you're not paying attention.

Not one person has said this. I think its pretty clear who isn't paying attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Ah there wasn't that much hassle. I still reckon they will sign for Sale when nobody is paying attention in the summer.

I still think the IRFU were stuck between a rock and a hard place on Jackson and Olding. But let's not kid ourselves and think they revoked their contracts for moralistic reasons. They did it because the sponsors told them to.
    Their main sponsor made it clear that they didn't want it happening. And they sponsor the stadium as well. If they can get them to come around, fair play, but it was a pretty damn quick reaction from them.

Well Jackson's lawyer claimed in court a few days ago that he has no current offers of employment.

Jaysis, you're so literal-minded.

My point is that an unhappy Carbery is far from ideal, and Keatley isn't really good enough, but Ulster's needs are not the driving force behind this.

Anyway, Independent is reporting that Marshall and Ludik are out for most of next season. So we need about ten new players in total.

(N.B. we do not need LITERALLY ten players, and it is not D4's fault. Just to avert any face-pulling.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Jaysis, you're so literal-minded.

My point is that an unhappy Carbery is far from ideal, and Keatley isn't really good enough, but Ulster's needs are not the driving force behind this.

I think we all know that; it's the people who think Elton Jantjes or some other NIQ is a viable option that haven't caught up. (Also, Elton Jantjes? Really?)

Aside from all the other issues at Ulster, their contribution to the national side is simply not good enough. Three players in the Grand Slam effort, five players in the squad for Australia - those numbers aren't high enough. Everything they ask for from IRFU will be viewed through that prism.

So it's hard to make a case for letting Ulster sign more NIQs in general, but especially at out-half.

I think we all know that; it's the people who think Elton Jantjes or some other NIQ is a viable option that haven't caught up. (Also, Elton Jantjes? Really?)

Aside from all the other issues at Ulster, their contribution to the national side is simply not good enough. Three players in the Grand Slam effort, five players in the squad for Australia - those numbers aren't high enough. Everything they ask for from IRFU will be viewed through that prism.

So it's hard to make a case for letting Ulster sign more NIQs in general, but especially at out-half.
    It would have been 6/31 in the Australia squad.

Which is only marginally short of 25%.

It's always fun listening to Leinster fans pontificate about Ireland and how Ireland is the be all and end all when they're own team is in the middle of a golden period and winning all round them. It amuses me a lot. Always easy to go on and on about the system when it doesn't affect your own team in the slightest.

It would have been 6/31 in the Australia squad.

Which is only marginally short of 25%.

It's always fun listening to Leinster fans pontificate about Ireland and how Ireland is the be all and end all when they're own team is in the middle of a golden period and winning all round them. It amuses me a lot. Always easy to go on and on about the system when it doesn't affect your own team in the slightest.

Ah we're only in the middle of the golden period? So that gives Ulster until what... 2030 before they have to sort themselves out?

You'd swear Ulster are the only province who have been denied signings. I think its possible awec thinks this is actually the case.

prawnsambo wrote: »

Their main sponsor made it clear that they didn't want it happening. And they sponsor the stadium as well. If they can get them to come around, fair play, but it was a pretty damn quick reaction from them.

I thought their sponsor later denied that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,816 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Well Jackson's lawyer claimed in court a few days ago that he has no current offers of employment.

In fairness, if they had no offers in writing or confirmed that could be proven, of course they're going to say that when they're appealing to get his legal fees covered.