Green farmer wrote: » I still have last years wool in the shed and could end up stockpiling this years on top of it as well, as no sign of recovery in market. If this continues might have a look at the easycare breed again
wrangler wrote: » I'm going to Scotsheep next week, I was telling Campbell Tweed (Mr Easycare) that at the Sheep Confernce yesterday so he told me he was only 6mls from Larne and to call round,so should be interestinghttps://www.nationalsheep.org.uk/nsa-scotland/events/10974/nsa-scotsheep-2018/http://irishtractor.ie/an-extraordinary-sheep-farming-legacy/ Just after remembering that we're going the ferry from Belfast so will have to check out the distance again
sea12 wrote: » Anyone recommend some one in the Laois area. My usual lad has retired. Want to get the hoggets done now so they have the wool grown back nicely for the sales
Inchilad wrote: » Maggots are here.talkin to fella today.had ewe lamb with maggots yesterday.one he was bringing to premier sale in july.
Lambman wrote: » What part are yous lads in? Must off handled 3000 sheep here this week never seen 1 maggot
tfox wrote: » I wouldnt bother, they never all full shed properly so you'll still have to get them clipped, and their wool is worthless. friend of mine was determined to get them, tried my best to dissuade him but he persisted, and lo and behold yesterday I had to go and shear prob about 1/3 of his flock !!
sheepfarmer92 wrote: » They do fully shed when pure bred but takes a few crosses for it to happen they werent pure easycares if you had to shear them
roosky wrote: » I see there is showers at the weekend, would that put ye off shearing ewes and putting clik on lambs tomorrow?
Lambman wrote: » Seen first sign off maggots today... only in the wool off ewes no skin breakages.... paddy's day lambing flocks are only coming round till be ready for clipping now.. was hard work getting it off ewes this last few weeks.
serfspup wrote: » [/B] trying to explain this to farmers that can't or won't shear is like banging yer head against a wall as they freak out wearing out the phone demanding to have theirs shorn NOW. I have come to the conclusion that shearers must be able to travel faster than the speed of light so they can be in multiple places at once. The backache,kicks bruises,dehydration that a shearer puts up with is nothing in comparison with the pain in the hole of putting up with stupid selfish impatient a**holes:mad::mad::mad:
Green farmer wrote: » Problem is simple, ewes are only coming for to shear over the last days to a week, yet the maggots have arrived, and will kill sheep. Catch 22