Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Can I just ask why you seem to think we are all entitled to every detail of a murder enquiry ?

Mark Hennessy was shot dead in the driver's seat of his car - GSOC statement http://jrnl.ie/4030864

Mark Hennessy was shot dead in the driver's seat of his car - GSOC statement

about time...see, now that helps just to get a little bit of clairifcatkon doesn’t it? before you got on your high horse snide patronising remark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

sightband wrote: »
    well what did he say because someone saying they mentioned something along the lines of something and now you saying theynever mentioned friends doesn’t really have much to do with much.

Actually the poster didn't mention a friend had seen him and not reported it . What he said was suggesting that the family had seen or heard from him and not reported it . Which is hurtful and upsetting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

sightband wrote: »
    well what did he say because someone saying they mentioned something along the lines of something and now you saying theynever mentioned friends doesn’t really have much to do with much.

I think folks forget regardless the side of the crime, there is usually a lot of innocent folks involved. Both families will probs be going through something I can't even fathom. Yet I have read so many angry posts of the scum bag etc I really hope that his family members are not looking at this or even the victims. As the whole thread really doesn't help the situation

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Yeah maybe I am coming across badly however if you had seen the amount of posts containing inaccurate information, lies, fantasy, trolling etc in the last 24 hours you would be shocked. We have said that there is to be no speculation on the thread which to be fair the majority have not done but unfortunately the few are set on posting whatever they want.
    This guy is making the claim essentially that the mods got it wrong by deleting his 'facts' however what he actually posted was very different to the article and has not been backed up anywhere.

Anyway apologies if I came off gruffly.

Thanks for the reply. When I posted I wasn't really thinking of yourself, but you put me in mind of I should mention to find out. No need to say sorry, I'm just trying to understand

Strazdas wrote: »
    Jastine's fund has gone over the €100,000 mark. Someone (anonymous) donated €5000 in the last few minutes.

Thankfully there are as many great people in the world as there are evil people.

There are far more good people than bad . Thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,163 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

chicorytip wrote: »
    I think it's Nicaragua you are referring to not Honduras. A man - Etcheverrio was his name - brandishing what looked like a hunting knife. The (armed) police in that incident clearly had no idea how to correctly deal with the situation. Another issue is the type of weaponry the Gardai have at their disposal. I presume tasers or stun guns would be effective enough in disabling a suspect in order for him to be disarmed and arrested.

No a taser would be useless in this situation... Cops did the right thing. Somebody with a death wish needs more than a taser

optogirl wrote: »
    No not at all - I thought the question was being asked as to whether there were higher instances of bad mental health among travellers.

On this point, Traveller spokespeople emphasise the high high rate of mental health issues among them. One reason might be the divergence between “mainstream life” and their way of life, or/and “inbreeding” may lead to multiplying, within their society, of genetic aspects of mental health issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Alkers

sightband wrote:
    Mark Hennessy was shot dead in the driver's seat of his car - GSOC statement

That statement is completely at odds with what is posted on the other journal story that he was shot twice after getting out of the car and making his way to the boot of the car.
    More than likely the gsoc story is the correct version but just interesting to note the amount of discrepancies

No a taser would be useless in this situation... Cops did the right thing. Somebody with a death wish needs more than a taser

sweet jesus, is that straight from the manual or did you take a dump, wipe your hole and try and transcribe what was on the paper?

Simona1986 wrote: »
    That statement is completely at odds with what is posted on the other journal story that he was shot twice after getting out of the car and making his way to the boot of the car.
    More than likely the gsoc story is the correct version but just interesting to note the amount of discrepancies

yes, hence my point from the outset that a statement from authorities may help quell all the hysteria...which i was crisricised for saying it may be a good move for all concerned.

Seeing that cocaine was a probable/possible factor in this tragedy, my crystal ball tells me that we will see more plain-clothes guards planted in suspected pubs etc, part of the fight against well-know criminal gangs.

jiltloop wrote: »
    I think you're really quite wide of the mark here. Drug abuse may end up being a small contributing factor but the main factor is that this was obviously a messed up/evil/mentally ill individual who committed these acts.

You come across as having an axe to grind and you're stuffing this whole awful event in a narrative that suits a chip you have on shoulder for whatever reason.

Sometimes severe/episodic mental illness combined with likes of cocaine can lead to very serious behavioral issues. There are people who would be normally decent and have a good moral compass in virtually all life situations, but when a mind-altering substance is consumed the personality can radically change. Some substances totally alter the mind of the healthiest individuals. If taken in high quantity a substance or combination thereof can have severe consequences to the functioning of the brain and mind.

