Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭adam14

No point in holding onto it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,524 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I still have last years wool in the shed and could end up stockpiling this years on top of it as well, as no sign of recovery in market. If this continues might have a look at the easycare breed again

I'm going to Scotsheep next week, I was telling Campbell Tweed (Mr Easycare) that at the Sheep Confernce yesterday so he told me he was only 6mls from Larne and to call round,so should be interesting

https://www.nationalsheep.org.uk/nsa-scotland/events/10974/nsa-scotsheep-2018/
    http://irishtractor.ie/an-extraordinary-sheep-farming-legacy/

Just after remembering that we're going the ferry from Belfast so will have to check out the distance again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Lambman

Did i see a post some were that wool prices all over the world have rocketed except Europe and especially northern Europe? No point in holding onto it for all your gonna make if anything... buy a few bales off straw outta the field and put that in the space the wools taking up would make more sense and save u more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

wrangler wrote: »
    I'm going to Scotsheep next week, I was telling Campbell Tweed (Mr Easycare) that at the Sheep Confernce yesterday so he told me he was only 6mls from Larne and to call round,so should be interesting

Just after remembering that we're going the ferry from Belfast so will have to check out the distance again

21 miles, take you half an hour as its a straight road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Was onto the shearer this morning, booked in for monday and maybe tuesday. He's struggling to get lads to go with him this year as they're at other work now. I'd rather not take two days off work on top of paying him to clip them with the wool worth next to nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

wrangler wrote: »

Let us know how you get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

sea12 wrote: »
    Anyone recommend some one in the Laois area. My usual lad has retired. Want to get the hoggets done now so they have the wool grown back nicely for the sales

Got mine done.Fellas of done deal in Wicklow. Highly recommend them. 1 Irish and 1 Ozzie. Sheep trailer. Good clean shearing. Compared to my old shearer taking 2 days and giving out and grunting etc
    Great to have them all done now in this weather before maggots appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Inchilad

Maggots are here.talkin to fella today.had ewe lamb with maggots yesterday.one he was bringing to premier sale in july.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Inchilad wrote: »
    Maggots are here.talkin to fella today.had ewe lamb with maggots yesterday.one he was bringing to premier sale in july.

Lamb had them last week but they were only developing so quite little damage done. Dodnt help he was slightly dirty

What part are yous lads in? Must off handled 3000 sheep here this week never seen 1 maggot

Lambman wrote: »
    What part are yous lads in? Must off handled 3000 sheep here this week never seen 1 maggot

South mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭early_riser

Inchilad wrote: »

Yeah was shearing few here today, had a dry hogget with a small few and she was actually fairly clean, couldnt believe it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

I still have last years wool in the shed and could end up stockpiling this years on top of it as well, as no sign of recovery in market. If this continues might have a look at the easycare breed again
    I wouldnt bother, they never all full shed properly so you'll still have to get them clipped, and their wool is worthless. friend of mine was determined to get them, tried my best to dissuade him but he persisted, and lo and behold yesterday I had to go and shear prob about 1/3 of his flock !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭sheepfarmer92

tfox wrote: »
    I wouldnt bother, they never all full shed properly so you'll still have to get them clipped, and their wool is worthless. friend of mine was determined to get them, tried my best to dissuade him but he persisted, and lo and behold yesterday I had to go and shear prob about 1/3 of his flock !!

They do fully shed when pure bred but takes a few crosses for it to happen they werent pure easycares if you had to shear them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

They do fully shed when pure bred but takes a few crosses for it to happen they werent pure easycares if you had to shear them

Bought from one of the main men in the country promoting easycare sheep, said if they didn’t fully shed for 2 years running he’d replace them. While they May eventually fully shed they don’t necessarily do it when you want to do you end up with dirty sheep, fly strike, sheep stuck on there back !! And tbh the place looks a mess with wool everywhere !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭roosky

I see there is showers at the weekend, would that put ye off shearing ewes and putting clik on lambs tomorrow?

roosky wrote: »
    I see there is showers at the weekend, would that put ye off shearing ewes and putting clik on lambs tomorrow?

No.put clik on ewes yesterday

Hoping to get some sheared tomorrow. When would lads do the lambs with clik / clikzin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭razor8

Did my lambs with clik other day. Has a long withdrawal period of 40 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Was doing some lambs with Clik extra the other evening.....first ones I was treating this year....was in a bit of a rush sticking spray gun on....only noticed when I went to do first lamb down the back that it was a ‘dosing’ type fitting that was on the gun🙄......a neighbour had used it last for some hoggetts last year.

Did around 30 lambs with it....so they have narrow concentrated band of product down their back and over the rump each side.Luckily they are healthy and no dirty arses.... will they be alright do people reckon?

Clik went on bone dry fleeces and it only rained lightly around 6 hours after they were done.

Now to try and get the spray top back off the neighbour.

I’d say they’d be fine, doesn’t it travel and make its way around the whole fleece, even if you use the right gun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Sold the wool , didn't come near to covering the cost of shearing. Terrible that's it's fallen back do much. 55c compared to €1.30 3 years ago

Seen first sign off maggots today... only in the wool off ewes no skin breakages.... paddy's day lambing flocks are only coming round till be ready for clipping now.. was hard work getting it off ewes this last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭serfspup

Lambman wrote: »
    Seen first sign off maggots today... only in the wool off ewes no skin breakages.... paddy's day lambing flocks are only coming round till be ready for clipping now.. was hard work getting it off ewes this last few weeks.

trying to explain this to farmers that can't or won't shear is like banging yer head against a wall as they freak out wearing out the phone demanding to have theirs shorn NOW.

I have come to the conclusion that shearers must be able to travel faster than the speed of light so they can be in multiple places at once.

The backache,kicks bruises,dehydration that a shearer puts up with is nothing in comparison with the pain in the hole of putting up with stupid selfish impatient a**holes:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

We got our hoggets shorn a few weeks back and there was a few ewes that lost lambs with them and they were barely fit to be shorn so we’re in no rush to get the rest shorn

serfspup wrote: »
    [/B]

trying to explain this to farmers that can't or won't shear is like banging yer head against a wall as they freak out wearing out the phone demanding to have theirs shorn NOW.

I have come to the conclusion that shearers must be able to travel faster than the speed of light so they can be in multiple places at once.

The backache,kicks bruises,dehydration that a shearer puts up with is nothing in comparison with the pain in the hole of putting up with stupid selfish impatient a**holes:mad::mad::mad:

If shearers told the truth and gave the situation properly it would help, I was talking to my shearer on Sunday and he seems to be saying a week to everyone when I know he has a fortnights work ahead of him, the phone was going mad and he here even.
    He was telling me he shore 1600 from monday morning to sunday evening and complaining that the farmer on sunday wouldn't put in some sheep saturday night so he could start at six, he had to wait till they dried.
    Thankfully I don't need him till august

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭serfspup

i'm giving up shearing,met my neighbour today thought he had a new young dog with him it turned out he had his old dog with a new hair cut..................80euro!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

serfspup wrote: »
    [/B]

Problem is simple, ewes are only coming fit to shear over the last days to a week, yet the maggots have arrived, and will kill sheep. Catch 22

Problem is simple, ewes are only coming for to shear over the last days to a week, yet the maggots have arrived, and will kill sheep. Catch 22

And every farmer under 45 is capable of shearing their own any way, Equpment isn't expensive. any way it's easy enough to keep the ewes treated.
    I got the same hassle as serfspup when I was at it, but mobile phones were not around, often took the phone off the hook