Seeing that cocaine was a probable/possible factor in this tragedy, my crystal ball tells me that we will see more plain-clothes guards planted in suspected pubs etc, part of the fight against well-know criminal gangs.

I think those gangs are killing themselves and if the garda worked on the youth of today more so, we may see a better outcome.

Anyways I doubt a drug or a beer is to blame on this fully. To be so intimite killing someone first time round is apparently fairly rare as the amount of balls it takes to look a person in the eye while they tak there last breath is complete whacko

There are far more good people than bad . Thankfully

I think I meant “extraordinarily good people”. Most people are indeed good and decent. It will definitely help Jastine’s parents in a he short and long term. The costs involved in repatriation of Jastine’s remains have been met. Then her parents need the costs of a fair few flights to and from Philippines, and they will be able to avail of first class flights for their initial travel, where they will have peace and comfort, and attentiveness of flight attendants who will probably be informed of their circumstance.

Not necessarily. Both psychopathy and sociopathy fall under the diagnosis of anti-social personality disorder. Psychopaths are born that way. It's not an illness but a, shall we say, dangerous personality type.

Yes indeed, this is true as we know it. Neuroscience has a huge amount to be discovered and maybe in the distant future we will have an insight to some of the factors that contribute to the likes of psychopathy. There might even be effective treatment, likely when I’m in my urn in Glasnevin.

I think I meant “extraordinarily good people”. Most people are indeed good and decent. It will definitely help Jastine’s parents in a he short and long term. The costs involved in repatriation of Jastune’s remains have been met. Then her parents need the costs of a fair few flights to and from Philippians, and they will be able to avail of first class flights for their initial travel, where they will have peace and comfort, and attentiveness of flight attendants who will probably be informed of their circumstance.

Ah yes you are right . I hope the fund also helps to show Jastines family that we support them and care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,632 ✭✭✭baldbear

So Hennessy was shot leaning down in the passenger seat .It's a pity his wish was fulfilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Ah yes you are right . I hope the fund also helps to show Jastines family that we support them and care

I donated to the fund this evening. I know it's not much consolation to Jastine's family but it was the only way I could think of showing them some support.

baldbear wrote: »
    So Hennessy was shot leaning down in the passenger seat .It's a pity his wish was fulfilled.

It sounds like the Gardai were unlucky that evening. They were merely trying to disable him in the hope he could be incapacitated and subsequently arrested and charged but the one bullet did too much damage.

Also, they had no idea where Jastine was at this point and would have been trying to take the killer alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Waaaay more great people in the world than evil or bad IMHO. At least I really want/ need to believe that....

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Watching the news tonight makes me a little uneasy.

Am I alone in thinking that this guy shouldn't get the attention he's getting? Whatever about naming him, but I don't know what him drinking and looking to buy drugs afterwards has anything to do with what happened to that poor woman.

I don't care about video footage of him buying the car a year ago, and I also don't care that he was a 'quiet man'.

What I do care about is that poor woman and what she had to go through, yet much of the attention is about him. F*ck him as far as I'm concerned.

It's the exact same thing that happened with Graham Dwyer and Alan Hawe, as well as many perpetrators of American school shootings.

Faugheen wrote: »

Am I alone in thinking that this guy shouldn't get the attention he's getting? Whatever about naming him, but I don't know what him drinking and looking to buy drugs afterwards has anything to do with what happened to that poor woman.

I don't care about video footage of him buying the car a year ago, and I also don't care that he was a 'quiet man'.

What I do care about is that poor woman and what she had to go through, yet much of the attention is about him. F*ck him as far as I'm concerned.

It's the exact same thing that happened with Graham Dwyer and Alan Hawe, as well as many perpetrators of American school shootings.

I agree . And we have often said here that sometimes RTE show funerals of gang members and you would think they were celebrites

Yes, I'd rather hear much more about Jastine and her life. Her full life story both in the Philippines and Ireland, what sort of a person she was, who her close friends and family were and their thoughts about her etc. I'm less interested in hearing details about that other yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭North inner city hoodlum

<snip>

Mod note:Too soon, way, way too soon!

It certainly will show that Irish society is very caring when it comes to such awful situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

,snip>

what goes through your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Strazdas wrote: »
    Yes, it's not going to turn a calm and peace loving person into a cold blooded killer. At most, it might make them a bit manic and hyper and louder than normal.

There is quite a difference between someone after a few lines on a Saturday night in the pub and a chronic addict near the end of a manic week long binge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭North inner city hoodlum

what goes through your head?

F**king nothing its quite obvious :)

I asked just curious!

Its plate is know country wide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Not alone in any way or form but pointless debate as sadly the story is now about him and poor Jastine is merely a side character for most.